Summary of the Evaluation of Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) and Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management (AAROM)

The Evaluation of Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) and Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management (AAROM) has a two-page graphic summary of the information presented below, which is available in pdf format:
PDF version.


ABOUT THE EVALUATION

The evaluation was conducted between February 2018 and February 2019 to meet the requirements of the Financial Administration Act and the Policy on Results. All Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) regions were included. Evidence was gathered through document review; interviews (42 with DFO employees and 12 with program recipients); administrative and financial data analyses; two site visits to the Gulf and Maritimes regions; and a survey of the Aboriginal Programs and Governance Information System (APGIS) users.


ABOUT THE PROGRAMS

The AFS program dates from 1992 following the Sparrow Supreme Court decision, to provide a framework for Aboriginal fishing for food, social and ceremonial (FSC) purposes under the authority of communal licences issued under the Fisheries Act. The AAROM program, created in 2004, provides funding to Indigenous organizations for skilled personnel to undertake scientific research activities and to participate in advisory and decision-making processes related to aquatic resources and oceans management.


KEY FINDINGS

  1. There is a continued need for AFS and AAROM, and both programs contribute to departmental results. However, funding has limited the ability of the programs to fund other recipient activities in order to increase their involvement in collaborative management.
  2. There is currently no common understanding of capacity building for AFS or AAROM among program recipients and program staff. Moreover, the availability of high quality and reliable data are needed to ensure that AFS and AAROM measure the advancement of the capacity of recipients.
  3. While information contained within APGIS is found to be beneficial to manage the contribution agreements between DFO and AFS/AAROM recipients, the information and data are inconsistently captured.
  4. Greater coordination is needed as limited interaction occurs between AFS/AAROM programs and other DFO and Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) programs resulting in missed opportunities.

CAPACITY BUILDING

Capacity building has not been clearly defined by the programs, and, therefore, was interpreted differently by all interviewees. Skills development and technical expertise are most commonly understood as capacity building activities for both programs.

Figure 1

Figure 1 is a map of Canada that illustrates the number of AFS and AAROM recipients by DFO region (6 regions plus the National Capital Region). Circles with the number of AFS and AAROM recipients have been placed on the map to show the number of contribution recipients in each of the regions. • The Pacific Region includes all of British Columbia and the majority of Yukon, with the exception of the northern most portion bordering the Beaufort Sea. In the Pacific Region, there are 21 AAROM organizations and 88 AFS recipients. • The Central and Arctic Region includes the northern most portion of Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario. In the Central and Arctic Region, there are 3 AAROM organizations and 4 AFS recipients. • In the National Capital Region, there is 1 AAROM organization and 1 AFS recipient. • The Quebec Region, which corresponds to the province limits, has 3 AAROM organizations and 10 AFS recipients. • The Gulf Region includes the waters of the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence at the eastern coast of New Brunswick, the Northumberland Strait coast of Nova Scotia and Western Cape Breton Island, as well as Prince Edward Island. In the Gulf region there are 2 AAROM bodies and 16 AFS recipients. • The Maritimes Region includes the Southern part of New Brunswick and the Southern part of Nova Scotia. In the Maritimes Region, there are 6 AAROM organizations and 15 AFS recipients. • The Newfoundland and Labrador region includes Newfoundland and Labrador. In the Newfoundland and Labrador Region, there is 1 AAROM organization and 4 AFS recipients.">



Although there are a number of factors that hinder capacity building, lack of funding and skilled personnel are the greatest challenges to capacity building. Further, the gaps that were identified included the incorporation of Indigenous Traditional Knowledge (ITK) and communication between recipients and DFO employees.


TOOLS USED BY THE PROGRAMS

Recipient Capacity Assessment Tool (RCAT)

The RCAT is a contribution agreement assessment tool designed to measure risk and determine the appropriate conditions to be included in contribution agreements. Interviews suggest that reviewing RCAT assessment questions would improve the tool.

RCAT scores, as a measure of AFS and AAROM recipients’ capacity, reflect administrative abilities and do not measure technical capacity.

RCAT scores have shown slow growth: on average 1% of the AFS sample (23 recipients) and 5% of all AAROM recipients improved their administrative capacity over the last five years.


Aboriginal Programs and Governance Information System (APGIS)

APGIS is a national information system used to administer and manage Aboriginal Programs’ transfer payments.

The information contained within APGIS is found to be beneficial to manage AFS/AAROM contribution agreements, however, there is opportunity for improvement in terms of training and clear guidance on the expected information to be captured in APGIS for consistent data management and standardization. For example, information, performance data and interactions between recipients and AFS and AAROM programs are inconsistently captured.


COORDINATION

Evidence demonstrates that limited interaction occurs between AFS/AAROM and other DFO-CCG programs (e.g., Science, Species at Risk, Fisheries Protection Program, Oceans Management, Conservation and Protection, etc.) resulting in missed opportunities.

Greater coordination could…

  • Reduce programs working in silos.
  • Allow sharing of best practices.
  • Improve the development of recipients’ annual work plans by receiving input from other DFO programs.
  • Improve communications with communities.

Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) processes undertaken by DFO science groups were raised as an example where greater coordination would allow better integration of Indigenous Traditional Knowledge (ITK) and data gathered by program recipients within DFO processes.


RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. It is recommended that the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, define capacity building for AFS and AAROM and also develop tools to measure capacity building to demonstrate the progression of recipient’s capacity over time.
  2. It is recommended that the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, establish formalized coordination between AFS/AAROM and other DFO-CCG programs that are or could be involved with AFS/AAROM recipients.
  3. It is recommended that the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, establish consistency in data collection, particularly with respect to performance data, the management of contribution agreements and recipient interactions, to ensure that data is being collected and managed centrally in a cohesive manner across the country.

For the full evaluation, visit the DFO Evaluation website: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-eng.htm

Sommaire de l’Évaluation des programmes autochtones : Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA) et Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques(PAGRAO)

L’évaluation des programmes autochtones : Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA) et Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques (PAGRAO) a un document visuel de deux pages qui présente l’information ci-dessous. La version visuelle est disponible en PDF : la version PDF.


CONTEXTE DE L’ÉVALUATION

L’évaluation a été menée entre février 2018 et février 2019 afin de répondre aux exigences de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et de la Politique sur les résultats. Toutes les régions de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) ont été incluses. La méthodologie comprend : examen documentaire; entrevues (42 avec des employés du MPO et 12 avec des bénéficiaires); données financières et administratives; deux visites de sites dans les régions Maritimes et Golfe; un sondage auprès des utilisateurs du Système d’information de Programmes et gouvernance autochtones.


CONTEXTE DES PROGRAMMES

La SRAPA a été élaborée en 1992, suite à la décision de la Cour suprême dans l’affaire Sparrow, afin de fournir un cadre pour la pêche autochtone à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles en vertu des permis communautaires délivrés conformément à la Loi sur les pêches. Le PAGRAO, créé en 2004, fournit des fonds aux organisations autochtones pour que du personnel qualifié entreprenne des activités de recherche scientifique et pour participer aux processus consultatifs et décisionnels liés à la gestion des ressources aquatiques et des océans.


CONSTATATIONS

  1. La SRAPA et le PAGRAO sont toujours nécessaires, et les deux programmes contribuent aux résultats ministériels. Toutefois, le financement a limité la capacité des programmes à financer d’autres activités des bénéficiaires afin d’accroître leur participation à la gestion concertée.
  2. Actuellement, les bénéficiaires et le personnel des programmes n’ont pas une compréhension commune du renforcement des capacités pour la SRAPA ou le PAGRAO. De plus, la disponibilité de données fiables et de grande qualité est nécessaire pour s’assurer que la SRAPA et le PAGRAO mesurent la progression des capacités des bénéficiaires.
  3. Bien que l’information contenue dans le SIPGA soit jugée utile pour gérer les ententes de contribution entre le MPO et les bénéficiaires de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO, l’information et les données ne sont pas saisies de façon uniforme.
  4. Une plus grande coordination est nécessaire, car le manque d’interactions entre la SRAPA/le PAGRAO et les autres programmes du MPO résulte en opportunités manquées.

RENFORCEMENT DES CAPACITÉS

Le renforcement des capacités n’a pas été clairement défini par les programmes et a été interprété différemment par toutes les personnes interrogées. Le développement des compétences et l’expertise technique sont le plus souvent perçues comme des activités de renforcement des capacités pour les deux programmes.

La figure 1

La figure 1 illustre une carte du Canada avec le nombre de bénéficiaires de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO par région du MPO (6 régions et la région de la Capitale Nationale). Les cercles sur la carte indiquent le nombre de bénéficiaires de la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA) et du Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques (PAGRAO) pour montrer le nombre de bénéficiaires de contributions dans chacune des régions. • La région du Pacifique comprend toute la Colombie-Britannique et la majeure partie du Yukon, à l’exception de la partie la plus septentrionale bordant la mer de Beaufort. Elle compte 21 organisations du PAGRAO et 88 bénéficiaires de la SRAPA. • La région du Centre et de l’Arctique comprend la partie la plus septentrionale du Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Nunavut, l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba et l’Ontario. Elle compte trois organisations du PAGRAO et quatre bénéficiaires de la SRAPA. • La région de la capitale nationale compte une organisation du PAGRAO et un bénéficiaire de la SRAPA. • La région du Québec, dont les limites correspondent à celles de la province de Québec, compte trois organisations du PAGRAO et dix bénéficiaires de la SRAPA. • La région du Golfe comprend toutes les eaux de la partie sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent bordant la côte Est du Nouveau-Brunswick, la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse donnant sur le détroit de Northumberland et l’ouest de l’Île du Cap-Breton ainsi que l’ensemble de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle compte deux organisations du PAGRAO et 16 bénéficiaires de la SRAPA. • La région des Maritimes comprend la partie Sud du Nouveau-Brunswick et la partie Sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle compte 6 organisations du PAGRAO et 15 bénéficiaires de la SRAPA. • La région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador comprend Terre-Neuve et le Labrador. Elle compte une organisation du PAGRAO et quatre bénéficiaires de la SRAPA."



Bien qu’un certain nombre de facteurs entravent le renforcement des capacités, le manque de financement et de personnel qualifié constituent les principaux obstacles au renforcement des capacités. De plus, les lacunes relevées comprenaient l’intégration du savoir traditionnel autochtone (STA) et la communication entre les bénéficiaires et les employés du MPO.


OUTILS UTILISÉS PAR LES PROGRAMMES

Outil d’évaluation des capacités des bénéficiaires (OECB)

L’OECB est un outil d’évaluation des ententes de contribution conçu pour mesurer les risques et déterminer les conditions appropriées à inclure dans les ententes de contribution. Les entrevues donnent à penser que l’examen des questions d’évaluation de l’OECB permettrait d’améliorer l’outil.

Les résultats de l’OECB, en tant que mesure de la capacité des bénéficiaires de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO, reflètent les capacités administratives, mais ne mesurent pas la capacité technique.

Croissance lente des résultats de l’OECB : 1 % des bénéficiaires de l’échantillon de la SRAPA et 5 % de tous les bénéficiaires du PAGRAO ont amélioré leur capacité administrative au cours des cinq dernières années.


Système d’information de Programmes et gouvernance autochtones (SIPGA)

Le SIPGA est un système d’information national utilisé pour administrer et gérer les paiements de transfert des programmes autochtones.

L’information contenue dans le SIPGA est jugée utile pour gérer les ententes de contribution entre le MPO et les bénéficiaires de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO. Toutefois, il y a une opportunité d’amélioration en terme de formation et de directives claires sur l’information devant être saisie dans le SIPGA aux fins de gestion uniforme des données et de normalisation. Par exemple, l’information, les données sur le rendement et les interactions entre les bénéficiaires et les programmes de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO ne sont pas saisies de façon uniforme.


COORDINATION

Les données probantes démontrent que les interactions entre la SRAPA/le PAGRAO et les autres programmes du MPO (p. ex. Sciences, Espèces en péril, Programme de protection des pêches, Gestion des océans, Conservation et protection, Garde côtière canadienne, etc.) sont limitées, ce qui entraîne des occasions manquées.

Une meilleure coordination pourrait...

  • Réduire le cloisonnement des programmes.
  • Permettre l’échange des pratiques exemplaires.
  • Améliorer l’élaboration des plans de travail annuels des bénéficiaires en recevant les commentaires des autres programmes du MPO et de la GCC.
  • Améliorer les communications avec les communautés.

Les processus du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS) entrepris par les groupes scientifiques du MPO ont été cités comme exemple où une meilleure coordination permettrait une meilleure intégration du STA et des données recueillies par les bénéficiaires des programmes dans les processus du MPO.


RECOMMANDATIONS

  1. Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe principale, Politiques stratégiques, définisse le renforcement des capacités pour la SRAPA et le PAGRAO et élabore également des outils pour mesurer le renforcement des capacités afin de démontrer la progression des capacités des bénéficiaires au fil du temps.
  2. Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe principale, Politiques stratégiques, établisse une coordination officielle entre la SRAPA/le PAGRAO et les autres programmes du MPO et de la GCC qui sont ou pourraient être liés aux bénéficiaires de la SRAPA et du PAGRAO.
  3. Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe principale, Politiques stratégiques, établisse une uniformité de la collecte de données, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les données sur le rendement, la gestion des ententes de contribution et les interactions avec les bénéficiaires, afin que les données soient recueillies et gérées centralement de façon cohérente à l’échelle nationale.

Pour lire la totalité de l'évaluation, consultez le site Web Évaluation du MPO : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-fra.htm