Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 4 - April, 2010

Does Microbubble Aeration Reduce Potential Oyster Microbial Contaminants in Seawater?

Summary

Oysters should be grown in waters containing minimal numbers of microbes which may be potentially pathogenic to the oysters or, from a food safety point of view, to the humans that consume them. Influxes of birds or marine mammals that occupy rafts or floats at a shellfish farm, may lead to increased fecal material in the water and an accumulation of fecal coliforms and other human pathogens in the shellfish. Contaminations that result in farm closures or harm to humans can cause serious damage to the business and reputation of the shellfish industry. Therefore, a cost-effective method of decreasing fecal source bacterial and other microbes in seawater would be extremely beneficial for shellfish and other aquaculture-based industries. This project examined whether microbubblers can reduce microbial contaminants in seawater.

Experiments were conducted to evaluate the survival of various bacteria in seawater in the presence and absence of different microbubblers and aeration devices. Contrary to the indications of previous observations, microbubblers did not directly affect the survivability of selected potential microbial contaminants of oysters. Decreases in bacterial counts were found in tested waters when a microbubbler aeration device containing some metallic parts was used. An accumulation of copper leaching from the metal parts in the device, as opposed to the production of micro-bubbles by the device, could explain the rapid decline of bacteria seen in laboratory tests.

Introduction

The microbial flora of oysters, like that of other filter feeders, is largely determined by the microbial flora of the water that they inhabit. It is important for oysters to be surrounded by water containing minimal numbers of microbes that may be potentially pathogenic to the oysters or, from a food safety point of view, to the humans who consume them. However, for almost all shellfish farms, birds alighting upon structures and seals or sea lions occupying floats and rafts are common occurrences. An influx of these animals at the shellfish farm may lead to an accumulation, in the shellfish, of fecal coliforms ( e.g., Escherichia coli) and human pathogens such as Vibrio parahaemolyticus (gastroenteritis), Salmonella spp., and other foodborne illnesses.

In Canada, the levels of coliform bacteria permitted in shellfish culture water and in the shellfish itself are regulated by Environment Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. If significant bacterial contamination of shellfish or the culture waters is detected, closure of the oyster farm may occur. Of even greater concern is the possibility that contaminated oysters may not be detected by random inspections and may adversely affect the health of the final consumer. In either case, serious damage to the business and reputation of the shellfish industry would occur. A cost-effective method of accelerating the decrease in fecal source bacterial numbers in seawater would be extremely useful for shellfish and other aquaculture-based industries.

Water aeration is an important aspect of aquaculture operations. Devices that generate minute or microscopic bubbles have been used in fish farming operations to provide adequate dissolved oxygen for production under anoxic conditions. Micro-bubbles are ultra-fine gas bubbles of less than 50 µm diameter which are produced when air is sparged through, or introduced into, water. A variety of devices referred to as "microbubblers", which produce such micro-bubbles, are commercially available.

Early trials indicated that one type of microbubbler device caused a rapid reduction in fecal coliform numbers in both seawater and in oyster tissue. This study examined the potential of microbubblers to rapidly reduce the numbers of cultivable fecal coliforms, particularly E. coli and V. parahaemolyticus, in seawater.

Methods

Experiments were conducted to evaluate the survival of various bacteria in seawater in the presence and absence of microbubblers. Equal volumes of seawater were added to four reaction chambers, each with a different water aeration and/or circulation system in place. Known concentrations of bacterial suspensions were added to the chambers. Bacterial concentrations were monitored for survival by sampling at appropriate intervals after inoculation and after treatment with the aeration/ circulation systems began.

Microbubblers

Two types of microbubblers were tested; a Canadian-manufactured all-plastic microbubbler (Island Scallops, Ltd, BC) and a similar Japanese manufactured device (Mori Engineering Works, Ltd, Japan) made of plastic but containing an internal baffle made of a metal alloy and a metal junction for the sipper tube. The research team who previously observed decreased bacterial counts in the presence of a microbubbler used the Japanese type which contained metallic parts. Other than the metallic parts, the devices were similar (Figure 1.)

Both tubes were approximately 20 cm long and function by the Venturi principle, whereby the movement of water pumped through the main body causes the drawing in of air via a "sipper" tube, thus generating small bubbles at the outlet.

Methods
Figure 1

Microbubbler devices used were: all-plastic (top), and plastic and metal (bottom). They differ largely in the presence of a metal baffle in the interior of the plastic and metal type, which was not present in the all-plastic device. The 'sipper' on the top of the device draws air in (through an airhose, not shown), by a Venturi effect, as water is pumped through the main chamber of the device.

Seawater Microcosms

The experimental chambers, each having a total volume of 26 L, were made of clear plastic and had tight-fitting, removable lids (Figure 2). External pumps were connected to the microbubblers and re-circulated 6 L of seawater within each of the chambers.

Four experimental set-ups were tested:

  1. The pump and the air intake of the all-plastic microbubbler working and producing micro-bubbles;
  2. The pump and the air intake of the plastic/metal microbubbler working and producing micro-bubbles;
  3. The pump working but the air intake of the all-plastic microbubbler closed, so that water was being circulated through the systems but not aerated with microbubbles; and
  4. Conventional aquarium air stone spargers, fitted with an external aquarium pump, providing aeration.
Methods
Figure 2

Schematic of microcosm reaction chamber showing major components.

Each experimental set-up was tested in triplicate, and all were monitored in comparison with control conditions in which a similar chamber was equipped with no water circulation or aeration devices.

Various physical, chemical, and biological factors can influence the survivability of bacteria. Seawater itself can negatively impact the viability of introduced organisms, such as E. coli and other fecal bacteria. Water temperature, salinity (of 26-32%), light, and pH levels were monitored and regulated for each seawater chamber throughout the experiment.

Precautions were taken to ensure that the microcosm chambers were not contaminated and would provide statistically valid comparisons of the effect of aeration with fine bubbles. All air intake lines and vents were fitted with sterile cotton wool to trap and prevent contamination from air-borne micro-organisms. Between experiments, chambers and all internal tubing were sanitized with bleach solution, rinsed with sterile, neutralized water, and then finally UV irradiated for 15 minutes.

Bacterial Culture and Enumeration

Pure cultures of E. coli and V. parahaemolyticus were purchased for the tests and these bacteria were cultivated aseptically in nutritional broths according to standard methods and were washed and re-suspended in filter-sterilized marine water before being added to the seawater chambers. In some experiments, slurries of fecal matter left by seals and seabirds on the wooden structures and floats in an oyster farm site were used as a source of naturally-occurring fecal bacteria.

E. coli and V. parahaemolyticus population concentrations in the seawater chambers were monitored by sampling over a period of 48 to 120 hours after inoculation and commencement of microbubble treatment. Epiflourescence microscopy and cultivation-based methods were used to determine bacterial survival.

Results

The experimental treatments using the all-plastic, microbubbler, the flow-only pump and all-plastic microbubbler, and the aquarium stones did not significantly affect the survivability of the E. coli populations over the first 48 hours. In an experiment carried out at 15 °C and with initial average bacterial counts of 1.0 x 107 cells per mL, approximately 1.8 x 106 cultivable cells per mL were recovered after 48 hours of aeration with an allplastic microbubbler. However, the treatment using the plastic/metal microbubbler resulted in a 5 logcycle decrease in cultivable bacteria within the first 24 hours, and an almost complete loss of cultivable bacteria after 48 hours (Figure 3). Similarly, a V. parahaemolyticus strain also showed a rapid decline in cultivability only when the plastic/metal microbubbler was used.

Seawater in long-term contact with the plastic/metal microbubbler was found to promote a more rapid decrease in cultivable bacteria than water from the other microcosms. It was then considered that some chemical component(s), detrimental to E. coli, was (were) either produced by, or leached from this type of microbubbler.

As many metals used in marine applications are copper-containing alloys, which in seawater have known antimicrobial effects, the possibility that copper may have leached from the microbubbler with metallic parts was tested. Detection of copper (Cu++) by a common aquarium test kit clearly showed that water in contact with the plastic/metal microbubbler accumulated increasing levels of copper over time, while no such accumulation was evident for all other devices or treatments (Table 1).

Methods
Figure 3

E. coli survivability trends (as colony-forming units (CFU) per mL of seawater) in seawater microcosms over a 120 hour period, for the 4 experimental set-ups examined. (When no cell growth was detected, a value of 1 CFU/mL was used for graphing purposes.)

Methods
Table 1.

Copper (Cu++) levels in seawater microcosms exposed to bubbling or flow aeration with different devices over a period of 5 to 6 days.

Conclusions

Contrary to the indications of preliminary observations, low pressure aeration devices, "microbubblers", were not directly effective at lowering the survivability in seawater of the tested potential microbial contaminants of oysters.

It is well documented that copper from alloys dissolved in seawater has antimicrobial effects and, as such, copper is often used as an algicide and antifouling agent. It is suggested that copper leached from the metal components of the plastic/metal microbubbler and accumulated in the seawater to levels harmful to the microbes and that these high copper levels were responsible for the observed effects of lowered survivability of E. coli and V. parahaemolyticus in this and in previous studies.

While it has been determined that the use of "microbubblers" does not directly reduce the number of potential microbial contaminants in seawater, these devices may, however, be suitable as aeration devices in various oyster culture or other aquaculture applications, though this was not evaluated in this experiment.


This ACRDP project (P-06-01-001) was a collaborative effort among Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO Science), the British Columbia Shellfish Growers Association, Vancouver Island University (VIU), and VIU's Centre for Shellfish Research. The lead scientist on this project, John Amaral, can be contacted at John.Amaral@viu.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print),
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
DFO/2008-1493

French version and alternative formats available through: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.

Fiches Techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 4 - Avril 2010

L'aération par microbulles abaisse-t-elle les risques de contamination microbienne des huîtres placées dans l'eau de mer?

Résumé

De préférence, les huîtres devraient être cultivées dans des eaux contenant très peu de microorganismes qui leur seraient éventuellement pathogènes ou, en termes de salubrité alimentaire, qui seraient pathogènes pour les humains qui en consommeraient. La présence d'oiseaux ou de mammifères marins sur les radeaux ou les bouées trouvés dans les établissements conchylicoles peut être à l'origine d'une accumulation de matières fécales dans l'eau et ainsi être à l'origine d'une prolifération, dans les coquillages, de coliformes fécaux et d'autres agents pathogènes pour les humains. Les cas de contamination, qui se traduisent parfois par la fermeture d'établissements conchylicoles, peuvent entacher considérablement la réputation de cette industrie et nuire au commerce. Par conséquent, une méthode efficiente pour abaisser la concentration des microorganismes d'origine fécale et autres dans l'eau de mer serait extrêmement utile pour les établissements conchylicoles et piscicoles. Le projet dont il est question ici examine si les diffuseurs à microbulles permettent de réduire la contamination bactérienne dans l'eau de mer.

Les chercheurs ont procédé à des essais visant à évaluer la survie de diverses bactéries dans l'eau de mer lorsque différents types de diffuseurs à microbulles et d'aérateurs sont employés ou non. Contrairement à ce qu'avaient laissé entrevoir des observations antérieures, les diffuseurs à microbulles n'altèrent pas directement le taux de survie de certains microbes susceptibles de contaminer les huîtres. Une baisse dans la numération bactérienne a été observée lorsqu'un type donné de diffuseur à microbulles contenant des pièces métalliques était employé. Une certaine accumulation de cuivre entraîné par lessivage hors du dispositif, plutôt que la production de microbulles, pourrait expliquer la baisse rapide de la concentration bactérienne qui a été observée lors des essais en laboratoire.

Introduction

La flore microbienne des huîtres, comme celle d'autres organismes filtreurs, calque en bonne partie celle des eaux habitées par les huîtres. Il importe que l'eau dans laquelle vivent les huîtres contienne le moins possible de microorganismes qui leur seraient potentiellement pathogènes ou, en termes de salubrité alimentaire, qui seraient pathogènes pour les humains qui consommeraient de ces huîtres. Toutefois, il est très fréquent de voir des oiseaux se poser sur les structures, ou encore des phoques ou des otaries s'installer sur les bouées et les radeaux de pratiquement tous les établissements conchylicoles. L'afflux de ces animaux peut donner lieu à l'accumulation, dans les coquillages, de coliformes fécaux (p. ex., Escherichia coli) et d'autres agents pathogènes pour les humains (p. ex., Vibrio parahaemolyticus, responsable de la gastroentérite, Salmonella spp. et d'autres agents de maladies d'origine alimentaire).

Au Canada, la concentration de coliformes tolérée dans l'eau des établissements conchylicoles et dans les coquillages mêmes est réglementée par Environnement Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. Ces établissements pourraient être tenus de fermer si une contamination importante des coquillages ou de l'eau était décelée. Mais il y a plus préoccupant encore : la possibilité que des huîtres contaminées ne soient pas décelées au moment d'inspections aléatoires et qu'elles rendent des consommateurs malades. De toute manière, la position commerciale comme la réputation de l'industrie conchylicole serait malmenée. Une méthode efficiente d'accélérer la baisse de la concentration de microorganismes d'origine fécale dans l'eau de mer serait extrêmement utile pour les établissements conchylicoles et piscicoles.

L'aération de l'eau est un volet important de l'activité des exploitations aquacoles. Des dispositifs produisant des bulles de taille microscopique ont été employés dans des installations piscicoles pour fournir de l'oxygène dissous en concentration suffisante pour soutenir la production en milieu anoxique. Les microbulles sont des bulles de diamètre très réduit, soit de moins de 50 µm, produites en injectant ou en faisant barboter de l'air dans l'eau. Différents dispositifs, connus sous l'appellation de diffuseurs à microbulles, sont offerts sur le marché.

Les premiers essais ont montré qu'un type de diffuseur à microbulles provoquait une baisse rapide de la concentration des coliformes fécaux dans l'eau de mer ainsi que dans les tissus des huîtres. Cette étude s'est penchée sur le potentiel des diffuseurs à microbulles d'abaisser rapidement le nombre de coliformes fécaux cultivables, notamment E. coli et V. parahaemolyticus, dans l'eau de mer.

Méthodes

Nous avons effectué des expériences pour évaluer la survie de diverses bactéries dans l'eau de mer, avec l'emploi ou non de diffuseurs à microbulles. Des volumes égaux d'eau de mer ont été versés dans quatre cuves de réaction, chacune étant munie d'un système différent d'aération et/ou de circulation. Des suspensions bactériennes de concentration connue ont été ajoutées dans les cuves. Les changements de concentration ont été mesurés à partir d'échantillons prélevés à des intervalles appropriés suivant l'inoculation et après que les traitements d'aération et/ou de circulation ont commencé.

Diffuseurs à microbulles

Deux types de diffuseurs à microbulles ont été testés : un modèle fabriqué au Canada, entièrement en plastique (Island Scallops, Ltd, Colombie Britannique) et un dispositif similaire fabriqué au Japon (Mori Engineering Works, Ltd, Japon), également fait en plastique, mais qui contient un dispositif de chicane intérieure en un alliage de métal ainsi qu'une pièce de raccordement métallique pour le tube d'aspiration. L'équipe de chercheurs qui avait antérieurement observé une baisse dans les numérations bactériennes utilisait le dispositif d'origine japonaise qui contient des pièces métalliques. Mises à part ces pièces métalliques, les deux dispositifs sont similaires (figure 1).

Les deux tubes font une vingtaine de centimètres de long et fonctionnent par effet Venturi, c'est à dire que la circulation de l'eau pompée dans le corps principal aspire l'air acheminé par le tube d'aspiration. L'air est éjecté à la sortie du dispositif sous forme de microbulles.

Méthodes
Figure 1

Les diffuseurs à microbulles employés sont : le dispositif entièrement en plastique (haut) et le dispositif fait de plastique et de métal (bas). Ils diffèrent beaucoup par l'ajout à l'intérieur du modèle en plastique et en métal d'une chicane métallique, qui n'a pas d'équivalent dans l'autre modèle. Le tube d'aspiration sur le dessus du dispositif aspire l'air (passant par un tube de plastique, non illustré) par effet Venturi alors que l'eau est pompée dans le corps central du dispositif.

Microcosmes d'eau de mer

Les cuves servant aux essais, chacune d'une contenance de 26 L, sont faites de plastique transparent. Elles portent un couvercle étanche et enlevable (figure 2). Des pompes externes sont reliées aux diffuseurs à microbulles pour faire recirculer 6 L d'eau de mer dans chacune des cuves.

Quatre montages expérimentaux ont été testés :

  1. la pompe et la prise d'air du dispositif fait entièrement de plastique sont en fonction et produisent des microbulles;
  2. la pompe et la prise d'air du dispositif en plastique et en métal sont en fonction et produisent des microbulles;
  3. la pompe est en fonction, mais pas la prise d'air du dispositif en plastique seulement; donc l'eau est recirculée mais n'est pas aérée au moyen des microbulles;
  4. un aérateur avec pierre poreuse de type classique, ajusté à une pompe d'aquarium externe, assure l'aération.
Méthodes
Figure 2

Schéma des cuves servant aux essais en microcosme, montrant les principaux éléments

Chacun des montages expérimentaux a servi à des essais en triplicata. Toutes les expériences ont été contrôlées, et les résultats, comparés à ceux d'une expérience témoin où une cuve similaire n'était pas munie de dispositifs de circulation de l'eau et d'aération.

Divers facteurs physiques, chimiques et biologiques peuvent agir sur le taux de survie des bactéries. L'eau de mer même peut nuire à la viabilité de microorganismes qui y sont placés, comme E. coli et d'autres bactéries fécales. La température de l'eau, sa salinité (26 – 32 %), l'éclairement et le pH ont été surveillés et régulés dans chacune des cuves pendant toute la durée de l'expérience.

Les chercheurs ont pris des précautions pour éviter de contaminer les cuves afin d'obtenir des comparaisons statistiquement valides de l'effet de l'aération par des bulles de fin diamètre. Un bouchon de coton hydrophile a été introduit dans toutes les conduites d'air et tous les évents pour empêcher la contamination des cuves par des microorganismes aéroportés. Entre les expériences, les cuves et tous les tubes qu'elles contiennent étaient désinfectés au moyen d'une solution d'eau de Javel, rincés avec de l'eau stérile neutralisée et soumis à un traitement aux rayons UV pendant 15 minutes.

Cultures bactériennes et numération

Les chercheurs se sont procuré des cultures pures d'E. coli et de V. parahaemolyticus en vue des essais. Ces bactéries ont été placées dans des bouillons de culture en conditions d'asepsie conformément à des méthodes normalisées, elles ont été lavées et remises en suspension dans l'eau de mer stérilisée par passage sur filtre avant d'être introduites dans les cuves. Dans certains essais, des bouillies à base de matières fécales laissées par des phoques et des oiseaux de mer sur des structures en bois et des bouées d'un établissement conchylicole ont servi de source naturelle d'inoculation avec des bactéries naturelles d'origine fécale.

Les chercheurs ont suivi les variations de concentration des populations d'E. coli et de V. parahaemolyticus dans les cuves d'eau de mer en prélevant des échantillons sur des périodes de 48 à 120 heures après l'inoculation et le commencement de l'aération au moyen des microbulles. La survie bactérienne a été évaluée au moyen de techniques de culture et de microscopie épifluorescence.

Résultats

Dans les traitements expérimentaux utilisant le diffuseur entièrement en plastique, la pompe avec recirculation de l'eau uniquement et le diffuseur entièrement en plastique, ainsi que l'aérateur à pierre poreuse, la survie des populations d'E. coli n'a pas beaucoup varié au cours des 48 premières heures. Lors d'une expérience à 15°C qui a démarré avec des numérations moyennes initiales de 1,0 × 107 bactéries mL-1, environ 1,8 x 106 bactéries cultivables ont été récupérées au bout de 48 heures d'aération au moyen d'un diffuseur entièrement en plastique. Cependant, dans le traitement réalisé au moyen d'un diffuseur du type plastique/métal, les numérations ont été abaissées de 5 cycles logarithmiques dès les 24 premières heures. La perte de bactéries cultivables était presque complète au bout de 48 heures (figure 3). De la même manière, une souche de V. parahaemolyticus a aussi connu une perte rapide de cultivabilité uniquement lorsque le diffuseur du type plastique/métal était employé.

Les chercheurs ont observé qu'en comparaison de l'eau des autres microcosmes l'eau de mer en contact prolongé avec le diffuseur du type plastique/métal accélère la perte de bactéries cultivables. Cette observation les a conduits à considérer qu'une ou des composantes chimiques nuisibles à E. coli étaient produites par ce type de microdiffuseur ou s'en échappaient par lessivage. Nombre de métaux ayant des applications marines se trouvent sous forme d'alliages contenant du cuivre. Dans l'eau de mer, ces alliages ont des propriétés antimicrobiennes connues. Les chercheurs ont donc vérifié l'hypothèse voulant que le cuivre ait été entraîné par lessivage dans l'eau de mer. Au moyen d'une trousse d'analyses pour aquarium, ils ont décelé la présence de cuivre (Cu++) dans l'eau en contact avec le microdiffuseur du type plastique/ métal, dont la concentration s'élevait avec le temps, alors qu'ils n'observaient rien de comparable avec les autres dispositifs (tableau 1).

Méthodes
Figure 3

Potentiel de survie d'E. coli (unités formatrices de colonies [CFU] par mL d'eau de mer) dans des microcosmes d'eau de mer sur 120 h, en fonction des 4 montages expérimentaux choisis. (À des fins de présentation des tableaux, la valeur de 1 CFU mL-1 était attribuée lorsque aucune prolifération cellulaire n'était observée.)

Méthodes
Tableau 1.

Concentration, sur un intervalle de 5 ou 6 jours, de cuivre (Cu++) dans l'eau de mer de microcosmes aérée par microbulles ou par circulation au moyen de différents dispositifs

Conclusions

Contrairement à ce que laissaient entrevoir des observations préliminaires, les dispositifs d'aération à basse pression (les diffuseurs à microbulles) ne sont pas directement un moyen efficace d'abaisser le potentiel de survie dans l'eau de mer des contaminants microbiens potentiels des huîtres qui ont servi aux essais.

On sait depuis longtemps que le cuivre des alliages dissous dans l'eau de mer a des effets antimicrobiens. C'est d'ailleurs pourquoi on l'utilise souvent comme algicide et agent antisalissure. Les chercheurs formulent l'hypothèse voulant que du cuivre contenu dans des pièces métalliques du microdiffuseur à bulles du type plastique/métal a été entraîné par lessivage et s'est accumulé dans l'eau de mer jusqu'à des concentrations dommageables pour les microorganismes. De la sorte, ces concentrations élevées seraient la cause des effets observés d'abaissement du taux de survie d'E. coli et de V. parahaemolyticus dans cette étude et dans des études antérieures.

Il a été établi que les microdiffuseurs à bulles ne réduisent pas directement le nombre de contaminants microbiens potentiels dans l'eau de mer. Cependant, ces dispositifs peuvent convenir à l'aération dans les établissements conchylicoles et autres. Cela ne faisait toutefois pas l'objet de la présente expérience.


Ce projet (P-06-01-001) du PCRDA a été le fruit d'un effort coopératif de Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), British Columbia Shellfish Growers Association, Vancouver Island University (VIU), et Centre for Shellfish Research de VIU. Il est possible de communiquer avec un des scientifiques de ce projet, John Amaral, à John.Amaral@viu.ca.

Pour un complément d'information au sujet de ce projet ou d'autres projets du PCRDA, consultez : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.


Publié par:

Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

© SaMajesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
MPO/2008-1493

La version anglaise et autres versions peuvent être consultées au: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.