Introductions and Transfers Committees - Provincial and territorial contacts

Following the National Code on Introductions and Transfers of Aquatic Organisms, each application is reviewed by Introductions and Transfers Committees established in each province and Yukon for three main risks:

During the review process, appropriate subject matter experts from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), the province/territory, and academic research may be consulted for additional information or independent opinion during the adjudication process. Subject matter experts may include, but are not limited to, resource managers, stock assessment officers, biologists, habitat managers, and legal counsel.

Introductions and Transfers Committee
Province/Territory E-mail Phone Number
Alberta Jim.Wagner@gov.ab.ca 780 427-7959
British Columbia FAMITC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 604-666-5519
New Brunswick NBITC.XMAR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 506-752-9109
Newfoundland & Labrador ITC-NL@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 709-772-6674
Northwest Territories* Lorna.Hendrickson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 204-984-3767
Nova Scotia NSITC.XMAR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 902 440-1634
Nunavut* jkennedy1@gov.nu.ca 867-975-7706
Manitoba Laureen.Janusz@gov.mb.ca 204-945-7789
Ontario Brian.Burdick@ontario.ca 705-755-1801
Prince Edward Island PEITC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 902-566-7807
Quebec (freshwater) isabel.thibault@mffp.gouv.qc.ca 418-627-8694 (# 7479)
Quebec (marine) QCmarineIT@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 418-648-5885
Saskatchewan Jennifer.Merkowsky@gov.sk.ca 306-933-7943
Yukon Territory YTLicence@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 867-393-6722

*Introductions and Transfers Committees are not formally established in Nunavut or the Northwest Territories. The contacts provided will guide applicants on authorizations required to move live aquatic organisms within these territories.

British Columbia Introductions and Transfers Committee

The British Columbia Introductions and Transfers Committee (BC ITC) is a joint federal-provincial committee comprised of members from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), the BC Ministry of Environment, and the BC Ministry of Forests, Lands & Natural Resource Operations.

DFO regulates the aquaculture industry in BC so that the introductions and transfers of fish and shellfish into and between facilities does not adversely affect the environment. The BC ITC is responsible for reviewing applications for introductions and certain transfers of live aquatic organisms into fish rearing facilities or fish bearing waters of British Columbia. The BC ITC does not review movements of amphibians, reptiles, live baitfish and live aquatic organisms for the table market, aquarium and pond trades, except where the species is prohibited under section 5 of the Pacific Fishery Regulations.

The Introductions and Transfers Committee in British Columbia is bound by existing government legislation and policies regarding movements of live fish into and within the Province of BC. Key regulations include:

Comités des introductions et des transferts

Conformément au Code national sur l'introduction et le transfert d'organismes aquatiques, les Comités des introductions et des transferts établis dans chaque province et au Yukon examinent chaque demande pour déterminer les trois risques principaux suivants :

Pendant le processus d’examen, il est possible de consulter les experts en la matière pertinents de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), la province ou le territoire et des recherches universitaires pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou une opinion indépendante au cours du processus d'arbitrage. Les experts en la matière peuvent inclure, sans s'y limiter, les gestionnaires des ressources, les agents d'évaluation des stocks, les biologistes, les gestionnaires de l'habitat et les conseillers juridiques.

Contacts par province et territoire

Alberta

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Manitoba

Nouveau-Brunswick

Nouvelle-Écosse

Nunavut*

Ontario

Québec (milieux marins)

Québec (eau douce)

Terre Neuve et Labrador

Territoires du Nord-Ouest*

Saskatchewan

Yukon

*Au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les comités des introductions et des transferts ne sont pas établis de façon officielle. Les personnes-ressources fourniront des renseignements sur les autorisations requises pour y déplacer des organismes aquatiques vivants.

Contact pour la Colombie-Britannique

Le Comité des introductions et des transferts de la Colombie-Britannique (CIT CB) est un comité mixte fédéral-provincial qui compte des membres de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), du ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique et du ministère des Forêts, des Terres et de l'Exploitation des ressources naturelles de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le MPO réglemente l'industrie aquacole en Colombie-Britannique de sorte que les introductions de poissons, de mollusques et de crustacés dans les installations et les transferts entre installations ne nuisent pas à l'environnement. Le CIT CB de la C.-B. est responsable de l'examen des demandes d'introduction et de certains transferts d'organismes aquatiques vivants dans les installations de pisciculture ou dans les eaux poissonneuses de la province. Le CIT CB n'examine pas les déplacements d'amphibiens, de reptiles, de poissons-appâts vivants et d'organismes aquatiques vivants destinés au marché alimentaire, aux aquariums et aux étangs, sauf lorsque l'espèce est interdite en vertu de l'article 5 du Règlement de pêche du Pacifique.

Le Comité des introductions et des transferts de la Colombie-Britannique est lié par les lois et les politiques existantes du gouvernement en ce qui concerne les déplacements de poissons vivants vers et à l'intérieur de la province de la Colombie-Britannique. Les principaux règlements sont les suivants :

Colombie-Britannique