Evaluation of Science Funding Summary

NOTE: The Evaluation of Science Funding summary has an alternative format that uses graphics and visuals, and which is available in PDF format: PDF version.


ABOUT THE PROGRAMS

The Ecosystem and Oceans Sciences sector has 16 funding programs where internal scientists can apply for O&M budgets to conduct research on a variety of topics that support the department’s objectives. The funds are allocated through competitive, targeted competitive or directed calls for proposals and exist alongside other Ecosystem and Oceans Science core research programs. In 2017-18, the total actual O&M expenditures for the programs were estimated to be $15,789,178.


ABOUT THE EVALUATION

The evaluation was conducted from April 2018 to February 2019. It assessed the efficiency of the 16 science funding programs and Gender-based Analysis Plus was used as an analytical tool to examine whether any groups are under-represented paying particular attention to the number of female scientists applying for and receiving funding. Evidence was gathered from interviews with 46 internal and external individuals, a document review, process mapping, administrative data analysis, three surveys (applicants, review committee members and end-users of research) and a literature review.


KEY FINDINGS

Efficiency of the funding cycle

Good practices exist within each of the funding programs and at the various stages of the funding cycle; however, collectively the programs are not implemented in a consistent manner leading to overall inefficiencies. There is widespread support across the Ecosystems and Oceans Science sector for changes that would improve the efficiency of how the programs are delivered.

An internal review of the competitive funding programs conducted in 2018 generated many suggestions for improvements. Respondents to both the applicants survey and the survey of review committee members were asked to rank ideas from the review. Results of the surveys are presented below. As shown, there was strong support for improvements that standardize tools and processes.

The top ranked activities that would address inefficiencies in the application process (n=261) were:

68% said “Create a common calendar for call for proposals and review committee shared across each of the funding programs.”

65% said “Develop standardized application tools and templates across the O&M funding programs.”

The top ranked activities that would improve oversight and administration (n=251) were:

71% said “Establish clearer criteria for the type of funding approach being used to distribute the O&M research budgets (e.g. competitive or directed).”

63% said “Develop a mechanism to rank the priorities across programs.”

As ranked by respondents to the survey of review committee members only, the top activities that would address inefficiencies in the review process (n=52)* were:

75% said “Develop a consistent approach to review proposals across the funding programs for the committees.”

56% said “Develop a standardized scoring approach used by regional and national review committees.”

The top ranked activities that would improve communication (n=254) were:

74% said “Create an annual call for research proposals that is circulated to all DFO science staff.”

69% said “Develop a template for fund information, including information on the processes, fund description, overall objectives/goals.”

There is support for the use of both competitive and directed models for the solicitation of proposals. Eligible applicants, however, want more communication about the rationale behind using one model over another.

Satisfaction of clients of the programs

Internal Fisheries and Oceans Canada clients who use the research produced through the programs expressed low levels of satisfaction regarding how they are consulted in priority-setting exercises noting that priorities are not reflected in the projects that are funded or the final research results. They were also dissatisfied with the way in which final research results are communicated to them; some informants noted they do not always get results back. End-users commented that to address both these issues, there are opportunities to improve engagement at key points in the funding cycle.

The following are responses to the survey of end-users:

48% are not satisfied/partly satisfied with the degree to which they are consulted in the priority-setting exercises compared to 6% who are more than/very satisfied.

49% are not satisfied /partly satisfied with the way in which research results are communicated to them compared to 11% who are more than/very satisfied.

As shown in the figure below, there are opportunities for improved client engagement at various stages in the funding cycle.


Level of effort associated with funding programs

Respondents to the survey of researchers/scientists (n=173) reported a total of 4,374 days in 2017-18 dedicated to administration, developing proposals and reporting for the funding programs. When the total number of days reported by respondents to the applicants survey is converted to salary dollars, the value of researchers’ time is estimated to range between $1.4M to $1.9M for the 2017-18 fiscal year. Respondents to the review committee survey (n=53) reported a total of 518 days in 2017-18 dedicated to assessing letters of intent, applications or other aspects of the funding programs.

Gender-Based Analysis Plus is an analytical tool that was used to examine the success rate of female scientists applying for and receiving funding. Additional identity factors were explored to see if there were any barriers or challenges for certain groups of scientists accessing the funds. The findings of these analyses are presented below.

Success rate of female researchers

For a sample of 524 projects matched to administrative data, analysis showed that although more males applied to the funding programs, and the proportion of women that applied and the proportion that were successful were equal.



In total, male scientists received $43, 081,519 and female applicants received $27,092,847. On average, successful female applicants received 85 cents for every dollar received by their male counterparts.

Perceived barriers

There are few perceived barriers related to gender, official language, ethnicity, age and geographic location. There is a perception that career status can be a barrier to accessing funds. To help reduce any perceived barriers, best practices could be implemented and staff roles and responsibilities could be clarified as they pertain to supporting equity and diversity in the allocation of the funds.

Impact of communication practices

The piecemeal approach to communicating about funding opportunities could represent the greatest barrier to equitable access to the 16 funding programs. One third of respondents to the applicant survey indicated that the process to make them aware of calls for proposals and funds available is not transparent (33% not at all or to limited extent).




RECOMMENDATIONS

1 - It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystem and Oceans Science transform the overall research funding allocation process. Consideration should be given to streamlining and developing a model aimed at increasing overall efficiencies across EOS’ research universe.

2 - It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystem and Oceans Science adjust the funding allocation and research processes to increase client engagement at key touchpoints. Improved engagement with end-users should help better align research projects with their needs. It will also allow for information and research progress to be communicated to clients at key points in the process, including at the end when research results are available.

3 - It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystem and Oceans Science standardize communication about funding opportunities in the sector across the funding programs to reduce real and/or perceived inequities in how eligible scientists receive information. While there is wide support for the use of both directed and competitive solicitation of research proposals, better communication about the rationale of choosing one funding model over the other, including inviting a particular group of scientists over others, would improve overall transparency.

For the full evaluation, visit the DFO Evaluation website: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-eng.htm

ÉVALUATION DU FINANCEMENT DU SECTEUR DES SCIENCES SOMMAIRE

NOTE: L’évaluation du financement du secteur des sciences sommaire a un document visuel qui présente l’information ci-dessous. La version visuelle est disponible en PDF : la version PDF.


À PROPOS DU PROGRAMME

Le Secteur des sciences des écosystèmes et des océans compte 16 programmes de financement dans le cadre desquels des scientifiques internes peuvent demander des budgets de fonctionnement et d’entretien (F et E) pour mener des recherches sur divers sujets qui appuient les objectifs du Ministère. Les fonds sont alloués au moyen d’appels de propositions concurrentiels, ciblés ou directs et sont offerts parallèlement à d’autres programmes de recherche de base en sciences des écosystèmes et des océans. En 2017-2018, les dépenses réelles totales en F et E pour l’ensemble des programmes ont été estimées à 15 789 178 $.


À PROPOS DE L’ÉVALUATION

L’évaluation a été réalisée d’avril 2018 à février 2019. Elle a permis d’évaluer l’efficacité des 16 programmes de financement, et l’Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus a servi d’outil d’analyse pour déterminer si certains groupes sont sous-représentés, en accordant une attention particulière au nombre de femmes scientifiques qui demandent et reçoivent des fonds. Des données ont été recueillies à partir d’entrevues avec 46 personnes à l’interne et à l’externe, d’un examen de documents, d’une cartographie des processus, d’une analyse des données administratives, de trois sondages (demandeurs, membres des comité d’examen, et utilisateurs finaux de la recherche) ainsi que d’une analyse documentaire.


CONCLUSIONS PRINCIPALES

Efficacité du cycle de financement

Il existe de bonnes pratiques dans chacun des programmes de financement et aux diverses étapes du cycle de financement. Cependant, dans l’ensemble, les programmes ne sont pas mis en œuvre de façon uniforme, ce qui se traduit par un manque général d’efficacité. La majorité du Secteur des sciences des écosystèmes et des océans appuie les changements qui amélioreraient l’efficacité de l’exécution des programmes.

Un examen interne des programmes de financement concurrentiels mené en 2018 a donné lieu à de nombreuses suggestions d’amélioration. Les répondants du sondage auprès des demandeurs et du sondage auprès des membres du comité d’examen ont attribué une cote aux idées découlant de l’examen. Les résultats du sondage sont présentés ci-après. Comme le démontrent les résultats, les participants étaient fortement en faveur d’améliorations visant à normaliser les outils et les processus :

Les principales activités qui permettraient de régler les problèmes d’efficacité du processus de demande (n = 261) étaient les suivantes :

68% on dit « Créer un calendrier commun pour les appels de propositions et un comité d’examen accessible à tous les programmes de financement ».

65% on dit « Mettre au point des outils de demande normalisés et des modèles pour tous les programmes de financement de F et E ».

Les principales activités qui permettraient d’améliorer la surveillance et l’administration (n = 251) étaient les suivantes :

71% on dit « Établir des critères plus clairs quant au type d’approche de financement utilisé pour répartir les budgets de recherche de F et E (p. ex. approche concurrentielle ou dirigée) ».

63% on dit « Établir un mécanisme pour classer les priorités parmi les programmes ».

Selon les membres du comité d’examen seulement, les principales activités qui permettraient de régler les problèmes d’efficacité du processus d’examen (n = 52)* étaient les suivantes :

75% on dit « Élaborer une approche uniforme, applicable à tous les programmes de financement, pour les comités ».

56% on dit « Élaborer une approche uniforme de notation qui serait utilisée par tous les comités d’examen régionaux et nationaux ».

Les principales activités qui permettraient d’améliorer les communications (n = 254) étaient les suivantes :

74% on dit « Créer un appel annuel de propositions en matière de recherche, mis en circulation parmi tout le personnel du Secteur des sciences de Pêches et Océans Canada ».

69% on dit « Élaborer un modèle pour l’information financière, qui comprend l’information sur les processus de financement, la description des fonds, et les objectifs globaux ».

Il y a un appui concernant l’utilisation des modèles concurrentiels et dirigés pour les demandes de propositions. Toutefois, les demandeurs admissibles veulent une meilleure communication sur la justification de l’utilisation d’un modèle plutôt que d’un autre.

Satisfaction des clients des programmes

Les clients internes de Pêches et Océans Canada qui utilisent la recherche produite dans le cadre des programmes se sont dits peu satisfaits de la façon dont ils sont consultés dans le cadre des exercices d’établissement des priorités, en mentionnant que les priorités ne sont pas reflétées dans les projets financés ni dans les résultats finaux de la recherche. Ils étaient également insatisfaits de la manière dont les résultats finaux de la recherche leur étaient communiqués; certains informateurs ont fait remarquer qu’ils n’obtiennent pas toujours les résultats après la recherche. Les utilisateurs finaux ont fait remarquer que pour régler ces deux questions, il est possible d’améliorer l’engagement à des moments clés du cycle de financement.

Les résultats suivant proviennent du sondage des clients et des utilisateurs finaux :

48% sont peu satisfaits ou insatisfaits du degré de consultation dans les exercices d’établissement des priorités, comparativement à 6 % qui sont plus que satisfaits ou très satisfaits.

49% sont peu satisfaits ou insatisfaits de la manière dont les résultats de recherche sont communiqués, comparativement à 11 % qui sont plus que satisfaits ou très satisfaits.

Tel qu’illustré dans la figure suivante, il existe des opportunités pour améliorer l’engagement avec les clients à différentes étapes du cycle de financement.


Niveau d’effort associé aux programmes de financement

Les répondants au sondage auprès des chercheurs/scientifiques (n = 173) ont déclaré avoir consacré 4 374 jours en 2017-2018 à l’administration, à l’élaboration de propositions et à la production de rapports pour les programmes de financement. Lorsque le nombre total de jours déclarés par les répondants au sondage auprès des demandeurs est converti en salaires, la valeur du temps des chercheurs est estimée à entre 1,4 M$ et 1,9 M$ pour l’année financière 2017-2018. Les répondants au sondage auprès du comité d’examen (n = 53) ont indiqué avoir consacré un total de 518 jours en 2017-2018 pour évaluer des lettres d’intention, des demandes ou d’autres aspects des programmes de financement.

L’Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus est un outil d’analyse qui a servi à examiner le taux de réussite des femmes scientifiques qui demandent et reçoivent du financement. D’autres facteurs identitaires ont été explorés pour vérifier s’il y avait des obstacles ou des difficultés pour certains groupes de scientifiques à obtenir des fonds. Les résultats de ces analyses sont présentés ci-dessous.

Taux de réussite des femmes scientifiques

Pour un échantillon de 524 projets jumelés à des données administratives, l’analyse a démontré que, même si un plus grand nombre d’hommes ont présenté une demande aux programmes de financement, la proportion de femmes qui ont présenté une demande et la proportion qui ont réussi à obtenir des fonds étaient égales.



Au total, les hommes scientifiques ont reçu 43 081 519 $ et les femmes scientifiques ont reçu 27 092 847 $. En moyenne, les femmes dont la demande a été acceptée ont reçu 85 cents pour chaque dollar de recherche reçu par leurs homologues masculins.

Obstacles perçus

Il y a peu d’obstacles perçus liés au sexe, à la langue officielle, à l’origine ethnique, à l’âge et à la situation géographique. Les gens ont l’impression que le statut professionnel peut constituer un obstacle à l’accès aux fonds. Afin d’aider à réduire les obstacles perçus, des pratiques exemplaires pourraient être mises en œuvre et les rôles et responsabilités du personnel pourraient être clarifiés, car cela aiderait à assurer l’équité et la diversité dans l’affectation des fonds.

Impact des pratiques de communication

L’approche fragmentaire de la communication au sujet des possibilités de financement pourrait représenter le plus grand obstacle à l’accès aux 16 programmes de financement. Un tiers des répondants au sondage auprès des demandeurs ont indiqué que le processus visant à les informer des appels de propositions et des fonds disponibles n’est pas transparent (33 % ont répondu pas du tout ou dans une faible mesure).




RECOMMANDATIONS

1 - Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe, Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans, transforme le processus global d’affectation des fonds de recherche. Il faudrait envisager de rationaliser et d’élaborer un modèle visant à accroître l’efficacité globale de l’univers de recherche de Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans.

2 - Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe, Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans ajuste l’affectation des fonds et les processus de recherche afin d’accroître la participation des clients à des points principaux de contact. Un meilleur engagement auprès des utilisateurs finaux devrait aider à mieux harmoniser les projets de recherche avec leurs besoins. Cela permettra également de communiquer l’information et les progrès de la recherche aux clients à des étapes clés du processus, y compris à la fin lorsque les résultats de la recherche sont disponibles.

3 - Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe, Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans uniformise la communication sur les possibilités de financement dans le secteur pour l’ensemble des programmes de financement afin de réduire les inégalités réelles ou perçues dans la façon dont les scientifiques reçoivent les renseignements. Bien qu’il y ait un large appui pour le recours à la fois de la sollicitation dirigée et concurrentielle de propositions de recherche, une meilleure communication au sujet de la justification du choix d’un modèle de financement plutôt que de l’autre, y compris l’invitation d’un groupe particulier de scientifiques plutôt que d’autres, améliorerait la transparence générale.

 

Pour lire la totalité de l'évaluation, consultez le site Web Évaluation du MPO : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-fra.htm