Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Archived – Acronyms used in the 2009 Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

AANS – Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia
AARS – Alma Aquaculture Research Station - University of Guelph
ACOA – Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency
ACOA-AIF – Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency - Atlantic Innovation Fund
AEG - Aquaculture Engineering Group Inc.
AFRI - Aquaculture and Fisheries Research Initiative Inc (PEI)
ASF – Atlantic Salmon Federation
AUCC – Association of Universities and Colleges Canada
BC CAHS – British Columbia Centre for Aquatic Health Sciences
BC MoE – British Columbia Ministry of Environment
BCARDC – BC Aquaculture Research and Development Committee (BC Innovation Council)
BCARDC-AE – BCARDC Aquaculture and Environment Research Fund
BCIC – British Columbia Innovation Council
BCMAL – British Columbia Ministry of Agriculture and Lands
BCSFA – British Columbia Salmon Farmers Association
BCSGA – British Columbia Shellfish Grower’s Association
BNB – Business New Brunswick
CACN – Centre aquacole de la Côte-Nord
CAISN – Canadian Aquatic Invasive Species Network (CAISN)
CAMGR-MAPAQ – Centre aquacole marin de Grande-Rivière
CCFAM ATG – Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers – Aquaculture Task Group
CCFI – Canada Center for Fisheries Innovation
CED – Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions
CeMIM-MAPAQ – Centre maricole des Îles-de-la-Madeleine
CFIA – Canadian Food Inspection Agency
CGP – Atlantic Cod Genomics and Broodstock Development Project
COA – Canada Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem
CRESCO - Centre de Recherche et d'Enseignement sur les Systèmes Côtiers (France)
CSR-VIU – Centre for Shellfish Research, Vancouver Island University
CTPA-MAPAQ – Centre technologique des produits aquatiques
CZRI – Coastal Zones Research Institute Inc (U Moncton Shippegan Campus)
Dalhousie U - Dalhousie University
DFO – Fisheries and Oceans Canada
DFO-ACRDP – DFO Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program
DFO-AIMAP – DFO Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program
DFO-AIS – DFO Aquatic Invasive Species
DFO-CG – DFO Coast Guard
DFO-GRDI – DFO Genomics Research and Development Initiative
DFO-NASAPI – DFO National Aquaculture Strategic Action Plan Initiative
DFO-PARR – Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research
DIT-MAPAQ – Direction de l'innovation et des technologies (MAPAQ)
EC – Environment Canada
EPAQ - École des pêches et de l’aquaculture du Québec
FC – Fleming College
FQRNT – Fonds québécois de la recherche sur la nature et les technologies
IASPP – Invasive Alien Species Partnership Program (Environment Canada)
Idaho State U – Idaho State University
IFREMER – French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea
IML – Institut Maurice-Lamontagne
IMR Norway – Institute of Marine Research, Bergen, Norway
IPSFAD – Interprovincial Partnership for Sustainable Freshwater Aquaculture Development Inc.
MAFRI – Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives
MAPAQ – Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec
McMaster U – McMaster University
MDEIE – Ministère du Développement économique, Innovation et de l'Exportation (Quėbec)
MI – Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland
MUN – Memorial University of Newfoundland
MUN OSC – Memorial University of Newfoundland - Ocean Sciences Centre
NAIA – Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association
NB DAA – New Brunswick Department of Agriculture and Aquaculture
NB DAA–TDF – NB DAA - Total Development Fund
NBIF – New Brunswick Innovation Fund
NBPSGA – New Brunswick Professional Shellfish Growers Association
NBSGA – New Brunswick Salmon Growers Association
NL DFA – Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
NNRC – Norway National Research Council
NOAA – Northern Ontario Aquaculture Association
NOAA Fisheries Service – National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Marine Fisheries Service
NRC – National Research Council Canada
NRC-IMB – National Research Council Canada – Institute for Marine Biosciences
NRC-IRAP – National Research Council Canada – Industrial Research Assistance Program
NS DFA – Nova Scotia Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
NSAC – Nova Scotia Agricultural College
NSERC – Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
NVI Norway – National Veterinary Institute of Norway
OMAFRA – Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs
OMNR – Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
OMOE – Ontario Ministry of Environment
OSAP – Ontario Student Assistance Program
PEIAA – PEI Aquaculture Alliance
PEI-DFARD – Prince Edward Island Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development
PHAC – Public Health Agency of Canada
PSF – Pacific Salmon Foundation
RAQ – Réseau Aquaculture Québec
RPC – Research and Productivity Council
RPPGR – Regroupement des pêcheurs professionnels de Grande-Rivière
SABS – St. Andrews Biological Station
SE – Saskatchewan Environment
SFU – Simon Fraser University
SMU – St. Mary’s University
SODIM – Société de Développement de l’Industrie Maricole
SORDAC – Société de recherche et de développement en aquaculture continentale
SRD – Government of Alberta Sustainable Resource Development
TAGC – The Atlantic Genome Centre
TCGHF – Teasdale-Corti Global Health Fund (International Development Research Centre)
Trent U – Trent University
U Aberdeen – University of Aberdeen
U Copenhagen – University of Copenhagen
U Guelph – University of Guleph
U Iceland – University of Iceland
U Laval – Universitė Laval
U Moncton – Universitė de Moncton
U Montreal – Université de Montréal
U Ottawa – University of Ottawa
U Sask – University of Saskatchewan
U Tromsø – University of Tromsø
U Vic – University of Victoria
U Windsor – University of Windsor
UBC – University of British Columbia
UBC-CAER – UBC and DFO Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research
UNB – University of New Brunswick
UPEI – University of Prince Edward Island
UPEI-AVC – UPEI Atlantic Veterinary College
UQAR-ISMER –, Université du Québec à Rimouski - Institut des Sciences de la Mer
VIU – Vancouver Island University
WLU – Wilfred Laurier University

Table of Contents