Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 5 - May 2010

Evaluation of suspension culture methods for Giant Scallops (Placopecten magellanicus) in the Magdalen Islands, Quebec

Summary

This study, conducted from 2001 to 2004 at three lagoon sites in the Magdalen Islands, examined sea scallop survival, losses and growth in suspension culture using five different culture methods: ear-hanging, pocket net, pearl net, oyster table, and Wang-Joncas lantern. The effect of cleaning fouling organisms off of the structures was also assessed.

Although highly variable, the results show a significant effect of the site and type of structure used on scallop survival. The data from the 2001 trial showed that scallop losses were greater in the pocket nets and Wang-Joncas lantern structures than in the pearl nets and oyster tables. Cleaning of the structures had a variable effect and no real trend was noted. Overall, the scallops obtained from the ear-hanging system and from pocket nets reached the largest sizes. Collectively, the technical and biological results appear to show that these two culture structures are the best suited to the lagoons in the Magdalen Islands. The performance of scallops grown in these structures could be enhanced through cleaning done at appropriate times to reduce the effect of mussels on the ear-hanging system and through the modification of the openings of pocket nets to minimize scallop losses.

Introduction

A number of suspension culture systems for Giant or Sea Scallops (Placopecten magellanicus) have been tested since the 1990s in Quebec and in the Maritime Provinces. Most of the experiments to date have been conducted in an experimental framework, without taking into account the actual practices of commercial scallop growers. The main purpose of the present study, done between 2001 and 2004 in the Magdalen Islands, was to assess the performance of the equipment available to Quebec-based companies.

This study was aimed primarily at comparing sea scallop survival, loss, and growth in five different culture systems at three different lagoon sites and at assessing the amount and impact of biofouling on the structures.

Methods

The study was done at three culture sites in the Magdalen Islands: two sites in the Grande Entrée lagoon (GE1 and GE2) and one site in the Havre aux Maisons lagoon (HAM) (Figure 1).

Water depth is approximately 6 m at the GE1, GE2 and HAM sites, and the nets were installed about 2 m below the water surface at each site.

Methods
Figure 1

Location of experimental sea scallop culture sites (GE1, GE2 and HAM) in the Magdalen Islands, in 2001 and 2002.

The following structures were tested (Figure 2):

The structures tested at the three sites during the two culture periods were selected based on the production scenarios of each of the companies involved in the project. In the fall of 2001, pocket net, pearl net, oyster table and Wang-Joncas lantern structures were set out at the three sites, and then sampled after six months, one year and two years. A second deployment of the five structures was done in the spring of 2002, and sampling was carried out after three months, one year and two years.

During the two culture periods, some of the structures were cleaned in order to assess the impact of fouling. The actual timing of the sampling varied somewhat depending on weather conditions and the availability of the participating companies. Several structures were lost between June 2003 and June 2004 at the GE1 and GE2 sites, possibly due to the presence of ice cover.

Four batches of scallops were used depending on the site and the culture period. These scallops were from two different cohorts, that is, 1999 and 2000. The initial mean size of the scallops ranged from 37.6 mm to 63.9 mm, depending on the batch. A total of 25,680 scallops were set out in 120 structures in the fall of 2001, and 45,880 scallops were set out in 229 structures in the spring of 2002.

During each sampling period, various structures were randomly selected, recovered and brought to land for analysis. To evaluate scallop survival and losses, a count of the live and dead scallops was carried out for each structure recovered. Size measurements were also carried out on both live and dead scallops.

At the time of gear recovery, information was recorded on the presence of predators and blue mussels (Mytilus edulis) on the structures. In addition, four methods were tested to quantify fouling on the different structures: weight by immersion of the structure, wet weight of the structure, dry weight of the fouling organisms, and photographic analysis.

Results

Methods
Figure 2

Photographs of the scallop rearing structures used. Left to right: ear-hanging line; pocket net; pearl net; oyster table; Wang-Joncas lantern.

Scallop survival

At the three sites, scallop survival in the culture structures set out in the fall of 2001 was low from the first sampling event onwards (17–54%). For the structures deployed in the spring of 2002, survival was 48–81% after 3 months, 49–77% after 1 year and 31–58% after 2 years.

The mortality observed during the study was attributed to a number of factors. An initial mortality event, which occurred shortly after the experimental devices were placed in the water, was likely due to handling during the deployment operations. A second, less severe event was observed between late fall of 2002 and the spring of 2003 and may have been the result of adverse environmental conditions (storms, water mixing), unsuitable culture methods, or degradation of the physiological condition of the organisms.

Owing to the loss of nets during the 2002 trial, only the data from the 2001 trial can be used to compare scallop survival at the three sites after two years of sampling. For the 2001 trial, scallop survival was significantly lower at the HAM site for the two structures compared, namely Wang-Joncas lanterns and pocket nets. The low survival recorded at this site may not be due to the site itself; but could instead be due to the thermal shock experienced by the scallops when they were set out in the structures; the air temperature of about 0°C may have created additional stress.

Scallop survival two years after deployment of the culture structures in the fall of 2001 was higher in the pocket net and pearl net systems at the GE1 site, and in the pocket nets at the GE2 site. In the 2002 trial, scallop survival was generally higher in the ear-hanging line, the oyster table and the Wang-Joncas lantern structures after a year of culture. In light of the variability of the results obtained at the different sites in the two trials, it is difficult to provide a clear assessment of the performance of the different structures in terms of scallop survival.

Scallop losses

In the case of structures that were not cleaned, two years after deployment in 2001, the greatest losses were recorded in the pocket nets and Wang-Joncas lanterns regardless of the site, with values ranging from 14.1% to 59.6%. In contrast, the pearl net and oyster table structures showed losses lower than 5.9%. The 2002 results were similar, with losses being higher in the ear-hanging line, pocket net and Wang-Joncas lantern structures. The high level of losses could be linked to the design of these three structures.

Scallop losses appear to be attributable mainly to handling during the deployment operations and to cleaning of the structures. Scallop growers should exercise great care when handling culture structures and handling should be kept to a minimum.

Scallop growth

Two years after gear deployment in 2001, mean scallop size was found to have increased from 35–41 mm to 68–84 mm, depending on the site and the culture system used. The largest mean size values were obtained in the pocket net structures at GE1 and GE2, and in Wang- Joncas lanterns at HAM.

The mean size of the scallops set out in 2002 increased from 64 mm to 84–99 mm after two years of growth at the HAM site. Unfortunately, several structures were lost between June 2003 and June 2004, and it was not possible to assess scallop growth at the GE1 and GE2 sites after two years of sampling. The results obtained at these two sites one year after gear deployment in the spring of 2002 show that scallop growth was greater in the pocket net and Wang-Joncas lantern structures at GE1, in the Wang-Joncas lanterns at GE2 and in the ear-hanging line and pocket nets at HAM.

Overall, the scallops in the ear-hanging line and pocket net structures reached a larger size. Conversely, growth was generally lower in the oyster table structures.

Since the water temperature and possibly salinity were fairly similar and stable in the three lagoons, other factors such as food availability may explain the variations in scallop growth. In theory, the so-called “pelagic” structures (ear-hanging line, pocket net, pearl net and Wang-Joncas lantern) should enhance scallop growth, because the scallops can access food throughout the water column. The design of these structures should also promote better water circulation: with the ear-hanging system, which has no protective net, and pocket nets, which have a large mesh size, resistance to water flow is reduced, permitting readier access to food. Furthermore, these systems theoretically allow scallops to build up larger energy reserves because they restrict their movement.

Predators and fouling organisms

The main predators observed in the structures were rock crabs and sea stars. Sea stars were much more abundant than crabs. The largest numbers of sea stars (>150 stars) were observed on the oyster tables at the GE1 and GE2 sites. Few or no crabs were observed in the pocket nets and Wang-Joncas lanterns, as compared with the pearl nets and oyster tables. It is important to ensure that culture structures do not touch the sea bed, because this could lead to a substantial increase in predation, particularly for ear-hanging lines and pocket net structures, which provide little protection for scallops.

Of the four methods used to quantify fouling, calculation of dry weight, although time-consuming and tedious, was the most accurate. A number of bivalve, crustacean and other invertebrate species were observed. The blue mussel is by far the dominant species among the fouling organisms; the dry weight of these mussels sometimes made up more than 50% of the weight of all fouling organisms in the Wang-Joncas lantern and ear-hanging line structures at HAM. The Wang-Joncas lantern was found to be the most prone to fouling, and the pocket net the least prone to this problem.

Effect of cleaning

After the first and second years of the experiment, there was no apparent trend in the effect of cleaning the structures on scallop survival, losses and growth. Although no improvement in scallop survival and growth was found with cleaning, cleaning helps to maintain buoyancy of the structures. Structures that touch the bottom are more likely to be invaded by predators and this also exposes the scallops to environments unfavourable to their survival and growth.

Conclusions

A detailed evaluation of the different structures was undertaken in relation to scallop survival, losses and growth in suspension culture. Ease of handling, maintaining, cleaning and storing the structures was also considered in evaluating their functionality.

Collectively, the technical and biological results appear to show that the ear-hanging line and pocket net structures are the most promising for use in the lagoon environment of the Magdalen Islands. Scallop survival and growth in these structures was good. It is essential to ensure that the structures do not touch the sea bed, because this could result in significant predation. Cleaning done at appropriate times could help to reduce the effect of mussels on the ear-hanging system. In addition, the pocket net could be modified to minimize scallop losses.

Biological constraints, adverse weather conditions and delayed follow-up increased the variability of the results and made them somewhat difficult to interpret. The findings should nonetheless help to guide scallop farmers in their decision making.


This ACRDP project (Q-01-06-005) was a collaborative effort among the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO Science) and Pétoncle 2000 and IMAQUA. The lead scientist on this project, Sylvie Brulotte, can be contacted at Sylvie.Brulotte@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print),
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
DFO/2008-1493

Fiches techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Fiche 5 - 2010 mai

Évaluation de structures et de scénarios d'élevage en suspension du pétoncle géant (Placopecten magellanicus) aux îles-de-la-Madeleine, Québec

Résumé

Une étude réalisée entre 2001 et 2004 à trois sites lagunaires des îles-de-la-Madeleine a permis d'examiner la survie, les pertes et la croissance de pétoncles géants élevés en suspension dans cinq types de structures : la ligne de boucles d'oreilles, le filet à pochettes, la ligne de paniers japonais, la poche ostréicole sur table et la lanterne Wang-Joncas. L'effet du nettoyage des structures a aussi été évalué. Bien que très variables, les résultats obtenus suggèrent un effet significatif du site et de la structure utilisée sur la survie des pétoncles. Les données de l'essai 2001 ont montré que les pertes de pétoncles ont été plus importantes dans les filets à pochettes et les lanternes Wang-Joncas que dans les paniers japonais et les poches ostréicoles sur table. Le nettoyage des structures a eu un effet variable et on n'a noté aucune tendance particulière. De façon générale, les pétoncles élevés en boucles d'oreilles et dans les filets à pochettes ont atteint de plus grandes tailles. D'ailleurs, l'ensemble des résultats techniques et biologiques tend à démontrer que ces deux types de structures seraient les plus appropriées pour l'élevage en milieu lagunaire aux îles-de-la-Madeleine. Les performances des pétoncles élevés dans ces structures pourraient être améliorées avec des nettoyages effectués à des moments appropriés pour réduire l'impact des moules sur les boucles d'oreilles et par des modifications de l'ouverture des filets à pochettes qui minimiseraient les pertes de pétoncles.

Introduction

Plusieurs structures d'élevage en suspension du pétoncle ont été testées depuis les années 1990 au Québec et dans les provinces maritimes. La majorité des expérimentations réalisées à ce jour ont toutefois été effectuées dans un cadre académique, sans tenir compte des activités et des pratiques des entreprises commerciales. L'intérêt principal de cette étude, réalisée entre 2001 et 2004 aux Iles-de-la-Madeleine, était de vérifier la performance des équipements disponibles dans le contexte des entreprises québécoises.

La présente fiche d'information décrit la méthodologie et les résultats de l'étude, dont les objectifs principaux étaient de comparer la survie, les pertes et la croissance de pétoncles géants mis en élevage dans cinq types de structures à trois sites lagunaires, et d'évaluer la quantité et l'impact des salissures biologiques sur ces structures.

Méthodes

L'étude a été réalisée à trois sites d'élevage aux îles-dela- Madeleine, soit GE1 et GE2, situés dans la lagune de la Grande Entrée et HAM, situé dans la lagune du Havre aux Maisons (Figure 1).

Water depth is approximately 6 m at the GE1, GE2 and HAM sites, and the nets were installed about 2 m below the water surface at each site.

Méthodes
Figure 1

Localisation des sites expérimentaux (GE1, GE2 et HAM) d'élevage du pétoncle géant aux îles-de-la-Madeleine en 2001 et 2002.

Des filières ont été installées à environ 2 m sous la surface de l'eau aux trois sites, tous d'une profondeur d'environ 6 m.

Les différentes structures testées étaient (Figure 2):

Les types de structures utilisées aux trois sites et pour les deux périodes de mise à l'eau ont été choisis en fonction des scénarios de production de chacune des entreprises impliquées dans le projet. à l'automne 2001, les structures FP, PJ, PO et WJ ont été mises à l'eau, puis échantillonnées après six mois, un an et deux ans. Une deuxième mise à l'eau a été réalisée au printemps 2002 avec les cinq types de structures et des échantillonnages ont été effectués après trois mois, un an et deux ans.

Pour les deux périodes de mise à l'eau, certaines structures ont été nettoyées en cours d'expérience afin de vérifier l'impact des salissures.

Les dates réelles d'échantillonnage ont légèrement varié selon les conditions climatiques et la disponibilité des entreprises. De plus, plusieurs structures ont été perdues entre juin 2003 et juin 2004 aux sites GE1 et GE2, possiblement au printemps lors du départ des glaces.

Quatre lots de pétoncles ont été utilisés selon le site et la période de mise en élevage. Ces pétoncles provenaient de deux cohortes différentes, soit 1999 et 2000. La taille moyenne initiale des pétoncles variait entre 37,6 et 63,9 mm selon le lot. Un total de 25 680 pétoncles et 120 structures ont été installés à l'automne 2001 et 45 880 pétoncles et 229 structures au printemps 2002.

à chaque échantillonnage, certaines structures ont été choisies au hasard, récupérées par bateau ou en plongée et ramenées à terre pour leur analyse. Pour évaluer la survie et les pertes des pétoncles mis en élevage, un dénombrement des pétoncles vivants et morts a été effectué pour chaque structure récupérée. La taille des pétoncles vivants et morts a également été mesurée afin d'évaluer leur croissance.

Au moment de la récupération des structures, la présence de prédateurs et de moules bleues (Mytilus edulis) à l'intérieur des structures a été notée. De plus, quatre méthodes ont été explorées pour quantifier les salissures présentes sur les différentes structures: poids par immersion de la structure, poids humide de la structure, poids sec des salissures et analyse photographique.

Résultats

Méthodes
Figure 2

Photographies illustrant les différentes structures d'élevage utilisées. De gauche à droite: la ligne de boucles d'oreilles (BO); le filet à pochettes (FP); la ligne de paniers japonais (PJ); la poche ostréicole (PO) sur table; la lanterne Wang-Joncas (WJ).

Survie des pétoncles

La survie des pétoncles mis en élevage à l'automne 2001 a été faible aux trois sites et dans toutes les structures dès le premier suivi (17 à 54 %). La survie a toutefois été supérieure pour les pétoncles mis en élevage au printemps 2002, les taux de survie atteignant 48 à 81 % après 3 mois, 49 à 77 % après 1 an et 31 à 58 % après 2 ans.

En raison de la perte de filières survenue au cours de l'essai 2002, seules les données de l'essai 2001 permettent de comparer la survie des pétoncles entre les trois sites après deux ans d'échantillonnage. Pour cet essai-là, la survie des pétoncles a été significativement plus faible au site HAM pour les deux structures comparées, soit WJ et FP. Le faible taux de survie observé à ce site ne serait pas nécessairement dû au site, mais possiblement au choc thermique subi par les pétoncles lors de la mise en structure ; la température de l'air, d'environ 0 °C, aurait pu induire un stress supplémentaire.

La survie des pétoncles deux ans après la mise en élevage de l'automne 2001 a été supérieure dans les structures FP et PJ au site GE1, et dans les FP au site GE2. Pour l'essai de 2002, la survie des pétoncles a été généralement supérieure dans les structures BO, PO et WJ après un an d'élevage. étant donnée la variabilité des résultats obtenus entre les sites et les essais, il est difficile de juger si une structure favorise la survie des pétoncles plus qu'une autre.

Perte de pétoncles

Deux ans après la mise à l'eau de 2001, c'est dans les structures FP et WJ sans nettoyage que les pertes ont été les plus importantes quel que soit le site, avec des valeurs situées entre 14,1 et 59,6 %. Les structures PJ et PO ont elles subi des pertes inférieures à 5,9 %. Les résultats de 2002 sont sensiblement les mêmes, les pertes étant plus élevées dans les BO, FP et WJ. Les pertes élevées de pétoncles pourraient être liées à la conception même de ces trois structures.

Il semble que les manipulations effectuées lors de la mise à l'eau et du nettoyage de ces structures occasionneraient les pertes de pétoncles. Le pectiniculteur devrait donc planifier et exécuter toutes manipulations des structures avec grand soin, voire les réduire autant que possible.

Croissance des pétoncles

Deux ans après la mise à l'eau de 2001, la taille moyenne des pétoncles est passée de 35-41 mm à 68-84 mm, selon le site et la structure. Les tailles moyennes les plus élevées ont été obtenues dans les structures FP à GE1 et GE2, et WJ à HAM.

Les pétoncles mis en élevage en 2002 sont passés d'une taille moyenne de 64 mm à 84-99 mm après deux ans de croissance au site HAM. Compte-tenu de la perte de plusieurs structures entre juin 2003 et juin 2004, il n'a pas été possible d'évaluer la croissance des pétoncles aux sites GE1 et GE2 après deux ans d'élevage. Les résultats obtenus un an après la mise en élevage du printemps 2002 montrent toutefois que la croissance des pétoncles était supérieure dans les FP et WJ à GE1, dans la WJ à GE2 et dans les BO et FP à HAM.

Dans l'ensemble, les pétoncles ont atteint une plus grande taille dans les structures BO et FP. Inversement, la croissance a généralement été inférieure dans les PO, des structures installées sur une table benthique.

étant donné que la température, et possiblement la salinité, étaient relativement similaires et stables dans les trois sites, d'autres facteurs comme la disponibilité de nourriture pourraient expliquer les variations de croissance des pétoncles. En théorie, les structures dites pélagiques (BO, FP, PJ et WJ) permettraient une meilleure croissance des pétoncles parce que ceux-ci ont accès à la nourriture sur toute la colonne d'eau. La conception de ces structures favoriserait aussi une meilleure circulation d'eau. Ainsi, les BO, sans filet protecteur, et les FP, avec leur filet à grandes mailles, offrent moins de résistance à la circulation d'eau, ce qui limite peu l'accès à la nourriture. De plus, ces types de structure permettraient aux pétoncles d'accumuler plus de réserves énergétiques en restreignant leurs mouvements.

Prédateurs et salissures

Les principaux prédateurs observés dans les structures ont été les crabes communs et les étoiles de mer. Les étoiles de mer étaient beaucoup plus abondantes que les crabes, les plus grands nombres (> 150 étoiles) étant observés dans les PO aux sites GE1 et GE2. Il y a eu peu ou pas de crabes dénombrés dans les FP et WJ comparativement à ceux dénombrés dans les PJ et PO. Il est essentiel que les structures ne touchent pas au fond, car alors la prédation peut s'accroître considérablement, surtout pour les structures BO et FP qui offrent peu de protection aux pétoncles.

Des quatre techniques utilisées pour évaluer la quantité de salissures, le calcul du poids sec s'est avéré la méthode la plus précise, quoique longue et fastidieuse. Plusieurs espèces de bivalves, de crustacés et d'autres invertébrés ont été observées. L'espèce qui domine parmi les salissures est sans contredit la moule bleue dont le poids sec représente parfois plus de 50 % du poids des salissures sur les structures WJ et BO à HAM. Les résultats obtenus indiquent que la structure la plus favorable aux salissures serait la WJ alors que la moins propice serait le FP.

Effet du nettoyage

Le nettoyage des structures a eu un effet variable sur la survie, les pertes et la croissance des pétoncles et aucune tendance apparente n'a été observée après un ou deux ans d'élevage. Si le nettoyage des structures n'entraîne pas une amélioration de la survie ou de la croissance des pétoncles, il offre néanmoins l'avantage important de maintenir la flottabilité. Des structures qui touchent le fond sont plus sujettes à être envahies par des prédateurs, en plus de maintenir les pétoncles dans un environnement défavorable à leur survie et à leur croissance.

Conclusions

Une évaluation détaillée des différentes structures a été réalisée en fonction de la survie, des pertes et de la croissance des pétoncles mis en élevage. La facilité de manutention, d'entretien, de nettoyage et d'entreposage des structures sont également des variables qui ont été considérées afin d'évaluer la fonctionnalité des structures.

L'ensemble des résultats, techniques et biologiques, tend à démontrer que les structures BO et FP seraient les plus intéressantes à utiliser pour l'élevage en milieu lagunaire aux îles-de-la-Madeleine. La survie et la croissance des pétoncles dans ces structures sont bonnes, en autant qu'elles ne touchent pas le fond car la prédation peut alors devenir importante. Des nettoyages effectués à des moments appropriés réduiraient l'impact des moules sur les BO. De plus, des modifications de l'ouverture des FP minimiseraient les pertes de pétoncles.

Des contraintes biologiques, des conditions climatiques parfois rigoureuses et des retards dans la réalisation des suivis ont eu pour effet d'augmenter la variabilité des résultats et de rendre parfois leur interprétation difficile. Malgré ces contraintes, les résultats obtenus devraient aider les pectiniculteurs dans leurs prises de décisions.


Ce projet (Q-01-06-005) du PCRDA a été le fruit d'un effort coopératif de Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), et Pétoncle 2000 et IMAQUA. Il est possible de communiquer avec un des scientifiques de ce projet, Sylvie Brulotte, à Sylvie.Brulotte@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour un complément d'information au sujet de ce projet ou d'autres projets du PCRDA, consultez :
/aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.


Publié par:

Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
MPO/2008-1493