Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 19 - November, 2013

Saltwater Rearing of Endangered Inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic Salmon Smolt: A Comparison with Standard Freshwater Techniques

Corey Clarke with tagged returning Atlantic Salmon
Corey Clarke with tagged returning Atlantic Salmon
(Photo: Parks Canada)

Summary

As part of the inner Bay of Fundy (iBoF) conservation efforts for wild Atlantic Salmon, this Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) project explored a novel, naturalized saltwater rearing technique to determine the effect of saltwater rearing on adult return rates and offspring viability. Wild iBoF Atlantic Salmon smolts were collected and reared to adults in either marine net pens (pens set up in the natural environment at a salmon farm) or a land-based freshwater hatchery. A sub-sample of adult salmon were retained for spawning experiments to determine the effect of rearing technique on offspring viability. In 2011, 43 of the adult salmon released into the Bay of Fundy were observed to return to the freshwater environment. The majority of these fish were net pen-reared individuals. In 2012, similar returning numbers were observed with the majority of the sampled returns also being from the net pen-reared group released to sea in 2011. Taking into account all known releases of salmon, the net pen-reared fish returned approximately 2:1 compared to hatchery-reared fish. The five-month survival rates of offspring were 62% from net pen-reared parents and 48% from hatchery parents, suggesting that a more naturalized rearing environment may also improve offspring survival. Results from this project have elicited widespread interest from other conservation groups and the aquaculture industry in continuing to test this theory and replicate these successes for salmon conservation elsewhere in Atlantic Canada.

The Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) is a Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) initiative to increase the level of collaborative research and development activity between the aquaculture industry and DFO. Projects under ACRDP seek to improve aquaculture environmental performance and support optimal fish health.

Introduction

As a result of severe declines in the return of spawning adults, inner Bay of Fundy (iBoF) Atlantic Salmon stocks were listed in 2003 as endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). In the iBoF, 32 rivers have been designated as salmon habitat, two of which (the Upper Salmon and Point Wolfe rivers) occur on federally protected lands within Fundy National Park. As part of the Recovery Strategy for this stock, Parks Canada has partnered with Fisheries and Oceans Canada to establish a Live Gene Bank (LGB) program to preserve and protect what remains of the genetic diversity of iBoF salmon stocks.

A LGB program aims to maintain representatives of all remaining families in stocks with low population numbers while efforts are made to rebuild the stocks. Under this program, fish are captured during their seaward migration, genetically identified, reared to maturity in captivity and spawned using crosses to maximize genetic diversity. The resulting offspring are released back into the wild (the “in-river” LGB) or held and reared in captivity (the “captive” LGB). 

With any captive rearing program, there are concerns with individual fitness and domestication effects. Although the iBoF LGB program has been very successful at achieving its goals of maintaining genetic diversity, adult returns from the sea remain critically low and are cited as the factor most limiting population recovery. Program managers are concerned that the freshwater environmental conditions under which the LGB fish are held and raised to maturity, being quite different from what the fish would otherwise be experiencing in the marine environment, might be contributing to a reduced natural fitness in the stock.

A growing body of literature suggests that significant reductions in captive rearing-induced domestication effects can be achieved by naturalizing the captive environment to the appropriate life stage. It was therefore hypothesized that rearing the LGB salmon in outdoor marine net pens from the smolt to maturity stages would result in increased survival and spawning success when compared to indoor freshwater rearing. This Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) project aimed to test this hypothesis by determining the effect of the post-smolt rearing environment on iBoF LGB salmon’s ability to migrate from the marine environment into rivers and produce offspring.

Methods

Marine rearing

In 2009, a sample of smolts migrating from the Upper Salmon River in Fundy National Park was collected. Seven hundred of these smolt were transported to two net pen sites operated by Admiral Fish Farms and Cooke Aquaculture. Smolts were monitored regularly to record growth, general health and development; mortalities were removed and recorded on a weekly basis. The fish that were held in net pens were impacted by high sea lice (Lepeophtheirus salmonis) loads resulting in a total loss of this portion of the sample. In 2010, the study was repeated using a specialized pen design more appropriate for rearing and monitoring the relatively small numbers of wild fish required by this project. Approximately 1600 fish from the Upper Salmon River smolt collections were stocked into four of the modified net pens (Figure 1) where they were raised to maturity.

Four small pens and nets customized to fit within a standard commercial 70 m polar marine net pen, used to rear small groups of wild salmon to adults
Figure 1.
Four small pens and nets customized to fit within a standard commercial 70 m polar marine net pen, used to rear small groups of wild salmon to adults (Photo: Corey Clarke).
Freshwater rearing

Samples of fish from the 2009 and 2010 year classes were taken to the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) hatchery in Mactaquac, New Brunswick. A total of 300 smolt were reared to adults in fresh water tanks within the Mactaquac hatchery facility. 

Ability to return from the marine environment

In early fall 2011, 344 adult fish from the net pen-reared group and approximately 150 adult fish from the hatchery-reared group were released at sea into the Bay of Fundy. All released fish were individually identifiable through passive integrated transponder (PIT) tags that were implanted during the smolt stage. Additionally, prior to release, all fish were tagged externally (Figure 2) for rapid visual identification; and select fish were tagged with acoustic transmitters for which receivers were placed near the mouth of several iBoF rivers. Acoustic transmitter receivers were monitored regularly to detect differences in homing and stray rates between net pen- and hatchery-reared fish, as well as to detect the onset of fish returning to the rivers. Once returning fish were detected, dive surveys (Figure 3) were initiated in the rivers to continue monitoring return rates via external tags. Monitoring of returns was conducted in the fall of 2011 and 2012.

Adult salmon equipped with external tag
Figure 2.
Adult salmon equipped with external tag (Photo: Parks Canada).
Offspring survival

Sub-samples of adults reared in the net pen and hatchery environments were retained to determine the effect of the different culture techniques on offspring survival rates. In the autumn of 2011, offspring were produced in the hatchery using crosses of mature pairs from both rearing environments. The resulting offspring were monitored for five months to identify any differences in survival rates. After five months, the surviving offspring were released into the Upper Salmon River.

Results / Discussion

Ability to return from the marine environment

Following the release of the adult fish to sea in 2011, 43 tagged salmon were observed by dive survey to return to the freshwater environment (Table 1). Of these individuals, 39 were identified from their PIT tags as net pen-reared fish; 4 were hatchery-reared fish.

Table 1.
Summary of LGB project fish releases and returns during fall 2011
Released at Sea Returns to Freshwater
Sea pen reared Hatchery reared Total
Releases
Sea pen reared Hatchery reared Total
Returns
344 150 494 39 (90.7%) 4 (9.3%) 43 (100%)

The majority of the observed returns (30 individuals; 27 net pen and 3 hatchery) were found in the Point Wolfe River, the closest river to the marine release site.

These results demonstrate that captive-reared fish do maintain some instinct to return to the freshwater environment following their release at sea. Net pen-rearing techniques might have some influence on return success, possibly reflecting an improvement in the fitness of the fish. However, the majority of captive-reared salmon (both net pen- and hatchery-reared) that were observed to return to freshwater, entered the freshwater river closest to the site of marine release rather than returning to their river of origin.

Two divers survey a river for returning salmon
Figure 3
Two divers survey a river for returning salmon (Photo: Parks Canada).

It is important to note in the context of this study that these “returning” fish travelled from the marine release site into the rivers after spending only a limited amount of time at sea. In contrast, wild Atlantic Salmon typically spend many months in the marine environment before returning to their native rivers to spawn. Although the returns observed in this project cannot be considered analogous to those where smolts leave and return after a full ocean migration, the results suggest that increasing returns might be possible if the smolts are raised in marine net pens.

Additional observations

In 2012, 52 returning adult salmon were observed through dive surveys in the Upper Salmon and Pointe Wolfe Rivers. Of these, 30 fish were sampled for identification and it was found that 29 originated from the 2011 release as part of this project, and the majority of these were net pen-reared. Accounting for all known releases of adult salmon to Fundy National Park rivers in 2011 (including adults released in addition to the project fish as described above), it is estimated that the net pen-reared fish returned approximately 2:1 compared to returns of hatchery-reared fish. In Fundy National Park, these return rates represent the highest of those observed in over 20 years, despite a decade of extensive recovery efforts, suggesting that rearing juvenile salmon in naturalized environments might improve their fitness and better equip them to migrate from sea to river.

Offspring survival

Forty-three families of eggs were produced using 20 mating pairs of hatchery-reared fish and 23 pairs of net pen-reared fish, all collected as smolts from the Upper Salmon River. The average survival to the eyed-egg stage of offspring produced from net pen-reared parents was 62% while survival was 48% for offspring produced from hatchery parents. 

Data analysis is still ongoing, however, it is suggested that the parent's rearing environment may also influence subsequent offspring survival. Naturalized exposure, such as net pen-rearing, could increase both the ability of salmon to return, and the survival of their offspring if spawning were to occur in the wild (compounding effects).

Future research

The specialized net pen infrastructure that was designed for this study is believed to have contributed to the successful rearing of a small number of fish in the marine environment by better protecting the fish from the elements and predators and allowing closer observation of the health and performance of the fish. Further research into improving these rearing conditions and increasing survival would be beneficial. These conditions may include: net cleaning, fish handling, stocking and removal methods, and feeding including further naturalization through the incorporation of more natural feeding regimes.
Additionally, future research should continue to evaluate the marine survival and return rates of offspring from adult salmon that are net pen-reared and released at sea to return to home rivers. In further analyses of this saltwater rearing technique, it is also suggested that consideration be given to the potential risks associated with raising fish at commercial marine aquaculture sites such as an increased density of pathogens, and potential for disease transfer.

Work is currently underway by other groups to replicate these results using the methods developed in this project. Determining the repeatability of this project and the high return rates by net pen-reared fish will be crucial in evaluating the potential of applying saltwater rearing techniques to the recovery efforts for other wild salmon populations. 

Conclusion

This research has fostered a successful partnership among the salmon farming industry, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Parks Canada to achieve significant results for the conservation of, and research on, endangered wild salmon populations. This collaboration is now poised to expand to include other conservation groups who are interested in similar activities.

A relatively small number of adult wild salmon are required to sustain endangered populations from inner Bay of Fundy rivers. Considering the immense capacity of the industry to produce adult salmon relative to the minimum conservation requirement, incredible potential exists for industry / conservation collaborative efforts. These collaborations could have significant benefits to endangered populations of wild Atlantic Salmon.


This ACRDP project (MG-09-02-002) is a collaborative effort between Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), the Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association (ACFFA) and Parks Canada. The research was conducted by Corey Clarke (graduate student) from Memorial University of Newfoundland. The DFO contact for the project, Dr. Patrick O’Reilly, can be contacted at Patrick.OReilly@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch,
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2013

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN 978-1-100-22856-3
DFO/2013-1902
Cat. No. Fs48-2/19-2013E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Fiche Technique du Programme Coopératif de Recherche et Développement en Aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 19 - Novembre, 2013

Élevage en mer de jeunes saumons de l’Atlantique de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy en voie de disparition : comparaison avec les techniques d'élevage en eau douce

Corey Clarke with tagged returning Atlantic Salmon
Corey Clarke tenant un saumon de l'Atlantique marqué pris pendant sa montaison
(Photo : Parcs Canada)

Résumé

Dans le cadre des mesures de conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique sauvage de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy (IBF), le présent projet du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) a examiné une nouvelle technique d'élevage avec naturalisation en eau de mer pour déterminer l'effet de l'élevage en eau de mer sur les taux de montaison des adultes et la viabilité de la progéniture. Des saumons de l’Atlantique sauvage de l'IBF ont été recueillis au stade de saumoneau et élevés jusqu'au stade adulte, soit dans des parcs en filet marins (parcs installés en milieu naturel dans une exploitation de salmoniculture) ou en écloserie en eau douce à terre. Un sous-échantillon de saumon adulte a été conservé en vue d'expériences de frai, qui doivent déterminer les effets de la technique d'élevage sur la viabilité de la progéniture. En 2011, il a été observé que 43 des saumons adultes remis à l'eau dans la baie de Fundy remontaient vers le milieu d'eau douce. La majorité de ces individus avaient été élevés dans des parcs en filet. En 2012, des chiffres de montaison similaires ont été enregistrés. Là encore, la majorité des individus de la montaison étaient issus du groupe élevé dans un parc en filet et rejeté en mer en 2011. Si l'on tient compte de tous les saumons remis à l'eau connus, le taux de montaison des individus élevés dans des parcs en filet était d'environ 2:1, par rapport à celui des individus élevés en écloserie. Les taux de survie à cinq mois étaient de 62 % pour la progéniture de parents élevés dans des parcs en filet et de 48 % pour la progéniture de parents élevés en écloserie, ce qui laisse à penser qu'un milieu d'élevage plus naturel est susceptible d'améliorer aussi la survie de la progéniture. Les résultats du projet ont vivement incité d'autres groupes de conservation et le secteur aquacole à continuer de mettre à l'épreuve cette théorie et à reproduire ces expériences réussies à des fins de conservation du saumon dans d'autres secteurs du Canada atlantique.

Le Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) est une initiative concertée de Pêches et Océans Canada et de l'industrie de l'aquaculture cherchant à stimuler la recherche et le développement. Les projets menés dans le cadre du PCRDA visent l'amélioration du rendement environnemental de l'aquaculture et servent à préserver la santé des poissons de façon optimale.

Introduction

En raison d'un déclin marqué de la montaison d'adultes vers les frayères, les stocks de saumon de l’Atlantique de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy (IBF) ont été inscrits comme population en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Dans l'IBF, 32 rivières ont été désignées comme habitat du saumon. Deux d'entre elles (Upper Salmon et Point Wolfe) se trouvent sur des terres protégées par le gouvernement fédéral dans le parc national Fundy. Pour les besoins du programme de rétablissement du stock, Parcs Canada a noué un partenariat avec Pêches et Océans Canada qui mettra en place un programme de génothèque destiné à préserver et protéger ce qui reste de la biodiversité des stocks de saumon de l'IBF.

Les programmes de génothèque cherchent à conserver des représentants de toutes les familles des stocks aux populations peu nombreuses, parallèlement aux mesures prises pour rétablir ces derniers. Dans ce programme, le poisson est capturé pendant sa migration vers l'océan, identifié génétiquement, élevé jusqu'à sa maturité en captivité, puis reproduit au moyen de croisements pour optimiser la diversité génétique. La progéniture de cette reproduction est remise en liberté en milieu naturel (gènes dits des individus « en rivière ») ou capturée et élevée en captivité (gènes dits des individus « en captivité »). 

Dans tout programme d'élevage en captivité, la question de la valeur adaptative et des effets de la domestication se pose. Si le programme de génothèque de l'IBF a très certainement atteint ses objectifs de préservation de la diversité génétique, la faible montaison d'adultes en provenance de l'océan est alarmante. Elle est considérée comme le premier facteur limitant le rétablissement de la population. Les gestionnaires du programme se demandent si les conditions du milieu d'eau douce dans lequel les poissons de la génothèque sont conservés et élevés jusqu'à leur maturité, parce qu'elles diffèrent considérablement des conditions auxquelles ils seraient exposés en milieu marin, seraient un facteur de réduction de la valeur adaptative naturelle du stock.

De plus en plus d'études supposent qu'il est possible de considérablement réduire les effets de domestication de l'élevage en captivité en adaptant le milieu de captivité au milieu naturel du stade biologique concerné. L'hypothèse a ensuite été émise que l'élevage du saumon de la génothèque dans des parcs en filet, en milieu ouvert marin, du stade de saumoneau au stade adulte entraînerait une hausse du taux de survie et de réussite du frai, par rapport à l'élevage en eau douce et en milieu fermé. Le présent projet du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) cherchait à mettre à l'épreuve cette hypothèse, en déterminant l'effet du milieu d'élevage des post-saumoneaux sur la capacité des saumons de la génothèque de l'IBF à migrer du milieu marin vers les rivières pour se reproduire.

Méthodes

Élevage en mer

En 2009, un échantillon de saumoneaux qui migraient de la rivière Upper Salmon dans le parc national Fundy a été prélevé. Sept cents saumoneaux issus de l'échantillon ont été transportés vers deux sites de parcs en filet exploités par Admiral Fish Farms et Cooke Aquaculture.  Les saumoneaux étaient régulièrement surveillés et leur croissance, leur santé générale et leur développement étaient enregistrés. Les individus morts étaient retirés et consignés hebdomadairement. Le poisson placé dans les parcs en filet a été lourdement infesté par le pou du poisson (Lepeophtheirus salmonis), ce qui a entraîné la perte de la totalité de cette partie de l'échantillon. En 2010, l'expérience a été répétée au moyen d'un modèle spécial de parc en filet, plus adapté à l'élevage et à la surveillance du nombre relativement petit de poissons sauvages requis par le projet. Environ 1 600 poissons des échantillons de saumoneaux prélevés dans la rivière Upper Salmon ont été placés dans quatre parcs en filet modifiés (figure 1), où ils ont été élevés jusqu'à leur maturité.

Quatre petits parcs en filet adaptés au parc en filet marin polaire standard de 70 m et utilisés pour élever de petits groupes de saumon sauvage jusqu'au stade adulte
Figure 1.

Quatre petits parcs en filet adaptés au parc en filet marin polaire standard de 70 m et utilisés pour élever de petits groupes de saumon sauvage jusqu'au stade adulte (Photo : Corey Clarke).

Élevage en eau douce

Des échantillons de poisson des classes d'âge de 2009 et de 2010 ont été apportés à l'écloserie de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) de Mactaquac (Nouveau-Brunswick). Au total, 300 saumoneaux ont été élevés jusqu'au stade adulte dans des bassins d'eau douce, à l'écloserie de Mactaquac.

Capacité à remonter la rivière à partir du milieu marin

Au début de l'automne 2011, 344 adultes du groupe élevé dans des parcs en filet et environ 150 adultes du groupe élevé à l'écloserie ont été remis en liberté dans la baie de Fundy. Chaque individu remis en liberté était identifiable par marque de type transpondeur PIT (passive integrated responder), implantée au stade de saumoneau. De plus, avant la remise en liberté, tous les poissons ont fait l'objet d'un marquage externe (figure 2) permettant une identification visuelle rapide et certains individus ont été marqués à l'aide d'émetteurs acoustiques dont les récepteurs ont été placés à l'embouchure de plusieurs rivières de l'IBF. Une surveillance régulière des récepteurs des émetteurs acoustiques permettait de déceler d'éventuelles différences entre les taux de homing et d'égarement des saumons élevés en parc en filet et de ceux élevés en écloserie, ainsi que de déterminer le début de la montaison du poisson vers les rivières. Une fois que le poisson en montaison a été détecté, des relevés en plongée (figure 3) ont été réalisés dans les rivières pour continuer de surveiller les taux de montaison à l'aide des marques externes. Le suivi des montaisons a été effectué pendant l'automne 2011 et 2012.

Saumon adulte présentant une marque externe
Figure 2
Saumon adulte présentant une marque externe (Photo : Parcs Canada).
Survie de la progéniture

Les chercheurs ont conservé des sous-échantillons d'adultes élevés en parc en filet et en écloserie pour déterminer l'effet des différentes techniques d'élevage sur les taux de survie de la progéniture. Pendant l'automne 2011, des œufs ont été produits dans l'écloserie au moyen de croisements de paires d'adultes matures provenant des deux milieux d'élevage. Les scientifiques les ont ensuite observés pendant cinq mois afin de déterminer si les taux de survie différaient. À la fin de ces cinq mois, la progéniture qui avait survécu a été remise en liberté dans la rivière Upper Salmon.

Résultats et discussion

Capacité à remonter la rivière à partir du milieu marin

Après la remise en liberté des adultes en mer en 2011, 43 saumons marqués ont été observés lors des relevés en plongée alors qu'ils retournaient vers le milieu d'eau douce (tableau 1). Au moyen de leur marque PIT, 39 d'entre eux ont été identifiés comme des individus élevés en parc en filet et 4 comme des individus élevés en écloserie.

Tableau 1.
Synthèse des remises en liberté et des montaisons du projet de génothèque à l'automne 2011
Individus relâchés en mer Individus retournant au milieu d'eau douce
Élevage en parc en mer Élevage en écloserie Total des
individus mis en liberté
Élevage en parc en mer Élevage en écloserie Total des
montaisons
344 150 494 39 (90, 7 %) 4 (9, 3 %) 43 (100 %)

La majorité des montaisons (30 individus dont 27 avaient été élevés en parc en filet et 3 en écloserie) a été observée dans la rivière Point Wolfe, la plus proche du lieu de remise en liberté en mer.

Ces résultats montrent que le poisson élevé en captivité conserve une partie de son instinct et revient vers son milieu d'eau douce après sa remise en liberté en mer. Les techniques d'élevage en parc en filet pourraient avoir influé sur la réussite de la montaison, ce qui serait signe d'une amélioration de la valeur adaptative du poisson. Cependant, la majorité des saumons élevés en captivité (que ce soit en parc en filet ou en écloserie) revenant vers un milieu d'eau douce quittaient l'océan pour la rivière la plus proche du lieu où ils ont été remis en liberté en milieu marin plutôt que de retourner à leur rivière d'origine.

Deux plongeurs observant la montaison du saumon
Figure 3.
Deux plongeurs observant la montaison du saumon (Photo : Parcs Canada).

Pour cette étude, il est important de faire remarquer que ces poissons « retournant » vers la rivière ont migré du lieu de remise en liberté en mer jusqu'aux rivières après avoir passé peu de temps dans l'océan. En comparaison, le saumon de l’Atlantique sauvage passe généralement plusieurs mois en milieu marin avant de retourner à sa rivière d'origine pour se reproduire. Certes, les montaisons observées par le projet ne peuvent être considérées comme analogues à celles de saumoneaux qui quittent leur rivière et y retournent après une migration complète dans l'océan. Toutefois, les résultats semblent indiquer qu'il est possible d'augmenter le nombre d'individus remontant les cours d'eau par un élevage en parc en filet en mer.

Autres observations

En 2012, des relevés en plongée ont constaté la montaison de 52 saumons adultes dans les rivières Upper Salmon et Pointe Wolfe. Des échantillons ont été prélevés sur 30 d'entre eux à des fins d'identification. Il a été constaté que 29 avaient été remis en liberté en 2011 dans le cadre du projet et que la majorité avait été élevée en parc en filet. Si l'on compte tous les saumons adultes connus remis en liberté dans les rivières du parc national Fundy en 2011 (y compris les adultes remis en liberté en plus du poisson du projet, comme il est indiqué plus haut), on estime le nombre de montaisons de poissons élevés en parc en filet à environ 2:1 par rapport aux poissons élevés en écloserie. Au parc national Fundy, ce taux de montaison est le taux le plus élevé constaté depuis plus de 20 ans, malgré une décennie de mesures de grande ampleur, ce qui laisse à penser que l'élevage des salmonidés juvéniles dans des milieux naturels pourrait améliorer leur valeur adaptative et mieux les préparer à migrer des océans aux rivières. 

Survie de la progéniture

Quarante-trois familles d'œufs ont été produites par vingt paires de géniteurs élevés en écloserie et vingt-trois paires de poissons élevés en parc en filet, qui avaient tous été capturés à l'état de saumoneau dans la rivière Upper Salmon. Le taux de survie moyen au stade d'œuf œillé était de 62 % dans le cas de la progéniture de parents élevés en parc en filet et de 48 % pour celle issue de parents élevés en écloserie. 

L'analyse des données est en cours, mais elle semble d'ores et déjà indiquer que le milieu d'élevage des parents influerait sur la survie de leur progéniture. Une exposition au milieu naturel, comme dans le cas de l'élevage en parc en filet, est susceptible d'augmenter la capacité du saumon à la montaison et la survie de sa progéniture si le frai a lieu en liberté (effets cumulés).

Recherches futures

On pense que la structure de parc en filet spécialement conçue pour l'étude a participé à la réussite de l'élevage d'un petit nombre de poissons en milieu marin, en leur offrant une meilleure protection contre les éléments et les prédateurs et en permettant une observation fine de leur santé et de leur rendement. Il serait judicieux de poursuivre les recherches pour améliorer les conditions d'élevage et augmenter le taux de survie. Ces conditions concerneraient le nettoyage des filets, la manipulation du poisson, les méthodes d'empoissonnement et de retrait ainsi que l'alimentation, qui pourrait notamment être plus naturelle par l'incorporation de régimes alimentaires plus proches de ceux des poissons en liberté.

De plus, la recherche future devra continuer à évaluer les taux de survie en mer et de montaison de la progéniture issue des saumons adultes élevés en parc en filet et libérés en mer pour qu'ils remontent leur rivière d'origine. Les prochaines analyses des techniques d'élevage en milieu marin devront également s'interroger sur les risques de l'élevage dans des sites de production aquacole marine à visée commerciale, notamment sur la densité accrue d'agents pathogènes et la possibilité de transmission de maladies.

D'autres groupes mènent actuellement des travaux cherchant à confirmer les résultats de l'expérience au moyen des méthodes conçues par le projet. En effet, il est crucial de déterminer la répétabilité du projet et des taux élevés de montaison du poisson élevé en parc en filet pour évaluer l'applicabilité des techniques d'élevage en milieu marin aux mesures de rétablissement d'autres populations de saumon sauvage.

Conclusions

La présente recherche a permis de tisser un partenariat fructueux entre l'industrie salmonicole, Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada et d'obtenir ainsi des résultats remarquables pour la conservation des populations de saumon sauvage en péril et la recherche les concernant. Cette collaboration est destinée à se développer par la participation d'autres groupes de conservation intéressés par ce type d'activités.

Un nombre relativement petit de saumons sauvages adultes est nécessaire au maintien des populations en voie de disparition des rivières de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy. Étant donné la considérable capacité de l'industrie à produire des saumons adultes et les besoins relativement faibles des mesures de conservation, les possibilités d'action et de collaboration entre l'industrie et les groupes chargés de la conservation sont formidables. Les populations de saumon de l’Atlantique sauvage en voie de disparition pourraient en tirer un profit non négligeable.


Le présent projet du PCRDA (MG-09-02-002) est le fruit d'une collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), l'Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association (ACFFA) et Parcs Canada. La recherche a été dirigée par Corey Clarke (étudiant des cycles supérieurs) de la Memorial University of Newfoundland. La personne-ressource du MPO sur ce projet, Patrick O’Reilly, est joignable à l'adresse Patrick.OReilly@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, visitez le site suivant : Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)


Publié par :

Direction générale des sciences de l'aquaculture
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada 2013

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
ISBN 978-0-660-21413-9
MPO/2013-1902
Cat. No. Fs48-2/19-2013F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)