Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 13 - May, 2012

The Development of Cost-effective Diets and Husbandry Protocols for the Sustainable Aquaculture of Rockfish in British Columbia

Summary

Rockfish belong to the family Scorpaenidae (Sebastes spp.), and as a group have been identified as potential candidates for aquaculture. Sebastes species of the western Pacific are being cultured in both Korea and Japan. Considered a delicacy of Asian cuisine, rockfish have been the target of commercial and recreational fisheries. However, wild rockfish fisheries in the eastern Pacific have been in decline for years possibly due to the lucrative retail sale of live fish driving overfishing of these species. Populations of inshore rockfish are rapidly declining throughout coastal British Columbia. Conservation initiatives and fishery bans have been established to help restore depleted stocks of rockfish but this approach will require many years to be successful. However, a vibrant and active market for rockfish remains and alternative strategies are needed to fill these niches using an environmentally sustainable approach. This research project looks at the development of effective culture technology and husbandry protocols for sustainable rockfish aquaculture production in British Columbia to meet the high market demand for these fish without further depleting the natural stocks.

Introduction

The 2007 commercial landings of rockfish species in British Columbia (BC) were 19,000 metric tons (MT) with a landed value of $21 million CDN and wholesale value of $37.6 million CDN. However, overfishing is considered to be the cause of sharp declines in the rockfish populations in the Pacific Northwest, which has been occurring over the past several years. Conservation issues associated with the wild harvesting of rockfish are now driving interest in establishing a sustainable aquaculture industry that can provide an alternate source of rockfish to the consumer market.

Copper Rockfish (Sebastes caurinus, Figure 1), a nearshore rockfish species, has been identified as having good potential as a viable aquaculture species. Copper Rockfish mature relatively early (3-8 years) and have a high level of fecundity (producing many eggs). These are favourable characteristics for broodstock development purposes. They are a temperate species, preferring temperatures in the range of 7-13ºC, which is similar to temperatures used for commercial rearing of salmonids. Copper Rockfish are also extremely palatable, and are considered to be a high value gourmet seafood product, especially in the live-fish trade. They are relatively easy to transport live to market. Copper Rockfish adapt readily to culture conditions, but many aspects of their growth, feeding and reproduction remain to be characterized before they can become a viable commercial aquaculture species.

Copper Rockfish (Sebastes caurinus).
Figure 1
Copper Rockfish (Sebastes caurinus).

This research project, carried out in three consecutive studies, was designed to provide information on rockfish culture that could lead toward the development of a sustainable rockfish aquaculture industry in BC. Initial studies addressed the need to develop a pelleted diet with optimal physical attributes that would support excellent growth and health of rockfish (Study 1). Next, a feeding study (Study 2) was conducted to optimize the dietary concentrations of the most expensive energy-yielding nutrients for rockfish, namely, protein and lipid (fat). Finally, a growth study on three size classes of juvenile rockfish was conducted to evaluate growth rates of the size classes and to examine the influence of seasonal seawater temperature and photoperiod on growth performance (Study 3). In a previous study conducted at the Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research (CAER) in West Vancouver, BC, the growth rate of rockfish was observed to increase with increasing water temperatures and it was suspected that there was an effect of fish size on this response. Size dependent growth rates have been  demonstrated in other marine fish, for example Sablefish (Anoplopoma fimbria) held under ambient temperature and photoperiod conditions, such that when these fish approach the 1 kg size, growth rate rapidly declines without a concurrent decline in appetite/feed intake (Erin Friesen, pers. comm.). There are significant economic repercussions to this observation.  Hence, there was a need to examine if this phenomenon also occurred in temperate rockfish.

Methods

Juvenile rockfish (approximately 3 g each) were collected by divers from the Sechelt area of BC (north of Vancouver in the Georgia Strait), and transported to the CAER. The fish were acclimated in 150-L fibreglass tanks supplied with flow-through, filtered and oxygenated, ambient temperature sea water and simulated natural photoperiod for several months. At the start of the first feeding study the fish weighed approximately 7.5 g and appeared to be a uniform group of juvenile Copper Rockfish (S. caurinus). However, when the fish were about 20 g, it was discovered that approximately 25% of the population were actually Quillback Rockfish (S. maliger), and a few large Yellowtail Rockfish (S. flavidus) were also mixed in with this population.

Study 1: Diet Formulation

Juvenile rockfish (the group of all three previously mentioned species) showed a preference for pellets that sink slowly so feed production studies were undertaken to produce a diet with a density (buoyancy) that allowed the pellets to sink at an optimal velocity. The experimental pellets were created by using a laboratory scale California Pellet Mill (low temperature, without steam injection) and vacuum microwave drying at a constant field strength. This study involved the testing of fifteen different diet formulations with various levels of un-gelatinized and gelatinized starch while keeping constant the total dietary concentrations of starch and moisture. The physical attributes of length, width, air-dry weight, surface floatation time, and sinking rate of each starch-diet type and starch-blend category, were measured.

Study 2: Feeding Study

This study was undertaken to determine the influence of dietary protein and lipid levels on the rockfish species' growth performance, body composition and health. Triplicate groups of 25 juvenile rockfish (approximately 7.5 g mean initial body weight), were held in 150-L partially covered tanks provided with flow-through seawater. Fish were hand fed (Figure 2) to satiation, three times daily, with one of six experimental diets containing one of three concentrations of protein and one of two levels of lipid for a total of 15 weeks. Daily food consumption was monitored by weighing feed containers at the end of the day. Growth was assessed monthly.

Fish performance during the study was assessed by determining the effect of diet treatment on: weight gain [WG (g) = final body weight, FBW initial body weight, IBW]; specific growth rate [SGR (%body weight / day) = (ln FBW - ln IBW) / 105 days x 100]; dry feed intake [DFI (g/fish) = total dry feed intake consumed over 105 days (g) / number of fish]; feed efficiency ratio [FER (g/g) = WG / DFI]; protein efficiency ratio [PER (g/g) = WG / protein intake (g)]; percent fish mortality; final whole body concentrations (% of wet weight) of proximate constituents (moisture, ash, protein and lipid).

Feeding of experimental diets to juvenile rockfish.
Figure 2
Feeding of experimental diets to juvenile rockfish.

Fish health was assessed using standard haematological analyses (i.e., blood cell counts, hemoglobin) and histological analyses of major organs such as gills and liver, to determine if there were any adverse health effects of diet treatment.

Study 3: Seasonal Growth Performance

This study examined the effect of seasonal variations in water temperature and photoperiod on the growth performance and health of rockfish in different size categories. The remaining rockfish from Study 2 were used in this growth study. Fish were graded into 3 size classes: small (27.7 g mean weight), medium (51.1 g mean weight), and large (95.2 g mean weight). A uniquely coded Visual Implant Tag (Northwest Marine Technologies) was implanted in each fish (Figure 3). This allowed the tracking of individual fish performance throughout the study period. Triplicate groups of each size class were reared separately in 1100-L oval fiberglass tanks, supplied with flow-through ambient temperature, filtered and oxygenated seawater, under a simulated natural photoperiod. The rockfish were hand fed to satiation twice daily, using the optimal diet formulation as determined from Study 2. Daily records of sea water temperature as well as dry feed intake and mortality in each group were maintained for a period of 35 weeks (February to October). The fish were removed from their respective tanks at 4-week intervals to monitor their individual gains in weight and length, and their overall condition.

At the end of the 35-week study, the fish were weighed, measured and samples were taken for health assessments. Growth performance and health performance were determined as described in the previous study (with the exception of protein efficiency ratio and whole body proximate composition analyses).

Implanting of rockfish with visual implant tags (Northwest Marine Technologies) for the individual identification of fish.
Figure 3
Implanting of rockfish with visual implant tags (Northwest Marine Technologies) for the individual identification of fish.

Results

Study 1 was successful in producing a diet with the optimal physical feed properties for a rockfish diet in terms of a pellet size and buoyancy. Ensuring that the feed had the optimal physical properties was necessary before studying the nutritional requirements in Study 2.

Study 2 indicated that variations in protein and lipid concentrations in the pelleted food, on fish weighing between 7.5 and 13.5 g, had no significant effect on the overall growth (final body weight, weight gain, specific growth rate), feed usage (feed efficiency ratio), and health parameters of those fish. There were also no diet-related effects found in percent cumulative mortality or final whole body proximate composition. Intake of dry feed was significantly higher in fish ingesting the diets with low protein content when compared to those consuming the diets with medium and high protein content. At all protein levels, the inclusion of the higher lipid concentration resulted in consistent growth improvement.

For Study 3, although previous observations in the growth of rockfish at the Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research appeared to reveal a trend whereby the growth rates of the fish increased with rising sea water temperatures and increased photoperiod, the study did not reveal an effect of temperature on fish growth performance. All fish growth rates increased with the seasonal increases in day length and temperatures of spring and summer. By late summer, growth rates decreased as day length declined, even though sea water temperatures were still rising indicating a positive correlation between fish growth rates and photoperiod.

Study 3 also demonstrated that rockfish growth performance is significantly influenced by fish size. The SGR values followed the sequence: small sized rockfish > medium sized fish >large sized rockfish. This information is critical since rockfish are a very long-lived genus of fish and information on their early growth rates, vital for successful culture, is largely unknown. However, the groups of larger sized fish were more severely infected with a blood-feeding gill fluke which likely contributed to the signs of anaemia, more prevalent in these fish. In contrast the smallest fish had reduced parasite loads. This health issue may have contributed to some of the observed growth differences.

Conclusions

The results of this research project provide new information that will facilitate further developments in the quest to determine the most cost-effective diet formulations and rearing conditions for the sustainable culture of rockfish in BC. This will help in reducing the need for the capture of wild juvenile rockfish for culture and will enable culture experiments to be conducted on individual rockfish species rather than mixed wild rockfish species. Knowledge was obtained on how to produce a feed with optimal physical and nutritional requirements. Narrow variations in the dietary concentrations of protein and lipid can affect rockfish growth performance and basic health parameters. This work should be broadened to examine the effect of wider variations in dietary protein:energy ratios and to also examine dietary concentrations of digestible carbohydrates on the growth performance, body compositions and health of different rockfish species throughout their life history. It will also be important to determine how to incorporate terrestrial lipid sources (plant and animal origin) without compromising fish growth, health, and the quality of the market size product for human consumption. In addition, the importance of optimizing photoperiod and, to a lesser extent, water temperature on rockfish growth was revealed in these studies. This should be investigated in more detail using factorial designs so that the single and interactive effects of temperature and photoperiod can be singled out for the different life history stages. Moreover, the health assessments in this research, while providing baseline health information for BC rockfish, could be expanded in future studies to enable the development of comprehensive health management programs for the improved welfare of cultured rockfish.


The described ACRDP projects (P-05-04-007, P-07-08-017) were collaborative efforts among Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), the University of British Columbia and Ko-Un Fish Company Ltd. The lead scientist on this project, Dr. Shannon Balfry, can be contacted at shannon.balfry@vanaqua.org.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-100-20663-9
DFO/2012-1827
Cat No.: Fs23-580/5-2012E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 13 - Mai, 2012

Élaboration de régimes alimentaires et de protocoles d'élevage rentables en vue d'une aquaculture durable du sébaste en Colombie-Britannique

Résumé

Le sébaste appartient à la famille des scorpénidés (Sebastes spp.) et présente, en tant que tel, un potentiel pour l'aquaculture. Les espèces de sébaste du Pacifique Ouest sont utilisées pour l'élevage en Corée et au Japon. Mets raffiné de la cuisine asiatique, le sébaste est très prisé par les pêcheries commerciales et récréatives. On note toutefois depuis plusieurs années une diminution du nombre de pêcheries de sébaste sauvage dans le Pacifique Est, peut-être en raison des activités lucratives de vente au détail de poisson vivant, provoquant une surpêche de cette espèce. On observe une diminution rapide de la population de sébaste sur toute la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Des initiatives de préservation ont été lancées et des restrictions ont été imposées aux pêcheries en vue de contribuer à la restauration des stocks de sébaste, mais il faudra des années pour qu'elles portent fruits. Quoi qu'il en soit, le marché du sébaste demeure dynamique et des stratégies fondées sur une approche durable s'imposent pour répondre aux besoins de ce créneau de marché. Le présent projet de recherche porte sur la mise sur pied d'une technologie et de protocoles rentables et durables pour l'élevage du sébaste en Colombie-Britannique, en vue de répondre à la demande élevée du marché, sans toutefois appauvrir davantage les stocks de poisson sauvage.

Introduction

En 2007, les débarquements commerciaux de sébaste en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) ont atteint les 19 000 tonnes métriques, ce qui équivaut à la somme de 21 M$ CAN et à une valeur de gros de 37,6 M$ CAN. De fortes diminutions des populations de sébaste ces dernières années dans le Nord-Ouest du Pacifique sont attribuées à la surpêche. Les problèmes de préservation soulevés par la pêche au sébaste suscitent un intérêt grandissant pour l'établissement d'une industrie de l'aquaculture durable, qui offrirait un autre moyen d'approvisionner en sébaste le marché de consommation.

Le sébaste cuivré (Sebastes caurinus, figure 1), retrouvé près des côtes, a été désigné comme étant un candidat viable pour l'aquaculture. Cette espèce arrive à maturité assez rapidement (3 à 8 ans) et présente une fécondité élevée (produit une forte quantité d'oeufs). Il s'agit de caractéristiques favorables à la mise sur pied de stocks de géniteurs. Le sébaste cuivré est un poisson de climats tempérés qui préfère des températures oscillant entre 7 et 13 °C, similaires aux températures utilisées dans les activités d'alevinage commerciales de salmonidés. Le sébaste cuivré est extrêmement agréable au goût, si bien qu'il est très prisé dans la haute gastronomie, et particulièrement dans le commerce du poisson vivant. Cette espèce de poisson est relativement facile à transporter vivante et s'adapte aisément à l'élevage. Cependant, de nombreux aspects de la croissance du sébaste, de son alimentation et de sa reproduction doivent toujours être caractérisés avant qu'on puisse en faire une espèce viable pour l'aquaculture.

Sébaste cuivré (Sebastes caurinus).
Figure 1
Sébaste cuivré (Sebastes caurinus).

Ce projet de recherche, mené en trois études consécutives, vise à obtenir de l'information sur l'élevage du sébaste, en vue de la création d'une industrie de l'aquaculture durable du sébaste en C.-B. Dans le cadre d'études initiales, on s'est penché sur le besoin de concevoir des aliments en granulés, aux propriétés physiques optimales, favorisant une croissance et une santé optimales chez le sébaste (étude 1). Ensuite, une étude sur l'alimentation (étude 2) a été menée en vue d'optimiser les concentrations des nutriments les plus coûteux et les plus énergétiques pour le sébaste, soit les protéines et les lipides (gras). Enfin, une étude sur la croissance a été menée sur trois catégories de tailles de sébastes juvéniles, en vue d'évaluer les taux de croissance dans les différentes catégories de taille et d'examiner l'influence de la température saisonnière de l'eau de mer ainsi que de la photopériode sur le rendement de la croissance (étude 3). Dans une étude menée précédemment au Centre de recherche sur l'aquaculture et l'environnement de Pêches et Océans Canada, dans l'ouest de Vancouver, en C.-B., on a observé que le taux de croissance du sébaste augmentait en fonction de la température de l'eau, et ce, jusqu'à ce que celui-ci atteigne une taille particulière. Des taux de croissance liés à la taille ont été constatés chez d'autres espèces de poissons de mer, notamment la morue charbonnière (Anoplopoma fimbria), qui est gardée à une température et dans des conditions photopériodiques ambiantes. Lorsque ces poissons approchent le kilo, leur taux de croissance diminue rapidement, sans toutefois que l'on observe en même temps une diminution de l'appétit et de la prise de nourriture (Erin Friesen, communication personnelle). Cet état de fait a d'importantes répercussions économiques. Il a donc été nécessaire de vérifier si ce phénomène se produisait aussi chez le sébaste retrouvé en eaux tempérées.

Méthodes

Des sébastes juvéniles (environ 3 g chacun) ont été recueillis par des plongeurs de la région de Sechelt, en C.-B. (nord de Vancouver, dans le détroit de Georgie), puis transportés au Centre de recherche sur l'aquaculture et l'environnement. Ils ont été conservés dans des réservoirs en fibre de verre de 150 l à circulation continue d'eau de mer, filtrée et oxygénée, à température ambiante, avec simulation de photopériode naturelle pendant plusieurs mois. Au début de la première étude sur l'alimentation, les poissons pesaient environ 7,5 g et semblaient former un groupe uniforme de sébastes cuivrés juvéniles (S. caurinus). Cependant, une fois le poids de 20 g atteint, on a découvert que la population de poissons était composée aussi à 25 % de sébastes à dos épineux (S. maliger) et de quelques sébastes à queue jaune (S. flavidus) de forte taille.

Étude 1 : Formulation du régime alimentaire

Les sébastes juvéniles (le groupe des trois espèces précédemment mentionnées) préféraient les aliments en granulés coulant lentement, de sorte que des études ont été menées en vue de mettre au point des granulés alimentaires dont la densité (flottabilité) leur permettait de couler à une vitesse optimale. Les aliments en granulés expérimentaux ont été créés au moyen d'un broyeur de laboratoire de type « California » (à basse température, sans injection de vapeur), puis séchés avec un dispositif microondes sous vide, à intensité de champ constante. Dans le cadre de cette étude, quinze différents régimes alimentaires ont été mis à l'essai, comprenant différentes concentrations d'amidon gélatinisé et non gélatinisé et des concentrations alimentaires totales d'amidon et d'humidité constantes. Les propriétés physiques telles la longueur, la largeur, le poids séché à l'air, le temps de flottaison et la vitesse de chute de chaque aliment contenant de l'amidon ou un mélange d'amidon ont été mesurées.

Étude 2 : Étude du régime alimentaire

Cette étude a été entreprise en vue de déterminer l'influence des concentrations de protéines et de lipides alimentaires sur le rendement de la croissance des espèces de sébastes, leur composition corporelle et leur santé. Trois groupes de 25 sébastes juvéniles (poids corporel initial moyen d'environ 7,5 g) ont été conservés dans des réservoirs de 150 l partiellement recouverts, avec circulation continue d'eau de mer. Les poissons ont été nourris à la main (figure 2) jusqu'à satiété, trois fois par jour, au moyen d'un des six régimes alimentaires expérimentaux contenant une des trois concentrations de protéines et une des deux concentrations de lipides, pendant 15 semaines au total. On a surveillé la consommation quotidienne de nourriture en pesant les contenants à aliments à la fin de la journée. La croissance a été évaluée tous les mois.

Le rendement des poissons a été examiné au cours de l'étude d'après l'effet du régime alimentaire sur : le gain de poids [gain de poids (g) = poids corporel final, poids corporel initial]; le taux de croissance spécifique [taux de croissance spécifique (% de la masse corporelle/ jour) = (ln poids corporel final – ln poids corporel initial)/105 jours x 100]; la prise de nourriture sèche [prise de nourriture sèche (g/poisson) = prise de nourriture sèche totale consommée en 105 jours (g)/nombre de poissons]; le ratio d'efficacité de l'alimentation [efficacité de l'alimentation (g/g) = gain de poids/prise de nourriture sèche]; le ratio d'efficacité des protéines [ratio d'efficacité des protéines (g/g) = gain de poids/prise de protéines (g)]; le taux de mortalité des poissons; les concentrations corporelles finales (% poids humide) en constituants environnants (humidité, cendres, protéines et lipides).

Administration de régimes expérimentaux à des sébastes juvéniles.
Figure 2
Administration de régimes expérimentaux à des sébastes juvéniles.

La santé des poissons a été évaluée au moyen d'analyses hématologiques standard (à savoir, numération globulaire, hémoglobine) et d'analyses historiques d'organes importants comme les branchies et le foie, pour déterminer si le régime alimentaire avait eu des effets néfastes sur la santé.

Étude 3 : Étude du rendement saisonnier de la croissance

Cette étude s'est penchée sur les effets des variations saisonnières de la température de l'eau et de la photopériode sur le rendement de la croissance et la santé des différentes tailles de sébastes. Les sébastes excédentaires de l'étude 2 ont été utilisés dans cette étude sur la croissance. Les poissons ont été classés en trois catégories de taille : petit (poids moyen de 27,7 g), moyen (poids moyen de 51,1 g) et gros (poids moyen de 95,2 g). Chaque poisson a reçu un implant visuel sous forme d'étiquette au codage unique (Northwest Marine Technologies) [figure 3]. Cela a permis de faire le suivi du rendement de chaque poisson au cours de l'étude. Les trois groupes de chaque catégorie de taille ont été placés séparément dans des réservoirs ovales en fibre de verre de 1 100 l, avec circulation continue d'eau de mer à température ambiante filtrée et oxygénée, et simulation de photopériode naturelle. Les sébastes ont été nourris à la main jusqu'à satiété deux fois par jour, selon le régime alimentaire optimal défini dans l'étude 2. Des notes quotidiennes ont été prises sur chaque groupe au sujet de la température de l'eau de mer, de la prise de nourriture sèche et de la mortalité, et ce, pendant 35 semaines (de février à octobre). Les poissons ont été retirés de leurs réservoirs respectifs à intervalles de 4 semaines afin de surveiller leur gain de poids et de taille, ainsi que leur état général.

À la fin de l'étude de 35 semaines, les poissons ont été pesés et mesurés puis des échantillons ont été prélevés aux fins d'évaluations de la santé. Le rendement de la croissance et de la santé a été déterminé selon la méthode décrite pour l'étude 2 (à l'exception du ratio d'efficacité des protéines et des analyses de composition corporelle immédiate).

Implants visuels sous forme d'étiquettes (Northwest Marine Technologies) pour permettre l'identification de chaque sébaste.
Figure 3
Implants visuels sous forme d'étiquettes (Northwest Marine Technologies) pour permettre l'identification de chaque sébaste.

Résultats

Il a été possible à l'étude 1 de produire un régime alimentaire aux propriétés physiques optimales pour le sébaste, pour ce qui est de la taille des granulés et de la flottabilité. Il a été nécessaire de faire en sorte que les granulés aient des propriétés physiques optimales avant d'étudier les exigences nutritionnelles à l'étude 2.

On a observé à l'étude 2 que des variations de concentrations de protéines et de lipides dans les aliments en granulés, chez les poissons pesant entre 7,5 et 13,5 g, n'avaient pas d'effet notoire sur la croissance globale (poids corporel final, gain de poids, taux de croissance spécifique), la consommation d'aliments (ratio d'efficacité des aliments) et les paramètres liés à la santé de ces poissons. Par ailleurs, aucun effet lié au régime alimentaire n'a été constaté sur le taux de mortalité cumulatif ou sur la composition corporelle immédiate finale. La consommation d'aliments secs a été nettement supérieure chez les poissons nourris avec des aliments à faible teneur en protéines, comparativement aux poissons au régime alimentaire à teneur moyenne ou élevée en protéines. Pour toutes les concentrations de protéines, l'inclusion d'une concentration supérieure en lipides a donné lieu à une amélioration uniforme de la croissance.

Bien que les observations précédentes de sébastes au Centre de recherche sur l'aquaculture et l'environnement aient semblé révéler une croissance supérieure en présence de températures d'eau de mer plus élevées et d'une photopériode accrue, l'étude 3 n'a pas permis de constater l'effet de la température sur le rendement de la croissance du poisson. Tous les taux de croissance des poissons ont augmenté avec l'augmentation saisonnière de la durée du jour et de la température printanière et estivale. À la fin de l'été, les taux de croissance ont diminué à mesure que le jour raccourcissait, même si les températures de l'eau de mer allaient toujours en augmentant, ce qui a montré une corrélation positive entre les taux de croissance des poissons et la photopériode.

L'étude 3 a aussi permis de montrer que la taille du poisson influe grandement sur le rendement de la croissance du sébaste. Les taux de croissance spécifiques suivaient la logique suivante : sébastes de petite taille > sébastes de moyenne taille > sébastes de grande taille. Ces renseignements sont essentiels puisque le sébaste est très longévif et que l'on manque grandement d'information sur son taux de croissance en bas âge, qui est crucial pour la réussite de l'élevage. Cependant, les groupes de poissons de taille plus importante ont été plus gravement infectés par la dactylogyrose, susceptible d'avoir contribué aux symptômes d'anémie, prédominants chez ces poissons. Par opposition, les plus petits poissons étaient moins chargés de parasites. Ce problème de santé peut avoir contribué à certaines des différences observées sur le plan de la croissance.

Conclusion

Les résultats de ce projet de recherche fournissent de nouveaux renseignements qui aideront à établir les régimes alimentaires et les conditions d'élevage les plus rentables pour l'élevage durable du sébaste en C.-B. Cela contribuera à réduire le besoin de capturer des sébastes juvéniles sauvages pour l'élevage et permettra aussi de mener des expériences d'élevage sur des espèces particulières de sébaste au lieu de sébastes sauvages mixtes. Le projet de recherche a aussi permis d'obtenir des connaissances sur l'élaboration d'aliments aux caractéristiques physiques et nutritionnelles optimales. De faibles variations des concentrations alimentaires de protéines et de lipides peuvent avoir une incidence sur le rendement de la croissance du sébaste ainsi que sur différents paramètres de base liés à la santé. Les travaux doivent être poursuivis afin d'examiner l'effet de variations plus importantes des ratios protéines-énergie, ainsi que pour déterminer l'incidence de concentrations alimentaires de glucides digestibles sur le rendement de la croissance, la composition corporelle et la santé de différentes espèces de sébastes au cours de leur vie. Il sera aussi important de déterminer comment intégrer des sources de lipides provenant du milieu terrestre (végétales ou animales), sans nuire à la croissance ni à la santé du poisson, ou encore à la qualité du produit de taille commercialisable aux fins de consommation humaine. En outre, ces études ont révélé l'importance de l'optimisation de la photopériode et, dans une moindre mesure, l'influence de la température de l'eau sur la croissance du sébaste, ce qui devrait faire l'objet d'études approfondies, au moyen de plans factoriels permettant de distinguer les effets simples et interactifs de la température et de la photopériode en fonction des différents cycles biologiques. En outre, tout en fournissant des données de référence pour le sébaste de la C.-B., les évaluations de la santé menées au cours de cette recherche pourraient être utilisées dans le cadre d'études ultérieures en vue de permettre la mise sur pied de programmes complets de gestion de la santé et de favoriser le bien-être du sébaste d'élevage.


Les projets du PCRDA (P-05-04-007, P-07-08-017) sont le fruit d'efforts de collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), l'Université de la C.-B. et Ko-Un Fish Company Ltd. Il est possible de communiquer avec la scientifique principale du projet, Shannon Balfry, à l'adresse suivante :  shannon.balfry@vanaqua.org.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, veuillez visiter le site /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm


Publié par:

Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
ISBN : 978-1-100-99207-5
MPO/2012-1827
No de cat. : Fs23-580/5-2012F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm