Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 10 - May, 2012

Mussel Seed Quality and Availability in Newfoundland

Summary

The rapidly-growing mussel industry in Newfoundland requires new spat collection sites from areas close to their growout sites. This would provide backup for seed collection, allow for better growth performance as the young mussels become acclimated to the environmental conditions closer to the growout sites, and reduce seed transport costs. Species composition and potential sites for mussel culture were evaluated in a multi-year study. The objective was to identify several mussel seed collection sites in the Placentia and Bonavista Bay regions of Newfoundland. Following a 2-year time series experiment, it was determined that preferential seed collection of two blue mussel species commonly found in the coastal waters of Newfoundland, Mytilus edulis and Mytilus trossulus, was not significantly affected by the set depth or timing of collection (eastern Notre Dame Bay). However, for the Placentia Bay site, numbers of M. trossulus and hybrids of the two species increased over the summer. This suggested that to collect M. edulis, spat collections must be made earlier in the year. Seed transfer trials were initiated based on data obtained from this study. The results of this study contribute toward the process of locating alternate seed collection sites to foster sustainable development of the mussel aquaculture industry in Newfoundland.

Introduction

Mussel Line

Mussel farming in Newfoundland has experienced rapid expansion in recent years. Mussel growers in Newfoundland identified the lack of good seed sites as a significant challenge to expansion of the industry. Growers wanted a good backup site in case the best current spat collection site - Woodfords Arm - became unavailable. Growers in the expanding industry on the south coast found that mussel seed brought in from Notre Dame Bay to the north was not growing very well in the new environment. Researchers thought that seed from the southern growout area might show greater growth. In addition, this would have the added benefit of reducing seed transport costs from more distant spat collection sites. Several growers also wanted their own seed collection sites that were close to their growout sites. This study examined the characteristics of a select group of possible sites as suggested by the mussel aquaculture industry.

There is a need to expand some of these collection sites and to find more conveniently-located seed collection sites. Newfoundland and Labrador lie in a hybrid zone where two mussel species (Mytilus edulis and Mytilus trossulus) and their hybrids co-exist. There is evidence that suggests that M. edulis grows more rapidly, has a thicker shell, exhibits higher survival rates, and has stronger byssal threads than M. trossulus. The two species may also show temporal (time) and spatial (depth) differences during the period when spat settles out. This would allow partitioning of seed collection on temporal and spatial scales, thereby maximizing seed collection and mussel performance, as M. edulis exhibits superior growth and hardiness against damage during growout and transport following harvest. Additionally, the prospect of modifying seed collection husbandry was examined to enhance the collection of the M. edulis spat in sites that had mixed species and hybrids.

This study evaluated existing and new seed collection sites and will investigate husbandry practices. Additionally, this study investigated whether the growth performance of M. edulis is superior to M. trossulus among sites due to different environmental and oceanographic conditions (e.g., ice-free state, cold vs. warm-water oceanic currents) that may be favourable for the growth of one species over another.

Figure 1
Figure 1
Sampling locations in bays along the coast of Newfoundland, Canada.

Methods

Collection protocols were developed for the 2006 and 2007 seed collection in this study, based on a preliminary study conducted in 2005.

Eleven experimental collection sites were surveyed in Placentia Bay in 2006. The six most promising sites were re-evaluated for consistency in 2007. Ten experimental collection sites were surveyed in Bonavista Bay in 2007 (Figure 1) where a new "small footprint" seed collector, robustly designed to better withstand the effects of winter ice damage, was used for the seed collection (Figure 2).

Sixteen collection sites at eight existing mussel farms were sampled in Bonavista Bay and throughout the Island in 2006.

Figure 2
Figure 2
Experimental seed collector designed and used for the study. The invasive species collectors are settling plates for invasive tunicates.

Invasive species collectors are part of the standard Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Atlantic Zone Monitoring protocol for monitoring invasive tunicates. These were added to the mussel spat collectors to ensure that new mussel seed sites would not have an AIS. The presence of invasive species would make seed harvest difficult and could also result in the transfer of invasive species between collection and growout sites. Mussels species were identified using diagnostic genetic markers (Glu, ITS) to differentiate the species and identifiy hybrids of M. edulis, and M. trossulus.

In addition, in 2006 and 2007, two commercial mussel sites, one in Placentia Bay (Site 17, Figure 3) and one in Notre Dame Bay (Reach Run) were sampled over a time and depth series experiment. Between May and October, samples were taken every two weeks using three standard seed collecting ropes at three depths (top, mid, bottom). This time series experiment was extended in both areas over the winter with collectors remaining in the water.

Results

No invasive tunicate species were found on any of the collectors associated with the mussel spat collection.

There was a large variation in mussel spat collection among the eight mussel farms (Figure 3). Mussel seed collection at the Reach Run site (RR) in Notre Dame Bay and Site 17 in Placentia Bay was dominated by M. trossulus and hybrids (Figure 3). The remaining five sites were dominated by M. edulis.

Figure 3
Figure 3
Species composition of mussel spat sampled at mussel farms throughout Newfoundland. RR - Reach Run.

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybrid

In 2006-2007, M. trossulus accounted for more than 50% of the individuals collected in nearly all experimental sites in the Placentia Bay region (Figure 4), whereas M. edulis comprised more than 50% of collected seed at only two experimental sites (sites 5 & 7). Low numbers of seed were collected from Bonavista Bay in 2007. Although a higher percentage (>75%) of M. edulis was found at all sites (Figure 5).

Figure 4
Figure 4
Species composition at each of the Placentia Bay sampling sites (2006 [left], 2007 [right]).

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybrid

Figure 5
Figure 5

Species composition at each of the Bonavista Bay sampling sites 2007.

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybrid

At two commercial sites (Placentia Bay and Notre Dame Bay - Reach Run, the time and depth series experiment showed a species composition dominated by M. trossulus (69%), followed by hybrids (26%), and M. edulis (5%).

There was no segregation by depth for the Reach Run area. The over-winter time-series showed similar compositions (67% M. trossulus: 27% hybrids: 6% M. edulis), with no influence of depth. Interestingly, at the Placentia Bay site, the numbers of M. trossulus and hybrids increased over the summer, suggesting that M. edulis settles out of the water column earlier.

IMTA mussels harvested from mussel rafts after an initial cleaning.

Conclusions

Based on mussel species composition data obtained from this study, several sites in Placentia Bay and Bonavista Bay have been selected for further examination and seed transfer trials.

During the two years of this study, preferential seed collection of the common blue mussel species, M. edulis and M. trossulus, was not significantly affected by the set depth or timing of collection at the Notre Dame Bay site. However, increasing proportions of M. trossulus and hybrids over the summer at the Placentia Bay site suggests an earlier setting of M. edulis. There was no discernable scientific explanation for the differences observed in relative frequencies of species and hybrids among sites. Identification of collection sites with an abundant and consistent supply of high quality mussel seed will contribute to sustainable development of the Newfoundland mussel industry.


This ACRDP project (N-05-01-04) was a collaborative effort among the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO Science), the Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association, Memorial University of Newfoundland, the Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland, Provincial Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture, National Research Council - IRAP and the Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation. The lead scientist on this project, Dr. Cynthia McKenzie, can be contacted at Cynthia.McKenzie@dfo-mpo.gc.ca..

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-100-20662-2
DFO/2012-1826
Cat. No.: Fs23-580/4-2012E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 10 - Mai, 2012

Qualité et disponibilité des naissains de moules à Terre Neuve-et-Labrador

Résumé

En pleine croissance, l'industrie des moules à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador nécessite de nouveaux sites de collecte de naissains à proximité des sites de grossissement. Ceux-ci serviraient de réserve pour la collecte de naissains et permettraient d'améliorer le rendement de la croissance, les jeunes moules étant amenées à s'acclimater aux conditions du milieu à proximité des sites de grossissement, tout en permettant de réduire les coûts du transport de naissains. La composition des espèces ainsi que les sites potentiels de mytiliculture ont été évalués dans le cadre d'une étude pluriannuelle. L'objectif était de repérer plusieurs sites de collecte de naissains de moules dans les régions de la baie de Bonavista et de la baie Placentia, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Une étude de séries chronologiques de deux ans a révélé que la collecte sélective de naissains de deux espèces de moules bleues communes des eaux du littoral de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Mytilus edulis et Mytilus trossulus, n'a pas été particulièrement touchée par la profondeur de l'eau et le moment de la collecte (est de la baie Notre Dame). Toutefois, dans le cas du site de la baie Placentia, la population de M. trossulus et d'hybrides des deux espèces a augmenté au cours de l'été. Cela suggère que dans le cas de M. edulis, la collecte de naissains doit être effectuée plus tôt dans l'année. Des essais de transfert de naissains fondés sur les données tirées de cette étude ont été entrepris. Les résultats de cette étude contribuent au processus de recherche de sites supplémentaires pour la collecte de naissains, en vue de favoriser le développement durable de l'industrie de la mytiliculture à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Introduction

Mussel Line

La mytiliculture a connu une forte croissance au cours des dernières années à Terre-euve-et-Labrador. Les mytiliculteurs de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador estiment que le manque de bons sites de collecte de naissains constitue un important obstacle à l'expansion de l'industrie. Les éleveurs souhaitent disposer d'un bon site de réserve en cas de non disponibilité du meilleur site de collecte de naissains actuel, Woodfords Arm. Les éleveurs de cette industrie en expansion sur la côte sud ont observé que les naissains de moules transférés de la baie Notre Dame vers le nord ne grandissaient pas très bien dans le nouvel environnement. Les chercheurs ont avancé que les naissains provenant de sites de grossissement situés au sud présenteraient une meilleure croissance. Leur utilisation permettrait également de réduire les coûts du transport des naissains, supérieurs lorsque les sites de collecte de naissains sont éloignés. De nombreux éleveurs ont aussi manifesté le désir d'avoir leurs propres sites de collecte de naissains à proximité de leurs sites de grossissement. Cette étude s'est penchée sur les caractéristiques d'un ensemble restreint de sites potentiels préconisés par l'industrie de la mytiliculture.

L'agrandissement de certains de ces sites de collecte de naissains s'impose et de nouveaux sites mieux situés doivent être repérés. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est située dans une zone hybride où deux espèces de moules (Mytilus edulis et Mytilus trossulus) ainsi que leurs hybrides coexistent. Des données laissent entendre que M. edulis grandit plus rapidement, a une coquille plus épaisse et présente des taux de survie supérieurs ainsi qu'un byssus plus solide que M. trossulus. Des différences d'ordre spatio-temporel (temps et profondeur) peuvent aussi être observées entre les deux espèces au cours de la période de fixation des naissains. Ainsi, il serait possible de structurer la collecte de naissains en fonction de l'espace et du temps, et d'augmenter ainsi le rendement de la collecte de naissains et celui de la moule, puisque M. edulis présente une croissance supérieure et une résistance accrue pendant le grossissement et le transport après l'élevage. La possibilité de modifier l'élevage des naissains a été envisagée en vue d'améliorer la collecte de naissains de M. edulis dans les sites présentant des espèces mixtes et des hybrides.

Cette étude évalué des sites nouveaux et existants de collecte de naissains et s'est penché sur les pratiques d'élevage, en plus d'examiner si le rendement de la croissance de M. edulis est supérieur à celui de M. trossulus d'un site à l'autre, en raison des différentes conditions océanographiques et du milieu (p. ex. interglaciel, courants océaniques froids et chauds) pouvant favoriser la croissance d'une espèce plutôt que d'une autre.

Figure 1
Figure 1
Lieux d'échantillonnage dans les baies le long de la côte de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, au Canada.

Méthodes

Aux fins de la présente étude, des protocoles de collecte ont été élaborés pour la collecte de 2006 et 2007, d'après une étude préliminaire menée en 2005.

Quelque onze sites expérimentaux de la baie Placentia ont été étudiés en 2006. Les six sites les plus prometteurs ont été réévalués en 2007 pour vérifier la cohérence des résultats. Dix sites de collecte expérimentaux ont été étudiés dans la baie de Bonavista en 2007 (figure 1), où un nouveau collecteur de naissains à faible empreinte, à la conception solide et capable de mieux résister aux dommages causés par la glace en hiver, a été utilisé (figure 2).

Seize sites de collecte dans huit moulières ont été étudiés dans la baie de Bonavista et ailleurs dans l'île en 2006.

Figure 2
Figure 2
Collecteur de naissains expérimental utilisé dans le cadre de l'étude et conçu pour celle-ci. Les collecteurs d'espèces envahissantes sont des plateaux de fixation pour les tuniciers envahissants.

Les collecteurs d'espèces envahissantes font partie intégrante du protocole standard de monitorage des espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE) de la zone Atlantique de Pêches et Océans Canada, pour les tuniciers envahissants. Ils ont été ajoutés aux collecteurs de naissains pour veiller à ce que les nouveaux sites de naissains de moules demeurent exempts d'EAE. La présence d'espèces envahissantes compliquerait la collecte de naissains et pourrait donner lieu au transfert d'espèces envahissantes entre les sites de collecte et les sites de grossissement. Les espèces de moules ont été définies au moyen de marqueurs génétiques diagnostiques (Glu, ITS) pour différencier les espèces et repérer les hybrides de M. edulis et M. trossulus.

En outre, en 2006 et 2007, deux sites d'élevage commercial de moules, l'un dans la baie Placentia (site 17, figure 3) et l'autre dans la baie Notre Dame (Reach Run), ont été examinés dans le cadre d'une étude de séries chronologiques et spatiales. Entre mai et octobre, des prélèvements ont été effectués toutes les deux semaines au moyen de trois cordes de collecte de naissains standard, à trois profondeurs (niveaux supérieur, médian, inférieur). Cette étude de séries chronologiques a été prolongée dans les deux zones au cours de l'hiver, les collecteurs étant restés immergés.

Résultats

Aucune espèce envahissante de tuniciers n'a été trouvée sur les collecteurs liés à la collecte de naissains de moules.D'importantes variations ont été observées entre les huit moulières pour ce qui est des naissains de moules (figure 3). Les naissains de moules recueillis sur le site de Reach Run (RR) dans la baie Notre Dame et sur le site 17 dans la baie Placentia contenaient un très grand nombre de M. trossulus et d'hybrides (figure 3). Dans les cinq autres sites, c'était la M. edulis qui était la plus courante.

Figure 3
Figure 3

Composition des espèces de naissains de moules prélevés dans les moulières de Terre Neuve-et-Labrador. RR – Reach Run.

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybride

En 2006-2007, plus de 50 % des naissains recueillis dans presque tous les sites expérimentaux de la région de la baie Placentia (figure 4) appartenaient à l'espèce M. trossulus alors que l'espèce M. edulis a été observée dans cette proportion dans seulement deux sites expérimentaux (sites 5 et 7). Un faible nombre de naissains ont été recueillis dans la baie de Bonavista en 2007, mais un pourcentage plus élevé (> 75 %) de M. edulis a été observé sur tous les sites (figure 5).

Figure 4
Figure 4
Composition des espèces à chacun des sites de prélèvement de la baie Placentia (2006 [gauche], 2007 [droite]).

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybrid

Sur deux sites commerciaux (baie Placentia et baie Notre Dame – Reach Run), l'étude de séries chronologiques et spatiales a révélé que la composition des espèces était dominée par M. trossulus (69 %), suivie par les hybrides (26 %) et M. edulis (5 %).

Figure 5
Figure 5

Composition des espèces à chacun des sites de prélèvement de la baie de Bonavista, 2007.

 Mytilus edulis,
 Mytilus trossulus,
 hybrid

Il n'y a pas eu de distinction en fonction de la profondeur dans la région de Reach Run. L'étude de séries chronologiques menée au cours de l'hiver a montré une composition similaire (67 % de M. trossulus; 27 % d'hybrides; 6 % de M. edulis), sans aucune influence liée à la profondeur. Fait intéressant, sur le site de la baie Placentia, le nombre de M. trossulus et d'hybrides a augmenté au cours de l'été, ce qui laisse penser que M. edulis se détache de la colonne immergée plus tôt.

Conclusions

D'après les données portant sur la composition des espèces découlant de la présente étude, plusieurs sites de la baie Placentia et de la baie de Bonavista ont été sélectionnés aux fins d'étude et d'essais de transfert de naissains.

IMTA mussels harvested from mussel rafts after an initial cleaning.

Au cours des deux années de cette étude, la collecte sélective de naissains de deux espèces de moules bleues communes, M. edulis et M. trossulus, n'a pas été particulièrement touchée par la profondeur de l'eau et le moment de la collecte sur le site de la baie Notre Dame. Toutefois, sur le site de la baie Placentia, le nombre de M. trossulus et d'hybrides a augmenté au cours de l'été, ce qui laisse croire que M. edulis se fixe plus tôt. Aucune explication scientifique n'a pu être formulée quant aux différences observées dans la proportion des différentes espèces et d'hybrides d'un site à l'autre. La mise en évidence des sites de collecte présentant une quantité abondante de naissains de moules de haute qualité contribuera au développement durable de l'industrie moulière de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.


Le projet du PCRDA (N-05-01-04) est le fruit d'un effort de collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), la Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association, l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, le Fisheries and Marine Institute de l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, le ministère des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches Canada et le Centre canadien d'innovations des pêches. Il est possible de communiquer avec la scientifique principale du projet, Cynthia McKenzie, à l'adresse suivante : Cynthia.McKenzie@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, veuillez visiter le site /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm


Publié par:

Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2012

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
ISBN : 978-1-100-99206-8
MPO/2012-1826
No de cat. : Fs23-580/4-2012F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm