Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 11 - May, 2012

Pre-Commercial Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture(IMTA) in Coastal British Columbia

Summary

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) is an aquaculture approach that employs a combination of economicallyviable aquaculture species to facilitate the interception, extraction, and use of waste components of a finfish farm. The goal of IMTA development is to create balanced systems for environmental remediation, economic stability, and social acceptability to support the sustainable development of aquaculture. Research on IMTA is on-going on both coasts of Canada to examine the commercial feasibility and to maximize the ecological benefits of the concept. At Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd. in British Columbia a comprehensive research program is underway to apply this concept to culture operations. This project addressed three distinct technical issues crucial to the commercialization of the IMTA approach. First, the deposit-feeding sea cucumber (Parastichopus californicus), which naturally consumes organic material on the seabed, was shown to readily consume sablefish faeces and uneaten feed and exhibited good growth and survival rates on this waste material. Second, the development and testing of a unique shellfish production system, compatible with the finfish rearing infrastructure, demonstrated that this new grow-out system is a stable and highly productive platform for the production of multiple shellfish species. Third, the growth phase and overall productivity of the kelp component of the IMTA system was extended using an early, controlled stocking of kelp seed.

Introduction

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) has been introduced as a viable aquaculture development option for Canada. Research is ongoing on both coasts to test this concept on a commercial scale. IMTA is an advanced aquaculture system approach which combines the cultivation of fed aquaculture species (e.g., salmon, sablefish) with organic extractive aquaculture species (e.g., mussels, oysters, scallops) and inorganic extractive aquaculture species (e.g., kelp) to create balanced systems for environmental sustainability, economic stability, and social acceptability.

The design of an effective IMTA system requires selection and placement of species that intercept both particulate and dissolved waste materials that are generated by the finfish farm. The selected species and system design should be such that the uptake of waste products is maximized.Large organic particles (excess feed and faeces) settle below the cage system to be utilized by deposit feeders (e.g., sea cucumbers), while smaller suspended waste particles are filtered out of the water column by filterfeeding animals (e.g., oysters, mussels, scallops) placed in proximity to the finfish cages. The seaweed component is placed further away from the farm site in the direction of water flow so that excess dissolved nutrients can be removed from the water. It is important that selected species are economically viable as aquaculture species and that they be cultured at densities that maximize the uptake and use of waste material continuously over the finfish production cycle.

A number of issues arise in attempting to satisfy basic IMTA requirements in a commercial system. Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd., on northwest Vancouver Island, British Columbia is taking a comprehensive approach to making IMTA commercially viable. This study was designed to assess:

Methods

Sea Cucumber Study

This project comprised a combination of laboratory and farm-based experiments and trials. The initial phase of the project was conducted at the Pacific Biological Station (DFO) in Nanaimo, BC and focused on faecal material consumption and feeding rates (Figure 1).

Controlled experiments were conducted using juvenile (<6 cm length) and adult (>6 cm length) sea cucumbers ( Parastichopus californicus) which were fed either fresh sablefish faeces or natural sediment. Faecal production rates of the two size classes were measured at temperatures of 4, 8, 12, and 16°C, a range anticipated to be encountered on the farm site.

Sea cucumber (Parastichopus californicus) experimental trials to determine consumption rates on sablefish faeces. Sea cucumber (Parastichopus californicus) experimental trials to determine consumption rates on sablefish faeces.
Figure 1
Sea cucumber (Parastichopus californicus) experimental trials to determine consumption rates on sablefish faeces.

Results of the laboratory-based experiment were used to design an in situ trial at the Kyuquot SEAfoods IMTA farm site to test sea cucumber performance in a production setting. A 1x15 m aluminum frame system was used to hold trays of juvenile (7-99 g wet weight) and adult (100-565 g wet weight) sea cucumbers at low, medium, and high density (12.4, 16.8, and 21.2 individuals m-2, respectively) directly beneath the cultured sablefish and well above the seafloor (negating the ability of the sea cucumbers to feed on natural organic material on the benthos). The culture units were maintained for one year with sea cucumber growth and survival monitored approximately every two months.

Shellfish Infrastructure Development

This project examined how to best incorporate an IMTA shellfish component into a finfish cage system typical of the west coast. Material use, integration, floatation, functionality, and cost-effectiveness considerations were used in the design. A commercial prototype module was constructed and deployed at the IMTA farm and used to assess operational performance over two years.

Kelp Seasonality Study

Mature kelp (Saccharina lattissima) fronds were collected from the shoreline of the farm site in the early autumn of each year. Spores from the mature kelp were released into aquaria of sterilized seawater containing PVC spools wrapped with twine. The spores, when ready to settle, metamorphose into small gametophytes and attach to the twine. With full-spectrum light (16:8 photoperiod), gentle water aeration, 2-week nutrient replenishment, and a fixed temperature (10°C), a 6-8 week growth period resulted in kelp seed that were ready to be deployed in the field for on-growing and eventual harvest.

To manipulate and extend the timing of kelp seed deployment on the farm year-round, the aquaria were covered and exposed only to red light at the earlygametophyte stage, suspending gametophyte growth until full-spectrum light was re-introduced. Commercial lines of kelp established over the year were monitored for production performance in the field.

Results

Sea Cucumber Study

Laboratory results showed that sea cucumbers readily consumed sablefish faecal material. Significantly higher faecal production rates were observed when juvenile or adult sea cucumbers were fed natural sediment compared to sablefish faeces (Figure 2). Juvenile sea cucumbers had significantly higher faecal production rates (per unit body weight) than adults when fed either substrate and there was an increase in faecal production rate with increasing temperature up to 12°C.

Faecal production rates of juvenile and adult sea cucumbers (Parastichopus californicus) fed sablefish faecal material or natural sediment under different temperature regimes (4, 8, 12, and 16°C).
Figure 2
Faecal production rates of juvenile and adult sea cucumbers (Parastichopus californicus) fed sablefish faecal material or natural sediment under different temperature regimes (4, 8, 12, and 16°C).

In the field trial, juveniles grew significantly faster than adults, the former increasing in whole wet weight by 27-56% over the 12 months and the latter decreasing in wet weight by 10-33% over the same time period. It was concluded that adult stocking densities were probably too high to produce net positive growth. Stocking density had a significant effect on both juvenile and adult growth with lower densities producing significantly higher growth rates. The juvenile sea cucumbers cultured under the net pens had a high survival rate (99.5%) and their feeding reduced the total organic carbon and total nitrogen of the sablefish faeces by an average of 60% and 62%, respectively, demonstrating their potential as an important component in IMTA.

Shellfish Infrastructure Development

The shellfish prototype component of Kyuquot SEAfoods' SEAfood SystemTM (patent-pending) comprises a 200x15 m galvanized steel walkway system with increased floatation over that of traditional fish-cage designs. The system facilitates the use of a greater proportion of the water column and the integration of multiple species by supporting two tiers of shellfish culture apparatus. The upper five meters of the water column currently supports oysters while the water column below (6-15 m) is used for scallop culture. A moving SEA-Tram system, with a crosscage moving gantry (Figure 3), was designed to facilitate on-system and vertical handling of shellfish. The high tower and six winches of this design feature allow handling of multiple lines and specific layers of vertical production without removal and disruption of others. Operation of this system provides increased efficiencies over traditional shellfish rafts; fuel costs alone for service vessels result in a saving of over $0.23/dozen oysters produced.

Figure 3
Figure 3
The shellfish component of the Kyuquot SEAfoods SEAfood SystemTM, specifically showing the SEA-Tram and its gantry on the new floatation structure.

Kelp Seasonality Study

Staggering kelp seed deployment was effective in allowing seed to be deployed over three seasons; winter, spring, and autumn. During kelp grow-out, three stages of growth are identifiable: (i) the Pre-Growth Phase, corresponding to a period during which little kelp blade growth occurs, and therefore little nutrient removal capacity is present; (ii) the Growth Phase, characterized by rapid kelp blade elongation with nutrient removal capacity at its greatest; and (iii) the Harvest Phase during which the kelp blades experience elongation, although nutrient removal is at a reduced capacity as concurrent kelp blade erosion is occurring. The duration of each of these growth phases by season of seed deployment is illustrated in Figure 4.

Figure 4
Figure 4
Summary of kelp growth as a result of three controlled seasonal deployments of seeded lines.

Natural spore release, settlement, and the preparation of seeded kelp lines in an aquaculture context typically occurs in the winter. The growth phase is triggered in the spring by a combination of appropriate photoperiod and nutrients, lasting at least three months. In this study the controlled release of spores and seeding of lines in the autumn resulted in an extended growth phase, beginning in early February and provided an additional two months of growth. When seed were deployed in the spring, kelp growth was significantly shortened, likely as a result of light limitation.

Conclusions

Sea Cucumber Study

This research demonstrated that sea cucumbers are effective consumers of sablefish wastes. When fed exclusively on sablefish faeces (and uneaten feed), juvenile sea cucumbers showed excellent growth and survival and were capable of reducing the total organic carbon and nitrogen content in the waste material. The high market value and demonstrated functional performance of this deposit-feeder makes it an excellent addition to the multispecies IMTA production model.

Shellfish Infrastructure Development

The shellfish component of the unique SEAfood SystemTM provides a stable and highly productive platform for the production of multiple species of shellfish. Higher capital costs for integration of this system component are offset by reduced operational and maintenance costs and increased production through a greater use of the water column.

Kelp Seasonality Study

Use of a single species of seaweed within an IMTA system currently relies upon its natural production cycle. This study demonstrated that a prolonged kelp growth phase can be achieved by using a controlled seed entry and stocking kelp 2-3 months earlier than previously documented. The earlier stocking and extended growth phase should provide an estimated 40% increase in the extractive capacity (and farm production) achieved. This, combined with the selection of complementary seaweed species with varying production timelines will ensure that an IMTA farm maintains an inorganic extractive component for most (if not all) of the year.


This ACRDP project (P-07-01-004) was a collaborative effort among the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO Science)and Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd. The lead scientist, Dr. Stephen Cross, can be contacted at sfcross@office.geog.uvic.ca. The DFO collaborating scientist, Dr. Chris Pearce, Pacific Biological Station, can be reached at Chris.Pearce@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Photos are courtesy of S.F. Cross and Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-100-20660-8
DFO/2012-1824
Cat. No.: Fs23-580/2-2012E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 11 - Mai, 2012

Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) précommerciale sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique

Résumé

L'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) est une approche de l'aquaculture fondée sur la combinaison d'espèces aquatiques économiquement viables pour faciliter l'interception, l'extraction et l'utilisation des déchets d'une exploitation de poissons à nageoires. L'AMTI vise à créer des systèmes équilibrés assurant l'assainissement de l'environnement, la stabilité économique et l'acceptabilité sociale en vue d'appuyer le développement durable de l'aquaculture. Des études de l'AMTI sont en cours sur les côtes est et ouest du canada pour évaluer la faisabilité commerciale et pour maximiser les avantages écologiques du concept. À Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd., en Colombie-Britannique, un programme complet de recherche a été lancé pour appliquer ce concept aux activités d'élevage. Ce projet s'est penché sur trois questions techniques distinctes essentielles à la commercialisation de l'AMTI. D'abord, on a observé que l'holothurie limivore (Parastichopus californicus), qui consomme normalement des matières organiques des fonds marins, se nourrit également d'excréments de morue charbonnière et d'aliments non consommés, donc des déchets, tout en affichant des taux de croissance et de survie satisfaisants. Ensuite, l'élaboration et la mise à l'essai d'un système unique de production de mollusques et de crustacés, compatible avec les infrastructures d'élevage de poissons à nageoires, ont permis de démontrer que ce nouveau système d'élevage est une plate-forme stable et hautement efficace pour la production de plusieurs espèces de mollusques et de crustacés. Finalement, la phase de croissance et la productivité globale du varech dans le système d'AMTI ont été accrues grâce à un approvisionnement précoce et contrôlé de semences de varech.

Introduction

L'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) a été présentée comme une option viable pour le développement de l'aquaculture au Canada. Des études sont en cours sur les côtes est et ouest pour mettre à l'essai ce concept à l'échelle commerciale. L'AMTI est une approche aquacole avancée combinant l'élevage d'espèces nécessitant un apport de nourriture (p. ex. le saumon ou la morue charbonnière) avec des espèces absorbant des composés organiques (p. ex. le moule, l'huître ou le pétoncle) et des espèces vivant de composés inorganiques (p. ex. le varech) afin de créer des systèmes équilibrés qui contribuent à un environnement durable, favorisent la stabilité économique et sont socialement acceptables.

La création d'un système d'AMTI efficace exige la sélection et l'adoption d'espèces qui interceptent les déchets particulaires et dissous générés par les exploitations de poissons à nageoires. Les espèces sélectionnées et la conception du système doivent faire en sorte que la consommation des déchets est maximisée. Les grosses particules organiques (restes de nourriture et excréments) se déposant sous les cages sont consommées par des organismes limivores (p. ex. les holothuries), alors que les plus petites particules de déchets en suspension sont extraites de la colonne d'eau par les animaux filtreurs (p. ex. les huîtres, les moules ou les pétoncles) placés à proximité des cages de poissons à nageoires. Les algues sont placées à distance du site d'élevage sur le passage du courant d'eau de façon que les nutriments dissous excédentaires puissent être retirés de l'eau. Il est important que les espèces sélectionnées soient viables sur le plan économique en tant qu'espèces utilisées pour l'aquaculture et que l'on puisse en faire l'élevage à des densités qui maximisent continuellement la consommation et l'utilisation des déchets au cours du cycle de production des poissons à nageoires.

Un certain nombre de problèmes surgissent lorsque l'on tente de satisfaire les exigences de base de l'AMTI dans un système commercial. Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd., située dans le nord-ouest de l'île de Vancouver, en Colombie Britannique, est en train d'adopter une approche globale pour rendre l'AMTI commercialement viable. Cette étude vise à évaluer:

Méthodes

Étude de l'holothurie

Ce projet comprenait une combinaison d'expériences et d'essais en laboratoire et en exploitations aquacoles. La phase initiale du projet a été menée à la Station biologique du Pacifique (Pêches et Océans Canada) à Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique, et s'est intéressée à la consommation de matières fécales et aux taux d'alimentation (figure 1).

Des expériences contrôlées ont été menées sur des holothuries (Parastichopus californicus) juvéniles (longueur inférieure à 6 cm) et adultes (longueur supérieure à 6 cm) qui ont été nourries d'excréments frais de morue charbonnière ou de sédiments naturels. Les taux de production fécale des deux classes ont été mesurés à des températures de 4, 8, 12 et 16 °C, soit les variations prévues à la ferme aquacole.

Essais expérimentaux menés sur des holothuries (Parastichopus californicus) pour déterminer les taux de consommation d'excréments de morue charbonnière. Sea cucumber (Parastichopus californicus) experimental trials to determine consumption rates on sablefish faeces.
Figure 1
Essais expérimentaux menés sur des holothuries (Parastichopus californicus) pour déterminer les taux de consommation d'excréments de morue charbonnière.

Les résultats de l'expérience en laboratoire ont été utilisés pour réaliser une expérience in situ à l'exploitation d'AMTI de Kyuquot SEAfoods, afin de mesurer le rendement de l'holothurie dans un contexte de production. Un système à charpente en aluminium de 1 sur 15 m a été utilisé pour tenir les plateaux d'holothuries juvéniles (poids humide de 7 à 99 g) et adultes (poids humide de 100 à 565 g) à des densités faible, moyenne et élevée (12,4, 16,8 et 21,2 m-2, respectivement) directement sous les morues charbonnières d'élevage et bien au-dessous des fonds marins (ce qui empêche les holothuries de se nourrir d'éléments organiques naturels du benthos). Les unités d'élevage ont été maintenues pendant un an, et la croissance et la survie des holothuries a été surveillée environ tous les deux mois.

Mise sur pied d'une infrastructure pour mollusques et crustacés

Ce projet s'est penché sur la meilleure façon d'incorporer une composante de mollusques et crustacés dans l'AMTI, au moyen d'un système de cage à poissons à nageoires propre à la côte ouest. L'utilisation de matériaux, l'intégration, la flottaison, le fonctionnement et la rentabilité étaient au nombre des questions soulevées dans la conception. Un prototype de module commercial a été construit et déployé à l'exploitation d'AMTI, pour une évaluation du rendement opérationnel pendant deux ans.

Étude sur le cycle saisonnier du varech

Des frondes matures de varech (Saccharina lattissima) ont été recueillies sur le rivage de l'exploitation au début de l'automne tous les ans. Des spores de varech mature ont été déposées dans des aquariums remplis d'eau de mer stérilisée contenant des bobines de PVC enroulées de ficelle. Les spores, une fois prêtes à se sédimenter, se métamorphosent en petits gamétophytes et s'accrochent à la ficelle. Avec un éclairage à spectre entier (photopériode 16/8), une légère aération de l'eau, un réapprovisionnement en nutriments toutes les deux semaines, une température stable (10 °C) et une période de croissance de 6 à 8 semaines ont permis d'obtenir des semences de varech prêtes à être disséminées sur le terrain pour la poursuite de leur croissance et l'éventuelle récolte.

Pour manipuler et prolonger les intervalles auxquels les semences de varech sont disséminées dans l'exploitation pendant l'année, les aquariums ont été couverts et exposés uniquement à de la lumière rouge au début du stade de gamétophyte, ce qui suspend la croissance des gamétophytes jusqu'au moment où un éclairage à spectre entier est utilisé de nouveau. Différentes gammes commerciales de varech établies au cours de l'année ont été surveillées pour évaluer le rendement de la production.

Résultats

Étude sur l'holothurie

Les résultats de laboratoire ont montré que l'holothurie consomme les excréments de la morue charbonnière. Des taux de production d'excréments nettement plus élevés ont été observés lorsque les holothuries juvéniles ou adultes se nourrissaient de sédiments naturels par rapport à des excréments de morue charbonnière (figure 2). Les holothuries juvéniles ont présenté des taux de production d'excréments beaucoup plus élevés (par unité de masse corporelle) que les adultes, indépendamment de leur formule alimentaire; on a aussi observé qu'une température plus élevée, d'au maximum 12 °C, donnait lieu à une augmentation du taux de production d'excréments.

Taux de production d'excréments d'holothuries adultes et juvéniles (Parastichopus californicus) nourries d'excréments de morue charbonnière ou de sédiments naturels, dans différentes conditions de température (4, 8, 12, et 16 °C).
Figure 2
Taux de production d'excréments d'holothuries adultes et juvéniles (Parastichopus californicus) nourries d'excréments de morue charbonnière ou de sédiments naturels, dans différentes conditions de température (4, 8, 12, et 16 °C).

Lors de l'essai sur le terrain, les holothuries juvéniles ont grandi nettement plus rapidement que les adultes; en effet, l'augmentation de leur poids corporel humide a été de l'ordre de 27 à 56 % sur une période de 12 mois, comparativement aux adultes, dont le poids corporel a augmenté de 10 à 33 % au cours de la même période. On a conclu que les densités d'empoissonnement adulte étaient probablement trop élevées pour produire une croissance nette positive. Les densités d'empoissonnement ont eu une incidence importante sur la croissance des juvéniles et des adultes, dans les cas de faible densité, entraînant des taux de croissance nettement plus élevés. Les holothuries juvéniles élevées sous les parcs en filet ont présenté un taux de survie élevé (99,5 %) et leur consommation a réduit la quantité totale de carbone organique et d'azote liés aux excréments de morue charbonnière d'en moyenne 60 % et 62 % respectivement, ce qui démontre qu'elles peuvent constituer une composante importante de l'AMTI.

Mise sur pied d'une infrastructure pour mollusques et crustacés

Le prototype de la composante pour mollusques et crustacés SEAfood System de Kyuquot SEAfoods comprend un système de passerelle en acier galvanisé de 200 sur 15 m à flottaison supérieure aux systèmes traditionnels d'élevage en parc. Le système facilite l'utilisation d'une plus grande proportion de la colonne d'eau ainsi que l'intégration de multiples espèces en un dispositif d'élevage de mollusques et crustacés à deux paliers. La partie supérieure de cinq mètres de la colonne d'eau sert actuellement aux huîtres alors que la colonne d'eau inférieure (6 à 15 m) sert à l'élevage de pétoncles. Un système SEA-Tram mobile, doté d'un portique chevauchant les parcs (figure 3), a été conçu en vue de faciliter la manipulation verticale et à même le système de mollusques et crustacés. La tour surélevée et les six treuils de cette conception permettent la manipulation de multiples lignes et de couches particulières de production verticale sans avoir à retirer ou à perturber les autres. L'utilisation de ce système entraîne une efficacité accrue par rapport aux autres systèmes traditionnels de radeaux à crustacés et mollusques; à elle seule l'élimination des coûts du carburant pour les bateaux de service représente une économie de 0,23 $/douzaine d'huîtres produites.

Figure 3
Figure 3
La composante pour mollusques et crustacés du SEAfood System de Kyuquot SEAfoods, le SEA Tram et son portique sur la nouvelle structure de flottaison.

Étude sur le cycle saisonnier du varech

Le déploiement par intervalles de semences de varech a été efficace, permettant d'étaler la semence sur trois saisons : hiver, printemps et automne. Au cours de la croissance du varech, trois stades sont discernables : i) la phase de pré-croissance, correspondant à une période au cours de laquelle une faible croissance des limbes survient, marquée par une faible capacité de suppression des nutriments; ii) la phase de croissance, caractérisée par un allongement rapide des limbes du varech et une capacité maximale de suppression des nutriments; et iii) la phase de récolte, au cours de laquelle les limbes du varech grandissent, bien que la suppression de nutriments soit réduite en raison de l'érosion simultanée des limbes. La durée de chacune de ces phases de croissance par saison de dissémination de semences est illustrée à la figure 4.

Figure 4
Figure 4
Résumé de la croissance du varech découlant de trois déploiements saisonniers contrôlés de lignes de varech ensemencées.

La libération naturelle des spores, la sédimentation et la préparation de lignes de varech ensemencées dans un contexte d'aquaculture ont lieu habituellement en hiver. La phase de croissance est déclenchée au printemps par une combinaison de la photopériode et des nutriments appropriés, et dure au moins trois mois. Dans cette étude, la libération contrôlée des spores et l'ensemencement des lignes en automne ont engendré une phase de croissance prolongée, commençant au début de février, et ont donné lieu à deux autres mois de croissance. Lorsque les semences ont été disséminées au printemps, la croissance du varech a été considérablement réduite, probablement en réaction à l'absence de lumière.

Conclusion

Étude sur l'holothurie

Cette recherche a démontré que les holothuries sont de bonnes consommatrices de déchets de morue charbonnière. Lorsque les holothuries juvéniles se nourrissaient exclusivement des excréments de morue charbonnière (et des aliments non consommés), elles ont affiché d'excellents taux de croissance et de survie, et étaient en mesure de diminuer la quantité totale de carbone organique et d'azote dans les déchets. La valeur marchande accrue et le rendement fonctionnel démontré de cet organisme limivore en font une excellente espèce à ajouter au modèle plurispécifique de production de l'AMTI.

Mise sur pied d'une infrastructure pour mollusques et crustacés

La composante pour mollusques et crustacés de l'unique SEAfood System fournit une plate-forme stable et hautement efficace pour la production de multiples espèces de mollusques et de crustacés. Les coûts d'immobilisation accrus pour l'intégration de cette composante dans le système sont compensés par des coûts d'exploitation et d'entretien réduits et une production accrue grâce à une meilleure utilisation de la colonne d'eau.

Étude sur le cycle saisonnier du varech

L'utilisation d'une seule espèce d'algue dans un système d' AMTI dépend actuellement de son cycle de production naturel. Cette étude a démontré qu'on peut prolonger la phase de croissance du varech en utilisant un apport contrôlé de semence et en introduisant le varech de deux à trois mois plus tôt que ce qui était suggéré par les données précédentes. Selon les estimations, la phase d'ensemencement précoce et de croissance prolongée entraîne une augmentation de la capacité extractive (et de la production) d'environ 40 %. Combiné à la sélection d'espèces d'algues complémentaires ainsi qu'à des délais de production variables, cela permet certainement aux exploitations d'AMTI de conserver une composante extractive inorganique pendant presque toute l'année, si ce n'est toute l'année.


Le projet du PCRDA (P-07-01-004) est le fruit d'un effort de collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences) et Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd. Il est possible de communiquer avec le scientifique principal, Stephen Cross, à l'adresse suivante : sfcross@office.geog.uvic.ca. Il est aussi possible de communiquer avec le scientifique participant du Ministère, Chris Pearce, de la Station biologique du Pacifique, à l'adresse suivante : Chris.Pearce@dfompo.gc.ca. Photos fournies par S. F. Cross et Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, veuillez visiter le site /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm


Publié par:

Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
ISBN : 978-1-100-99204-4
MPO/2012-1824
No de cat. : Fs23-580/2-2012F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm