Exceptions to industry contributions

The Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) is a DFO initiative to improve the competitiveness of a sustainable Canadian aquaculture industry by increasing the level of collaborative research and development activity between the aquaculture industry and the department, and other key partners.  The program has been operating since 2000. 

While the industry has grown considerably, some sectors have not fully matured or achieved stability and it is recognized that, in exceptional circumstances, the ratio for the industry contribution (7.5% in-cash and 22.5% in-kind of the ACRDP amount requested) is difficult to attain and exemptions to this requirement may be considered.

To be granted exception status, an ACRDP proposal seeking a reduced cash contribution:

  • must be submitted by an industry association or a group representing the majority of industry in a sector to ensure that it is a high priority and is likely to have a broad impact on the industry as a whole;
  • must provide justification for the request for exception;
  • must be submitted to the ACRDP National Coordinator;
  • must be reviewed and approved by a three-person subcommittee of the ACRDP National Steering Committee (one federal, one provincial and one industry representative) to ensure harmonization and consistency in application of the exception criteria; and
  • must commit the proponent to a minimum of 3% cash contribution, while the in-kind contributions must increase such that the 30% overall industry contribution for the project is maintained.

Criteria for exceptions and process requirements will be reviewed and revised, as required, after one year.

Note:

If an industry association does not exist for a particular sector (i.e., emerging species), the industry applicant can provide two letters of support from other growers or farmers, along with the application for funding to help demonstrate the potential for impact on the industry at a broad level.

Exceptions aux contributions de l'industrie

Le Programme coopératif de recherche-développement en aquaculture (PCRDA), une initiative du MPO, vise à améliorer la compétitivité d'un industrie viable canadienne de l'aquaculture en intensifiant l'activité concertée de recherche et développement entre l'industrie aquacole, le Ministère et d'autres partenaires. Le PCRDA a été lancé en l'an 2000.
Bien que l'industrie ait connu une expansion considérable, certains secteurs n'ont pas encore atteint la pleine maturité ou la stabilité, et il est notoire que, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, l'industrie a de la difficulté à fournir sa part (soit 7,5 % en espèces et 22,5 % en nature du montant requis par le programme). Des exemptions pourraient donc être envisagées pour pallier cette difficulté.
Une réduction de la contribution en espèces de l'industrie aquacole dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche et développement sera accordée sous réserve des conditions suivantes :

  • doit être présentée par une association aquacole ou un groupe représentant la majorité des intervenants d’un secteur* de l’industrie afin d’assurer que le projet est de priorité élevée et qu’il aura de vastes retombées pour l’ensemble de l’industrie;
  • doit justifier la demande d’exception;
  • doit être présentée à un coordonnateur national du PCRDA.
  • doit être passée en revue et approuvée par un sous-comité de trois personnes (composé d’un représentant fédéral, d’un représentant provincial et d’un représentant de l’industrie) du Comité directeur national du PCRDA, qui confirmera que les critères d’exception susmentionnés sont bien appliqués et respectés;
  • doit engager le promoteur à faire une contribution minimale de 3 % en espèces, alors que la contribution en nature doit augmenter de façon telle que la contribution globale de l’industrie de 30 % demeure la même;

Les critères des exceptions et les exigences relatives au processus seront réévalués et modifiés après un an, au besoin.

Noter :

S'il n'existe pas d'association de l'industrie pour un secteur particulier (p. ex. espèces émergentes), le promoteur doit présenter deux lettres d'appui d'autres aquaculteurs avec la demande de financement pour démontrer que son projet pourrait avoir de vastes retombées pour l'industrie.