Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 7 - May 2010

Cadmium in Deepwater-Cultured Pacific Oysters

Summary

British Columbia (BC) shellfish growers are interested in expanding their sales in international markets, which would increase demand for their products and allow the industry to further mature. However, in the past, concentrations of the toxic metal cadmium (Cd) in BC Pacific oysters (Crassostrea gigas) (at times exceeding the importing country's standards) have limited this opportunity. The allowable limit of Cd in bivalve molluscs for export varies between 1.0 and 3.7 μg g-1 wet weight, depending on the importing country. The presence of Cd in shellfish poses a significant challenge to the BC shellfish export trade, as certain human activities and natural coastal geology affect Cd levels in the environment and, ultimately, the animals. This research sought to determine the variables that affect the accumulation of Cd in BC cultured oysters. The results of the project will help growers understand, and potentially mitigate, high levels of Cd in their shellfish, thereby contributing to the long-term sustainability of oyster culture in British Columbia.

Introduction

Cadmium (Cd) is a naturally occurring and relatively abundant element. Possible sources of Cd in the environment include the gradual erosion of rocks and soils as well as various human activities (e.g., mining, fertilizers, logging, and improper disposal of industrial and residential wastes). There is no clear correlation, however, between the location of these various Cd sources and high Cd concentrations in oysters.

To obtain a permit for export to certain international markets, BC shellfish growers must demonstrate that their products consistently contain less than the allowable limits for Cd concentration (1.0 – 3.7 μg g-1 wet weight, depending on the market). However, periodic testing for Cd by BC shellfish growers has produced highly variable and unpredictable results, with some batches of Pacific oysters (Crassostrea gigas) being above the allowable limits established by certain international markets.

Oysters may bioaccumulate metals from seawater due to their high filtration rates. Cd is likely to be taken up incidentally, either in particulate form (suspended mineral and organic particles or phytoplankton) or dissolved form (simple hydrated metal ions). Levels of bioaccumulation of Cd in oysters can be influenced by environmental conditions (e.g., salinity and temperature), chemical and physical characteristics of the metal, and the growth and physiology of the oysters. Food (i.e., phytoplankton and other organic particles) is thought to be one of the most likely sources of Cd in oysters.

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet Issue 7
Figure 1

Location of the project sampling sites: Deep Bay and Lemmens Inlet.

A research project was conducted with the aim of:

Methods

The project was conducted during 2004 and 2005. Two study sites were chosen for anticipated variability in environmental conditions: Deep Bay (Baynes Sound, east coast Vancouver Island) and Lemmens Inlet (Clayoquot Sound, west coast Vancouver Island) (Figure 1).

Seawater samples were collected at 5 m depth and oysters (Crassostrea gigas) (Figure 2) at 2 – 5 m depth at both sampling sites at various times over a one-year period: biweekly during the summer and monthly during the winter. Water temperature and salinity were recorded at each sampling interval. Seawater samples were analyzed for both particulate and dissolved Cd levels. After collection, oysters were measured (length and weight), shucked, and the tissues analyzed for Cd concentration. At three sampling times throughout the year, tissue from sampled oysters was segregated into gut and non-gut components to determine Cd distribution in the soft tissues.

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet Issue 7
Figure 2

Pacific oyster (Crassostrea gigas): Left – external view; Right - interior view, showing the oyster on the half shell. (Images are the property of David McCallum).

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet Issue 7
Figure 3

Seasonal variability of water temperature and mean Cd concentrations in oysters at (a) Deep Bay and (b) Lemmens Inlet.

Results

Site and Seasonal Variability of Cd in Oysters

Oysters from Deep Bay contained higher Cd levels (means ranging from 1.17 to 3.57 μg g-1 wet weight) than those from Lemmens Inlet (means ranging from 1.40 to 2.47 μg g-1 wet weight). Data suggest a statistically significant seasonal trend with the highest Cd concentrations in overall oyster tissues occurring during the end of winter and early spring when the corresponding water temperatures were lowest (Figure 3). Lower Cd concentration in oysters was seen during the summer and fall, when the water temperatures were highest. This inverse (or negative) correlation between temperature and Cd in oysters was statistically significant at both sites (Table 1) and may have been driven by a number of factors. Winter upwelling may bring colder deeper water, rich in dissolved Cd, to the surface. As well, during the colder seasons, phytoplankton are much less abundant and therefore the uptake of dissolved Cd by these algae is minimal, resulting in higher dissolved Cd in the water and a greater accumulation of this form of Cd by the oysters. In addition, higher temperatures may lead to increased oyster growth rates and a resultant stabilization or decrease of Cd concentration in oyster tissues.

Cd Concentrations in Various Oyster Tissues

Statistically significant differences between Cd concentrations in the gut and other non-gut tissues were seen at both sites. Cd was highly concentrated in the gut (means between 6.10 and 9.69 μg g-1 wet weight for both sites) while Cd concentrations were significantly lower in tissues other than the gut (means between 0.94 and 1.97 μg g-1 wet weight for both sites) (Figure 4).

Table 1.

Summary of the correlations between various parameters and Cd in oysters and dissolved Cd for both sites (Deep Bay and Lemmens Inlet) and for the combined dataset. The level of significance is P < 0.05
  Deep Bay Lemmens Inlet Combined Dataset
Cd in Oysters Dissolved Cd Cd in Oysters Dissolved Cd Cd in Oysters Dissolved Cd
Dissolved Cd Positive Significant / Not Significant / Positive Significant /
Particulate Cd Not Significant Negative Significant Negative Significant Not Significant Negative Significant Negative Significant
Oyster Tissue Mass Not Significant Not Significant Negative Significant Not Significant Negative Significant Negative Significant
Water Temperature Negative Significant Negative Significant Negative Significant Positive Significant Negative Significant Not Significant

Role of Dissolved Versus Particulate Cd

Although significantly more Cd was found in the gut than in all other oyster tissues, particulate Cd was not positively correlated with oyster Cd levels, suggesting that particulate Cd accumulates in oysters in an easily mobilized form, which can be readily purged by the oysters. It was, in fact, seen that particulate Cd was significantly negatively correlated with oyster Cd levels at Lemmens Inlet (and with the combined data set) (Table 1), meaning that as the level of particulate Cd in the water column increased, the amount of Cd found in the oyster tissues actually decreased. This relationship may be due to the presence of phytoplankton which can: (1) take up dissolved Cd and make it less available to the oysters and (2) increased oyster growth rates leading to increased tissue mass and lower tissue Cd concentrations.

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet Issue 7
Figure 4

Mean Cd concentrations in the gut and in all other tissues in oysters from Deep Bay and Lemmens Inlet during three sampling events.

Dissolved Cd was significantly positively correlated with oyster Cd at Deep Bay (and with combined data set), but not at Lemmens Inlet. This may have been due to significantly lower dissolved Cd levels at Lemmens Inlet (0.21 – 0.46 nM) than at Deep Bay (0.45 – 0.81 nM) and the overall lower variability in oyster Cd at Lemmens Inlet.

Conclusions

This study showed that dissolved Cd was the main source of Cd in cultured Pacific oysters and that, within the oysters, Cd was primarily concentrated in the gut tissues. Particulate matter was not found to be a significant source of Cd in oysters and was actually negatively correlated (likely due to the uptake of dissolved Cd by phytoplankton and the growth effect of phytoplankton on oyster tissue mass). Cadmium in oyster tissues was found to be inversely correlated with temperature.

While the motivation for this study was to provide shellfish growers with management options for the apparent high levels of Cd in their animals, the determined primary pathway, dissolved Cd, is not easily controlled. However, if the potential exists for niche market sales at times of low Cd concentrations, options exist for choosing sites with relatively low dissolved Cd levels and harvesting during the spring and summer months when Cd concentrations in oysters are at their lowest.


This ACRDP project (P-04-04-002) was a collaborative effort among Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO Science), the University of British Columbia, and the British Columbia Shellfish Growers' Association. The lead scientist on this project, Dr. Chris Pearce, can be contacted at Chris.Pearce@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Further information on this project is available in the following publication: Lekhi P, D Cassis, CM Pearce, N Ebell, MT Maldonado, KJ Orians (2008) Role of dissolved and particulate cadmium in the accumulation of cadmium in cultured oysters (Crassostrea gigas). Sci Total Environ 393: 309-325.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print),
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
DFO/2008-1493

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Fiche 7 - 2010 mai

Le cadmium dans les huîtres creuses du Pacifique élevées en eaux profondes

Résumé

Les conchyliculteurs de la Colombie-Britannique aimeraient vendre leurs produits sur les marchés internationaux, ce qui augmenterait la demande pour leurs produits et permettrait à l'industrie de croître. Toutefois, par le passé, les concentrations de cadmium (Cd), un métal toxique, dans les huîtres creuses du Pacifique (Crassostrea gigas) de cette province (qui dépassaient parfois les normes du pays importateur) ont nuit à cette possibilité. La limite permise de Cd dans les mollusques bivalves destinés à l'exportation varie de 1,0 à 3,7 μg g-1 poids humide selon le pays importateur. La présence de Cd pose un grand défi aux exportateurs de mollusques de la province, car certaines activités humaines et caractéristiques côtières naturelles influent sur les teneurs en Cd dans l'environnement, et, à terme, dans les mollusques. La présente étude visait à déterminer les variables qui touchent l'accumulation de Cd dans les huîtres d'élevage de la Colombie-Britannique. Les résultats aideront les ostréiculteurs à comprendre et peut-être à atténuer les fortes concentrations de Cd dans les mollusques et contribuer ainsi à la viabilité de l'ostréiculture en Colombie-Britannique.

Introduction

Le cadmium (Cd) est un élément naturel relativement abondant. Parmi les sources possibles de Cd dans l'environnement figurent l'érosion graduelle des roches et des sols et diverses activités humaines (exploitation minière, utilisation d'engrais, exploitation forestière, élimination inadéquate de déchets industriels et résidentiels, etc.). Il n'existe toutefois pas de corrélation nette entre l'emplacement de ces diverses sources et les fortes concentrations de Cd dans les huîtres.

Pour obtenir un permis d'exportation vers certains marchés internationaux, les conchyliculteurs de la Colombie- Britannique doivent prouver que les concentrations de Cd dans leurs produits sont inférieures aux limites permises (soit entre 1,0 et 3,7 μg g-1 poids humide, selon le marché). Toutefois, d'après les analyses périodiques effectuées, les teneurs sont très variables et imprévisibles, et des lots d'huîtres creuses du Pacifique (Crassostrea gigas) affichent des concentrations supérieures aux limites permises par certains marchés internationaux.

Les huîtres peuvent bioaccumuler des métaux présents dans l'eau de mer en raison de leur grande capacité de filtration. Le Cd est probablement absorbé soit sous forme particulaire (minéraux et particules organiques en suspension ou phytoplancton), soit sous forme dissoute (ions métalliques hydratés simples). Les niveaux de bioaccumulation de Cd dans les huîtres peuvent dépendre des conditions environnementales (p.ex., la salinité et la température), des propriétés chimiques et physiques du métal, et de la croissance et de la physiologie des huîtres.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) Fiche 7
Figure 1

Emplacement des sites d'échantillonnage du projet : baie Deep et inlet Lemmens.

La nourriture (soit le phytoplancton et d'autres particules organiques) est réputée être l'une des sources les plus probables de Cd dans les huîtres.

On a mené un projet de recherche afin :

Méthodes

Le projet a été réalisé en 2004 et 2005. Deux sites d'étude ont été sélectionnés en fonction de la variabilité anticipée des conditions environnementales : la baie Deep (chenal Baynes, côte est de l'île de Vancouver) et l'inlet Lemmens (baie Clayoquot, côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver) (figure 1).

Des échantillons d'eau de mer ont été prélevés à une profondeur de 5 m, tandis que des huîtres (Crassostrea gigas) (figure2) ont été recueillies à des profondeurs de 2 à 5 m dans les deux sites d'échantillonnage, et ce, à divers moments sur une période de un an : toutes les deux semaines au cours de l'été et une fois par mois au cours de l'hiver. La température de l'eau et la salinité ont été consignées à chaque intervalle d'échantillonnage. Des analyses des échantillons d'eau de mer ont été réalisées en vue de déterminer les teneurs en Cd particulaire et dissous. Après leur récolte, les huîtres ont été mesurées (longueur et poids) et écaillées, puis on a déterminé la concentration de Cd dans leurs tissus. à trois temps d'échantillonnage au cours de l'année, les tissus d'huîtres échantillonnées ont été séparés selon qu'ils font partie du tube digestif ou non, puis la répartition du Cd a été établie dans les tissus mous.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) Fiche 7
Figure 2

Huître creuse du Pacifique (Crassostrea gigas) : à gauche – vue externe; Droit – vue interne, montrant l'huître en demi-coquilles. (Images : propriété de David McCallum).

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) Fiche 7
Figure 3

Variabilité saisonnière de la température de l'eau et des concentrations moyennes de Cd dans les huîtres dans : a) la baie Deep Bay; b) l'inlet Lemmens.

Results

Variabilité des quantités de Cd dans les huîtres en fonction du site et de la saison

Les huîtres de la baie Deep contenaient des teneurs plus élevées en Cd (moyennes de 1,17 à 3,57 μg g-1 poids humide) que celles de l'inlet Lemmens (moyennes de 1,40 à 2,47 μg g-1 poids humide). Selon les données, il y a une tendance saisonnière statistiquement significative, les concentrations de Cd les plus fortes dans l'ensemble des tissus étant observées à la fin de l'hiver et au début du printemps, soit lorsque les températures de l'eau sont au plus bas (figure 3). Des concentrations plus faibles ont été notées l'été et l'automne, alors que les températures de l'eau étaient plus élevées. Cette corrélation inverse (ou négative) entre la température et la teneur en Cd dans les huîtres était statistiquement significative dans les deux sites (tableau 1) et dépendait sans doute de plusieurs facteurs. La remontée d'hiver peut apporter, à la surface, des eaux profondes, qui sont plus froides et riches en Cd dissous. En outre, pendant les saisons froides, le phytoplancton est beaucoup moins abondant, et, par conséquent, l'absorption de Cd dissous par ces algues est minime, ce qui explique les concentrations élevées de Cd dissous dans l'eau et l'accumulation plus importante de cette forme du Cd dans les huîtres. Des températures élevées peuvent aussi faire augmenter les taux de croissance des huîtres et stabiliser ou diminuer les concentrations de Cd dans les tissus d'huîtres.

Concentrations de Cd dans divers tissus d'huîtres

Des différences statistiquement significatives entre les concentrations de Cd dans les tissus du tube digestif et les autres tissus ont été observées dans les deux sites. Ainsi, le Cd était fortement concentré dans le tube digestif (moyennes de 6,10 à 9,69 μg g-1 poids humide dans les deux sites), alors qu'il se trouvait en plus faibles quantités dans les autres tissus (moyennes de 0,94 à 1,97 μg g-1 poids humide dans les deux sites) (figure 4).

Tableau 1.

Sommaire des corrélations entre divers paramètres, les concentrations de Cd dans les huîtres, les concentrations de Cd dissous dans les deux sites (baie Deep et inlet Lemmens) et l'ensemble de données combinées. Les corrélations significatives sont celles où p < 0,05.
  Baie Deep Inlet Lemmens l'ensemble de données combinées
Cd dans les huîtres Cd dissous Cd dans les huîtres Cd dissous Cd dans les huîtres Cd dissous
Cd dissous Positif Significatif / Non Significatif / Positif Significatif /
Cd particulaire Non Significatif Négatif Significatif Négatif Significatif Non Significatif Négatif Significatif Négatif Significatif
Masse tissulaire d'huître Non Significatif Non Significatif Négatif Significatif Non Significatif Négatif Significatif Négatif Significatif
Température de l'eau Négatif Significatif Négatif Significatif Négatif Significatif Positif Significatif Négatif Significatif Non Significatif

Rôle du Cd particulaire et du Cd dissous

Bien que des quantités de Cd significativement plus élevées aient été trouvées dans le tube digestif par rapport à tous les autres tissus d'huîtres, on n'a pas établi de corrélation positive entre le Cd particulaire et les concentrations de Cd dans les huîtres, ce qui donne à penser que le Cd particulaire s'accumule dans les huîtres sous une forme facilement mobilisée et rapidement éliminée par les huîtres. On a en fait constaté que les concentrations de Cd particulaire étaient négativement corrélées avec les concentrations de Cd dans les huîtres de l'inlet Lemmens (et celles de l'ensemble de données combinées) (tableau 1), ce qui signifie que, à mesure que la teneur en Cd particulaire s'accroît dans la colonne d'eau, la quantité de Cd dans les tissus d'huîtres diminue. Cette relation s'explique peut-être par la présence de phytoplancton, qui peut : 1) absorber du Cd dissous et le rendre ainsi moins disponible aux huîtres; 2) faire augmenter le taux de croissance des huîtres, ce qui fait augmenter la masse tissulaire et baisser les concentrations de Cd dans les tissus.

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) Fiche 7
Figure 4

Concentrations moyennes de Cd dans les tissus du tube digestif et tous les autres tissus d'huîtres de la baie Deep et de l'inlet Lemmens lors de trois échantillonnages.

On a établi une corrélation positive entre les quantités de Cd dissous et les concentrations de Cd dans les huîtres dans la baie Deep (et celles de l'ensemble de données combinées), mais pas dans l'inlet Lemmens. Ce constat peut être dû aux quantités de Cd dissous significativement plus faibles dans l'inlet Lemmens (0,21 à 0,46 nM) que dans la baie Deep (0,45 à 0,81 nM) ainsi qu'à la variabilité globale plus faible des teneurs en Cd dans les huîtres de l'inlet Lemmens.

Conclusions

La présente étude a montré que le Cd dissous constituait la principale source de Cd dans les huîtres creuses du Pacifique et que, dans ces dernières, le Cd se concentrait principalement dans les tissus du tube digestif. Les particules ne sont pas une source importante de Cd dans les huîtres. Elles étaient en fait négativement corrélées (probablement en raison de l'absorption de Cd dissous par le phytoplancton et de l'effet du phytoplancton sur la croissance et donc sur la masse tissulaire des huîtres). Par ailleurs, on a établi une corrélation inverse entre les concentrations tissulaires de Cd et la température.

L'étude visait à fournir aux conchyliculteurs des solutions de gestion des teneurs élevées apparentes de Cd dans les mollusques, mais la principale variable, soit le Cd dissous, n'est pas facilement contrôlée. Toutefois, s'il existe des marchés à créneaux pendant les périodes où les concentrations de Cd sont faibles, il doit exister des solutions pour choisir des sites où les teneurs en Cd sont relativement peu élevées et pour pratiquer la récolte durant les mois de printemps et d'été, moment où les concentrations dans les huîtres sont au plus bas.


Ce projet (P-04-04-002) du PCRDA a été le fruit d'un effort coopératif de Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et de la British Columbia Shellfish Growers' Association. Il est possible de communiquer avec le scientifique principal de ce projet, M. Chris Pearce (Ph.D.), à Chris.Pearce@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Des informations complémentaires sur ce projet sont disponibles dans la publication suivante: Lekhi P, D Cassis, CM Pearce, N Ebell, MT Maldonado, KJ Orians (2008) Role of dissolved and particulate cadmium in the accumulation of cadmium in cultured oysters (Crassostrea gigas). Sci Total Environ 393: 309-325. Disponsible en anglais seulement.

Pour un complément d'information au sujet de ce projet ou d'autres projets du PCRDA, consultez :
/aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.


Publié par:

Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
MPO/2008-1493