Summary of the Evaluation of the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS)


The Evaluation of the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat has a two-page graphic summary of the information presented below, which is available in pdf format.

About the Evaluation

The evaluation covers 2013-14 to 2017-18 and was carried out between March 2018 and January 2019. Through a principles-based evaluation the evaluation focused on the extent to which the principles informing the CSAS science advisory process are articulated, adhered to and are leading to desired results. Evidence was gathered through interviews; administrative and financial data analyses; document review; site visits to the Pacific and Maritimes regions; and a survey of scientists/researchers (n = 254) and clients or end-users (n = 149).

CSAS and SAGE

CSAS

CSAS coordinates peer-review assessments on issues related to fish stock dynamics, species at risk, invasive species, marine and freshwater ecosystems, marine protected areas, and aquaculture, and provides advice on these issues to its clients, which comprise staff from DFO policy and management programs. The total direct cost of delivering CSAS is unknown as it is not possible to track the expenditures of all the DFO programs participating in science advisory processes.

SAGE

The foundation of the CSAS science advisory process are the six Science Advice for Government Effectiveness (SAGE) Principles developed by the Council of Science and Technology Advisors to support the effective use of science advice in decision making. The SAGE Principles include: (1) early issues identification; (2) inclusiveness; (3) sound science advice; (4) openness and transparency; (5) review; and, (6) uncertainty and risk.

The number of full-time equivalent (FTE) positions varies across the Secretariat and the centres based on their available budget and the average number of requests for science advice received each year.

Assigned to CSAS

Funded by CSAS budget

Vacant positionsFootnote 1

Making a Good Thing Better

The CSAS science advisory process is a unique and important mechanism for developing and providing science advice in support of decision-making. It is aligned with DFO’s mandate and four performance indicators in the Departmental Results Framework. The inclusion of peer review assessments for developing the science advice is one of the main strengths of the CSAS science advisory process and is a best practice when using scientific information to inform fisheries management decisions. There is a growing demand for science advice within DFO and 60% of clients and end users feel that CSAS is doing a good or great job of providing them with the information they require. Additionally, 86% of CSAS clients and end-users, as well as 75% of DFO scientists report that they use one or more CSAS documents to support their work. While the CSAS is valued and well-respected within DFO there are several opportunities for improvement.

Evaluation Findings

The extent to which the CSAS science advisory process adheres to the SAGE principles tends to vary across regions and by type of request. This variance is generally attributed to an insufficient number of policies, guidelines, or structures that operationalize the SAGE principles to ensure the systematic implementation of a science advisory process in compliance with these principles across Canada. In particular, there are opportunities for greater clarification regarding the operationalization of specific principles at each phase of the process, namely early issue identification, inclusiveness, sound science advice, and openness and transparency.

Requests for Science Advice

Between 2013-14 and 2017-18, 49% of the 1247 requests for science advice submitted to the CSAS were included as part of the science advisory schedule either the same year they were submitted or in subsequent years as resources and/or data for developing the science advice became available.

Among the various client sectors submitting requests for science advice ,the sectors that experienced the biggest gap between the number of requests submitted and addressed were Oceans Management, Species at Risk, Fisheries Protection Program and Aquaculture.

Inclusiveness & Conflict of Interest

Inclusiveness

73% of CSAS clients and end-users feel that the CSAS peer- review assessments involve an appropriate range of perspectives to support the development of science advice. There is however, a tension among CSAS stakeholders regarding whether only scientists and/or individuals with a scientific background should participate in the peer review assessments or if the assessments should be more inclusive of participants from industry, academia, Indigenous communities, and non-governmental organizations.

Conflict of Interest

While the Chair of the CSAS peer review assessment is responsible for mitigating conflicts of interest, best practices reveal that robust conflict of interest policies and/or guidelines are also important. Currently, the CSAS does not have a conflict of interest policy or general guidelines and there is concern that external stakeholder groups (e.g. industry, non-governmental organizations) participating in the CSAS process may attempt to use the process to advance their own agenda.

Submission and Publication Compliance Rates

Of the 1022 documents analyzed in the publication data- base, 77% (n = 787) were published, 21% (n = 215) were not yet submitted for publication and 2% (n = 20) were submitted but not yet published

Science Advisory Reports and Research Documents had the lowest submission compliance rates

Science Advisory Reports and Science Responses had the lowest publication compliance rates

Recommendations

It is recommended that the ADM, Ecosystem and Oceans Science:
  1. Develop mechanisms to support the standardization of formal communication between EOS scientists and CSAS clients during each phase of the science advisory process.
  2. Implement a multi-year science advisory schedule as part of the CSAS science advisory process to support adherence to the SAGE Principle of early issues identification and to mitigate some of the challenges impacting the extent to which the CSAS is able to address requests for science advice.
  3. Develop clear guidelines to support the operationalization of the SAGE principle of inclusiveness.
  4. Develop a conflict of interest policy to support adherence to the SAGE Principle of sound science advice with clear guidelines regarding the roles and responsibilities of peer-review assessment participants including the Chair.
  5. Review timeline targets and develop mechanisms to increase compliance rates for the submission and publication of CSAS documents.

For the full evaluation, visit the DFO Evaluation website: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-eng.htm

Évaluation du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS)

NOTE: : Le sommaire de l’évaluation du Secrétariat Canadien de Consultation Scientifique a un document visuel qui présente l’information ci-dessous. La version visuelle est disponible en PDF.

À propos de l'évaluation

L’évaluation couvre la période de 2013-2014 à 2017-2018 et a été effectuée entre mars 2018 et janvier 2019. Il s’agit d’une évaluation fondée sur des principes qui visait principalement à déterminer dans quelle mesure les principes qui sous-tendent le processus de consultation scientifique du SCCS sont articulés, sont respectés, et mènent aux résultats souhaités. Les éléments probants ont été recueillis au moyen d’entrevues, d’analyses de données administratives et financières, d’un examen de documents, de visites sur place dans les régions du Pacifique et des Maritimes, et d’un sondage auprès de scientifiques et de chercheurs (n = 254) et de clients ou utilisateurs finaux (n = 149).

SCCS et ASEG

SCCS

Le SCCS coordonne les examens par des pairs sur les questions liées à la dynamique des stocks de poissons, aux espèces en péril, aux espèces envahissantes, aux écosystèmes marins et d’eau douce, aux zones de protection marine et à l’aquaculture, et fournit des conseils sur ces questions à ses clients, qui comprennent le personnel des programmes de politiques et de gestion du MPO. Le coût direct total de la prestation du SCCS est inconnu, car il n’est pas possible de suivre les dépenses de tous les programmes du MPO qui participent aux processus de consultation scientifique.

ASEG

Les six principes des Avis scientifiques pour l’efficacité gouvernementale (ASEG) élaborés par le Conseil d’experts en sciences et en technologie pour appuyer l’utilisation efficace des avis scientifiques dans la prise de décisions constituent le fondement du processus consultatif scientifique du SCCS. Les principes des ASEG comprennent : (1) le repérage rapide des enjeux; (2) l’inclusion; (3) des avis scientifiques objectifs; (4) l’ouverture et la transparence; (5) l’examen; et (6) l’incertitude et les risques.

Le nombre de positions Équivalents temps plein (ETP) varie à travers le Secrétariat et les centres en fonction du budget disponible et du nombre moyen de demandes pour des avis scientifiques reçus au chaque année.

Assignées au SCCS

Payés par le budget du SCCS

Positions vacantesFootnote 1

Faire encore mieux avec quelque chose de bien

Le processus de consultation scientifique du SCCS est un mécanisme unique et important pour élaborer et fournir des avis scientifiques destinés à éclairer la prise de décisions. Il est conforme au mandat du MPO et aux quatre indicateurs de rendement du Cadre des résultats ministériels. L’inclusion d’examens par des pairs pour l’élaboration des avis scientifiques est l’une des principales forces du processus de consultation scientifique du SCCS et constitue une pratique exemplaire lorsqu’on utilise l’information scientifique pour éclairer les décisions relatives à la gestion des pêches. La demande d’avis scientifiques s’accroît au sein du MPO et 60% des clients et des utilisateurs finaux estiment que le SCCS fait du bon ou de l’excellent travail en leur fournissant l’information dont ils ont besoin. De plus, 86% des clients et des utilisateurs finaux du SCCS et 75% des scientifiques du MPO déclarent qu’ils utilisent un ou plusieurs documents du SCCS pour appuyer leurs travaux. Bien que le SCCS soit apprécié et respecté au sein du MPO, des améliorations sont encore possibles.

La mesure dans laquelle le processus de consultation scientifique du SCCS respecte les principes des ASEG a tendance à varier selon les régions et le type de demande. Cet écart est généralement attribué à un nombre insuffisant de politiques, de lignes directrices ou de structures qui opérationnalisent les principes des ASEG pour assurer la mise en œuvre systématique d’un processus de consultation scientifique conforme à ces principes partout au Canada. Il y a notamment des possibilités de clarifier davantage l’opérationnalisation de certains principes à chaque étape du processus, à savoir le repérage rapide des problèmes, l’inclusion, les avis scientifiques objectifs, et l’ouverture et la transparence.

Demandes d’avis scientifiques

Entre 2013-2014 et 2017-2018, 49% des 1 247 demandes d’avis scientifiques soumises au SCCS ont été incluses dans le calendrier des avis scientifiques au cours de l’année même de la soumission ou au cours des années suivantes, à mesure que les ressources ou les données nécessaires à l’élaboration des avis scientifiques étaient disponibles.

Parmi les divers secteurs clients ayant soumis des demandes d’avis scientifiques, les secteurs qui ont connu le plus grand écart entre le nombre de demandes soumises et le nombre de demandes traitées étaient la Gestion des océans, les Espèces en péril, le Programme de protection des pêches et l’Aquaculture.

Inclusion et conflit d’intérêts

Inclusion

73% des clients et des utilisateurs finaux du SCCS estiment que les examens par des pairs du SCCS comportent un éventail approprié de perspectives pour appuyer l’élaboration d’avis scientifiques. Les intervenants du SCCS se demandent toutefois si seuls des scientifiques ou des personnes ayant une formation scientifique devraient participer aux examens par des pairs, ou si les examens devraient inclure davantage de participants de l’industrie, du milieu universitaire, des collectivités autochtones et des organisations non gouvernementales.

Conflit d'intérêts

Bien que le président du comité d’examen par des pairs du SCCS soit responsable de l’atténuation des conflits d’intérêts, les pratiques exemplaires révèlent que des politiques ou des lignes directrices solides en matière de conflits d’intérêts sont également importantes. À l’heure actuelle, le SCCS n’a pas de politique sur les conflits d’intérêts ni de lignes directrices générales, et il est craint que des groupes d’intervenants externes (p. ex. industrie, organisations non gouvernementales) qui participent au processus du SCCS tentent d’utiliser ce processus pour faire avancer leur propre programme.

Taux de conformité des soumissions et des publications

Sur les 1 022 documents analysés dans la base de données des publications, 77% (n = 787) ont été publiés, 21% (n = 215) n’ont pas encore été soumis pour publication et 2% (n = 20) ont été soumis mais pas encore publiés

Les avis scientifiques et les documents de recherche présentaient les plus faibles taux de conformité des soumissions

Les avis scientifiques et les réponses des Sciences présentaient les plus faibles taux de conformité des publications

Recommandations

Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe, Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans:
  1. Élabore des mécanismes à l’appui de la normalisation des communications officielles entre les scientifiques de SEO et les clients du SCCS à chaque étape du processus consultatif scientifique.
  2. Mette en œuvre un calendrier pluriannuel d’avis scientifiques dans le cadre du processus d’avis scientifiques du SCCS afin d’appuyer le respect du principe des ASEG en matière de repérage rapide des enjeux et d’atténuer certains des problèmes qui ont une incidence sur la mesure dans laquelle le SCCS peut répondre aux demandes d’avis scientifiques.
  3. Élabore des lignes directrices claires pour appuyer l’opérationnalisation du principe des ASEG relatif à l’inclusion
  4. Élabore une politique sur les conflits d’intérêts afin d’appuyer le respect du principe des ASEG en matière d’avis scientifiques objectifs dotés de lignes directrices claires concernant les rôles et les responsabilités des participants aux examens par les pairs, y compris le président.
  5. Examine les échéanciers cibles et élabore des mécanismes pour accroître les taux de conformité pour la soumission et la publication des documents du SCCS.

Pour lire la totalité de l'évaluation, consultez le site Web Évaluation du MPO: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-fra.htm