Aquaculture collaboration

According to the United Nations’ Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the current world population of 7.3 billion is expected to reach 9.7 billion in 2050; accordingly, the world's food supply must double by 2050. To fill this gap, the world must rely more and more on aquaculture which is now the world's fastest-growing food production system. The FAO noted that aquaculture’s contribution to the food supply, through finfish, shellfish and aquatic plants, overtook that of wild fish for the first time in 2014.

As aquaculture is expanding, Canada is working with other governments in the country, partner countries and multinational organizations to create new, and strengthen existing mechanisms to secure a sustainable future for global aquaculture. Building strong collaborations worldwide enables Canada to support responsible and sustainable aquaculture development.

National Collaborations

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

The Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program is a Fisheries and Oceans Canada initiative to increase the level of collaborative research and development activity with the aquaculture industry and academia.

Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM)

Under the auspices of the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers, Fisheries and Oceans Canada works with its provincial and territorial partners to develop coordinated regulations, policies and programs in support of a sustainable Canadian aquaculture sector.

Aquaculture Development Strategy

Reviewed by CCFAM in June 2016, the CCFAM Aquaculture Development Strategy outlines a three-year strategy to implement a collaborative federal-provincial-territorial plan that supports continued growth in sustainable aquaculture production.

National Aquaculture Strategic Action Plan (NASAPI)

The Aquaculture Development Strategy follows the National Aquaculture Strategic Action Plan (NASAPI),a five-year initiative (2011-2015) also endorsed by CCFAM, that set out a strategic vision for the future sustainability of the aquaculture sector based on the principles of environmental protection, social well-being and economic prosperity. Over the five-year period, jurisdictions succeeded in completing a significant portion of the planned activities, either through their own regulatory regimes, daily operations or special initiatives.

The National Aquaculture Strategic Action Plan (NASAPI) five-year initiative, endorsed by CCFAM sets out a strategic vision for the future sustainability of the aquaculture sector based on the principles of environmental protection, social well-being and economic prosperity.

NASAPI 2011-2015 supporting documents:

International Collaborations

Codex Alimentarius - United Nations

The Codex Alimentarius Commission is a United Nations-based organization that engages and develops international food standards, guidelines, and codes of practice that contribute to the safety, quality and fairness of international food trade. The organization includes a number of committees, such as the Codex Committee on Food Labelling (CCFL) hosted by Canada.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is working with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency on a special CCFL Committee established to develop an organic aquaculture element within the existing organic agriculture standard. This work supports Canada’s national Organic Aquaculture Standards.

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) - United Nations

In response to growing concerns over global depletion of fish stocks and rapid aquaculture development, the United Nations’ Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) was tasked in 1992 to develop a Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries. Canada was a key supporter and contributor of this initiative that aimed at conserving fish stocks and protecting the marine environment.

Adopted by 80 countries, including Canada, at the 28th Conference of the FAO in 1995, the Code of Conduct is an important reference tool for responsible aquaculture development nationally and internationally.

Canada continues to be a strong supporter of the FAO’s goal of responsible aquaculture development. Fisheries and Oceans Canada helped develop the FAO’s Technical Guidelines on Aquaculture Certification, and is a regular contributor to the organization’s Committee on Fisheries - Sub-Committee on Aquaculture.

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Globalization in virtually all aspects of aquaculture production has necessitated the development of international standards to ensure conformity across multiple jurisdictions, prevent countries from becoming isolated, and foster worldwide collaboration.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has been an active participant in the International Organization for Standardization’s Technical Committee 234 on Fisheries and Aquaculture (ISO/TC234), which has produced many standards relating to traceability for finfish and shellfish products, aquaculture cage technology, sea lice surveillance, and environmental monitoring of aquaculture impacts. Aquaculture operators can obtain more information and purchase ISO/TC 234 standards through the ISO webpages.

Joint Statement Between Canada, Chile, Norway, and Scotland on Aquaculture

In 2015, Canada, Chile, Scotland and Norway signed a Joint Statement on Aquaculture committing themselves to exchanging information, knowledge and experiences, and continuing to adopt effective management tools to further promote sustainable aquaculture development. The Statement is a strong first step towards strengthening ties amongst the four leading cold-water-aquaculture producing countries, especially as they have a significant interest in farmed salmon.

North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization (NASCO)

The international North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization was established to enable collaboration amongst member-countries on conserving, restoring, enhancing and managing wild Atlantic salmon, taking into account the best available science. As a member, Canada is required to develop an Implementation Plan and submit annual progress reports to demonstrate what actions it has taken to implement NASCO Resolutions, Agreements and Guidelines.

A North American Commission was established under NASCO to foster Canada-United States cooperation to minimize aquaculture’s potential impacts on wild Atlantic salmon. This cooperation includes annual reports on salmonid diseases, fish escapes, introductions of fish from outside the Commission’s area, and transgenic activities.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) - Committee on Fisheries

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development - Committee on Fisheries provides a forum for members to discuss the economic and policy aspects of fisheries and aquaculture. The OECD also develops important research to assist policy makers in ensuring the continued sustainability of fisheries and aquaculture resources worldwide.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has contributed information to many OECD documents, including the recent publication entitled Green Growth in Fisheries and Aquaculture.

Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC) - Canada – United States

Canada and the United States established the Regulatory Cooperation Council to facilitate closer regulatory cooperation and enhance economic competitiveness by aligning their regulatory systems where appropriate.

In August 2014, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) established a partnership to deepen their collaboration and advance regulatory cooperation for the aquaculture sector.

Collaboration en aquaculture

Selon l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO), la population mondiale actuelle de 7,3 milliards de personnes devrait atteindre 9,7 milliards en 2050, et par conséquent, l’approvisionnement en nourriture devra doubler d’ici 2050. Pour combler cet écart, le monde doit s’en remettre de plus en plus à l’aquaculture qui est le secteur de production alimentaire qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide du monde. La FAO a noté que la contribution de l’aquaculture à l’approvisionnement alimentaire, c’est à dire des poissons, des mollusques et des plantes aquatiques, a surpassé celle des poissons sauvages pour la première fois en 2014.

Alors que l’aquaculture prend de l’expansion, le Canada travaille en collaboration avec d’autres gouvernements au pays, des pays partenaires et des organisations multinationales afin de créer de nouveaux mécanismes et de renforcer les mécanismes actuels en vue d’assurer un avenir durable pour l’aquaculture mondiale. Le fait d’établir de bonnes collaborations dans le monde entier permet au Canada d’appuyer le développement d’une aquaculture responsable et durable.

Collaborations nationales

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Le Programme coopératif de recherche et de développement en aquaculture est une initiative de Pêches et Océans Canada visant à stimuler la recherche et le développement en collaboration avec l’industrie de l’aquaculture et les milieux universitaires.

Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture (CCMPA)

Sous les auspices du Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture, Pêches et Océans Canada travaille avec ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux à l'élaboration de règlements, de politiques et de programmes coordonnés à l'appui d’un secteur de l'aquaculture canadien durable.

Stratégie de développement de l’aquaculture

Examinée par le CCMPA en juin 2016, la Stratégie de développement de l’aquaculture du CCMPA prévoit un plan triennal pour la mise en œuvre d’une collaboration fédérale-provinciale-territoriale afin d’apporter un soutien accrue à la croissance de l’aquaculture durable.

lnitiative nationale pour des plans d’action stratégiques en aquaculture (INPASA)

La Stratégie de développement de l’aquaculture fait suite à l’Initiative nationale pour des plans d’action stratégiques en aquaculture (INPASA - 2011-2015). Celle-ci, aussi endossée par le CCMPA, établit une vision stratégique de la durabilité future du secteur aquacole. Cette vision est fondée sur les principes de la protection de l'environnement, du bien-être social et de la prospérité économique. Pendant cette période de cinq années, les différentes juridictions ont réussi à compléter un nombre important des activités planifiées, soit par le biais de leur propre régime réglementaire, d’activités journalières ou des initiatives spéciales.

Documents à l'appui de l’INPASA – 2011-15 :

Collaborations internationales

Codex Alimentarius – Nations Unies

La Commission du Codex Alimentarius est une organisation des Nations Unies qui élabore des normes alimentaires, des lignes directrices et des codes de pratiques à l’échelle internationale contribuant à la sécurité, à la qualité et à l’équité du commerce international des aliments. L’organisation comprend un certain nombre de comités comme le Comité du Codex sur l'étiquetage des denrées alimentaires (CCFL) sous l’égide du Canada.

Pêches et Océans Canada travaille avec l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments au sein d’un comité spécial du CCFL mis sur pied pour établir un volet d’aquaculture biologique dans la norme existante sur l’agriculture biologique. Ce travail appuie les normes d’aquaculture biologique du Canada.

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO)

En 1992, en réponse à des inquiétudes grandissantes devant l'appauvrissement des stocks de poisson et l’expansion rapide de l’aquaculture, l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) a été mandatée pour élaborer un Code de conduite pour une pêche responsable. Le Canada a été un défenseur et contributeur clé de cette initiative qui visait à préserver les stocks de poissons et à protéger l’environnement marin.

Adopté par 80 pays, y compris le Canada, à la 28e Conférence de la FAO en 1995, le Code de conduite est un outil de référence important pour le développement d’une aquaculture responsable aux échelles nationale et internationale.

Le Canada demeure un ardent défenseur de l’objectif du la FAO en matière de développement d’une aquaculture responsable. Pêches et Océans Canada, qui a aidé à élaborer les Directives techniques relatives à la certification en aquaculture de la FAO, contribue régulièrement au Sous-comité de l’aquaculture du Comité sur les pêches de l’organisation.

Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO)

Dans presque tous les aspects de la production aquacole, la mondialisation a requis l’établissement de normes internationales pour assurer la conformité entre États, empêcher les pays de s’isoler et favoriser la collaboration internationale.

Pêches et Océans Canada a été un participant actif au comité technique 234 sur les pêches et l’aquaculture (ISO TC234), de l’Organisation internationale de normalisation, comité qui a produit de nombreuses normes relatives à la traçabilité des produits que sont les poissons et les mollusques, à la technologie de l’aquaculture en cage, à la surveillance du pou de mer et à la surveillance environnementale des répercussions de l’aquaculture. Les exploitants d’entreprises aquacoles peuvent obtenir plus d’information sur le comité et acheter des exemplaires des normes ISO/TC 234 via les pages Web de l’ISO.

Déclaration commune du Canada, du Chili, de la Norvège et de l’Écosse sur l’aquaculture

En 2015, le Canada, le Chili, l’Écosse et la Norvège ont signé une Déclaration commune sur l’aquaculture en vertu de laquelle ils se sont engagés à échanger de l'information, une expertise et des connaissances, et à continuer d’adopter des outils de gestion efficaces afin de promouvoir le développement durable de l’aquaculture. Cette déclaration officielle est considérée comme une première étape marquante vers un renforcement des relations entre les quatre pays producteurs d'aquaculture en eau froide, particulièrement du fait qu’ils ont des intérêts importants dans le saumon d'élevage.

Organisation pour la Conservation du Saumon de l'Atlantique Nord (NASCO);

L’Organisation internationale pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique Nord (site en anglais seulement) a été créée pour favoriser la collaboration entre les pays membres en matière de conservation, de rétablissement, d’accroissement et de gestion de la population de saumons sauvages de l’Atlantique, en prenant en considérations les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles. En tant que membre de cette organisation, le Canada est tenu d’élaborer un Plan de mise en œuvre (disponible en anglais seulement) et de présenter des rapports d’étape annuels afin de démontrer quelles mesures le Canada a prises pour mettre en œuvre les résolutions, ententes et lignes directrices de l’Organisation.

Une Commission nord-américaine a été établie sous l’égide de l’Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique Nord afin de favoriser la collaboration entre le Canada et les États-Unis pour réduire au minimum les répercussions potentielles de l’aquaculture sur le saumon de l’Atlantique sauvage. Cette collaboration prévoit la production de rapports annuels sur les maladies des salmonidés, les échappements de poissons, les introductions de poissons provenant de l’extérieur de la zone de responsabilité de la Commission et les activités transgéniques.

Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) – Comité sur les pêches

Le Comité sur les pêches de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique offre une tribune à l’intention des pays membres pour qu’ils discutent des aspects économiques et stratégiques des pêches et de l’aquaculture. L’OCDE mène également d’importantes recherches qui appuient le travail des décideurs visant à assurer la durabilité des pêches et des ressources halieutiques mondiales.

Pêches et Océans Canada a fourni de l’information pour de nombreux documents de l’OCDE, y compris la publication récente intitulée La croissance verte dans les pêches et l’aquaculture.

Conseil de coopération Canada-États-Unis en matière de réglementation (CCR)

Le Canada et les États-Unis ont mis sur pied le Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation en vue de favoriser une coopération plus étroite en matière de réglementation et de renforcer la compétitivité économique en harmonisant leurs systèmes de réglementation dans la mesure du possible.

En août 2014, Pêches et Océans Canada et la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) des États-Unis ont établi un partenariat pour renforcer leur collaboration et faire progresser leur collaboration réglementaire relative au secteur de l’aquaculture.