Fisheries and Oceans management of aquaculture and the application of the precautionary approach

Download PDF version [938KB]

Introduction

The Government of Canada views its commitment to the precautionary approach as:

“…recognizing that the absence of full scientific certainty shall not be used as a reason for postponing decisions where there is a risk of serious or irreversible harm.”

While Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has policies on the precautionary approach related to fisheries management, specific policies for applying the precautionary approach to the management of aquaculture have not been developed.

The objective of this document is to further explain how DFO applies the precautionary approach within its Framework for Aquaculture Risk Management (FARM).

The precautionary approach

The application of precaution, within science-based risk management is characterized by three principles:

DFO incorporates the precautionary approach when making decisions about fisheries by ensuring that potential risks to aquatic environments are managed to reduce the risk of harm to fish populations and habitat. We are more cautious in our management decisions when scientific information is uncertain, unreliable or incomplete.

We will apply the precautionary approach as part of the FARM management of aquaculture activities even when large-scale or permanent environmental impacts are not at stake.

Precautionary measures will be taken with an understanding of the potential risk, as assessed by experts, the extent of the effect of an activity on fish and fish habitat, and the scientific uncertainty associated with the assessment of these effects.

The greater the uncertainty, the less confidence there is that impacts and risk are estimated/predicted with accuracy and precision. Therefore, the management of these risks will, by necessity, require more risk averse measures and decisions.

Additionally, precautionary measures must be appropriately scaled to our understanding of where we are on the risk spectrum and the significance of uncertainty in potentially underestimating or overestimating the risk. That is, the lower the risk, regardless of the uncertainty, the extent of precautionary measures required will be reduced compared to if the risk is considered to be higher (Figure 1). The most effective precautionary measures should result in lowering the overall estimated risk to the target population or environment.

Graph
Figure 1: Scale of precautionary measures associated with risk (size of arrows indicate relative scale of precautionary measures applied; “red” represents the high probability of being in a state of unacceptable, potentially irreversible harm)
Long description

As the likelihood goes from very unlikely to expected, the consequence goes from negligible to extreme. The likelihood (y variable) increases over 6 rows. The consequence (x variable) increases over 5 columns. The first row and first column are colored green. The top 1 row in column 3, top 2 rows in column 4, and top 4 rows in column 5 are colored red. A small blue arrow points from column 2 row 3 (from the top) to column 1 row 3 (going from the yellow area to the green). A longer arrow goes from column 3 row 3 (from the top) to column 3 row 4 (from the top) staying in the yellow area. A wider arrow goes from column 5 row 4 (from the top) to column 5 row 6 (from the red area to the green).

An appropriate selection of precautionary measures will consider:

If errors and uncertainties are thought to increase the risk then precautionary measures may be employed, however if they are considered to decrease the risk, then further measures are not required.

If the overall uncertainty is high, and the target population or environment has specific protection objectives or measures in place, precautionary measures that address specific elements may also be appropriate, particularly if they are expected to increase the confidence in the risk estimation (Figure 2).

Graph
Figure 2a: Scale of uncertainty associated with risk estimation prior to precautionary measures
Long description

Scale of uncertainty associated with risk estimation prior to precautionary measures.

As the likelihood goes from very unlikely to expected, the consequence goes from negligible to extreme. The likelihood (y variable) increases over 6 rows. The consequence (x variable) increases over 5 columns. The first row and first column are colored green. The top 1 row in column 3, top 2 rows in column 4, and top 4 rows in column 5 are colored red. The rest are colored yellow. Row 3 (from the top) column 3 contains a blue circle with crosshairs spreading into the 2 rows above, 2 rows below, column 2 and column 4.

Graph
Figure 2b: Scale of uncertainty associated with risk estimation following the application of precautionary measures
Long description

Scale of uncertainty associated with risk estimation following the application of precautionary measures

As the likelihood goes from very unlikely to expected, the consequence goes from negligible to extreme. The likelihood (y variable) increases over 6 rows. The consequence (x variable) increases over 5 columns. The first row and first column are colored green. The top 1 row in column 3, top 2 rows in column 4, and top 4 rows in column 5 are colored red. The rest are colored yellow. Row 3 (from the top) column 3 contains a blue circle with crosshairs going into the row above and below it.

Consideration will be given to existing or proposed precautionary measures for other purposes that mitigate the need for further measures (e.g. if fisheries management has incorporated measures that are expected to result in a change in the status of a conservation unit, stock or populations, especially if there is a demonstrated trend in the stock status towards the healthy zone).

The application of the precautionary approach is guided by peer-reviewed scientific advice and other knowledge available, and can consider values and priorities.

Related information

Date modified:

Gestion de l’aquaculture et application de l’approche de précaution par Pêches et Océans Canada

Télécharger version PDF [855 Ko]

Introduction

Le gouvernement du Canada considère son engagement à l’égard de l’approche de précaution comme:

«… reconnaissant qu’il n’est pas acceptable d’invoquer l’absence de certitude scientifique absolue pour reporter la prise de décision lorsqu’il existe un risque de dommage grave ou irréversible».

Bien que Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) ait des politiques sur l'approche de précaution en matière de gestion des pêches, aucune politique spécifique n'a été élaborée pour appliquer l'approche de précaution à la gestion de l'aquaculture.

L’objectif du présent document est d’expliquer plus en détail comment le MPO applique l’approche de précaution dans le cadre de son Cadre de gestion des risques en aquaculture (CGRA).

Approche de précaution

L’application du principe de précaution, dans le cadre d’une gestion des risques fondée sur la science, se caractérise par 3 principes:

Le MPO applique l’approche de précaution lorsqu’il prend des décisions concernant les pêches, en s’assurant que les risques pour les milieux aquatiques sont gérés de manière à réduire au minimum les risques de dommages pour les populations de poissons et leur habitat. Nous sommes plus prudents dans nos décisions de gestion lorsque l’information scientifique est incertaine, peu fiable ou incomplète.

Nous appliquerons l’approche de précaution dans le cadre de gestion des risques liés à l’aquaculture même lorsque les impacts environnementaux à grande échelle ou permanents ne sont pas en jeu.

Des mesures de précaution seront prises en tenant compte du risque, tel qu’évalué par les experts, de l’ampleur des effets d’une activité sur le poisson et son habitat, et de l’incertitude scientifique associée à l’évaluation de ces effets.

Plus l’incertitude est grande, moins les estimations ou prévisions des impacts et des risques sont considérées comme exactes et précises. La gestion de ces risques imposera donc, nécessairement, des mesures et des décisions plus prudentes.

De plus, les mesures de précaution doivent être adaptées à notre compréhension de l’état actuel du spectre des risques et de l’importance de l’incertitude dans la sous-estimation ou la surestimation potentielle du risque. Autrement dit, plus le risque est faible (quelle que soit l’incertitude), moins les mesures de précaution requises seront importantes par rapport à un risque considéré comme élevé (figure1). Les mesures de précaution les plus efficaces devraient permettre de réduire le risque global estimé pour la population ou l’environnement cible.

Graphique
Figure 1: Échelle des mesures de précaution associées au risque (la taille des flèches indique l’échelle relative des mesures de précaution appliquées; le «rouge» représente une probabilité élevée d’être dans un état de dommage inacceptable et irréversible)
Description longue

La probabilité va de très improbable à attendu, la conséquence va de négligeable à extrême. La probabilité (variable y) augmente sur 6 lignes. La conséquence (variable x) augmente sur 5 colonnes. La première ligne et la première colonne sont colorées en vert. La première ligne du haut de la colonne 3, les 2 premières lignes de la colonne 4 et les 4 premières lignes de la colonne 5 sont colorées en rouge. Une petite flèche bleue pointe de la colonne 2 ligne 3 (du haut) à la colonne 1 ligne 3 (allant de la zone jaune au vert). Une flèche plus longue va de la colonne 3 ligne 3 (du haut) à la colonne 3 ligne 4 (du haut) en restant dans la zone jaune. Une flèche plus large va de la colonne 5 ligne 4 (du haut) à la colonne 5 ligne 6 (de la zone rouge au vert).

Une sélection appropriée de mesures de précaution tiendra compte des :

Si l’on estime que les erreurs et les incertitudes augmentent le risque, des mesures de précaution peuvent être prises, mais si l’on considère qu’elles diminuent le risque, d’autres mesures ne sont pas nécessaires.

Si le degré d’incertitude globale est élevé et que la population ou l’environnement cible a des objectifs ou des mesures de protection précises en place, des mesures de précaution portant sur des éléments précis peuvent également être appropriées, surtout si elles sont susceptibles d’accroître la confiance dans l’estimation du risque (figure2).
Graphique
Figure 2a: Échelle d’incertitude associée à l’estimation du risque avant l’application des mesures de précaution
Description longue

Échelle d'incertitude associée à l'estimation du risque avant l'adoption de mesures de précaution.

La probabilité va de très improbable à attendu, la conséquence va de négligeable à extrême. La probabilité (variable y) augmente sur 6 lignes. La conséquence (variable x) augmente sur 5 colonnes. La première ligne et la première colonne sont colorées en vert. La première ligne du haut de la colonne 3, les 2 premières lignes de la colonne 4 et les 4 premières lignes de la colonne 5 sont colorées en rouge. Les autres sont de couleur jaune. Au niveau de la rangée 3 (à partir du haut) colonne 3se trouve un cercle bleu avec un réticule s'étendant sur les 2 rangées au-dessus, 2 rangées en dessous, la colonne 2 et la colonne 4.

Graphique
Figure 2b : Échelle d’incertitude associée à l’estimation du risque après l’application des mesures de précaution
Description longue

Échelle d’incertitude associée à l’estimation du risque après l’application des mesures de précaution

La probabilité va de très improbable à attendu, la conséquence va de négligeable à extrême. La probabilité (variable y) augmente sur 6 lignes. La conséquence (variable x) augmente sur 5 colonnes. La première ligne et la première colonne sont colorées en vert. La première ligne du haut de la colonne 3, les 2 premières lignes de la colonne 4 et les 4 premières lignes de la colonne 5 sont colorées en rouge. Les autres sont de couleur jaune. Au niveau de la rangée 3 (à partir du haut) colonne 3 se trouve un cercle bleu avec un réticule s’étendant dans la rangée du haut et du bas.

Il faudra également tenir compte des mesures de précaution existantes ou proposées à d’autres fins et qui atténuent la nécessité d’appliquer des mesures supplémentaires (p.ex., si la gestion des pêches a incorporé des mesures qui devraient entraîner un changement dans l’état d’une unité de conservation, d’un stock ou de populations, surtout si l’on constate une tendance manifeste du stock vers la zone saine).

L’application de l’approche de précaution est guidée par les avis scientifiques examinés par des pairs et d’autres connaissances disponibles, et peut tenir compte des valeurs et des priorités.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification: