Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program (2008-2013)

Purpose and Results of Program

The overall goal of the Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program (AIMAP) was to catalyze aquaculture industry investment from the private sector, as well as other sectors, that:

  • Improve the competitiveness of the Canadian aquaculture industry by encouraging an aquaculture sector that continuously develops and adopts innovative technologies and management techniques to enhance its global competitiveness and environmental performance;
  • Position Canadian aquaculture products as having high value in the marketplace based on their environmental performance, traceability, and other considerations.

These goals contributed to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans strategic outcomes of sustainable fisheries and aquaculture and healthy and productive aquatic ecosystems. Contribution funding under AIMAP was intended to enable recipients to plan, manage and complete projects that achieve these strategic outcomes.

The AIMAP included a nationally competitive process with called for proposals issued on an annual basis, and based on priorities established in consultation with provinces, territories and sector stakeholders. The 2008-2013 program focused on one-year projects with demonstrable industry-wide benefits implemented by the end of the project.

Under this program a maximum of $4.5 million in departmental contribution funds was available each year to support innovation initiatives, and a maximum of $200,000 in departmental contribution funds was available each year to support market access initiatives.

Over the five years of the program, Fisheries and Oceans Canada contributed $23.2 million to 163 projects with a total project value of $ 113.1 million. For more information, please consult:

AIMAP - Archived Material:

Programme d'innovation en aquaculture et d'accès au marché (2008-2013)

But et résultats des projets du programme

Le Programme d’innovation en aquaculture et d’accès aux marchés (PIAMM) avait pour but de regrouper les investissements du secteur privé et des autres secteurs de l’industrie aquacole et de permettre :

  • d’améliorer la compétitivité de l’industrie aquacole canadienne en favorisant un secteur qui ne cesse de se développer et d’adopter des technologies novatrices et des techniques de gestion pour rehausser sa compétitivité et sa performance environnementale globale;
  • de positionner les produits aquacoles canadiens afin d’obtenir une valeur élevée sur le marché selon leur performance environnementale, leur traçabilité et autres facteurs.

Ces objectifs ont contribué aux résultats stratégiques de Pêches et Océans Canada quant à la durabilité des pêches et de l’aquaculture et des écosystèmes aquatiques sains et productifs. Le financement du PIAMM visait à permettre aux bénéficiaires de planifier, de gérer et de mener à bien des projets liés à ces résultats stratégiques.

Le PIAMM, dont les priorités étaient établies en collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires et les intervenants du secteur, était un processus national concurrentiel dans le cadre duquel des appels de propositions étaient lancés annuellement. Ce programme (de 2008 à 2013) ciblait les projets échelonnés sur une seule année et qui démontraient que l’industrie pouvait bénéficier des avantages concrets en fin du projet.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, une contribution de fonds ministérielle maximale de 4,5 millions de dollars était disponible annuellement pour appuyer les initiatives d’innovation et 0,2  million de dollars était disponible annuellement pour appuyer les initiatives d’accès au marché.

Au cours des cinq années du Programme, Pêches et Océans Canada a versé 23,2 millions de dollars à 163 projets, projets dont la valeur totale s'élève à 113,1 millions de dollars. Pour des informations additionnelles, veuillez consulter :

Documents du PIAMM archivés