RESULTS AT A GLANCE - MARCH 2017

Evaluation of the Marine Communications and Traffic Services Program


The Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) Program is a national program delivered by the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), which contributes to the safe and efficient navigation of vessels in Canadian waterways; the protection of the marine environment; and the safety of life at sea. MCTS officers provide vessel traffic services to vessels transiting selected Canadian ports and waterways; and marine safety information to all mariners in Canadian waters 24-hours per day, seven days a week. The program works closely with a number of partners from the CCG (Search and Rescue Services, Environmental Response Services) and federal government (Transport Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada). The program’s mandate is derived from several federal acts (the Constitution Act, 1867, the Oceans Act, 1996 and the Canada Shipping Act, 2001) and international conventions, including the Safety of Life at Sea Convention and the International Association of Marine Aids to Navigation and Lighthouse Authorities’ standards.

WHAT THE EVALUATION FOUND


Marine Communications and Traffic Services Program − Key Findings


➣  

Canadian legislation and commitments to international conventions support a continued need for MCTS information and services.

➣  

MCTS information and services play a key role in supporting the marine transportation sector. The need for MCTS support will continue to increase in response to an increased demand for data and higher public expectations for enhanced safety and protection, stemming from the increased volume and traffic of vessels worldwide. Despite technological advancements, the need for MCTS as a key component of the Canadian marine safety system is unlikely to decrease in the near future. MCTS is required by law to coordinate all communications in the case of marine safety incidents, in order to ensure the quickest and most effective response to exceptional marine occurrences and Search and Rescue incidents.

➣  

The MCTS program adequately addresses the current needs of users, and provides the support they need to ensure their safe transit of Canadian waters. The program’s efforts to maintain its relevance and responsiveness to users’ needs in future would benefit from increased engagement and communication with its external clients and internal partners; and the development of a long-term, forward-looking vision.

➣  

In Canada, it is appropriate for the federal government to deliver the MCTS program. By providing vessel traffic and safety functions through one government program, MCTS has access to all relevant data sources, and can deliver the most comprehensive picture of the marine situational environment at any given moment. Currently, no feasible alternative leads exist for delivering MCTS services.

➣  

MCTS clients and internal CCG partners are satisfied with the quality of the program’s information and services, which are timely, accurate and accessible. No significant changes were found in the quality of the MCTS services in the past five years, despite the transformations undergone by the program in this time. The few gaps in service quality that were perceived by survey respondents were associated with the Consolidation and Modernization project. Minor quality issues that were identified appear to be transitory in nature and will likely be resolved once the adaptation of the program and staff to the new operational environment is fully completed.

➣  

The MCTS program completed the major modernization of its technological systems and the consolidation of its centres, while maintaining its provision of services with almost no impact to mariners. The program is now well-positioned to respond to evolving demands for services.

➣  

The MCTS program reduced its total expenditures and number of Full-Time Equivalents positions over the last five years, while maintaining the same level of service. However, over the last two years there was an increase in the salary overtime costs, mainly as a result of the increased need for on-the-job training and re-certification of officers for new locations after the consolidation of the operations.

➣  

Under-staffing of MCTS centres is the primary factor affecting the efficiency and economy of the program. Understaffing has caused a number of challenges for the program, which the Consolidation and Modernization project exacerbated. In November 2016 there was a staffing gap of 42.5 Full-Time Equivalents, which will increase in the next few years. The MCTS program will need to work with the CCG College to develop a long-term strategic staffing plan for the program.

➣  

Marine Weather Broadcasting is a long-time service delivered by MCTS to mariners. In most areas this service duplicates the work of Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC); however, in the Arctic and in some other areas of Canada, ECCC broadcasting is unavailable due to technological limitations. There is an opportunity for MCTS to reassess this service, in cooperation with ECCC, and to investigate whether any duplication of federal resources exists.

➣  

The MCTS program is currently implementing a national quality management system, which is expected to improve the national coherence of the program, ensure a high quality of service, and better clarify the roles and responsibilities between National Headquarters and the regions.

RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. It is recommended that the Deputy Commissioner, Operations develop and implement a sustainable staffing strategy to address the short, medium, and long-term staffing needs of the program.

  2. It is recommended that the Deputy Commissioner, Operations consult with Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) to investigate whether there is any duplication in weather broadcasting services delivered by MCTS and ECCC; if duplication exists, it is recommended that this be addressed jointly.

  3. It is recommended that the Deputy Commissioner, Operations pursue the implementation of the national quality management system to ensure that MCTS operational guidelines and procedures are standardized and applied nationally.

ABOUT THIS EVALUATION

This report presents the results of the evaluation of CCG MCTS Program. In 2015-16, actual program expenditures were $38.7 million. The evaluation covers the five-year period from fiscal years 2011-12 through 2015-16 and was conducted by Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Evaluation Directorate. This is the first evaluation of the MCTS Program. The evaluation took into consideration the significant transformation undergone by the program during the implementation of the Consolidation and Modernization project between 2011 and 2016. For more information about this evaluation and its findings, please consult the Evaluation of the Marine Communications and Traffic Services Program report, including the Management Action Plan, accessible online at http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-eng.htm

APERÇU DES RÉSULTATS - MARS 2017

Évaluation du programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes


Le programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) est un programme national offert par la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). Il contribue à garantir une navigation sûre et efficace dans les voies navigables canadiennes, à protéger le milieu marin et à sauvegarder la vie humaine en mer. Les officiers des SCTM offrent des services du trafic maritime aux navires en transit dans certains ports et voies navigables du Canada, et fournissent de l’information sur la sécurité maritime à tous les navigateurs dans les eaux canadiennes 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept. Le programme travaille en étroite collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires provenant notamment de la GCC (Services de recherche et sauvetage, Services d’intervention environnementale) et du gouvernement du Canada (Transports Canada, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada [ECCC]). Le mandat du programme découle de plusieurs lois fédérales (la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, la Loi sur les océans de 1996 et la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada) et des conventions internationales, dont la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer et les normes de l’Association internationale de signalisation maritime.

CE QUE L’ÉVALUATION A RÉVÉLÉ


Programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes – Constatations principales


➣  

En raison des lois et des engagements du Canada à l’égard des conventions internationales, l’information et les services des SCTM répondent à un besoin continu.

➣  

L’information et les services des SCTM jouent un rôle important dans le secteur du transport maritime. Le soutien des SCTM sera de plus en plus sollicité, car les demandes de renseignements sont en hausse et les attentes du public au sujet de la sécurité et de la protection sont de plus en plus élevées, un phénomène résultant de l’augmentation du volume de navires et du trafic maritime à travers le monde. En dépit des avancées technologiques, l’importance des SCTM comme élément clé du système de sécurité maritime canadien ne devrait pas diminuer dans un proche avenir. Dans le but d’optimiser la rapidité et l’efficacité des interventions lors d’événements marins exceptionnels et d’opérations de recherche et de sauvetage, la loi oblige les SCTM à coordonner l’ensemble des communications en cas d’incident lié à la sécurité maritime.

➣  

Le programme des SCTM répond adéquatement aux besoins de ses utilisateurs et offre le soutien nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité de leur passage dans les eaux canadiennes. Pour conserver sa pertinence et continuer de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs, le programme pourrait bénéficier d’une plus grande mobilisation de ses clients externes et de ses partenaires internes, et des communications accrues auprès de ceux-ci, ainsi que de l’élaboration d’un plan axé sur l’avenir.

➣  

Au Canada, il convient pour le gouvernement fédéral d’offrir le programme des SCTM. En centralisant les services relatifs à la navigation et à la sécurité des navires dans un programme fédéral, les SCTM ont accès à toutes les sources de renseignements pertinentes et sont en mesure de dresser un portrait complet de l’environnement maritime, quel que soit l’endroit et le moment. À l’heure actuelle, aucune autre option réaliste n’existe pour la prestation des services des SCTM.

➣  

Les clients des SCTM et les partenaires internes de la GCC sont satisfaits de la qualité de l’information et des services fournis par le programme qu’ils estiment rapides, précis et accessibles. En ce qui concerne la qualité des services offerts par les SCTM durant les cinq dernières années, malgré les transformations dont le programme a fait l’objet durant cette période, il n’y a pas de changements notables. Selon les répondants du sondage, les seules lacunes soulevées en matière de qualité de service concernent le projet de consolidation et de modernisation. Les quelques problèmes de qualité soulevés semblent liés à la transition et devraient être réglés une fois que le programme et le personnel se seront adaptés au nouveau milieu opérationnel.

➣  

Le programme des SCTM a achevé la modernisation des systèmes technologiques et la fusion de ses centres tout en continuant d’offrir ses services sans incidence notable pour les navigateurs. Le programme est maintenant en mesure de répondre aux demandes de services en constante évolution.

➣  

Le programme a réduit ses dépenses totales et le nombre de postes d’équivalents temps plein au cours des cinq dernières années, tout en maintenant le même niveau de service. Toutefois, au cours des deux dernières années, on a observé une augmentation des coûts des salaires liés aux heures supplémentaires, principalement en raison d’un besoin croissant de formations en cours d’emploi et de renouvellements des certificats des officiers relocalisés après le regroupement des opérations.

➣  

Le manque d’effectifs aux centres des SCTM est le facteur ayant la plus grande incidence sur l’efficacité et la rentabilité du programme. Ce manque d’effectifs a causé un certain nombre de problèmes que le projet de consolidation et de modernisation n’a fait qu’accentuer. En novembre 2016, il manquait 42,5 équivalents temps plein, et ce nombre augmentera dans les prochaines années. Les SCTM devront travailler de concert avec le Collège de la GCC afin d’élaborer un plan stratégique de dotation à long terme pour le programme.

➣  

La radiodiffusion de la météo maritime est l’un service que les SCTM offrent depuis longtemps aux navigateurs. Dans la plupart des zones, ce service est un dédoublement du travail d’ECCC; toutefois, dans l’Arctique et dans certaines autres zones du Canada, les contraintes technologiques empêchent la diffusion des bulletins d’ECCC. Il serait judicieux pour les SCTM de réévaluer ce service, en collaboration avec ECCC afin de repérer les dédoublements éventuels des ressources fédérales.

➣  

Le programme des SCTM introduit actuellement un système national de gestion de la qualité, ce qui devrait permettre d’améliorer la cohérence du programme à l’échelle nationale, d’assurer la qualité de service, et de mieux préciser les rôles et responsabilités répartis entre l’Administration centrale nationale et les régions.

RECOMMANDATIONS

  1. Il est recommandé que le sous-commissaire, Opérations veille à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie de dotation durable pour combler les besoins du programme à court, moyen et long termes.

  2. Il est recommandé que le sous-commissaire, Opérations consulte Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC), afin de vérifier s’il y a un dédoublement de la radiodiffusion de la météo maritime assurées par les SCTM et ECCC. Le cas échéant, il est recommandé de régler la question conjointement.

  3. Il est recommandé que le sous-commissaire, Opérations poursuivre la mise en œuvre du système national de gestion de la qualité, afin d’assurer l’uniformité et l’application des lignes directrices et des procédures opérationnelles des SCTM à l’échelle nationale.

À PROPOS DE L’ÉVALUATION

Le rapport présente les résultats de l’évaluation du programme des SCTM de la GCC. En 2015-2016, les dépenses réelles du programme s’élèvent à 39 millions de dollars. L’évaluation couvre la période de cinq ans de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016 et a été menée par la Direction de l’évaluation de Pêches et Océans Canada. Il s’agit de la première évaluation du programme des SCTM. L’évaluation tient compte de la transformation importante dont le programme a fait l’objet durant la mise en œuvre du projet de consolidation et de modernisation entre 2011 et 2016. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’évaluation et ses constatations, veuillez consulter l’Évaluation du programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes incluant le Plan d’action de la gestion accessibles en ligne à l’adresse http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ae-ve/evaluations-fra.htm