Summary of the Evaluation of Economic Analysis and Statistics

About the Evaluation

The evaluation was conducted from January to December 2019 to meet requirements of the Policy on Results. Evidence was gathered through administrative data, document and website review, a mapping exercise, interviews, a comparative analysis, documented examples and a survey.

For the purpose of this evaluation, the Economic Analysis and Statistics (EAS) Function includes all EAS programs and services as well as their governance structure(s). This includes all economic analysis, statistical information and advice provided at National Headquarters (NHQ) and in regions.

About the Programs

Starting in 2018-19, three new programs in the Departmental Results Framework (DRF) were initiated by the EAS Directorate at NHQ to facilitate delivery of economic analysis and statistical services at the national and regional levels, to inform departmental decision-making. The three programs are:

  • Fisheries Economics and Statistics Program
  • Aquatic Ecosystems Economics Program
  • Marine Operations Economics Program

The Economic Analysis and Statistics Function

Economic analysis, statistical information and advice are provided to DFO and CCG by the EAS Directorate at National Headquarters (NHQ) and independently by economic analysis units within the Policy and Economics or Strategic Services groups in DFO regions (i.e. Newfoundland and Labrador, Maritimes, Gulf, Quebec, Central and Arctic and Pacific).

Much like the rest of DFO and CCG, there is no line reporting between NHQ EAS Directorate and the regional Policy and Economics or Strategic Services units. This means that the EAS Function staff report to the Director General EAS at NHQ or to the Regional Directors General in DFO’s six regions.

Description

Actual EAS Function FTEs for 2018-19

Pacific Region had 4 FTEs involved in the EAS Function, none involved with fisheries data entry. Central Region had 3 EAS Function FTEs plus 1 other involved in fisheries data entry. Quebec Region had 5 EAS Function FTEs, none involved with fisheries data entry. Gulf  Region had 4 EAS Function FTEs plus 11 others involved with fisheries data entry. Maritimes Region had 5 EAS Function FTEs plus 9 others involved with fisheries data entry. Newfoundland and Labrador had 9 EAS Function FTEs plus 7 others involved with fisheries data entry. National Capital Region had 21 EAS Function FTEs, none involved with fisheries data entry.

EAS Function full-time employees (FTEs) increased by 20% from 2014-15 to 2018-19, from about 69 to 83.

In the figure to the right, the numbers on the left indicate the total number of staff involved in the EAS Function. The numbers on the right represent the number of staff involved in fisheries data entry, a function that is unique to DFO among the peer departments.

Expenditures related to economic analysis, statistical information and advice are presented below. The graph on the left shows EAS Function expenditures including the NHQ and regions. The graph on the right shows EAS program expenditures, i.e., for the EAS in NHQ only (EAS programs are only resourced at the NHQ as reflected in the DRF).

EAS expenditures increased by 11%, from $6.5M in 2014-15 to $7.2M in 2018-19 during the same timeframe DFO expenditures* as a whole increased by 98%.

Figure 2 is graph that displays that EAS expenditures increased by 11 per cent, from $6.5 million in 2014-15 to $7.2 million in 2018-19. During the same timeframe DFO expenditures as a whole increased by 98 per cent. Expenditures for the three EAS programs in the DRF represent a modest portion of total EAS Function expenditures, around $2 million in total. This is split between the two programs, Fisheries Economics and Statistics Program and Aquatic Ecosystems Economics Program unevenly. Approximately 2/3 of the expenditures are attributed to the Fisheries Economics and Statistics Program, where the actual expenditures exceeds the planned by a small amount. The second program’s actual expenditures match its planned expenditures. Finally, the third program has a low level of planned expenditures, but no actual expenditures.

Description

EAS expenditures increased by 11 per cent, from $6.5 million in 2014-15 to $7.2 million in 2018-19. During the same timeframe DFO expenditures as a whole increased by 98 per cent.

Expenditures for the three EAS programs in the DRF represent a modest portion of total EAS Function expenditures, around $2 million in total. This is split between the two programs, Fisheries Economics and Statistics Program and Aquatic Ecosystems Economics Program unevenly. Approximately 2/3 of the expenditures are attributed to the Fisheries Economics and Statistics Program, where the actual expenditures exceeds the planned by a small amount. The second program’s actual expenditures match its planned expenditures. Finally, the third program has a low level of planned expenditures, but no actual expenditures.

Key Findings

Overall, the evidence demonstrates that the Fisheries Economics and Statistics and the Aquatic Ecosystems Economics Programs have met their targets and are effective in providing EAS services. The third program i.e. Marine Operations Economics Programs is intended to address Canadian Coast Guard needs regarding economic analysis, statistical information and advice. These needs have yet to be defined.

The EAS Function contributes to senior management decision making by addressing routine requests, such as cost-benefit analyses for regulatory proposals and SARA Action Plans, and ad hoc requests for fisheries information and analyses.

Information attributes i.e. timely, current, accurate, comprehensive, accessible, understandable, reliable and relevant specified in Treasury Board’s Policy on Information Management and Treasury Board Secretariat’s related guidelines are a critical aspect in assessing EAS performance. The EAS Function is impacted at times by such factors as a lack of accurate, comprehensive and timely data, which affects the reliability and relevance of the information.

The EAS Function’s ability to provide reliable and relevant analyses is dependent in part on the quality of fisheries data available.

Gaps exist in terms of planning, capacity and services, and there is a lack of awareness of the EAS Function on the part of clients and potential clients. This limits the EAS Function’s capacity to inform DFO/CCG decision-making.

GBA+ is addressed by the EAS Function to a limited extent, due in part to a lack of available data. Economic analysis, statistical information and advice focus mostly on Indigenous peoples and remote communities. DFO and CCG need to clarify what is required for GBA+ for the department. Women’s full contribution to fisheries, aquaculture and marine conservation, beyond employment, is overlooked and underestimated by many countries including Canada.

The inclusion of the three programs in the Departmental Results Framework has given the EAS Function access to funds for its economics and statistical work, which had not been previously available through enabler funding. In addition, DFO’s EAS Function resources, when compared to other economic analysis and statistics units in other departments, are proportionately lower.

The EAS Directorate and the regional Economic Directors together provide oversight of DFO’s EAS Function facilitated, in part, by a National Economic Directors Committee. However, greater clarity is required with respect to the EAS Directorate’s role and the NEDC’s in terms of providing guidance, direction and governance of the EAS Function including the programs.

Recommendations

Recommendation #1: EAS Function Planning

It is recommended that the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, establish a department-wide annual planning process for multi-year workplans for the EAS Function to proactively serve all departmental programs, and Internal Services as applicable, based on the Departmental Results Framework. Workplans and processes for managing emerging priorities should support the EAS Function in ensuring high-quality, consistent and timely economic and socioeconomic information and advice is available across the department to inform senior management decisions, departmental mandates, commitments, challenges and other long-term priorities.

Recommendation #2: Performance Indicators

It is recommended that the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, ensure the Performance Information Profiles for EAS Function programs incorporate meaningful performance indicators that provide information significant to the achievement of results and management of the programs. Performance indicators should address Core Responsibility #3 Marine Navigation, as the current Performance Information Profile does not consider this Core Responsibility. To do this, a fourth EAS program can be created or the existing programs can be amalgamated as one program in the Program Inventory. Specifically an all-encompassing program for the EAS Function covering all four departmental Core Responsibilities.

For the full evaluation, visit the DFO Evaluation website.

Date modified:

Sommaire de l’évaluation : Analyses économiques et statistiques

À propos de l'évaluation

L’évaluation a été menée de janvier à décembre 2019 pour répondre aux exigences de la Politique sur les résultats. Les éléments probants ont été recueillis au moyen de données administratives, d’un examen des documents et du site Web, d’un exercice de cartographie, d’entrevues, d’une analyse comparative, d’exemples documentés et d’un sondage.

Aux fins de la présente évaluation, la fonction d’analyses économiques et statistiques (AES) comprend tous les programmes et services d’AES ainsi que leurs structures de gouvernance. Cela comprend toutes les analyses économiques, l’information statistique et les conseils fournis à l’administration centrale (AC) et dans les régions.

À propos des programmes

À compter de 2018-2019, trois nouveaux programmes du Cadre ministériel des résultats (CMR) ont été lancés par la Direction des analyses économiques et statistiques (AES) à l’administration centrale (AC) afin de faciliter la prestation de services d’analyse économique et de statistiques à l’échelle nationale et régionale, et d’éclairer la prise de décision ministérielle. Voici ces trois programmes :

  • Programme d’économie et statistiques des pêches
  • Programme d’économie des écosystèmes aquatiques
  • Programme d’économie liée aux opérations maritimes

La fonction d'analyse économique et statistiques

L’analyse économique, l’information statistique et les conseils sont fournis au MPO et à la GCC par la Direction des AES à l’administration centrale (AC) et de façon indépendante par les unités d’analyse économique au sein des groupes des politiques et de l’économie ou des services stratégiques des régions du MPO (c.-à-d. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Maritimes, Golfe, Québec, Centre et Arctique, Pacifique).

Tout comme le reste du MPO et de la GCC, il n’y a pas de lien hiérarchique entre la Direction des AES de l’AC et les unités régionales des politiques et de l’économie ou des services stratégiques. Cela signifie que le personnel de la fonction d’AES relève du directeur général des AES à l’AC ou des directeurs généraux régionaux des six régions du MPO.

Description

ETP réels de la fonction d’analyste économique et de statistiques (AES) pour 2018-2019

La région du Pacifique comptait 4 ETP dans la fonction d’AES, mais aucun ne s’occupait de la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région du Centre comptait 3 ETP dans la fonction d’AES et un ETP supplémentaire pour la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région du Québec comptait 5 ETP dans la fonction d’AES, mais aucun ne s’occupait de la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région du Golfe comptait 4 ETP dans la fonction d’AES et 11 autres pour la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région des Maritimes comptait 5 ETP dans la fonction d’AES et 9 ETP supplémentaires pour la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région de Terre‑Neuve‑et‑du‑Labrador comptait 9 ETP dans la fonction d’AES et 7 autres pour la saisie de données sur les pêches. La région de la capitale nationale comptait 21 ETP dans la fonction d’AES, mais aucun ne s’occupait de la saisie de données sur les pêches.

Le nombre d’employés à temps plein (ETP) de la fonction d’AES a augmenté de 20 % de 2014-2015 à 2018-2019, passant d’environ 69 à 83.

Dans la figure de droite, les chiffres de gauche indiquent le nombre total d’employés participant à la fonction d’AES. Les chiffres de droite représentent le nombre d’employés qui participent à la saisie des données sur les pêches, une fonction qui est propre au MPO comparativement aux autres ministères.

Les dépenses liées à l’analyse économique, à l’information statistique et aux conseils sont présentées ci-dessous. Le graphique de gauche montre les dépenses de la fonction d’AES, y compris celles de l’AC et des régions. Le graphique de droite montre les dépenses des programmes d’AES, c.-à-d. pour les AES à l’AC seulement (les programmes d’AES ne sont financés qu’à l’AC, comme l’indique le CMR).

Les dépenses liées aux AES ont augmenté de 11 %, passant de 6,5 M$ en 2014-2015 à 7,2 M$ en 2018-2019 au cours de la même période.Les dépenses totales du MPO* ont augmenté de 98 %.

Description

Les dépenses liées aux AES ont augmenté de 11 %, passant de 6,5 M$ en 2014-2015 à 7,2 M$ en 2018-2019 au cours de la même période. Les dépenses totales du MPO ont augmenté de 98 %.

Les dépenses pour les trois programmes d’AES dans le cadre ministériel des résultats (CMR) représentent une faible portion des dépenses totales pour la fonction d’AES, soit près de 2 millions de dollars. Cette somme est séparée inégalement entre les deux programmes : le Programme d’économie et statistiques des pêches et le Programme d’économie des écosystèmes aquatiques. Environ les 2/3 des dépenses vont au Programme d’économie et statistiques des pêches, pour lequel les dépenses réelles dépassent légèrement les dépenses prévues. Les dépenses réelles du second programme correspondent aux dépenses prévues. Enfin, les dépenses prévues pour le troisième programme sont faibles, mais ce programme ne compte aucune dépense réelle.

Constatations principales

Dans l’ensemble, les données probantes démontrent que le Programme d’économie et statistiques des pêches et le Programme d’économie des écosystèmes aquatiques ont atteint leurs objectifs et sont efficaces dans la prestation des services d’AES. Le troisième programme, soit le Programme d’économie liée aux opérations maritimes, vise à répondre aux besoins de la Garde côtière canadienne en matière d’analyse économique, d’information statistique et de conseils. Ces besoins n’ont pas encore été définis.

La fonction d’AES contribue à la prise de décision de la haute direction en répondant aux demandes courantes, comme les analyses coûts-avantages pour les propositions réglementaires et les plans d’action en vertu de la LEP, et les demandes ponctuelles de renseignements et d’analyses sur les pêches.

Les caractéristiques de l’information, c’est-à-dire en temps opportun, à jour, exacte, complète, accessible, compréhensible, fiable et pertinente, précisées dans la Politique sur la gestion de l’information du Conseil du Trésor et dans les lignes directrices connexes du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, constituent un aspect essentiel de l’évaluation du rendement des AES. La fonction d’AES est parfois touchée par des facteurs tels que l’absence de données exactes, complètes et à jour, ce qui a une incidence sur la fiabilité et la pertinence de l’information.

La capacité de la fonction d’AES à fournir des analyses fiables et pertinentes dépend en partie de la qualité des données disponibles sur les pêches.

Il y a des lacunes sur le plan de la planification, de la capacité et des services, et les clients actuels et éventuels ne connaissent pas suffisamment la fonction d’AES. Cela limite la capacité de la fonction d’AES d’éclairer le processus décisionnel du MPO et de la GCC.

Le traitement de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes+ (ACS+) par la fonction d’AES est limité, en partie en raison d’un manque de données. L’analyse économique, l’information statistique et les conseils portent principalement sur les peuples autochtones et les collectivités éloignées. Le MPO et la GCC doivent clarifier ce qui est requis pour l’ACS+ pour le Ministère. La pleine contribution des femmes à la pêche, à l’aquaculture et à la conservation du milieu marin, au-delà de l’emploi, est négligée et sous-estimée par de nombreux pays, dont le Canada.

L’inclusion des trois programmes dans le Cadre ministériel des résultats a permis à la fonction d’AES d’avoir accès à des fonds pour ses travaux économiques et statistiques, fonds qui n’étaient pas offerts auparavant par le financement des services corporatifs. De plus, les ressources de la fonction d’AES du MPO, comparativement aux unités d’analyse économique et de statistiques d’autres ministères, sont proportionnellement plus faibles.

La Direction des AES et les directeurs économiques régionaux assurent ensemble la surveillance de la fonction d’AES du MPO, facilitée en partie par un comité national des directeurs économiques. Toutefois, il faut clarifier davantage le rôle de la Direction des AES et du comité en ce qui a trait aux directives, à l’orientation et à la gouvernance de la fonction d’AES, y compris les programmes.

Recommandations

Recommandation no1 : Planification de la fonction d’AES

Nous recommandons au sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politiques stratégiques, d’établir un processus de planification annuelle à l’échelle du Ministère pour les plans de travail pluriannuels de la fonction d’AES afin de servir de façon proactive tous les programmes ministériels et les services internes, le cas échéant, en fonction du Cadre ministériel des résultats. Les plans de travail et processus pour la gestion des nouvelles priorités devraient appuyer la fonction d’AES en veillant à ce que des renseignements et des conseils économiques et socioéconomiques de qualité supérieure, cohérents et opportuns soient disponibles dans l’ensemble du Ministère pour éclairer les décisions de la haute direction, les mandats ministériels, les engagements, les défis et les autres priorités à long terme.

Recommandation no 2 : Indicateurs de rendement

Nous recommandons au sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politiques stratégiques, de veiller à ce que les profils d’information sur le rendement des programmes de la fonction d’AES comprennent des indicateurs de rendement significatifs qui fournissent des renseignements importants pour l’atteinte des résultats et la gestion des programmes. Les indicateurs de rendement devraient traiter de la responsabilité essentielle no 3, Navigation maritime, puisque le profil d’information sur le rendement actuel ne couvre pas cette responsabilité essentielle. Il s’agirait soit d’un profil distinct pour un quatrième programme d’AES, soit des programmes fusionnés en un seul programme dans le CMR. Plus particulièrement, un programme générale pour la fonction d’AES couvrant les quatre responsabilités essentielles du Ministère.

Pour lire la totalité de l'évaluation, consultez le site Web Évaluation du MPO.

Date de modification :