Aquatic invasive species: Management action plan

Aquatic invasive species: Management action plan
(PDF, 154 KB)

Reports of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development

Report 1 – Aquatic invasive species
Date: Spring 2019

The complete version of Report 1 – Aquatic invasive species from the Spring 2019 Reports of Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development.

Report 1 – Aquatic invasive species - Spring 2019
Commissioner’s recommendations Departmental response to recommendations Actions taken to date to address recommendations Offices of primary interest
Recommendation 1.36:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop and implement a coherent approach to determine which biological and socio-economic risk assessments are needed and conduct them.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada is currently developing a systematic approach for determining which biological and socio-economic risk assessments should be conducted, and will build on previously developed screening tools. Risks assessments will be undertaken based on capacity. By March 31, 2021, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will develop, in consultation with partners, a systematic approach to determine which biological and socio-economic risk assessments are needed. A national committee comprised of science representatives from each region will be established to identify resources, needs and prioritize requests for biological risk assessments. Co-led by the Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Input from the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy
Recommendation 1.40:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop or coordinate a national database or platform that would allow it and stakeholders to track and share information about species introductions and spread. This information would help the Department make informed decisions about where to focus its resources for prevention and monitoring activities.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada agrees to develop or coordinate a national data platform, which could inform the Department’s decision making for resource allocation and management activities.

In order to truly capture a national picture, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will have to rely on provinces, territories, and other partners and stakeholders to share or to freely allow access to their data and information, particularly for areas where the Department has not previously conducted research or monitoring.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will prepare and assess options for the creation of a data platform by March 31, 2022. Actions may include:
  • Intra-departmental discussions to determine data needs, review best practices and examine feasibility and costs; and
  • Intergovernmental and inter-departmental discussions to determine stakeholder needs and capacity to contribute.
Assistant Deputy Minister Aquatic Ecosystems

Input from the Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Recommendation 1.53:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop and implement a science-based process to identify the species, pathways, or areas to include in the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will develop a listing process for adding new species under Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations. This will be done in close collaboration with provinces and territories through the National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee. The listing process will incorporate scientific information, including results from screening-level, biological and socio-economic risk analyses, as well as, cost-benefit analyses required under Canada’s Regulatory Process. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will develop a listing process for national endorsement by the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers by March 31, 2021. The process will identify and nominate species for addition to the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations and will incorporate science and socio-economic considerations. Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems
Recommendation 1.56:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should consult the provinces and territories to clarify roles and responsibilities for preventing the introduction and spread of aquatic invasive species, including freshwater plants.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to meet regularly with provincial and territorial governments to discuss our respective roles and responsibilities, including freshwater invasive plants. For example, the Department is currently discussing a formal agreement with the Province of British Columbia regarding the management of freshwater and marine invasive species in that province. In New Brunswick, the Department has initiated discussions around roles and responsibilities for freshwater invasive species with the hope of establishing a formal agreement. Further, by collaborating with provinces and territories through the National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee, the Department has the opportunity to facilitate discussions and maintain strong working relationships.

While Fisheries and Oceans Canada is the lead for managing aquatic invasive species in Canada, it is a shared responsibility across numerous federal departments, including but not limited to Environment and Climate Change Canada, Parks Canada, Transport Canada, Health Canada’s Pest Management Regulatory Agency, National Defence, and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will consult with provinces and territories to clarify roles and responsibilities, including for freshwater plants, by March 31, 2020, and assess the need for formal or informal agreements delineating roles and responsibilities. Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems
Recommendation 1.59:
In consultation with the provinces, territories and other partners, Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop and communicate a strategy to guide its resource allocation decisions, so that it can prevent the establishment of aquatic invasive species.
The Budget 2017 announcement to prevent the introduction and spread of aquatic invasive species provided some direction for resource allocation. Funding increases incrementally over five years and includes a total of thirteen new program staff across the country and seven new fishery officers to be deployed to Central & Arctic and Québec regions by 2020/2021, aligning with the priority in our Minister’s mandate letter to increase the protection of freshwater resources in the Great Lakes, St. Lawrence River, and Lake Winnipeg basins. However, as funding was significantly less than our identified needs, we will make risk-based decisions regarding the resources allocated to protect fish and fish habitat from aquatic invasive species.

As the implementation and enforcement of the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations is a responsibility shared by the federal and provincial governments, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to engage provinces, territories, and other partners through the National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee and other appropriate means.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will draft a strategy to help guide resource allocation, informed by the Canadian Action Plan to Address the Threat of Aquatic Invasive Species, and present it to the National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee by December 31, 2019 Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Input from the Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management
Recommendation 1.73:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should analyze and fill gaps in its enforcement of the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations, including:
  • developing and implementing a national strategy to enforce the Regulations, and
  • working with the Canada Border Services Agency to address risks associated with watercraft and prohibited imports.
Budget 2017 allocated $43.8 million over five years to prevent the introduction and spread of aquatic invasive species. Under this initiative, enforcement capacity will be increased by a total of seven new fishery officers (four in 2019/2020 and three in 2020/2021), who will be deployed to Central & Arctic and to the Quebec region in a manner that reflects alignment with the priority in our Minister’s mandate letter to increase the protection of freshwater resources in the Great Lakes, St. Lawrence River, and Lake Winnipeg basins. To ensure the efficient use of these limited resources, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will develop a strategy for verifying compliance and enforcing the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to work with the Canada Border Services Agency and through the National Aquatic Invasive Species Committee.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will draft a national enforcement strategy by September 30, 2019. This includes the following ongoing and planned actions:
  • Establish an Aquatic Invasive Species Enforcement Working Group.
  • Engage the Aquatic Invasive Species Enforcement Working Group, the Aquatic Invasive Species Program and other relevant partners in developing the Aquatic Invasive Species Enforcement Strategy.
  • Complete draft for the Aquatic Invasive Species Enforcement Strategy.
  • Submit Enforcement Strategy draft for approval by senior management.
  • Launch of the Strategy by September 30, 2019.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management

Input from the Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems
Recommendation 1.76:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canada Border Services Agency should develop and implement the procedures, tools, and training that border services officers need to assist in enforcing the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations. The Department should also do this for fishery officers and fishery guardians.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canada Border Services Agency will work collaboratively to continue to develop and implement tools to support fishery and border services officers in enforcing the  Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada provided training to its fishery officers when the Regulations came into force in 2015. Additional information was further provided as part of the officers’ annual training. The Department is developing enhanced training on the Regulations for border services officers and will also develop procedures, tools, and training for its fishery officers by March 31, 2020.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will complete the following ongoing and planned actions by the deadline of March 31, 2020:
  • Initiate discussions and brainstorm within Conservation and Protection regions, and Aquatic Invasive Species Core Program, and with Canada Border Services Agency.
  • Develop a process that clarifies the roles and responsibilities of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Canada Border Services Agency to implement the import prohibition in the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations.
  • Develop material on aquatic invasive species to be used in fishery officer cadet training in the fall of 2019.
  • Launch new aquatic invasive species online training for fishery officers.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management

Input from the Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems
Recommendation 1.88:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop response plans for species that have a high risk of becoming established and causing environmental or economic impacts, or for areas where there is a high risk of this occurring.
Early detection and response are critical for preventing the establishment and spread of aquatic invasive species in Canadian waters. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has identified the development of response plans for high-risk species and areas as a priority.

The Department will review and build upon the science-based Canadian Rapid Response Framework for Aquatic Invasive Species (2011) to develop a national response strategy to guide regional plans. In accordance with these frameworks and informed by on-going monitoring and early detection activities, each region will develop response plans adapted to their respective high-risk species or areas, which is critical for responding effectively to emergency situations. The successes of the Asian Carp Program and the development and implementation of the Department’s Strategic Response Plan will inform the development of response plans in other regions.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will draft a national response strategy by December 31, 2019. A Response Plan Task Team has been established to develop the strategy, from which regional plans can be developed. Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes: Plan d’action de la gestion

Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes: Plan d’action de la gestion
(PDF, 167 Ko)

Rapports de la commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durableRapport 1 — Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Printemps 2019


Veuillez cliquer ici pour la version complète du: Rapport 1 – Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes - Rapports de la commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable.


Rapport 1 – Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes - Printemps 2019
Recommandations de la Commissaire Réponse ministérielle au rapport Mesures prises à ce jour pour donner suite aux recommandations Bureaux de première responsabilité
Recommandation 1.36 :
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait définir et mettre en œuvre une approche cohérente pour déterminer les évaluations des risques biologiques et socioéconomiques qui sont nécessaires, et les réaliser.
Pêches et Océans Canada élabore actuellement une approche systématique pour déterminer quelles évaluations des risques biologiques et des risques socioéconomiques devraient être effectuées. De plus, le Ministère s’appuiera sur les outils d’évaluation préalable développés précédemment. Les évaluations des risques seront entreprises en fonction de la capacité. D’ici le 31 mars 2021, Pêches et Océans Canada élaborera, en consultation avec ses partenaires, une approche systématique pour déterminer quelles évaluations des risques biologiques et socio-économiques sont nécessaires. Un comité de représentants régionaux du Secteur des sciences sera mis sur pied pour déterminer les ressources, les besoins et l’ordre de priorité des demandes d’évaluation des risques biologiques. Co-dirigé par le sous-ministre adjoint, Sciences des Écosystèmes et des Océans, et le sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques

Contribution du sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politique stratégique
Recommandation 1.40:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait établir et coordonner une base de données ou une plateforme nationale qui permettrait au Ministère et aux parties prenantes de surveiller et de mettre en commun l’information sur l’introduction et la propagation des espèces. Cette information devrait aider le Ministère à prendre des décisions éclairées sur l’affectation de ses ressources aux activités de prévention et de suivi.
Pêches et Océans Canada souscrit à l’élaboration et à la coordination d’une plateforme de données nationale qui pourrait orienter les prises de décision du Ministère concernant l’affectation des ressources et les activités de gestion.

Pour brosser un véritable portrait national, Pêches et Océans Canada devra compter sur les provinces, territoires et autres partenaires et intervenants qui transmettront leurs données et renseignements et en permettront l’accès, particulièrement dans les domaines où le Ministère n’a pas déjà mené de recherches ou réalisé une surveillance.
Pêches et Océans Canada préparera et évaluera différentes options pour la création d’une plateforme de données d’ici le 31 mars 2022. Les mesures pourraient comprendre :
  • des discussions intraministérielles pour déterminer les besoins en matière de données, examiner les pratiques exemplaires et évaluer la faisabilité et les coûts;
  • des discussions intergouvernementales et interministérielles pour déterminer les besoins des intervenants et leur capacité de contribution.
Sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques

Contribution du sous-ministre adjoint, Sciences des Écosystèmes et des Océans
Recommandation 1.53:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait élaborer et mettre en œuvre un processus qui repose sur des données scientifiques pour déterminer les espèces, les voies d’entrée ou les zones qui devraient être visées par le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
Pêches et Océans Canada élaborera un processus d’inscription pour l’ajout de nouvelles espèces en vertu du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Ce travail sera réalisé en étroite collaboration avec les provinces et territoires par l’intermédiaire du Comité national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Le processus d’inscription comprendra des renseignements scientifiques, notamment les évaluations préalables des résultats d’analyses de risques biologiques et socioéconomiques, ainsi que les analyses coûts/avantages exigées en vertu du processus réglementaire du Canada. Pêches et Océans Canada élaborera un processus d’inscription en vue d’une approbation nationale par le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture d’ici le 31 mars 2021. Ce processus servira à cerner et désigner des espèces à ajouter au Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, et tiendra compte de facteurs scientifiques et socioéconomiques. Sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques
Recommandation 1.56:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait consulter les provinces et les territoires pour préciser les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun en vue de prévenir l’introduction et la propagation d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes, y compris les plantes d’eau douce.
Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de rencontrer régulièrement les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux pour discuter des rôles et responsabilités de chacun, notamment en ce qui concerne les plantes envahissantes d’eau douce. Par exemple, le Ministère discute actuellement d’un accord officiel avec la Colombie-Britannique concernant la gestion des espèces envahissantes d’eau douce et de mer dans cette province. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le Ministère a entamé des discussions sur les rôles et responsabilités concernant les espèces envahissantes d’eau douce dans l’espoir de conclure un accord officiel. De plus, en collaborant avec les provinces et territoires par l’intermédiaire du Comité national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, le Ministère a l’occasion de faciliter les discussions et de maintenir de solides relations de travail.

Bien que Pêches et Océans Canada soit responsable de la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes au Canada, cette responsabilité est partagée par de nombreux ministères et organismes fédéraux, notamment Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, Parcs Canada, Transports Canada, l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada, la Défense nationale et l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments.
Pêches et Océans Canada consultera les provinces et les territoires afin de préciser les rôles et les responsabilités, notamment en ce qui concerne les plantes d’eau douce, d’ici le 31 mars 2020. Il évaluera également la nécessité d’établir des ententes officielles ou non officielles pour définir les rôles et les responsabilités. Sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques
Recommandation 1.59:
De concert avec les provinces, les territoires et les autres parties prenantes, Pêches et Océans Canada devrait définir et diffuser une stratégie pour guider ses décisions d’allocation des ressources dans le but de prévenir l’établissement d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
L’annonce du budget de 2017 visant à prévenir l’introduction et la propagation d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes a permis de mieux orienter l’affectation des ressources. Le financement augmente progressivement sur cinq ans et comprend un total de 13 nouveaux employés affectés au programme à travers le pays et de 7 nouveaux agents des pêches à être déployés dans la région du Centre et de l’Arctique ainsi que dans la région du Québec d’ici l’exercice 2020-2021. Cette augmentation cadre avec la priorité de la lettre de mandat du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne qui consiste à accroître la protection des ressources en eau douce dans les bassins des Grands Lacs, du Saint-Laurent et du lac Winnipeg. Cependant, comme le financement était nettement inférieur aux besoins déterminés de Pêches et Océans Canada, le Ministère prendra des décisions en fonction des risques concernant les ressources allouées à la protection du poisson et de l’habitat du poisson contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Puisque la mise en œuvre et l’application du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes sont une responsabilité partagée des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de mobiliser les provinces, territoires et autres partenaires par le biais du Comité national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes et d’autres moyens appropriés.
Pêches et Océans Canada rédigera une stratégie pour aider à orienter l'affectation des ressources, en s’inspirant du Plan d’action canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, et la présentera au Comité national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes d’ici le 31 décembre 2019. Sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques

Contribution du sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêches et des ports
Recommandation 1.73:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait analyser ses activités d’application du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes et combler toute lacune relevée. Il devrait notamment :
  • définir et mettre en œuvre une stratégie nationale d’application du Règlement;
  • collaborer avec l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour maîtriser les risques posés par les embarcations et par les importations interdites.
Dans le budget de 2017, 43,8 millions de dollars sur cinq ans ont été alloués pour empêcher l’introduction et la propagation d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, sept nouveaux agents des pêches seront mis en poste (quatre en 2019-2020 et trois en 2020-2021). Ces agents seront déployés dans la région du Centre et de l’Arctique et dans la région du Québec, ce qui cadre avec la priorité de la lettre de mandat du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne qui consiste à augmenter la protection des ressources en eau douce dans les bassins des Grands Lacs, du Saint-Laurent et du lac Winnipeg. Pour assurer l’utilisation efficace de ces ressources limitées, Pêches et Océans Canada élaborera une stratégie de vérification de la conformité et d’application du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Pêches et Océans Canada poursuivra sa collaboration avec l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et continuera de travailler par l’intermédiaire du Comité national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
Pêches et Océans Canada rédigera une stratégie nationale de mise en application d’ici le 30 septembre 2019. Celle-ci comprend les mesures en cours et planifiées suivantes :
  • Établir un groupe de travail sur l’application de la loi concernant les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
  • Mobiliser les membres du groupe de travail sur l’application de la loi concernant les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, du Programme sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes et d’autres partenaires pertinents afin d’élaborer la Stratégie d’application de la loi concernant les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
  • Achever l’ébauche de la Stratégie d’application de la loi concernant les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
  • Soumettre l’ébauche de la Stratégie d’application de la loi à la haute direction aux fins d’approbation.
  • Lancer la Stratégie d’ici le 30 septembre 2019.
Sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêches et des ports

Contribution du sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques
Recommandation 1.76:
Pêches et Océans Canada et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada devraient élaborer et mettre en œuvre les procédures, les outils et la formation dont les agents des services frontaliers ont besoin pour les aider à faire appliquer le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Le Ministère devrait aussi faire de même pour les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche.
Pêches et Océans Canada et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada collaboreront afin de continuer à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des outils pour aider les agents des services de pêche et des services frontaliers à appliquer le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Pêches et Océans Canada a fourni une formation pour ses agents de pêche lorsque le Règlement est entré en vigueur en 2015. Des informations supplémentaires ont également été fournies dans le cadre de la formation annuelle des agents. Le Ministère élabore une formation améliorée sur le Règlement pour les agents des services frontaliers. Il élaborera également des procédures, des outils et une formation pour les agents de pêche d’ici le 31 mars 2020.
Pêches et Océans Canada prendra les mesures suivantes, en cours et prévues, d’ici le 31 mars 2020 :
  • Amorcer des discussions et un remue-méninges au sein des régions de Conservation et Protection, du Programme de base sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes et de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.
  • Élaborer un processus qui clarifie les rôles et les responsabilités de Pêches et Océans Canada et de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour mettre en œuvre l’interdiction d’importation prévue dans le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
  • Élaborer de la documentation sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes qui sera utilisée pour la formation des élèves-officiers des pêches à l’automne 2019.
  • Lancer une nouvelle formation en ligne sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes à l’intention des agents des pêches.
Sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêches et des ports

Contribution sous-ministre adjoint, Sciences des Écosystèmes et des Océans
Recommandation 1.88:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait définir des plans d’intervention rapide pour les espèces qui présentent un risque élevé de s’établir au Canada et d’avoir des effets néfastes sur l’environnement et l’économie, ou pour les régions qui sont les plus exposées à ce risqué.
La détection précoce et l’intervention sont essentielles afin de prévenir l’établissement et la propagation d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans les eaux canadiennes. Pêches et Océans Canada a établi comme étant prioritaire l’élaboration de plans d’intervention pour les espèces et zones à risque élevé.

Le Ministère examinera le Cadre canadien d’Intervention rapide contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes (2011) fondé sur des données scientifiques, et s’appuiera sur ce Cadre, afin d’élaborer une stratégie d’intervention nationale pour encadrer les plans régionaux. Conformément à ces cadres et aux activités de surveillance et de détection précoce en cours, chaque région préparera des plans d’intervention adaptés à ses espèces ou ses zones à risque élevé respectives, une activité essentielle pour faire face avec efficacité à des situations d’urgence. Les succès du programme sur la carpe asiatique et l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du plan d’intervention stratégique du Ministère serviront à l’élaboration de plans d’intervention dans d’autres régions.
Pêches et Océans Canada rédigera une stratégie nationale d’intervention d’ici le 31 décembre 2019. Une équipe de travail sur le plan d'intervention a été mise sur pied pour élaborer la stratégie, à partir de laquelle des plans régionaux pourront à leur tour être élaborés. Sous-ministre adjoint, Écosystèmes aquatiques