FISHERIES AND OCEANS CANADA

Management Action Plan:

Evaluation Recommendations

Evaluation of The Clean Air Agenda Adaptation Theme:
Aquatic Climate Change Adaptation Services Program

ECOSYSTEMS AND OCEANS SCIENCE SECTOR
PROJECT NUMBER 6B168


 

Submitted for Approval to PMEC: March 2, 2017

MAP Completion Date: March 2018

 

Revised Completion Date:

 

1st Status Update:

2nd Status Update:

3rd Status Update:

4th Status Update:

 

Recommendation 1

Rationale: There is an opportunity to increase engagement with new and existing stakeholders. Not all stakeholder groups are considered to be adequately represented and not all opportunities to benefit from the involvement of specific stakeholder groups are currently being leveraged. As well, some respondents expressed difficulty finding products and/or feel that adaptation activities are not well advertised among target audiences.

 

Recommendation 1: Expand engagement and increase awareness among new and existing stakeholder groups of information, products, or activities stemming from adaptation programming.

Strategy

The Aquatic Climate Change Adaptation Services Program (ACCASP) will undertake engagement activities to increase awareness and make the information about the program and the results of the science activities, more readily available to stakeholders and in an accessible format.

Management Actions

Due Date (by end of month)

Status Update:  Completed / On Target  / Revised Date and Reason for Change

Output

Redesign of the layout and content of the current ACCASP website which portrays layers of information at national, regional, and sub-regional geographic scales.

January 2018

 

 

 

Recommendation 2

Rationale: There is a lack of awareness at the working level of activities taking place or progress made in other program elements toward the achievement of outcomes. While some coordination and collaboration among program elements has been occurring, there is an opportunity to increase information sharing and collaboration, including sharing of best practices, tools, and lessons learned, among federal and non-federal partner organizations involved in climate change adaptation programming. 

 

Recommendation 2: Review mechanisms for collaboration and information sharing among program elements, as well as other federal and non-federal program partners, in order to leverage best practices and resources, and avoid duplication.   

Strategy

In order to improve information sharing and among federal programs, NRCan created the Interdepartmental Directors Adaptation Coordination Committee (IDACC) in February 2016 on which DFO participates. The IDACC provides an on-going mechanism for exchange of information among federal departments on program directions, discussion of cross-cutting issues and policy development. In addition, NRCan created the Adaptation Platform to bring together the knowledge, capacity and financial resources required to effectively and efficiently address adaptation priorities, and to ensure the results of that work are broadly accessible to end users. It provides a venue for all members (e.g. FPT partners and external participants) to collaborate on projects and exchange information on activities and best practices.

 

Management Actions

Due Date (by end of month)

Status Update:  Completed / On Target  / Revised Date and Reason for Change

Output

Participate on the IDACC

February 2016

 

 

Membership on the Adaptation Platform

 

Participate in Adaptation Platform Plenary (Fall 2016)

 

 

 

Recommendation 3

Rationale: No evidence was found that the Theme-level Performance Measurement Framework (PMF) is being used regularly for decision-making. While some relevant performance data is being collected and reported, a lack of data on the effects of activities at a community or population level was identified. Opportunities for improvement related to increased data collection and analysis, including, for example, the collection of pre and post data at the targeted community/sector and general public levels, and analysis of output utilization and its impact.

 

Recommendation 3: Improve the existing theme-level performance measurement regime to better track and report on progress toward intended results. This regime should take into account existing performance data capture and reporting strategies, identify meaningful targets and clear data sources, and be aligned to higher-level performance reporting.

Strategy

A logic model and performance measurement framework for the Adaptation Theme was in place, and performance data was being collected and reported by the various program elements through means such as corporate reporting. Currently DFO is implementing the Treasury Board Policy on Results launched July 1, 2016. The objective of the new policy is to improve the achievement of results across government and enhance the understanding of the results that the government seeks to achieve, what it actually achieves, and the resources used to achieve them. Stronger outcomes, indicators, data systems, targets, data collection and performance reporting are being reviewed, revised and improved within the department. The new policy will strengthen the culture of measurement, evaluation and innovation in program and policy design and delivery.

Management Actions

Due Date (by end of month)

Status Update:  Completed / On Target  / Revised Date and Reason for Change

Output

The DFO Aquatic Climate Change Adaptation Services Program will identify stronger performance information in order to monitor and measure results as they relate to effects of its programming activities and contribute to the Horizontal Management Framework for Clean Growth and Climate Change (led by ECCC) which contains information on outcome targets and data sources.  

Input to Horizontal Framework Provided in January 2017

 

 

 

Recommendation 4

Rationale: Approved funding for the Adaptation Theme included both new funding from Treasury Board and funding from the existing reference levels of some of the involved organizations. Not all organizations within the Adaptation Theme were able to provide expenditure details for existing funding. This in turn precluded a detailed analysis of the financial information across the Adaptation Theme program elements.

 

Recommendation 4: In collaboration with the Chief Financial Officer, define and implement formal mechanisms to consistently track and report financial information for both new and existing funding allocated for the initiative. These mechanisms should be in place early in the programming in order to demonstrate accountability and support financial analyses of efficiency and economy.

Strategy

The program will collaborate with the Chief Financial Officer (DFO) to ensure financial information (on all new and existing funding) is tracked. 

Management Actions

Due Date (by end of month)

Status Update:  Completed / On Target  / Revised Date and Reason for Change

Output

The program will develop ACCASP program-specific project codes to ensure accurate and accessible expenditure information

 

Implemented in Fiscal Year 2016/17

PÊCHES ET OCÉANS CANADA

Plan d'action de gestion :

Recommandations découlant de l'évaluation


Programme des services d’adaptation aux changements climatiques en milieu aquatique

Évaluation du thème Adaptation du Programme de la qualité de l'air :

SECTEUR DES SCIENCES DES ÉCOSYSTÈMES ET DES OCÉANS (SSEO)
Nº de projet : 6B168


 

Date de présentation au CÉM aux fins d'approbation :      Le 2 mars 2017

Date d’achèvement du PAG : Mars 2018

 

Date d'achèvement révisée :

1re mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement :

2e mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement :  

3e mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement :

4e mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement :

 

Recommandation no 1

Justification : Il est possible de rehausser l'engagement des intervenants nouveaux et existants. Ce ne sont pas tous les groupes d'intervenants qui sont suffisamment représentés et, par conséquent, ce ne sont pas toutes les occasions qui bénéficient de la participation de groupes d'intervenants particuliers. De plus, certains répondants ont exprimé de la difficulté à trouver des produits, ou jugent que les activités d'adaptation ne sont pas bien diffusées auprès du public cible.

 

Recommandation 1 : Élargir l'engagement et sensibiliser davantage les groupes d'intervenants nouveaux et existants au sujet des renseignements, des produits ou des activités provenant de la programmation des services d’adaptation.

Stratégie

Les intervenants du Programme des services d'adaptation aux changements climatiques en milieu aquatique (PSACCMA) entreprendront des activités de mobilisation qui permettront d'accroître la sensibilisation et de rendre l'information sur le programme et les résultats des activités scientifiques plus facilement disponibles et accessibles aux parties intéressées.

Mesures de gestion

Date d’échéance (avant la fin du mois)

Mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement : Terminé / Sur la bonne voie / Date révisée et raison de la modification

Produit

Nouvelle conception du plan d'ensemble et du contenu du site Web actuel du PSACCMA, lequel dépeint les couches d'information aux échelons géographiques national, régionaux et sous-régionaux.

Janvier 2018

 

 

 

Recommandation no 2

Justification : Il y a un manque de sensibilisation au niveau opérationnel concernant les activités qui se déroulent ou les progrès réalisés dans d'autres éléments du programme en ce qui a trait aux résultats souhaités. Bien qu'il y ait déjà une certaine coordination et collaboration entre les éléments du programme, il y a lieu d'augmenter l'échange de renseignements et la collaboration, y compris l'échange des pratiques exemplaires, des outils et des leçons apprises, entre les organisations fédérales et non fédérales partenaires qui participent à la programmation des services d'adaptation aux changements climatiques. 

Recommandation 2: Étudier les mécanismes de collaboration et d'échange de renseignements entre les éléments du programme, ainsi que les organisations fédérales et non fédérales partenaires, dans le but de tirer parti des pratiques exemplaires et des ressources, et d'éviter le dédoublement.   

Stratégie

Afin d'améliorer le partage de l'information entre les programmes fédéraux, Ressources naturelles Canada a mis sur pied, en février 2016, un Comité de coordination interministériel des directeurs responsables de l'adaptation (CCIDRA), un comité auquel Pêches et Océans Canada participe. Le CCIDRA offre un mécanisme continu pour l'échange d'information entre les ministères fédéraux au sujet de l'orientation des programmes, des enjeux communs et de l'élaboration des politiques. De plus, RNCan a créé la Plateforme d'adaptation a été créée afin de rassembler les connaissances, la capacité et les ressources financières nécessaires pour répondre de manière efficace et efficiente aux priorités en matière d'adaptation, et afin d'assurer que les résultats de ces travaux sont largement accessibles aux utilisateurs finaux. Il s'agit d'une tribune grâce à laquelle tous les membres (p. ex. les partenaires FPT et les participants externes) peuvent collaborer sur des projets et échanger des renseignements sur les activités et les pratiques exemplaires.

Mesures de gestion

Date d’échéance (avant la fin du mois)

Mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement : Terminé / Sur la bonne voie / Date révisée et raison de la modification

Produit

Membre du comité de coordination interministériel des directeurs responsables de l'adaptation

Février 2016

 

 

Membre du comité à l'assemblée plénière sur la plateforme d'adaptation

Participation à l'assemblée plénière sur la plateforme d'adaptation (automne 2016)

 

 

 

 

 

Recommandation 3

Justification : Rien n’indique que le Cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) est utilisé régulièrement pour la prise de décisions. Bien que certaines données pertinentes sur le rendement soient présentement recueillies et déclarées, on a constaté un manque de données sur les effets des activités au niveau de la communauté ou de la population. Des possibilités d’amélioration en rapport avec une augmentation de la collecte et de l'analyse de données, y compris, par exemple, la collecte de données avant et après provenant de la communauté et du secteur ciblés et du grand public, et l'analyse de l'utilisation des résultats et de ses impacts.

 

Recommandation 3: Améliorer le régime de mesure du rendement  incluant tous les sous-thèmes du PSACCMA,  dans le but de produire des rapports de rendement en vue d'obtenir les résultats escomptés. Ce régime devrait tenir compte des stratégies existantes de saisie et de production de rapports sur les données de rendement, déterminer des cibles significatives et des sources de données claires, et s'harmoniser avec la production de rapports de haut niveau sur le rendement.

Stratégie

Un modèle logique et un cadre de mesure du rendement pour le thème de l'adaptation étaient en place, et les données sur le rendement ont été recueillies et diffusées par les différents volets du programme, par des moyens comme le service des rapports généraux. Actuellement, le MPO met en œuvre la Politique sur les résultats du Conseil du Trésor, laquelle a été lancée le 1er juillet 2016. Cette nouvelle politique a pour objectifs d'améliorer l'atteinte des résultats à l'échelle du gouvernement et d'améliorer la compréhension des résultats que le gouvernement cherche à atteindre ou ceux qu'il atteint, et des ressources utilisées pour les atteindre. Au sein du Ministère, on examine, on révise et on améliore la solidité des résultats, les indicateurs, les systèmes de données, les cibles, la collecte des données et les rapports sur le rendement. La nouvelle politique renforcera la culture de la mesure, de l'évaluation et de l'innovation dans la conception et la prestation des programmes et des politiques.

Mesures de gestion

Date d’échéance (avant la fin du mois)

Mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement : Terminé / Sur la bonne voie / Date révisée et raison de la modification

Produit

Les intervenants du PSACCMA du MPO relèveront l'information sur le rendement la plus solide possible en vue de surveiller et de mesurer les résultats tels qu'ils sont liés aux effets des activités du programme et tels qu'ils contribuent au cadre de gestion horizontal portant sur la croissance propre et le changement climatique (dirigé par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada [ECCC]), lequel renferme des renseignements sur les résultats visés et les sources de données.  

Commentaires partagés vis-à-vis du cadre horizontal

Fourni en janvier 2017

 

 

 

Recommandation 4

Justification : Le financement approuvé pour le thème Adaptation comprenait un nouveau financement de la part du Conseil du Trésor, et un financement provenant des niveaux de référence existants des organisations concernées. Ce ne sont pas toutes les organisations visées par le thème Adaptation qui ont été en mesure de fournir les détails de leurs dépenses pour le financement existant. Par conséquent, il n'a pas été possible de procéder à une analyse approfondie des renseignements financiers sur tous les éléments du programme thème Adaptation.

 

Recommandation 4: En collaboration avec le dirigeant principal des finances, définir et mettre en place des mécanismes formels dans le but de suivre et déclarer systématiquement les renseignements financiers, en ce qui concerne le financement nouveau et existant attribué à cette initiative. Ces mécanismes devraient être en place au début de la programmation dans le but de faire preuve de gestion responsable et d'appuyer une analyse financière de l'efficacité et de la rentabilité.

Stratégie

Les intervenants du programme collaboreront avec le dirigeant principal des finances du MPO pour faire en sorte que l'information financière (concernant tous les financements, actuels et nouveaux) soit facilement suivie. 

Mesures de gestion

Date d’échéance (avant la fin du mois)

Mise à jour sur l'état d'avancement : Terminé / Sur la bonne voie / Date révisée et raison de la modification

Produit

Les intervenants du programme élaboreront des codes de projet propres au PSACCMA pour faire en sorte que l'on dispose de renseignements exacts et accessibles sur les dépenses.

Mise en œuvre durant l'exercice financier 2016/2017