Language selection

Search

Management action plan

Reports of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development

Report 1 – Salmon farming
Date: Spring 2018


The complete Report 1—Salmon farming from the 2018 Spring Reports of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development to the Parliament of Canada.


Commissioner’s recommendations Departmental response to recommendations Actions taken to date to address recommendations Offices of primary interest
Recommendation 1.28:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should conduct its planned disease risk assessments by 2020 to increase its knowledge of the effects of aquaculture on wild salmon, as it committed to doing in its response to the Cohen Commission report.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will deliver disease risk assessments, as planned, by the September 2020 deadline specified in the Cohen Commission report. This is an important analysis and initiative that will deliver on aquaculture-related recommendations made by Justice Cohen, and it is aligned with delivering on the Minister’s mandate letter. A plan has been developed to deliver the remaining nine individual peer-reviewed disease risk assessments, as well as a peer-reviewed risk assessment of the synthesis of the risk to Fraser River Sockeye salmon from pathogens that have caused disease on Atlantic Salmon farms in the Discovery Islands, prior to September 2020.

In April 2018, a workshop was held to discuss risk assessments for four diseases related to bacterial pathogens that cause systemic infections. Working papers for the peer-review process have been completed for these four disease risk assessments, a steering committee was struck, and the peer-review meeting for these four risk assessments took place November 6-8, 2018.

Planning and preparation for a fifth peer-reviewed disease risk assessment in early 2019 is underway.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Recommendation 1.46:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency should clarify their roles and responsibilities for managing emerging disease risks to mitigate the potential impacts of salmon farming on wild fish.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to work collaboratively with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the federal lead for managing diseases of both farmed and wild fish, to clarify roles and responsibilities for managing emerging diseases and agree on the most efficient and effective method for sharing information on fish health. The Department will work with the Agency to establish a formal process to discuss, assess, and share information on emerging diseases of interest to either government entity. This process will help to clarify the government response and framework for the assessment of risk for emerging diseases to mitigate any potential impacts to wild fish. This formal process will be implemented by April 2019. The draft policy is on target for final approval and implementation by the Agency and Department in April 2019.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) established an interdepartmental working group in May 2018 to clarify their respective roles and responsibilities regarding the federal management of emerging diseases of fish in Canada.

The working group is currently finalizing a draft joint policy on the management of emerging diseases. This draft policy will outline the formation of an interdepartmental committee that would be responsible for monitoring and evaluating emerging infectious diseases, identifying impacts on susceptible aquatic species, evaluating the requirement for federal controls, and providing recommendations on oversight and management controls.

The proposed committee would also provide the mechanism to ensure appropriate response coordination between the CFIA and DFO to effectively manage emerging diseases to protect wild fish.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Recommendation 1.50:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should determine and communicate how it applies the precautionary approach to managing aquaculture when there is uncertainty about the effects of aquaculture on wild fish. The Department should also clearly articulate the level of risk to wild fish that it accepts when enabling the aquaculture industry.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to apply the precautionary approach according to the Government of Canada’s framework on precaution. The Department applies the precautionary approach where appropriate, as a subcomponent within an overall decision-making approach, to deal with risks of serious or irreversible harm even with significant scientific uncertainty. Even when a particular activity is deemed “low” risk, lack of full scientific certainty shall not be used to postpone mitigation measures to prevent further potential environmental degradation. The Department will clearly communicate how it applies the precautionary approach to management decisions (for example, on the Department’s website).

To support this, the Department conducts research to characterize how individual species, populations, and communities respond to a range of stressors, including aquaculture. This research informs management decision making concerning establishment or refinement of thresholds to protect at-risk ecosystem functions and valued components.

The Department will further explore options, building on best practices in the current pathway of effects framework, to more clearly articulate, by March 2019, how precaution and the application of risk assessments inform departmental decision making.
The Department is on track to complete this process by the proposed deadline of March 2019.

The Department has developed a draft Framework for Aquaculture Risk Management, which incorporates the precautionary approach. We are currently undertaking an intradepartmental review of the draft Framework.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Recommendation 1.61:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should establish thresholds for the deposit of drugs and pesticides into net pens to more effectively minimize harm to wild fish.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will undertake further analysis and continue to work with its provincial and territorial partners, Environment and Climate Change Canada, and Health Canada to improve the protections provided by the Aquaculture Activities Regulations.

The ongoing interdepartmental science review will provide advice on options for post-deposit monitoring of drugs and pesticides. This advice will inform planned regulatory changes to the Aquaculture Activities Regulations, beginning in 2020, as well as the need to develop and establish national thresholds.

Further, a “traffic light” decision tree will be developed by March 2020 to help address the potential cumulative impacts on wild fish from the deposit of pesticides and drugs into fish-bearing waters. In partnership with Health Canada and Environment and Climate Change Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be in a better position to determine under which oceanographic conditions pesticides should no longer be deposited (“red light”), areas and conditions under which risks are acceptable (“green light”), and areas where the use of such products need to be more carefully studied and controlled (“yellow light”).
The Department is on target to complete this initiative by the proposed deadline of March 2020.

The Department is working closely with Environment and Climate Change Canada, and Health Canada on an interdepartmental science review to provide advice on a drug and pesticide monitoring program. Workshops to plan research and an approach to delivery of advice were held in 2017 and 2018. Field sampling and sample analysis commenced in 2017 and is on-going.

An initial draft conceptual (traffic light) model for pesticide and drug deposits has been developed.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
Recommendation 1.63:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should develop and implement an approach to validate the accuracy of information that aquaculture companies report regarding their drug and pesticide deposits.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will perform an analysis and costing exercise by March 2019 to determine options for a risk-based auditing program, which would enable it to effectively validate information provided by aquaculture companies so the Department can confirm the use of drugs and pesticides. These options will be considered in future program redesign. A contractor has been hired to develop options for a risk-based auditing framework for information collected under the Aquaculture Activities Regulations. This work is on track for completion by March 2019. Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management
Recommendation 1.74:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should initiate discussions with its counterparts in the Atlantic provinces to address the quality and maintenance of equipment on salmon farms to prevent fish escapes.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will work with provincial and territorial regulatory partners, as well as international colleagues (for example, Norway), to explore national standards considering current expertise and experience within the aquaculture domain. This type of regulatory work is currently not addressed by existing programs within the Department and will require the development of program capacity in collaboration with provincial and territorial partners.

Through a feasibility study, the Department will initiate federal, provincial, and territorial discussions by December 2019 and study and potentially develop national standards regarding equipment quality and maintenance.
In May 2018, the Department initiated discussions on national standards with provincial and territorial partners under the umbrella of the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers. Discussions on containment standards were also initiated with federal counterparts in Norway, Scotland, and Chile.

The Department has also initiated an initial assessment of potential national containment standards (to be completed by February 2019). Provincial and territorial partners have been advised of this ongoing study and will review drafts as they become available. Federal, provincial, and territorial partners will discuss this final report early next year and explore the feasibility and potential development of national aquaculture standards on the quality and maintenance of equipment on salmon farms.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems

Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science

Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management
Recommendation 1.85:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should more effectively enforce aquaculture regulations and pursue additional enforcement measures.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will conduct an aquaculture-enforcement costing exercise by November 2019 to determine the full operational implications of enforcing aquaculture regulations in Canada.

An internal evaluation in 2015 recommended that the Department examine expected efficiencies associated with an expanded ticketing regime. As a result, an initial phase was approved to take a more consistent approach to minor fisheries offences by the commercial and recreational sectors. Further information on Phase Two of the process can be found on the Department’s website.

The Department is currently working to expand and update its ticketing regime so that aquaculture regulations are addressed.
The Department is on target to complete this initiative by the proposed deadline of November 2019.

DFO’s Conservation & Protection Branch (C&P) has prepared a detailed costing proposal to address the identified risks of noncompliance by the aquaculture industry.

C&P is proceeding with a regulatory amendment to expand the list of minor commercial and recreational fisheries violations. This will include violations that fail to comply with any aquaculture conditions of licence. Additional discussions to expand the regime are ongoing.

C&P’s National Fisheries Intelligence Service is developing internal capacity to analyze aquaculture issues and develop intelligence products to support more effective and targeted enforcement measures.

C&P has implemented operational service level agreements with Environment and Climate Change Canada to analyze aquaculture samples. Additional work is ongoing with other federal and provincial agencies with aquaculture oversight responsibilities to identify and promote a more coordinated and collective enforcement regime.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management
Recommendation 1.88:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada should provide timely public reports with detailed information on companies’ drug and pesticide deposits, and on the health of farmed fish in British Columbia.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to provide compliance information for use in production of the aquaculture compliance index as part of the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators.

In addition, the Department is currently examining options to publicly report information collected as part of the Aquaculture Activities Regulations, including mitigation measures used to reduce the impact on fish and fish habitat. These options will be finalized by June 2018.
The Department continues to report on compliance through the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy and the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicator reporting process.

The Department has begun publishing drug and pesticide data collected under the Aquaculture Activities Regulations. The data on our marine finfish and freshwater aquaculture sectors can be found on our website at http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/management-gestion/apr-rpa-reporting-eng.htm

The Department has updated and continues to publish its Fish Health report for the Pacific Region.
Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquatic Ecosystems
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Plan d’action de la gestion

Rapports de la commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable

Rapport 1– L'élevage du saumon
Date: Printemps 2018


La version complète du: Rapport 1– L'élevage du saumon du printemps 2018 - Rapports de la commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable.


Recommandations de la Commissaire Réponse ministérielle au rapport Mesures prises à ce jour pour donner suite aux recommandations Bureaux de première responsabilité
Recommandation 1.28:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait réaliser les évaluations des risques de maladie qu’il a prévues d’ici 2020 pour approfondir ses connaissances au sujet des effets de l’aquaculture sur le saumon sauvage, comme il s’est engagé à le faire dans sa réponse au rapport de la Commission Cohen.
Pêches et Océans Canada livrera les évaluations des risques de maladie, comme prévu, avant la date limite de septembre 2020 précisée dans le rapport de la Commission Cohen. Il s’agit d’une initiative et d’une analyse importantes qui permettront de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations relatives à l’aquaculture faites par le juge Cohen et qui sont harmonisées avec les engagements contenus dans la lettre de mandat du ministre. Un plan a été élaboré pour réaliser, avant septembre 2020, les neuf dernières évaluations examinées par les pairs des risques de maladie, ainsi qu’une évaluation, également examinée par les pairs, de la synthèse des risques posés par des agents pathogènes ayant causé des maladies dans les élevages de saumons de l’Atlantique des îles Discovery pour le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser.

En avril 2018, un atelier a eu lieu pour discuter de l’évaluation des risques de quatre maladies liées à des agents pathogènes bactériens qui causent des infections systémiques. Les documents de travail pour le processus d’examen par les pairs ont été préparés pour ces quatre évaluations des risques de maladies, un comité directeur a été formé et la réunion d’examen par les pairs pour ces quatre évaluations des risques a eu lieu du 6 au 8 novembre 2018.

La planification et la préparation d’une cinquième évaluation des risques de maladies examinée par les pairs, laquelle est prévue début de 2019, sont en cours.
Sous-ministre adjoint , Science des écosystèmes et des océans
Recommandation 1.46:
Pêches et Océans Canada et l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments devraient clarifier leurs rôles et responsabilités pour la gestion des risques de maladie émergente visant à atténuer les effets potentiels de l’élevage du saumon sur le poisson sauvage.
Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de travailler en collaboration avec l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, l’organisme fédéral responsable de la gestion des maladies des poissons d’élevage et sauvages, pour préciser les rôles et les responsabilités en matière de gestion des maladies émergentes et pour convenir de la méthode la plus efficace et efficiente de transmission des renseignements sur la santé des poissons. Le Ministère élaborera, avec l’Agence, un processus officiel de discussion, d’évaluation et de partage des renseignements sur les maladies émergentes d’intérêt à chacune des entités gouvernementales. Ce processus permettra de préciser la réponse et le cadre du gouvernement sur l’évaluation des risques de maladies émergentes visant à atténuer les impacts sur les poissons sauvages. Ce processus officiel sera mis en oeuvre d’ici avril 2019. L’ébauche de la politique est en voie d’être approuvée et mise en oeuvre par l’Agence et le Ministère en avril 2019.

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a mis sur pied un groupe de travail interministériel en mai 2018 pour clarifier leurs rôles et responsabilités respectifs concernant la gestion fédérale des maladies émergentes des poissons au Canada.

Le groupe de travail met actuellement la dernière main à un projet de politique conjointe sur la gestion des maladies émergentes. Cette politique décrira la création d’un comité interministériel chargé de surveiller et d’évaluer les maladies infectieuses émergentes, de déterminer les répercussions sur les espèces aquatiques sensibles, d’évaluer les besoins en matière de contrôles fédéraux et de formuler des recommandations sur la surveillance et les contrôles de gestion. Le comité proposé fournirait le mécanisme permettant d’assurer une coordination appropriée de l’intervention entre l’ACIA et le MPO pour gérer efficacement les maladies émergentes afin de protéger les poissons sauvages.
Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques

Sous-ministre adjoint , Science des écosystèmes et des océans
Recommandation 1.50:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait déterminer et communiquer comment il applique l’approche de précaution à la gestion de l’aquaculture, dans les cas où il existe une incertitude au sujet des effets de l’aquaculture sur le poisson sauvage. Le Ministère devrait également préciser le niveau de risque pour le poisson sauvage qu’il assume lorsqu’il facilite le développement de l’aquaculture.
Pêches et Océans Canada continuera d’appliquer une approche de précaution, conformément au Cadre d’application de la précaution du gouvernement du Canada. Le Ministère applique l’approche de précaution lorsqu’elle est appropriée, comme une sous-composante du processus de prise de décision, afin de gérer les risques de préjudice grave ou irréversible même en situation d’incertitude scientifique. Même lorsqu’une activité donnée est considérée comme étant à « faible » risque, l’absence de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être utilisée pour retarder les mesures d’atténuation visant à prévenir une plus grande dégradation environnementale. Le Ministère expliquera clairement comment il applique l’approche de précaution aux décisions de gestion (par exemple sur le site Web du Ministère).

Pour ce faire, le secteur des Sciences du Ministère effectue des recherches pour déterminer comment les espèces individuelles, les populations et les communautés réagissent à une gamme d’agents de stress, y compris l’aquaculture. Cette recherche permet d’éclairer la prise de décisions de gestion au sujet de la création ou de la précision des seuils pour protéger les fonctions des écosystèmes à risque et les composantes valorisées.

Le Ministère examinera d’autres options, en s’appuyant sur les pratiques exemplaires dans le cadre actuel des séquences d’effets, afin de formuler clairement, d’ici mars 2019, comment la précaution et l’application des évaluations des risques éclairent la prise de décision ministérielle.
Le ministère est en bonne voie de compléter ce processus dans les délais proposé d’ici mars 2019.

Le Ministère a élaboré une ébauche du Cadre de gestion des risques liés à l’aquaculture, qui intègre l’approche de précaution. Nous procédons actuellement à un examen intraministériel de l’ébauche du Cadre. Nous sommes en bonne voie d’achever ce processus d’ici la date limite proposée.
Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques


Sous-ministre adjoint , Science des écosystèmes et des océans
Recommandation 1.61:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait établir des seuils à respecter pour les médicaments et les pesticides immergés ou rejetés dans les parcs en filet afin de réduire plus efficacement le danger pour le poisson sauvage.
Pêches et Océans Canada entreprendra des analyses plus poussées et continuera à travailler avec ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et Santé Canada afin d’améliorer les protections prévues par le Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture.

L’examen scientifique interministériel continu permettra d’obtenir des avis sur les options de surveillance des médicaments et pesticides après le rejet. Ces conseils éclaireront la mise en oeuvre des changements prévus au Règlement, à compter de 2020, ainsi que la nécessité de définir et de mettre en place des seuils nationaux.

De plus, un arbre décisionnel de type « feu de circulation » sera élaboré d’ici mars 2020 pour évaluer les impacts cumulatifs potentiels sur les poissons sauvages du dépôt de pesticides et de médicaments dans les eaux où vivent des poissons. En partenariat avec Santé Canada et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le Ministère sera mieux placé pour déterminer dans quelles conditions océanographiques il faut interdire le dépôt de pesticides (« feu rouge »), les zones et les conditions où les risques sont acceptables (« feu vert ») et les zones où l’utilisation de tels produits doit être étudiée et contrôlée.
Le ministère est en bonne voie de compléter cette initiative dans les délais proposé d’ici mars 2020.

Le Ministère travaille en étroite collaboration avec Environnement et changements climatiques Canada et Santé Canada à un examen scientifique interministériel visant à fournir des conseils sur un programme de surveillance des médicaments et des pesticides. Des ateliers de planification de la recherche et d’une approche de prestation de conseils ont eu lieu en 2017 et 2018. L’échantillonnage sur le terrain et l’analyse des échantillons ont commencé en 2017 et se poursuivent.

Une première ébauche de modèle conceptuel (feu de circulation) pour les dépôts de pesticides et de médicaments a été élaborée. Nous sommes en bonne voie d’achever cette initiative d’ici la date limite proposée.
Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques

Sous-ministre adjoint , Science des écosystèmes et des océans
Recommandation 1.63:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait élaborer et mettre en oeuvre une approche de validation de l’exactitude de l’information reçue des entreprises aquacoles au sujet de leurs immersions ou rejets de médicaments et de pesticides.
Pêches et Océans Canada effectuera une analyse et un exercice de détermination des coûts d’ici mars 2019 pour un programme de vérification fondé sur les risques, qui lui permettrait de valider efficacement les renseignements fournis par les entreprises d’aquaculture afin de confirmer l’utilisation de médicaments et de pesticides. Ces options seront considérées lors d’une prochaine refonte du programme. Un entrepreneur a été embauché pour élaborer des options en vue d’un cadre de vérification axé sur le risque pour les renseignements recueillis en vertu du Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture. Ces travaux devraient être terminés d’ici mars 2019. Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques

Sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêchés et des ports
Recommandation 1.74:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait entreprendre des discussions avec ses homologues des provinces de l’Atlantique sur la question de la qualité et de l’entretien du matériel des élevages de saumon afin de prévenir les évasions de poissons.
Pêches et Océans Canada collaborera avec ses partenaires réglementaires provinciaux et territoriaux, de même qu’avec ses collègues internationaux (par exemple la Norvège), pour explorer l’établissement d’une norme nationale s’appuyant sur l’expertise et l’expérience actuelles en matière d’aquaculture. Actuellement, ce type de travaux de réglementation n’est pas prévu dans les programmes existants du Ministère et il lui faudra élargir ses capacités de programme en collaboration avec ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux.

Au moyen d’une étude de faisabilité, le Ministère entreprendra des discussions aux niveaux fédéral, provincial et territorial d’ici décembre 2019, et il étudiera et élaborera potentiellement une norme nationale sur la qualité et l’entretien du matériel.
En mai 2018, le Ministère a entamé des discussions sur les normes nationales avec ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux sous l’égide du Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture. Des discussions sur les normes de confinement ont également été entamées avec des homologues fédéraux en Norvège, en Écosse et au Chili.

Le Ministère a également entrepris une évaluation initiale des normes nationales potentielles de confinement (qui doit être terminée d’ici février 2019). Les partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux ont été informés de cette étude en cours et examineront les ébauches dès qu’elles seront disponibles. Les partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux discuteront de ce rapport final au début de l’année prochaine et examineront la faisabilité et l’élaboration éventuelle de normes nationales sur la qualité et l’entretien de l’équipement des fermes salmonicoles.
Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques

Sous-ministre adjoint , Science des écosystèmes et des océans

Sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêchés et des ports
Recommandation 1.85:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait assurer plus efficacement l’application des règlements en matière d’aquaculture et adopter d’autres mesures exécutoires telles que l’émission de contraventions.
Pêches et Océans Canada procédera à un exercice de détermination des coûts de l’application des règlements sur l’aquaculture d’ici novembre 2019 afin de connaître les répercussions opérationnelles de l’application des règlements sur l’aquaculture au Canada.

Une évaluation interne menée en 2015 recommandait que le Ministère examine les économies potentielles associées à un régime d’émission de contraventions élargi. Par conséquent, une étape initiale a donc été approuvée afin d’utiliser une approche plus cohérente pour les infractions mineures en matière de pêche dans les secteurs commercial et récréatif. D’autres renseignements sur la phase 2 du processus se trouvent sur le site Web du Ministère.

Le Ministère travaille à l’élargissement et à la mise à jour de son régime d’émission de contraventions afin de tenir compte des règlements sur l’aquaculture.
Le ministère est en bonne voie de compléter ce processus dans les délais proposé d’ici novembre 2019.

Direction de la Conservation et de la protection (C & P) du MPO a préparé une évaluation détaillée des coûts pour traiter les risques identifiés de non-conformité imputables à l’industrie aquacole.

Le Service national de renseignements sur les pêches de
C & P est en train de développer une capacité interne d’analyse des problèmes liés à l’aquaculture et de mettre au point des produits de renseignement permettant une plus grande efficacité et un meilleur ciblage des mesures d’application.

C & P a mis en place avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada des ententes de services opérationnels visant l'analyse des échantillons d'aquaculture. Des consultations sont en cours avec d'autres organismes fédéraux et provinciaux responsables de la surveillance de l'aquaculture, pour identifier et promouvoir un régime d'application de la loi mieux coordonné et plus collectif.
Sous-ministre adjoint, Gestion des pêchés et des ports
Recommandation 1.88:
Pêches et Océans Canada devrait publier en temps opportun des rapports contenant des données détaillées sur les immersions ou rejets de médicaments et de pesticides des entreprises, et sur la santé du poisson d’élevage en Colombie-Britannique.
Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de fournir des renseignements sur la conformité qui serviront à la production d’un indice de conformité des opérations d’aquaculture qui sera intégré aux Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement.

De plus, le Ministère examine présentement la possibilité de publier les renseignements recueillis conformément au Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture, y compris les mesures d’atténuation utilisées pour réduire les impacts sur le poisson et l’habitat du poisson. Cet examen sera terminé d’ici juin 2018.
Le Ministère continue de faire rapport sur la conformité au moyen de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et du processus de production de rapports sur l’indicateur canadien de la durabilité environnementale.

Le Ministère a commencé à publier les données sur les médicaments et les pesticides recueillies en vertu du Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture. Les données sur nos secteurs de la pisciculture marine et de l’aquaculture d’eau douce se trouvent sur notre site Web à l’adresse suivante : http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/management-gestion/apr-rpa-reporting-fra.htm.


Le Ministère a mis à jour et continue de publier son rapport sur la santé du poisson pour la région du Pacifique.
Sous-ministre adjoint, écosystèmes aquatiques
Date de modification :