Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 12 - May, 2012

Use of Genomics to Control Infectious Salmon Anemia Virus (ISAv)

Summary

Infectious Salmon Anemia virus (ISAv) poses a serious threat to fish farmers in Canada and globally. It can cause significant economic losses to Atlantic Salmon farming operations, and is a potential risk to wild Atlantic Salmon populations. Although improved farming and management practices have helped reduce the risk and impact of the disease, further outbreaks associated with new virulent strains remains a threat to the industry. A greater understanding of fish-virus interactions at the molecular level is of critical importance in the development of effective molecular tools and vaccines. A common approach for studying post-pathogen interactions at the molecular level is the use of functional genomic tools, such as DNA microarrays, which measure gene expression in specific tissues at specific times during the infection. With the use of this method, it has been possible to identify several genes up-regulated or down-regulated in salmon kidney tissue during the course of an ISAv infection and has provided a better understanding of how the fish fight the disease. Gene expression was measured at five different time points during an experimental infection: 6 hours, 24 h, 3 days, 7 d and 16 d after injection of the virus. Several genes involved in immune defense mechanisms were upregulated as the infection progressed. During the last stage of infection, several genes involved in oxygen transport were down-regulated. Such gene expression closely corresponds to anemia (low red blood cell count) observed in Atlantic Salmon infected by virulent strains of ISAv just prior to death. Such studies provide a deeper understanding of the defence mechanisms of fish against disease and provide insight into the approaches that could be taken to help the industry and prevent infections.

Introduction

Infectious Salmon Anemia virus (ISAv) poses a serious threat to stock health of the fish-farming industry. The virus can cause systemic disease that can lead to mass mortality in Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar). Infected fish suffer from hemorrhaging, pale gills, congestion of internal organs and severe anemia, often leading to death. Other members of the salmonid family, including Brown Trout (Salmo trutta), Rainbow Trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) and Coho Salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch), can also be infected by ISAv. However, the majority of these infections are asymptomatic (a fish may carry the disease but experience no symptoms). Although ISAv has similarities with the influenza virus, it is not zoonotic (humans cannot be infected).

The disease was first reported in Norway in 1984 and has since been detected in Canada's East coast, the United States, Scotland, the Faroe Islands and Chile. The virus was identified in 1996 in New Brunswick, where it devastated the aquaculture industry. A number of biosecurity measures were introduced to limit the spread of the infection, such as aquaculture bay management units, but the risk of new outbreaks remains. Various strains of ISAv have been identified and characterized over the years and show a range of virulence from low to high, depending on the strain.

Although the evolution and pathogenicity of the various ISAv strains have been extensively documented, few studies have been conducted on the molecular interactions that take place between the virus and the host during an infection. When salmonids are infected with a virus, several defense mechanisms are activated, including an immune response and production of antibodies which will immunize the fish against subsequent viral attacks. However, with ISAv this response is often not sufficient to fight the virus, resulting in death of the fish. Understanding how salmon respond to the ISAv during the course of an infection is vital to the development of new antiviral treatments and new vaccines.

Given the major economic importance of salmon to the aquaculture industry and the potential disaster that could result from an ISAv infection outbreak, several teams of researchers are trying to develop a vaccine against the virus. When effective, vaccines stimulate the production of specific antibodies and protect the fish against future, related viral attacks. Effective vaccines are available for a number of fish diseases; Vibrio, furunculosis, etc., but to date, salmon have not responded well to the ISAv vaccines in development. The testing of vaccines is a long and costly process and therefore it would be extremely useful if a gene expression profile indicating the onset of the immune response in fish could be identified. This profile would be developed after vaccination and a short incubation period. It is very likely that effective vaccines would produce a genetic response in fish that is very similar to the response shown following an actual ISAv infection.

In recent years, a series of genome projects has led to the sequencing and construction of complementary deoxyribonucleic acid (cDNA) libraries for fish species, including Atlantic Salmon and Rainbow Trout. These cDNA libraries have made possible the development of DNA chips, which have been useful in many functional genomic studies. DNA chips consist of glass slides onto which DNA spots are printed. Each spot represents a unique genetic marker, usually a gene expressed in the host tissue.

The purpose of the present study is to identify genetic markers (a gene or DNA sequence of known location on a chromosome) indicative of an ISAv infection, as it progresses in time. It is assumed that many of these markers would also be present following vaccination with an effective vaccine formulation. An initial test of vaccine formulations could be performed to select the most promising for more detailed testing. The Consortium for Genomics Research on All Salmonids Project (cGrasp) developed a salmonid DNA microarray (or DNA chip) that holds 32,000 DNA spots. These DNA chips were usedto identify genes that were differentially expressed in the kidneys of Atlantic Salmon during the course of an infection with a virulent strain of ISAv.

Methods

Controlled exposure study

Prior to commencing a challenge, Atlantic Salmon smolts were housed for three weeks in sea water maintained at 13°C in the quarantine laboratory at the St. Andrews Biological Station, New Brunswick. The salmon were injected with a virulent isolate of the HPR4 strain of ISAv and held in duplicate tanks. The controls were injected with culture medium only. The fish were sampled at times 0 hours, 6 hours, 24 h, 3 days, 7 d and 16 d after injection and examined for signs of infectious anemia. Kidney sections were removed from each fish and preserved until analysis (Figure 1).

Sampling of Atlantic Salmon post injection with ISAv. Sampling of Atlantic Salmon post injection with ISAv.
Figure 1
Sampling of Atlantic Salmon post injection with ISAv.

Sample preparation

Total ribonucleic acid (RNA) was extracted from each kidney sample, purified, quantified and tested for quality control. Reference RNA was prepared from a separate group of healthy fish. The reference RNA represents the normal state of non-infected salmon. Each salmon sampled from the experimental tanks, injected with either ISAv or culture medium (control), was analyzed in comparison to the reference fish. For each sample of infected fish collected during the experiment, RNA was transcribed in complementary DNA (cDNA) and labeled (stained) in vitro with a fluorescent red dye. An RNA reference sample was similarly labeled, but with a green dye. Labeled cDNA from an experimental fish (control or infected) was mixed with cDNA from the reference fish. The mixture was then applied to the cDNA slide (microarray). Each of the 32,000 spots (or groups of identical DNA strands) on the slide represents a short gene sequence. When the slides are exposed to labeled cDNA from the infected and control fish, it hybridizes with the corresponding DNA spotted on the slides.

Scanning of DNA microarrays and image analysis

The DNA microarrays were laser-scanned and digitized for purposes of image analysis. The fluorescence intensity of each spot (gene) on the slide was measured. Fluorescence reflects the contribution of both fish (the cDNA of the reference fish, in green, and the cDNA of the experimental fish, in red). Since each spot on the slide represents a gene, the spots with a green intensity reflect a predominant contribution from the reference fish, or a reduced expression of that specific gene in the experimental fish. Spots with a red intensity reflect a marked predominance of cDNA from the experimental fish or an increased expression of that gene in the experimental fish. Fluorescence intensity indicates the amplitude of that differential expression. Genes that are not differentially expressed in the experimental fish will appear in yellow (Figure 2).

Gene mapping using fluorescence.
Figure 2
Gene mapping using fluorescence.

Statistical analysis

Differentially expressed genes were identified for each sampling time point (6 hours, 24 h, 3 days, 7 d, 16 d) by comparing the ratios of ISAv-injected fish to fish injected with culture medium (controls). Significant genes identified for each sampling time point were then categorized by their function.

Validation by qRT-PCR

Quantitative Real-time reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction (qRT-PCR) was performed on each fish to verify the infectivity status. The same technique was used to confirm the differential expression of a selection of genes identified by the microarray analysis.

Results

The first mortalities of Atlantic Salmon infected by the ISA virus were observed on day 12 after the injection. On day 16, the end of the experiment, most of the remaining fish were close to death. The controls were healthy and tested negative for ISAv. The virus was detected in the kidney of ISAv-injected fish after 6 hours (3 out of 8 kidneys sampled). After 3 days, all injected fish tested positive and the viral load remained high for the rest of the experiment.

Several hundred genes were differentially expressed during the course of the infection, some observed after 6 hours and 24 h, but most observed at subsequent time points.

Proportion and function of genes expressed differentially after 16 days.
Figure 3
Proportion and function of genes expressed differentially after 16 days.

Of those genes, a clear over expression of components associated with the development of the innate immune response and acquired immunity were observed. After 16 days, genes associated with an immune response (in this case antigen presentation to cytotoxic T lymphocytes - TCD8), were activated; several genes involved in oxygen transport were underexpressed (Figure 3).

As expected, overexpression of genes involved in the presentation of the virus to immune system cells was observed, but the activation of mechanisms leading to antibody production could not be detected. It is important to note that antibodies provide a long-term defence against subsequent infections. After 16 days, when most fish were dying, the viral infection had overcome the host's defence. Anemia (or blood deficiency) is a characteristic symptom of ISA infection and the ISA virus is known to adhere to the red blood cells of Atlantic Salmon. The gene response observed at that stage was closely correlated with the symptoms observed in the fish (i.e., underexpression of several elements associated with oxygen transport and red blood cell production).

From the list of genes identified as significantly expressed by microarray analysis, eight genes were selected and their expression confirmed using the qRT-PCR method (Figure 4).

Figure 4
Figure 4
Relative expression of the genes selected.

Conclusions

With the use of DNA microarrays, it was possible to detect the immune defence mechanisms of Atlantic Salmon to ISAv and to describe the sequence of physiological events leading to death. The genetic markers identified can be used to study new vaccines and to evaluate the effect of new isolates of ISAv. DNA microarrays are powerful tools for large-scale measurement of gene expression. The qRT-PCR method enables absolute quantification at a smaller scale and is a method of choice for validating the results obtained using microarrays. Once developed and validated using the qRT-PCR method, the results can be used in other similar experiments.

This experiment revealed that naïve salmon (salmon that have not been used in previous experiments) responded strongly to ISAv infection. It would be interesting to expand the research to include how other variables would be likely to affect the immune response in salmon (e.g., resistance of certain families of fish, the level of virulence of the isolate injected, environmental conditions that affect the disease such as hypoxia and temperature effects). Such studies provide a deeper understanding of the defence mechanisms of fish against disease and provide insights into the approaches that could be taken to help the industry and prevent infections.


This ACRDP project (MG-09-01-002) was a collaborative effort among the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), and the Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association. One of the scientists on this project, Nellie Gagné, can be contacted at Nellie.Gagne@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-100-20661-5
DFO/2012-1825
Cat No.: Fs23-580/3-2012E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 12 - Mai, 2012

Utilisation de la génomique pour combattre le virus de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon

Résumé

Le virus de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon (VAIS) représente une grave menace pour les éleveurs de poissons au Canada et dans le monde entier. Il peut engendrer d'importantes pertes financières pour les exploitations aquacoles de saumon de l'Atlantique et représente un risque pour les populations de saumon sauvage de l'Atlantique. Bien que l'amélioration des pratiques d'élevage et de gestion aient contribué à réduire le risque et l'incidence de la maladie, d'autres éclosions associées à de nouvelles souches virulentes demeurent une menace pour l'industrie. Si on veut élaborer des outils d'intervention et des vaccins efficaces, on doit absolument arriver à mieux comprendre les interactions entre les poissons et les virus au niveau moléculaire. Souvent, pour étudier les interactions entre les hôtes et les pathogènes au niveau moléculaire, on utilise des outils de la génomique fonctionnelle, comme les micro-réseaux à ADN, qui mesurent l'expression génétique dans des tissus particuliers à des moments précis durant l'infection. Grâce à cette méthode, il a été possible de repérer plusieurs gènes sur-régulés ou sous-régulés dans les tissus rénaux du saumon au cours d'une infection causée par le VAIS, ce qui a permis de mieux comprendre la façon dont le poisson lutte contre la maladie. L'expression génétique a été mesurée à cinq moments différents au cours de l'infection expérimentale : 6 heures, 24 heures, 3 jours, 7 jours et 16 jours après l'injection du virus. Plusieurs gènes intervenant dans les mécanismes de défense immunologique sont devenus sur-régulés à mesure que l'infection progressait. Au cours de la dernière étape de l'infection, plusieurs gènes servant au transport de l'oxygène étaient sous-régulés. Une telle expression génétique correspond étroitement à l'anémie (faible nombre de globules rouges) observée chez le saumon de l'Atlantique infecté par des souches virulentes du VAIS juste avant sa mort. De telles études permettent une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes de défense des poissons contre la maladie et fournissent un aperçu des approches qui pourraient être adoptées pour aider l'industrie et prévenir les infections.

Introduction

Le virus de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon (VAIS) représente une grave menace pour la santé des stocks de poissons de l'industrie piscicole. Le virus peut causer une maladie systémique susceptible d'entraîner la mort de quantités importantes de saumons de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar). Les poissons infectés présentent une hémorragie, des branchies pâles, une congestion des organes internes et une anémie grave, menant souvent à la mort. D'autres membres de la famille des salmonidés, y compris la truite brune (Salmo trutta), la truite arcenciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss) et le saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch), peuvent être également infectés par le VAIS. Cependant, la majorité de ces infections sont  symptomatiques (un poisson peut être atteint de la maladie sans avoir de symptômes). Bien que le VAIS présente des similarités avec le virus de la grippe, il n'est pas zoonotique (les humains ne peuvent pas être infectés).

La maladie a été signalée pour la première fois en Norvège en 1984 et, depuis, elle a été détectée sur la côte est du Canada, aux états-Unis, en écosse, dans les îles Féroé et au Chili. Le virus a été signalé en 1996 au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a durement frappé l'industrie aquacole. Un certain nombre de mesures de biosécurité ont été mises en place pour limiter la propagation de l'infection, comme les unités de gestion aquacole des baies, mais le risque de nouvelles éclosions demeure. Diverses souches du VAIS ont été détectées et caractérisées au fil des années et présentent une virulence allant de faible à élevée, en fonction de la souche.

Bien que l'évolution et le pouvoir pathogène des diverses souches de VAIS soient abondamment étudiés, peu d'études ont été menées sur les interactions moléculaires entre le virus et l'hôte durant une infection. Lorsque les salmonidés sont infectés par un virus, plusieurs mécanismes de défense sont activés, y compris une réaction immunitaire et la production d'anticorps qui immuniseront le poisson contre de prochaines attaques virales. Cependant, avec le VAIS, cette réaction n'est souvent pas suffisante pour combattre le virus, ce qui entraîne la mort du poisson. Il est essentiel de comprendre la façon dont le saumon réagit à l'infection par le VAIS si on veut mettre au point de nouveaux traitements par agents antiviraux et développer de nouveaux vaccins.

étant donné l'importance économique majeure du saumon dans l'industrie aquacole et le désastre qui pourrait être causé par une éclosion de l'infection par le VAIS, plusieurs équipes de chercheurs tentent de mettre au point un vaccin contre le virus. Lorsque les vaccins sont efficaces, ils stimulent la production d'anticorps spécifiques et protègent le poisson contre de prochaines attaques virales connexes. Il existe des vaccins efficaces contre de nombreuses maladies des poissons, notamment la vibriose et la furonculose. Toutefois, à ce jour, le saumon ne réagit toujours pas comme on voudrait aux vaccins contre le VAIS en voie d'élaboration. L'essai de vaccins est un processus long et coûteux et, par conséquent, il serait extrêmement utile de pouvoir établir un profil de l'expression génétique indiquant le déclenchement de la réaction immunitaire chez les poissons. Ce profil serait établi après la vaccination et une courte période d'incubation. Il est probable que des vaccins efficaces provoqueraient chez les poissons une réaction génétique très semblable à la réaction suscitée par une infection par le VAIS.

Ces dernières années, une série de projets sur le génome a mené au séquençage et à la construction de banques d'acide désoxyribonucléique complémentaire (ADNc) pour les  espèces de poissons, y compris le saumon de l'Atlantique et la truite arcenciel. Ces banques d'ADNc ont rendu possible la mise au point des puces à ADN, qui ont été utiles dans de nombreuses études sur la génomique fonctionnelle. Les puces à ADN consistent en des molécules d'ADN fixées à des surfaces en verre. Chaque molécule représente un marqueur génétique unique, soit généralement un gène exprimé dans les tissus hôtes.

La présente étude vise à déterminer les marqueurs génétiques (un gène ou une séquence d'ADN à l'emplacement connu sur un chromosome) indiquant une infection par le VAIS, à mesure qu'elle progresse. On suppose qu'un grand nombre de ces marqueurs seraient aussi présents après la vaccination à l'aide d'une formulation vaccinale efficace.

Un essai initial des formulations vaccinales pourrait être effectué pour choisir l'option la plus prometteuse en vue de réaliser des essais plus approfondis. Le Consortium de recherche en génomique sur tous les salmonidés (cGrasp) a constitué un micro-réseau à ADN des salmonidés (ou puce à ADN) qui comprend 32 000 molécules d'ADN. Ces puces à ADN ont été utilisées pour repérer les gènes exprimés de façon différentielle dans les reins du saumon de l'Atlantique au cours d'une infection par une souche virulente du VAIS.

Méthodes

Étude d'exposition en milieu contrôlé

Avant l'étude, les saumoneaux de l'Atlantique ont été placés trois semaines en eau de mer maintenue à 13 ºC dans le laboratoire à isolement maximal de la Station biologique de St. Andrews, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Ils ont reçu une injection d'isolat virulent de la souche HPR4 du VAIS et ont été répartis dans deux bassins. Les témoins ont reçu seulement une injection de milieu de culture. Des échantillons ont été prélevés sur les poissons 0 heure, 6 heures, 24 heures, 3 jours, 7 jours et 16 jours après l'injection. Les poissons ont été examinés pour repérer des signes d'anémie infectieuse. Des sections du rein ont été retirées de chaque poisson et conservées jusqu'à l'analyse (figure 1).

Échantillonnage du saumon de l'Atlantique après injection du VAIS. Échantillonnage du saumon de l'Atlantique après injection du VAIS.
Figure 1
Échantillonnage du saumon de l'Atlantique après injection du VAIS.

Préparation de l'échantillon

L'acide ribonucléique (ARN) a été extrait de chaque échantillon de rein, puis purifié, quantifié et testé aux fins de contrôle de la qualité. L'ARN de référence a été préparé à partir d'un groupe distinct de poissons sains. L'ARN de référence représente l'état normal des saumons non infectés. Chaque saumon ayant été échantillonné dans les bassins expérimentaux et ayant reçu une injection du VAIS ou de milieu de culture (contrôlé) a été analysé par rapport au poisson témoin. Pour chaque échantillon de poisson infecté ayant été prélevé durant l'expérience, l'ARN a été transcrit en ADNc et marqué in vitro avec un colorant rouge fluorescent. Un échantillon d'ARN de référence a été marqué de la même façon, mais avec un colorant vert. L'ARNc marqué du poisson expérimental (témoin ou infecté) a été mélangé avec l'ARNc du poisson témoin.

Le mélange a ensuite été déposé sur la surface de l'ADNc (micro-réseau). Chacune des 32 000 molécules (ou groupes de souches d'ADN identiques) sur la surface représente une courte séquence de gène. Lorsque les surfaces sont exposées à l'ADNc marqué du poisson infecté et témoin, on constate une hybridation avec l'ADN correspondant se trouvant sur les surfaces.

Balayage des micro-réseaux à ADN et analyse des images

Les micro-réseaux à ADN ont été balayés au laser et numérisés aux fins d'analyse des images. L'intensité de la fluorescence de chaque molécule (gène) sur la surface a été mesurée. La fluorescence indique la contribution des deux poissons (l'ADNc du poisson témoin, en vert, et l'ADNc du poisson expérimental, en rouge). Étant donné que chaque molécule sur la surface représente un gène, les molécules en vert indiquent une contribution prédominante du poisson témoin, ou une expression réduite de ce gène particulier chez le poisson expérimental. Les molécules en rouge indiquent une nette prédominance de l'ADNc du poisson expérimental ou une expression accrue de ce gène chez celui-ci. L'intensité de la fluorescence indique l'amplitude de cette expression différentielle. Les gènes qui ne sont pas exprimés de façon différentielle chez le poisson expérimental apparaîtront en jaune (figure 2).

Cartographie génétique avec fluorescence.
Figure 2
Cartographie génétique avec fluorescence.





Analyse statistique

On a repéré les gènes exprimés de façon différentielle à chaque moment d'échantillonnage (6 heures, 24 heures, 3 jours, 7 jours et 16 jours) en comparant les ratios des poissons ayant reçu une injection du VAIS par rapport aux ratios des poissons ayant reçu une injection de milieu de culture (témoins). Les gènes importants repérés pour chaque moment l'échantillonnage ont ensuite été catégorisés selon leur fonction.

Validation par réaction en chaîne de la polymérase après transcription inverse quantitative (qRT-PCR)

Le test génétique de la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase après transcription inverse quantitative (qRT-PCR) a été effectué sur chaque poisson pour vérifier le degré d'infectiosité. Il a également été utilisé pour confirmer l'expression différentielle d'une sélection de gènes repérés par l'analyse des puces à ADN.

Résultats

Les premiers saumons de l'Atlantique morts ayant été infectés par le VAIS ont été observés le 12e jour suivant l'injection. Au 16e jour, soit la fin de l'expérience, la plupart des poissons restants étaient sur le point de mourir. Les poissons témoins étaient sains et aucun ne s'est révélé infecté par le VAIS. Le virus a été détecté dans le rein du poisson ayant reçu une injection du VAIS après 6 heures (3 échantillons de rein sur 8). Après 3 jours, tous les poissons ayant reçu une injection se sont révélés infectés et la charge virale est demeurée élevée jusqu'à la fin de l'expérience.

Plusieurs centaines de gènes ont été exprimés de façon différentielle au cours de l'infection; certains ont été observés après 6 heures et 24 heures, mais la plupart ont été repérés à des moments ultérieurs. Parmi ces gènes, une surexpression claire des composants associés au développement de la réaction immunitaire innée et à l'immunité acquise a été observée. Après 16 jours, des gènes associés à une réaction immunitaire (dans ce cas, présentation des antigènes aux cellules T tueuses – T CD8) ont été activés; plusieurs gènes intervenant dans le transport de l'oxygène ont été sous-exprimés (figure 3).

Proportion et fonction des gènes exprimés de façon différentielle après 16 jours.
Figure 3
Proportion et fonction des gènes exprimés de façon différentielle après 16 jours.

Comme prévu, une surexpression des gènes intervenant dans la présentation du virus aux cellules du système immunitaire a été observée, mais l'activation des mécanismes menant à la production d'anticorps n'a pu être détectée. Il est important de noter que les anticorps assurent une défense à long terme contre les prochaines infections. Après 16 jours, lorsque la plupart des poissons étaient en train de mourir, l'infection virale avait eu raison du système de défense de l'hôte. L'anémie (ou déficience sanguine) est un symptôme caractéristique de l'infection par le VAIS, connu pour adhérer aux globules rouges du saumon de l'Atlantique. La réponse génétique observée à cette étape était étroitement corrélée avec les symptômes observés chez le poisson (c.àd. la sous-expression de plusieurs éléments associés au transport de l'oxygène et à la production de globules rouges).

À partir de la liste de gènes repérés comme étant exprimés de façon significative par l'analyse des puces à ADN, huit gènes ont été sélectionnés et leur expression a été confirmée au moyen de la méthode qRT-PCR (figure 4).

Figure 4FR
Figure 4
Expression relative des gènes sélectionnés.






Conclusion

Grâce à l'utilisation des micro-réseaux à ADN, il a été possible de déterminer les mécanismes de défense immunitaire du saumon de l'Atlantique contre le VAIS et d'établir la séquence d'événements physiologiques menant à la mort. Les marqueurs génétiques définis peuvent être utilisés pour étudier de nouveaux vaccins et évaluer l'effet de nouveaux isolats du VAIS. Les micro réseaux à ADN sont des outils puissants pour la mesure à grande échelle de l'expression génétique. La méthode qRT-PCR permet une quantification absolue à plus petite échelle et s'avère une méthode de choix pour valider les résultats obtenus en utilisant les micro-réseaux. Une fois les résultats obtenus et validés en utilisant la méthode qRT-PCR, ils peuvent être utilisés dans d'autres expériences semblables.

Cette expérience a révélé que le saumon naïf (saumon qui n'a pas été utilisé dans des expériences précédentes) a réagi fortement à l'infection par le VAIS. Il serait intéressant d'approfondir la recherche pour inclure la façon dont les autres variables seraient susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur la réaction immunitaire du saumon (notamment la résistance de certaines familles de poissons, le degré de virulence de l'isolat injecté, les conditions environnementales influant sur la maladie comme l'hypoxie et les effets de la température). De telles études permettent de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de défense des poissons contre la maladie et fournissent un aperçu des approches à adopter pour aider l'industrie et prévenir les infections.


Le projet du PCRDA (MG-09-01-002) est le fruit d'un effort de collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association (ACFFA). Il est possible de communiquer avec Nellie Gagné, scientifique participant au projet, à l'adresse suivante : Nellie.Gagne@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, veuillez visiter le site /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm


Publié par:

Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
ISBN : 978-1-100-99205-1
MPO/2012-1825
No de cat. : Fs23-580/3-2012F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm