Policy respecting the harvesting and marketing of farmed oysters by licensed aquaculturists in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island

INTRODUCTION

This policy was developed as a result of requests from aquaculturistsFootnote 1 in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia to be permitted to harvest and market undersized "cocktail"Footnote 2 oysters from licensed shellfish leases. This policy was developed by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) in consultation with the provinces involved. This policy takes into consideration health and safety concerns, enforcement requirements to ensure protection of commercial oyster fisheries and the need to harmonize implementation among the three provinces and the various areas within DFO's Maritimes Region. In New Brunswick, DFO and the province conducted a pilot project that permitted the harvest and marketing of cocktail oysters from selected oyster leases under strict guidelines during 1993 and 1994. This policy draws heavily on the experience gained in this pilot project.

POLICY

The policy applies in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island unless otherwise indicated.

  1. The harvest and marketing of cocktail oysters will be permitted from selected, licensed shellfish leases under variation orders issued by DFO. A variation order will permit the harvest and subsequent marketing of oysters of any size from a specific site during the periods specified in the order. All rules governing the program will be articulated in both an attachment to the variation order and the provincial (or federal) Aquaculture Lease Agreement of the proponent.
  2. The marketing of cocktail oysters will be subject to the health and safety requirements of the Fish Inspection Act and Regulations.
  3. All cocktail oysters must be processed in provincially licensed and registered plants when marketed in the province of origin. If being exported outside the province of origin, cocktail oysters must be processed in federally registered plants that have valid Quality Management Programs (QMP).
  4. Licensees for the "Cocktail" Oyster Program will be selected based on the following criteria:
    1. Only those aquaculturists not holding commercial oyster licences or licences issued under the Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations (e.g., public bed relay or harvesting permits) will be eligible. Submission of a written application to the program will signify a proponent's desire to terminate any commercial licences if and when they are accepted into the program.

      Note:

      This criterion also applies to any helpers who will be engaged in the program; they will not be permitted to participate in commercial licensed oyster fisheries while deriving economic benefit (or sweat equity) from this program.

    2. Aquaculturists engaged in this program will be permitted to hold oyster replanting licences under Section 29 of the Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations only under strict guidelines administered by the DFO Area Office. These licences cannot be valid during the period that the harvesting and marketing of cocktail oysters is permitted.
    3. Only those aquaculturists who comply with the terms and conditions set out in federal and provincial fisheries legislation and policy will be eligible.

      Note:

      If there are any inconsistencies between federal and provincial legislation or policy relating to this program, federal legislation or policy will prevail.

    4. Only those aquaculturists who can establish that they are the holders of licensed and surveyed shellfish leases that conform to the criteria of the leasing authorities in each province will be eligible. The leases must also be registered for cocktail oysters with the provincial leasing authority.

      Note:

      This is necessary to ensure that the fishing of cocktail oysters is conducted on private leases and not on public oyster beds. Developmental leases recognized by provincial leasing authorities are eligible for this program. The local variation order requires that geographic coordinates (grid references or latitude and longitude) be available for all points of the lease to properly describe the site. These must be available from the leasing authority.

IMPLEMENTATION PROCEDURES

    1. Cocktail oysters being shipped to market must be contained in appropriately sized containers and tagged so they will be tamper-proof while en route to buyers. A record of product and amount must accompany all shipments and be maintained by the processor in a format that can be audited by the authorities. The units or volume of all transactions (sales and purchases) must be in a uniform measure and recorded so that they can be audited against growers' sales records to the processors.
    2. Under the program, the same uniform measure (units or volume) records of all shipments and sales to processors must be maintained by the aquaculturist in a format that can be audited by the authorities.
  1. Any aquaculturist who fails to abide by the conditions of this policy or the terms and conditions of any federal or provincial licence or lease respecting the harvest and marketing of cocktail oysters will have their variation orders immediately revoked. This will result in the termination of the harvesting and marketing of cocktail oysters under this policy.
  2. Any aquaculturist who accepts oysters less than 76 mm long onto their site, except in accordance with this policy, will have their variation orders immediately revoked.
  3. Any aquaculturist who violates any provision of this policy or the conditions of any federal or provincial licence or lease may be subject to the loss or suspension of their provincial or federal shellfish licence or lease.
  4. Any processor who fails to abide by the conditions of this policy or the terms and conditions of any federal or provincial licence or lease respecting the harvest and marketing of cocktail oysters will have their variation orders immediately revoked. This will result in the termination of the harvesting and marketing of cocktail oysters under this policy.
  5. The licensing authorities will carry out an immediate review if a processor is suspected of violating any provision of this policy or the conditions of any federal or provincial licence. If it is determined that a violation has been committed, offenders may be subject to the loss or suspension of their provincial or federal shellfish licence or their participation in the Quality Management Program.
  6. Processors who must "hold" oysters outside of their physical processing facility on open water shellfish leases must, as part of the program, identify the licensed and surveyed leases that will be used only for holding cocktail oyster product. Other species may be held on the same lease, but must be identified in the application for the program.

    Note:

    No other oysters originating from the public or leasehold commercial fishery can be placed or held on the leases identified as part of the program.

GENERAL PROCEDURES

  1. Any oyster aquaculturists desiring to become involved in the "Cocktail" Oyster Program must request permission to harvest and market cocktail oysters from the DFO Regional Aquaculture Coordination Office in Halifax or Moncton by submitting a completed and signed application. In their applications, aquaculturists must be prepared to identify all the information requested as part of the application, including the federally or provincially registered plant that will be processing or exporting the oysters.
  2. DFO will investigate, review and vet the request through the provincial authorities to determine whether applicants meet the criteria for inclusion in the program and are in good standing with the authorities.
  3. After a thorough review of the application with the provinces, the DFO Regional Aquaculture Coordination Office will inform applicants, in writing, whether they meet the criteria established in this policy.
  4. The provinces (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) must recommend approval of applications for DFO to issue a variation order permitting cocktail oysters to be harvested from the specific lease and processed through the appropriate facility.
  5. The information required as part of the official application will be identified in a form and include, but not be limited to, the following:
    1. the name of the aquaculturist;
    2. the location of the properly surveyed lease as approved by leasing authorities (must include either grid references or latitude and longitude for all points of the lease);
    3. the period requested to harvest cocktail oysters;
    4. the source of the seed that will be used by the aquaculturist as part of the program;
    5. the name of the processing facility that will be shipping the product to the buyers/market;
    6. a list of all staff (helpers) who will be engaged or employed by the applicant;
    7. a copy of all harvesting and shipping labels and tamper-proof packaging that will be used by the aquaculturist and processor; and
    8. an example of the record-keeping method and accounting procedure that will be used by both the aquaculturist and the processor to document the product from harvest site to market.
  6. Current lists of participants will be maintained by DFO and made available to those fishery officers and inspection officers involved with the enforcement of this policy and program.
  7. Oyster aquaculturists participating in the "Cocktail" Oyster Program must grow their own oysters from spatFootnote 3 or seedFootnote 3 that is either collected on site or at off site areas which are defined for spat collection in order to avoid user-group conflicts, if required. They can also be purchased from an identified seed and spat supplierFootnote 4. Aquaculturists must be prepared to identify and keep an accurate record and inventory of seed and spat and from which sources they will be procured for grow-out.

DEFINITIONS

September 1996

Politique concernant la récolte et la mise en marché des huîtres « cocktail » par des aquiculteurs titulaires de permis au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

INTRODUCTION

La présente politique fait suite aux demandes de la part d'aquiculteursNote de bas de page 1 du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui veulent être autorisés à récolter et à vendre des petites huîtres « COCKTAIL »Note de bas de page 2 provenant de concessions de mollusques et de crustacés régies par un permis. Cette politique a été élaborée par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO), en consultation avec les provinces concernées. Elle tient compte des préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité, des exigences à satisfaire en matière d'application de la loi pour assurer la protection de la pêche commerciale de l'huître et du besoin d'harmoniser cette activité dans les trois provinces et les divers secteurs de la région des Maritimes. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le MPO et la province ont mené, en 1993 et 1994, un projet pilote de récolte et de mise en marché d'huîtres « COCKTAIL » dans certaines concessions ostréicoles en vertu de lignes de conduite rigoureuses. Cette politique repose dans une très large mesure sur l'expérience acquise lors du projet pilote.

POLITIQUE

La politique s'applique au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à moins d'indication contraire.

  1. La récolte et la mise en marché d'huîtres « COCKTAIL » sont autorisées dans certaines concessions ostréicoles régies par un permis. L'autorisation doit se faire par une ordonnance modificative délivrée par le MPO. Cette ordonnance permettra la récolte et la mise en marché des huîtres de toute taille pêchées dans la concession indiquée pendant les périodes précisées dans l'ordonnance. Toutes les règles régissant le programme seront formulées dans une annexe à l'ordonnance de modification et dans l'entente provinciale (ou fédérale) sur la location d'un secteur aquicole que détient le requérant.
  2. La mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » sera assujettie aux dispositions sur la santé et la sécurité établies dans la Loi sur l'inspection du poisson et le règlement y afférent.
  3. Toutes les huîtres « COCKTAIL » doivent être transformées dans une usine enregistrée par la province et détenant un permis provincial lorsque le produit est mis en marché dans la province d'origine. Si le produit est destiné à l'exportation, les huîtres « COCKTAIL » doivent être transformées dans une usine enregistrée au fédéral et ayant un Programme de gestion de la qualité (PGQ) approuvé.
  4. 4. La sélection des candidats au programme concernant les huîtres « COCKTAIL » repose sur les critères suivants :
    1. Seuls seront admissibles les aquiculteurs qui ne détiennent pas de permis de pêche commerciale de l'huître ou de permis délivré aux termes du Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé (p. ex., permis pour le reparcage d'huîtres provenant d'un banc public ou permis pour la récolte). En signifiant par écrit son intention d'adhérer au programme, le requérant accepte de ne plus participer à aucune activité de pêche commerciale aussitôt qu'il fera partie du programme.

      Nota :

      Ce critère s'applique aussi aux assistants qui participent au programme. Ces assistants n'auront pas le droit de participer à la pêche commerciale de l'huître pour laquelle ils détiennent un permis s'ils tirent des avantages économiques (ou des fonds propres) de ce programme.

    2. Les aquiculteurs participant à ce programme sont autorisés à détenir un permis pour reconstituer un banc d'huîtres en vertu de l'article 29 du Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes, à condition toutefois de respecter les lignes de conduite rigoureuses administrées par le bureau local du MPO. Ces permis ne peuvent être valides au cours de la période où la récolte et la mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » sont autorisées.
    3. Seuls les aquiculteurs qui respectent les dispositions énoncées dans la politique, les lois et les règlements fédéraux et provinciaux sur les pêches seront admissibles.

      Nota :

      S'il y a divergence entre la politique et la législation du gouvernement fédéral et celles de la province relativement à ce programme, la législation ou la politique fédérale a préséance.

    4. Seuls les aquiculteurs qui peuvent prouver qu'ils ont une concession arpentée et un permis d'exploitation conformes aux critères des orgainsmes compétents de chaque province seront admissibles. Les concessions doivent également être enregistrées pour les huîtres « COCKTAIL » auprès des organismes provinciaux compétents.

      Nota :

      Cette exigence s'impose afin de s'assurer que la pêche des huîtres « COCKTAIL » a lieu dans une concession privée et non dans un banc d'huîtres public. Les locations accordées pour fin de développement et reconnues par les organismes provinciaux compétents seront également admissibles au programme. L'ordonnance modificative locale devra inclure les coordonnées géographiques (quadrillage ou latitude et longitude) pour tous les points de la concession afin de décrire le site comme il se doit. Les pouvoirs responsables devront détenir ces renseignements.

PROCÉDURES DE MISE EN OEUVRE

    1. Les huîtres « COCKTAIL » expédiées sur le marché doivent être placées dans des contenants de taille adéquate et étiquetées de sorte à être inviolables pendant le transport jusqu'aux installations de l'acheteur. Un document identifiant le produit et en précisant la quantité doit accompagner chaque expédition; le transformateur doit conserver ce document dans un format qui pourra en tout temps être vérifié par les autorités responsables. Les quantités (unités ou volumes) de chaque transaction (ventes et achats) doivent être enregistrées en utilisant les mêmes unités de mesure, de façon à pouvoir les vérifier par rapport aux document de vente de l'aquiculteur aux transformateurs.
    2. L'aquiculteur qui participe au programme doit également utiliser les mêmes unités de mesure et garder copie des documents de toutes les expéditions et les ventes aux transformateurs dans un format qui en permettra la vérification.
  1. L'aquiculteur qui ne respecte pas les conditions de la présente politique ou les conditions de tout permis ou bail fédéral ou provincial concernant la récolte et la mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » verra son ordonnance modificative immédiatement révoquée. Cette mesure mettra fin à la récolte et à la mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » en vertu de la présente politique.
  2. L'aquiculteur qui garde dans ses installations des huîtres de moins de 76 mm de longueur, sauf dans les conditions prescrites dans la présente politique, verra son ordonnance de modification immédiatement révoquée.
  3. L'aquiculteur qui enfreint une disposition de cette politique ou les conditions de tout permis ou bail aquicole fédéral ou provincial pourrait voir son bail ou son permis fédéral ou provincial annulé ou suspendu.
  4. Le transformateur qui enfreint une disposition de cette politique ou les conditions de tout permis ou bail aquicole fédéral ou provincial lié à la récolte et à la mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » verra son ordonnance modificative immédiatement révoquée. Cette mesure mettra fin à la récolte et à la mise en marché des huîtres « COCKTAIL » aux termes de la présente politique.
  5. Les autorités qui délivrent les permis effectueront immédiatement une enquête si un transformateur est soupçonné d'avoir enfreint une disposition de cette politique ou les conditions de tout bail fédéral ou provincial. Si on détermine qu'il y a eu violation, les contrevenants pourraient voir leur permis provincial ou fédéral de pêche de mollusques et de crustacés ou leur participation au Programme de gestion de la qualité (PGQ) annulés ou suspendus.
  6. Le transformateur qui doit garder des huîtres dans le cadre du présent programme à l'extérieur de son usine, dans une concession aquicole en eau libre, doit identifier les concessions dûment autorisées et quadrillées qu'il utilisera aux seules fins d'entreposage d'huîtres « COCKTAIL ». D'autres mollusques pourront y être gardés, mais ces autres espèces devront être mentionnées dans la demande de participation au programme.

    Nota :

    Aucune huître en provenance des bancs publics ou de concessions servant à la pêche commerciale ne pourra être gardée ou entreposée dans les concessions identifiées aux fins du présent programme.

LIGNES DE CONDUITE GÉNÉRALES

  1. Un ostréiculteur qui souhaite faire partie du programme concernant les huîtres « COCKTAIL » doit d'abord obtenir la permission de récolter et de vendre ces huîtres auprès du bureau régional de coordination de l'aquaculture du MPO à Halifax ou à Moncton, en présentant une demande écrite et signée. L'ostréiculteur doit pouvoir fournir tous les renseignements requis dans le formulaire de demande, entre autre l'usine enregistrée par le gouvernement fédéral ou provincial qui se chargera de transformer ou d'exporter les huîtres.
  2. Le MPO, par l'entremise des autorités provinciales, examinera la demande afin de déterminer si le requérant répond aux critères d'admission au programme et est en règle avec les autorités.
  3. Le bureau régional de coordination de l'aquaculture du MPO, après vérification de la demande auprès des provinces, informe le requérant par écrit s'il répond ou non aux critères établis dans cette politique.
  4. Les provinces (Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et Île-du-Prince-Édouard) doivent recommander l'approbation de la demande avant que le MPO délivre une ordonnance modificative autorisant la récolte des huîtres « COCKTAIL » dans la concession précisée et leur transformation par l'usine appropriée.
  5. L'information requise dans la demande officielle sera fournie sur un formulaire et inclura, sans s'y limiter :
    1. le nom de l'aquiculteur;
    2. l'emplacement de la concession arpentée telle qu'approuvée par les pouvoirs de location (inclure les coordonnées de quadrillage ou la latitude et la longitude pour tous les points de la concession);
    3. la durée de la période prévue pour la récolte des huîtres « COCKTAIL »;
    4. l'origine du naissain utilisé par l'aquiculteur qui participe au programme;
    5. l'usine qui expédiera le produit aux acheteurs et aux marchés;
    6. la liste de tout le personnel (assistants) qui travaille pour le requérant ou qui sera embauché par lui;
    7. des exemplaires des étiquettes de récolte et d'expédition et des emballages inviolables qui sont utilisés par l'aquiculteur et le transformateur;
    8. une explication de la méthode de tenue des registres et de la procédure comptable qui seront utilisées par l'aquiculteur et le transformateur pour documenter l'acheminement du produit du lieu de récolte jusque chez le détaillant.
  6. 6. Le MPO doit tenir à jour des listes de participants et les mettre à la disposition des agents des pêches et des inspecteurs participant à la mise en application des règlements du programme.
  7. 7. Un ostréiculteur qui fait partie du programme concernant les huîtres « COCKTAIL » doit engraisser son propre naissainNote de bas de page 3 qu'il peut récolter sur place ou ailleurs (dans des zones de récolte du naissain désignées, afin d'éviter tout conflit entre les groupes d'usagers), ou qu'il peut acheter à un fournisseurNote de bas de page 4 de naissain dûment nommé. L'aquiculteur doit être en mesure d'identifier, documents à l'appui, le naissain qu'il veut engraisser, ou encore les fournisseurs du naissain, et de maintenir un inventaire.

DÉFINITIONS

Septembre 1996