Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 2 - April 2009

Optimal Net Depth for Over-Wintering Bay d'Espoir, Newfoundland and Labrador, Aquaculture Salmonids

Summary

Bay d'Espoir, a main production area for the Newfoundland salmonid aquaculture industry on the south coast of the island, faces challenges associated with fish production in an extremely cold winter environment. In this region, surface freezing, under-ice culture and sub-lethal temperatures are common occurrences. The former Newfoundland Salmonid Growers Association (NSGA) sought to identify the necessary net depth for optimal salmonid aquaculture performance during winter periods. This study showed that the use of nets significantly deeper than 10 m for over-wintering of salmonids in high current areas in Bay d'Espoir may not be economically justifiable through increased growth or survival of 1st-year salmonids, however, net depths of up to 15 m may be useful for improving the economic performance of 2nd-year salmonids by increasing the likelihood of survival.

Introduction

Newfoundland salmonid growers have demonstrated significant aquaculture production capability in the temperate Northwest Atlantic environment of Bay d'Espoir. In a comparative sense, this aquaculture opportunity is unique for two main reasons. First, by having the largest freshwater inflow of any small Newfoundland Bay, much of the inner fjord freezes over during the winter such that under-ice cage culture becomes an expected component of the annual production cycle. Second, even on the ice free sites of the outer fjord, the cold Labrador current exerts considerable influence and subjects the coastal zone to winter water temperatures that can fall below the lower lethal limit for Atlantic salmon (–0.7°C). This makes for less than optimal production conditions since, under low water-temperature conditions, the salmonids exhibit little-to-no growth for three to four months of the year. The typical production cycle in this region spans 32 months, requiring at least one overwintering season.

These local environmental extremes prompted the former Newfoundland Salmonid Growers Association (NSGA) to seek an answer to the question: What is the necessary net depth for optimal salmonid aquaculture performance during winter periods when sub-zero water temperatures may create sub-optimal on-growing conditions? It was hypothesized that, given sufficient aquaculture net depth, healthy salmonids will choose a position in the water column that minimizes physiologically difficult conditions associated with temperature and/or salinity. However, from an economic point of view, every additional meter of depth added to a salmonid cage bears an incremental cost factor that must be balanced against improvements in production efficiency.

This fact sheet describes the results of a research project undertaken in 2001-2002 to determine the optimal net depth for over-wintering of Bay d'Espoir aquaculture salmonids.

Methods

The study location in the Matchums (Figure 1) is an area known to experience water temperatures that can be lethal to salmonids (-0.70°C). Except for an intermittent stream entering the ocean approximately one kilometre away, that occasionally causes some freshwater layering in the upper water column, the Matchums site typically experiences full-salinity (32 ppt) sea water.

Methods
Figure 1

Bay d'Espoir study area and the Matchums site location.

Methods
Figure 2

Experimental design to evaluate optimal cage depth for overwintering of salmonids in Bay d'Espoir.

A cage array of eight, 7 m x 7 m nets was installed in an area with an average water depth of 45 m. Inventory groups of first and second year Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) and steelhead trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) were stocked into 10 and 25 m deep nets according to the cage array as per Figure 2.

The main performance indicator for this experiment was mortality. Odds-ratio analyses of survival were conducted by species with both year-classes combined. Secondary performance indicators included change in salmon and trout biomass, food conversion ratios (FCR) and performance index (increase in total biomass percent relative to FCR). Blood chemistry measures of physiological status were also incorporated into the full analysis. Fish position in the cages was monitored using diver observation and 30 tagged (Data Storage Tag to monitor depth, salinity and temperature) fish. This fact sheet focuses primarily on growth, survival and positioning in the water column.

Results

Change in Biomass

Analyses of weight and biomass changes were limited to comparisons between start and end weights for each species and year class (Table 1). Because a typical ongrowing cycle in Bay d'Espoir takes place over a 20-month period, at any given time there are two year-classes of salmonids in the marine phase of the production cycle. In this study, the 1st-year fish were from the 2000 year class; 2nd-year fish were from the 1999 year class.

Table 1.

Evaluation of normality and homogeneity of variance between initial and final salmonid weights.
Species Year Class (m) Net Depth Sample Normality (p values) Homogeneity of Variance (Levene): p=
  Start End  
  1999 10 0.859 0.695 0.531
Salmon   25 0.315 0.9552 0.078
  2000 10 0.859 0.8233 0.776
    25 0.859 0.287 0.770
  1999 10 0.108 0.304 0.233
Trout   25 0.193 0.002 0.384
  2000 10 0.013 0.084 0.849
    25 0.223 0.911 0.271

The key over-wintering biomass changes and survival results are presented in Tables 2 and 3 where the shaded cells represent significant differences between start and end weights. The 2nd-year fish exhibited no change in biomass over the experimental period; all groups recorded lower weight, with the salmon in 25 m depth nets showing a significant reduction in biomass (Table 2). All first-year salmon and the first-year trout with the 10 m nets increased in biomass over the winter period; the same was not observed with the first year trout held in 25 m nets where a loss of biomass was observed.

Table 2.

Biomass changes during the Matchums over-wintering experiment.
Species Year Class (m) Net Depth Biomass (kg) Signifi-
cance
  Start End Change p(1-tall t)*
  1999 10 2948.6 2151.3 -797.3 0.059
Salmon   25 8460.3 5692.4 -2767.9 0.006
  2000 10 1644.3 1923.0 278.7 0.003
    25 4113.0 5209.9 1096.9 <0.001
  1999 10 3870.3 2644.4 -1225.9 0.071
Trout   25 10341.4 8306.9 -2034.5 0.202
  2000 10 2776.4 2906.2 129.8 <0.001
    25 7133.6 6548.3 -585.3 0.006

Table 3.

Mantel – Haenszel odds-ratio tests for differences in survival potential for Atlantic salmon and steelhead trout in 10 m and 25 m deep aquaculture nets
Species Year Class Net Depth (m) End Salmonid Inventory Data Survival Odds-Ratio Statistics
  Dead Alive (%) MH ratio Chi-
square
p <
  1999 10 339 661 66      
Salmon   25 696 2195 76 1.65 2.174 0.00001
  2000 10 23 1777 99      
    25 28 4472 99      
  1999 10 906 1094 55      
Trout   25 1469 3531 71 1.51 98.85 0.00001
  2000 10 409 1591 80      
    25 999 4001 80      

Survival

Odds-ratio tests confirm a significant difference in survival potential between the 10 m and 25 m nets for both salmon and steelhead when both year classes are combined (Table 3). Salmon in a 10 m deep net were 1.65 times as likely to die during the winter as salmon in a 25 m deep net; for steelhead, the odds-ratio is 1.51. However, survival percentages show that this difference is attributable entirely to the survival of 2nd-year fish for both species. Within the 1st-year class for both species, survival was the same, regardless of net depth. Survival was slightly improved in the 2nd-year class with the deeper nets. However, it should be noted that any genetic differences between year classes were not examined in this study.

Most losses occurred among 2nd-year steelhead where mortality was 29% and 45% in the 25 m and 10 m nets, respectively. These levels of mortality were experienced by mid-February. Many of the moribund fish expelled eggs when handled and examination by a veterinarian confirmed that 18 of out 20 moribund specimens were mature. Blood chemistry revealed that mortality among the moribund 2nd-year steelhead was preceded by osmoregulatory distress, likely due to the maturation process. Blood cortisol and glucose levels showed the same pattern as blood osmolality. Due to the high levels of mortality, the second year trout were harvested prior to termination of the experiment.

Depth Preference

Atlantic salmon spent most of their time (i.e., 86% of depth records) at =4.0 m in the water column (Figure 3). Steelhead showed somewhat less affinity for these shallower depths but still tended to remain above the 10 m depth limit.

Depth Preference

Figure 3.

Diver observations of vertical distribution of most of the fish in the water column.

Conclusions

Recommendations to the Bay d'Espoir salmonid aquaculture industry as a result of this research are:


This ACRDP project (N-01-06-003) was a collaborative effort among the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO Science), the former Newfoundland Salmon Growers Association and the Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture.

One of the scientists on this project, Atef Mansour, can be contacted at Atef.Mansour@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm.


Published by:

Communications Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2009

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print),
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
DFO/2008-1493

Fiches Techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 2 - Avril 2009

Profondeur optimale des cages d'élevage de salmonidés dans la baie d'Espoir (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), en hiver

Résumé

La baie d'Espoir, principal secteur de production de l'industrie salmonicole de Terre-Neuve sur la côte sud de l'île, doit relever d'importants défis associés à la production de poissons dans un environnement extrêmement froid en hiver. Dans cette région, le gel en surface, l'élevage sous la glace et les températures sublétales ne sont pas rares. L'ancienne Newfoundland Salmonid Growers Association (NSGA) a cherché à déterminer la profondeur des cages qui permettrait d'optimiser le rendement salmonicole en hiver. Cette étude a pu démontrer que l'utilisation de cages beaucoup plus profondes que 10 m pendant l'hiver dans les zones de forts courants de la baie d'Espoir n'est peut-être pas justifiable sur le plan économique par la croissance ou la survie accrue des salmonidés d'un an. Cependant, des cages faisant jusqu'à 15 m de profondeur peuvent permettre d'améliorer le rendement économique des salmonidés de deux ans en augmentant leurs chances de survie.

Introduction

Les salmoniculteurs de Terre-Neuve ont fait preuve d'une grande habileté en matière de production aquacole dans le milieu tempéré de la baie d'Espoir, dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Sur le plan comparatif, cette possibilité d'aquaculture est unique pour deux raisons principales. La première est qu'en ayant le plus grand apport d'eau douce de toutes les petites baies de Terre-Neuve, le fjord intérieur gèle en grande partie pendant l'hiver, de sorte que l'élevage en cages sous la glace devient une étape prévisible du cycle de production annuel. Quant à la deuxième, même dans les sections extérieures libres de glace du fjord, le courant froid du Labrador exerce une influence considérable et soumet la zone côtière à des températures d'eau hivernales qui peuvent tomber sous la limite létale pour le saumon atlantique (-0,70°C). Toutes ces caractéristiques constituent des conditions de production moins qu'optimales, car à de basses températures d'eau, la croissance des salmonidés est presque nulle pendant trois ou quatre mois de l'année. Le cycle de production habituel dans cette région est de 32 mois, ce qui requiert au moins une saison hivernale.

Les conditions extrêmes du milieu local ont amené la Newfoundland Salmonid Growers Association (NSGA) à chercher une réponse à la question suivante : Quelle serait la profondeur nécessaire des cages pour un rendement optimal des salmonidés pendant l'hiver, lorsque des températures inférieures à zéro peuvent créer des conditions de croissance sous-optimales? Selon l'hypothèse posée, si les cages d'élevage offrent une profondeur suffisante, les salmonidés en santé choisiront une position dans la colonne d'eau qui atténue les conditions de température ou de salinité physiologiquement difficiles à supporter. Cependant, du point de vue économique, chaque mètre de profondeur additionnel ajouté à la cage d'élevage est assorti d'un coût supplémentaire qu'il faut équilibrer avec les améliorations de l'efficacité de la production.

La présente fiche d'information décrit les résultats d'un projet de recherche entrepris en 2001-2002 afin de déterminer la profondeur optimale des cages d'élevage de salmonidés dans la baie d'Espoir, en hiver.

Méthodes

Le lieu de l'étude, les Matchums (figure 1), est une zone où la température de l'eau peut être létale pour les salmonidés (-0,70°C). Sauf dans le cas d'un cours d'eau intermittent qui se jette dans l'océan à environ un kilomètre, ce qui crée à l'occasion une couche d'eau douce dans la colonne d'eau supérieure, l'eau de mer de la zone des Matchums est habituellement normalement saline (32 parties pour mille).

Méthodes

Figure 1.

Zone d'étude de la baie d'Espoir et emplacement des Matchums.

Méthodes

Figure 2.

Conception expérimentale visant à évaluer la profondeur optimale des cages pour les salmonidés de la baie d'Espoir, en hiver.

Un arrangement de huit cages, de 7 m sur 7 m, a été aménagé dans une zone où la profondeur moyenne de l'eau est de 45 m. Des groupes de saumons atlantiques (Salmo salar) d'un an et de deux ans et de saumons arc en ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss) ont été placés dans des cages de 10 m et de 25 m de profondeur, selon la disposition des cages indiquée à la figure 2.

Le principal indicateur de rendement de l'expérience était le taux de mortalité. Un odds-ratio de la survie a été effectué pour chaque espèce, pour les deux classes d'âge combinées. Les indicateurs de rendement secondaires étaient le changement de la biomasse du saumon atlantique et du saumon arc en ciel, l'indice de consommation (IC) et l'indice de rendement (augmentation du pourcentage total de la biomasse par rapport à l'IC). Des analyses chimiques sanguines visant à déterminer l'état physiologique ont aussi été intégrées à l'ensemble des analyses. La position des poissons dans les cages a été surveillée par des plongeurs, ainsi qu'à l'aide de 30 poissons marqués (au moyen d'étiquettes d'enregistrement de données permettant de surveiller la profondeur, la salinité et la température). La présente fiche d'information porte principalement sur la croissance, la survie et la position dans la colonne d'eau.

Résultats

Changements de la biomasse

Les analyses du changement de poids et de biomasse ont été limitées à la comparaison du poids au début et à la fin, pour chaque espèce et pour chaque classe d'âge (tableau 1). Puisque le cycle de croissance normal dans la baie d'Espoir est de 20 mois, il y a, à tout moment, deux classes d'âge de salmonidés à l'étape du séjour en mer du cycle de production. Aux fins de l'expérience, les poissons d'un an étaient issus de la classe d'âge de 2000 et les poissons de 2 ans, de la classe d'âge de 1999.

Tableau 1.

évaluation de la normalité et de l'homogénéité de l'écart entre les poids initial et final des salmonidés
Espèce Classe d'âge Profondeur de la cage (m) Normalité de l'échantillon (valeurs p) Homo-
généité de l'écart (Levene) : p=
  Début Fin  
  1999 10 0,859 0,695 0,531
S. atlantique   25 0,315 0,9552 0,078
  2000 10 0,859 0,8233 0,776
    25 0,859 0,287 0,770
  1999 10 0,108 0,304 0,233
S. arc-en-ciel   25 0,193 0,002 0,384
  2000 10 0,013 0,084 0,849
    25 0,223 0,911 0,271

Les principaux changements de la biomasse pendant l'hiver et les résultats relatifs à la survie sont présentés aux tableaux 2 et 3, où les cellules ombragées représentent les écarts importants entre les poids du début et de la fin. La biomasse des poissons de 2 ans n'a pas changé pendant la période de l'expérience; tous les groupes avaient un poids inférieur, le saumon atlantique des cages de 25 m de profondeur affichant une baisse importante de biomasse (tableau 2). Tous les saumons atlantiques et les saumons arc en ciel d'un an dans les cages de 10 m ont vu leur biomasse augmenter pendant l'hiver; toutefois, il n'en a pas été de même des saumons arc en ciel d'un an dans les cages de 25 m de profondeur, dont la biomasse a diminué.

Tableau 2.

Changements de la biomasse pendant l'expérience d'hivernage dans les Matchums
Espèce Classe d'âge Prof-
ondeur de la cage (m)
Biomasse (kg) Signifi-
cance
  Début Fin Diff-
érence
p(unilat
érale)*
  1999 10 2948,6 2151,3 -797,3 0,059
S. atlantique   25 8460,3 5692,4 -2767,9 0,006
  2000 10 1644,3 1923,0 278,7 0,003
    25 4113,0 5209,9 1096,9 <0,001
  1999 10 3870,3 2644,4 -1225,9 0,071
S. arc-en-ciel   25 10341,4 8306,9 -2034,5 0,202
  2000 10 2776,4 2906,2 129,8 <0,001
    25 7133,6 6548,3 -585,3 0,006

Tableau 3.

Odds-ratio de Mantel–Haenszel indiquant les différences du potentiel de survie du saumon atlantique et du saumon arc-en-ciel dans des cages d'élevage à 10 m et à 25 m de profondeur
Espèce Classe d'âge Prof-
ondeur de la cage (m)
Données sur les salmonidés à la fin
Taux de survie (%)
Statistiques de l'odds-ratio
  Morts Vivants (%) Ratio MH Chi-
carré
p <
  1999 10 339 661 66      
S. atlantique   25 696 2195 76 1,65 2,174 0,00001
  2000 10 23 1777 99      
    25 28 4472 99      
  1999 10 906 1094 55      
S. arc-en-ciel   25 1469 3531 71 1,51 98,85 0,00001
  2000 10 409 1591 80      
    25 999 4001 80      

Survie

L'odds-ratio a confirmé l'existence d'une différence significative dans le potentiel de survie du saumon atlantique et du saumon arc-en-ciel gardés dans des cages de 10 m et de 25 m de profondeur lorsque les deux classes d'âge sont combinées (tableau 3). Le saumon atlantique gardé dans des cages de 10 m de profondeur était 1,65 fois plus susceptible de mourir pendant l'hiver que le saumon atlantique gardé dans des cages de 25 m de profondeur; dans le cas du saumon arc-en-ciel, l'odds-ratio se chiffre à 1,51. Toutefois, les pourcentages de survivants révèlent que cette différence est entièrement attribuable aux poissons de deux ans des deux espèces. Chez les poissons d'un an des deux espèces, le taux de survie était le même, quelle que soit la profondeur du filet. Le taux de survie a été légèrement meilleur pour les poissons de deux ans dans les cages plus profondes. Cependant, il convient de noter que les différences génétiques des classes d'âge n'ont pas été examinées dans le cadre de l'expérience.

Le saumon arc-en-ciel de deux ans affichait le taux de mortalité le plus élevé. à la mi-février, celui-ci s'élevait à 29 % dans les cages de 25 m de profondeur et à 45 % dans celles de 10 m. Nombre des poissons moribonds ont libéré des oeufs au cours de la manipulation et l'examen par un vétérinaire a confirmé que 18 sur 20 étaient matures. Les analyses chimiques sanguines ont révélé que les poissons moribonds de deux ans souffraient de détresse osmorégulatoire avant de mourir, vraisemblablement due au processus de maturation. Les teneurs en cortisol et en glucose se comparaient à l'osmolalité sanguine. En raison du taux élevé de mortalité, les saumons arc-en-ciel de deux ans ont été récoltés avant la fin de l'expérience.

Profondeur privilégiée

Les saumons atlantiques ont passé la plus grande partie de leur temps (soit 86 % des enregistrements de profondeur) à ≤ 4,0 m dans la colonne d'eau (figure 3). Le saumon arc-en-ciel était un peu moins enclin à se tenir à ces faibles profondeurs, bien qu'il ait aussi eu tendance à rester à moins de 10 m de profondeur.

Profondeur privilégiée

Figure 3.

Observations en plongée de la répartition verticale de la plupart des poissons dans la colonne d'eau.

Conclusions

Voici les recommandations formulées à l'intention de l'industrie salmonicole de la baie d'Espoir à la suite de ces recherches :


Ce projet (N-01-06-003) du PCRDA a été le fruit d'un effort coopératif de Pêches et des Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences), de l'ancienne Newfoundland Salmon Growers Association et du ministère des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Il est possible de communiquer avec un des scientifiques de ce projet, Atef Mansour, à Atef.Mansour@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour un complément d'information au sujet de ce projet ou d'autres projets du PCRDA, consultez : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm.


Publié par:

Direction des communications
Pêches et Océans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2009

ISSN 1919-6806 (Imprimé),
ISSN 1919-6814 (En ligne)
DFO/2008-1493