Archived – Audit of the Academic Research Contribution Program

Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Project Number 6B201
Final Audit Report
JANUARY 7, 2010

Table of Contents

List of Acronyms

ARCP
Academic Research Contribution Program
DFO
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
NSDC
National Science Directors Committee
PAD
Program Approval Documentation
SSI
Science Strategies and Integration Directorate

 

1.0 Executive Summary

1.1 Introduction

The Academic Research Contribution Program (ARCP) was created to promote academic partnering as a means to enhance Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s (DFO) scientific capacity and to deliver its mandate. The Program is managed by the National Science Directors Committee (NSDC), which is comprised of the most senior managers in the Science sector.

1.2 Objectives and Scope

The objective of the audit engagement was to provide assurance that the ARCP management control framework is adequate in relation to selection of recipients and administration of the contribution program. The engagement did not assess account verification processes; therefore it did not provide assurance related to payment compliance.

The ARCP Program Approval Documentation (PAD) expires on March 31, 2010 and requires an internal audit prior to renewal. Recently, the ARCP processes and outcomes were examined, in a management review sponsored by the sector (April 2008) and a DFO evaluation (September 2009). The scope of the audit was designed to avoid duplication with work previously undertaken.

1.3 Statement of Assurance

In our opinion, the auditors have examined sufficient, relevant evidence and obtained sufficient information and explanations to provide sufficient assurance on the reported opinion or conclusions.

1.4 Summary of Observations and Recommendations

The ARCP has an adequate management control framework in place for the selection and approval of recipients. Processes for the administration of the Program are mostly in place and will benefit from implementing formal risk management practices.

The ARCP has responded well to various recommendations resulting from the management review and the DFO evaluation. The Program has made significant improvements to its management control framework. The ARCP is well positioned for renewal in 2010-11 and implementation of the following recommendation will strengthen the management of the Program:

  • The Assistant Deputy Minister, Science should integrate formal risk management practices into its management of the Academic Research Contribution Program. (Medium significance)

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Background

The ARCP supports DFO science priorities by funding academic research to augment knowledge of oceans, aquatic resources and maritime safety. Funding is provided to recognized Canadian post-secondary institutions, research networks and individuals involved with at least one recognized Canadian post-secondary institution. The objectives of the Program are:

  • to enhance DFO’s capacity to deliver its mandate through scientific research as well as its ability to meet future scientific challenges in areas relevant to science program and priorities;
  • to leverage DFO’s science capabilities through the sharing of academic resources and knowledge;
  • to support research and development programs intended to promote innovation in marine, freshwater, fisheries, and aquaculture industry sectors; and
  • to work with academia towards realizing Canada’s full potential in marine, freshwater, fisheries, and aquaculture research by building linkages to support and enhance the complementary strengths of government, and universities in Canada’s innovation system.

2.1.1 Program Funding

The PAD allows for the annual transfer of $600,000 from Vote 1 (Operating) to Vote 10 (Grants and Contributions). In addition, the PAD contains a provision to annually transfer up to an additional $1,000,000 from Vote 1, if required. The ARCP does not have any additional cost implications and funds are sourced from existing reference levels. The following table summarizes the actual expenditures of the ARCP from 2004-05 to 2008-09.

 

2004/05 2005/06 2006/07 2007/08 2008/09 Total

 

($) ($) ($) ($) ($) ($)
Actual expenditures

0

250,000

489,000

679,000

838,000

2,256,000

2.1.2 Governance

There are three main components in the ARCP governance structure: the NSDC manages the ARCP; Regional Science Directors and Directors General deliver and monitor individual contribution agreements; and the Science Strategies and Integration (SSI) Directorate provides administrative support. The NSDC is comprised of the most senior managers of the Science sector and is chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister, Science. NSDC approves applications, and addresses significant management issues. The ARCP has been a standing item at NSDC meetings since July 2008.

Top of page

2.2 Objectives and Scope

The objective of the audit engagement was to provide assurance that the ARCP management control framework is adequate in relation to selection of recipients and administration of the contribution program. The engagement focused on key controls in the context of the following two criteria:

  • There is a formal process in place to select and approve contribution recipients.
  • There are clear administrative procedures for the management of the Program.

The management review (April 2008) and the DFO evaluation (September 2009) examined the ARCP processes and outcomes. The following summarizes key observations:

  • The management review identified the need to enhance approval, monitoring and payment processes.
  • The DFO evaluation raised issues relating to selection of recipients and monitoring.

NSDC has responded positively to both the management review and the DFO evaluation. Sufficient time has not elapsed for full implementation of recommendations related to payment certification; therefore, this was excluded from the scope of the audit.

2.3 Methodology

The audit team carried out its engagement in accordance with the Government of Canada Internal Audit Standards, as set out in the Treasury Board Secretariat Policy on Internal Audit.  Key documentation was reviewed to develop an understanding of the Program (e.g. PAD, Risk-based Audit Framework and Results-based Management and Accountability Framework). The management review and the DFO evaluation, as well the processes implemented in response to the report recommendations, were analyzed. Program personnel were interviewed to understand key processes and to document their application.

Top of page

3.0 Observations and Recommendations

The ARCP has an adequate management control framework in place for the selection and approval of recipients.  Processes for the administration of the Program are mostly in place.  Implementing formal risk management practices will strengthen Program management.
 
To assist management in preparing its management action plan, the audit recommendation has been labeled according to the following three categories to reflect its degree of importance:

  • High significance – major control weaknesses and/or unacceptably high level of risk;
  • Medium significance – control weaknesses affecting operational efficiency and/or credibility; and
  • Low significance – control or process weaknesses contributing to inefficiency.

As the PAD expires March 31, 2010 and the Program is due for renewal, observations, recommendations, and the management action plan in this report have been developed to strengthen the Program.

3.1 Selecting and Approving Contribution Recipents

Strengthened selection and approval processes have been implemented.

To ensure transparency and fairness to all applicants, a contribution program should have processes in place to select and approve contribution recipients.

Prior to the DFO evaluation, the ARCP had an informal selection process in place. As well, there was an informal approval process in place prior to the management review.

The audit found evidence that the Program has implemented formal selection and approval processes. Utilizing a standard proposal template, applicants submit a proposal to Regional Science Directors or Directors General. In developing proposals, applicants may seek input from Regional Science Directors or Directors General. As required, SSI may also be called upon to provide advice on proposals. Utilizing the impact evaluation template, Regional Science Directors or Directors General assess proposals for impact on overall DFO science priorities. Applicant proposals as well impact evaluations completed by Regional Science Directors or Directors General are submitted to NSDC for approval. NSDC decisions are recorded in their records of decisions.

Recommendation:

  • As no major deficiencies posing significant risk to the Program were identified, no recommendation is required.

3.2 Managing the Program

The management control framework for the Program is effective and appropriate. Implementation of formal risk management practices will strengthen program administration.

To ensure compliance with terms and conditions of the Program, as well as policies and procedures for controlling transfer payments, administrative procedures should be in place for financial and non-financial monitoring.

In response to the management review, SSI developed a guide which included templates and administrative guidelines for managing ARCP contribution agreements. These were disseminated through NSDC in November 2008. The guide included a template for recipient reporting requirements for payment requests and a template for program managers to report results to NSDC. The guide is in use and is providing a standard for reporting and ensures consistency across the country.

The 2008 Treasury Board Secretariat Policy on Transfer Payments places an increased emphasis on strengthening accountability for public funds and managing programs in a manner that is sensitive to risk.

NSDC has strengthened its processes to ensure accountability for public funds.  However, the process for identifying risks, developing mitigation strategies and monitoring implementation of mitigation strategies is done on an ad hoc basis.  The Program would benefit from a more structured approach to risk management.

Recommendation:

The Assistant Deputy Minister, Science should integrate formal risk management practices into its management of the Academic Research Contribution Program, by documenting its assessment of risks from both likelihood and impact perspectives, identifying appropriate mitigation strategies, and ongoing monitoring. (Medium significance)

Top of page

4.0 Conclusion

The ARCP has an adequate management control framework in relation to selection of recipients and approval of contribution agreements. Processes for the administration of the Program are mostly in place.  Implementing formal risk management practices will strengthen Program management.

The ARCP has responded well to various recommendations resulting from the management review and the DFO evaluation. The Program has made significant improvements to its management control framework. The ARCP is well positioned for renewal in 2010-11.

5.0 Management Action Plan

Recommendation Management Action Plan Status Report Update
Actions Completed Actions Outstanding Target Date

The Assistant Deputy Minister, Science should integrate formal risk management practices into its management of the Academic Research Contribution Program, by documenting its assessment of risks from both likelihood and impact perspectives, identifying appropriate mitigation strategies, and ongoing monitoring. (Medium significance)

  • Review the Risk-based Audit Framework (RBAF) risk profile
  • Revise risk profile as required
  • Develop the appropriate risk mitigation measures in consultation with NSDC (National Science Directors Committee)
  • Develop risk management practices and implement

 

 

March 2010

Archivé – Vérification du Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire


Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Numéro de projet 6B201
Rapport de vérification final
7 janvier, 2010

Table des matières

List des acronymes

PCRU
Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire
MPO
Pêches et Océans Canada
CNDS
Comité national des directeurs des sciences
DAP
Documents d’approbation du programme  
SIS
Stratégies et Intégration des Sciences

 

1.0 Sommaire

1.1 Introduction

Le Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire (PCRU) a été créé dans le but de promouvoir le partenariat avec les universités afin d’améliorer la capacité scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et lui permettre de remplir son mandat. Le programme est géré par le Comité national des directeurs des sciences (CNDS) qui est composé des plus hauts dirigeants du Secteur des sciences.

1.2 Objectifs et portée

L’objectif de la mission de vérification consistait à donner l’assurance que le cadre de contrôle de gestion du PCRU quant à la sélection des récipiendaires et à l’administration du programme de contribution est adéquat. La mission ne portait pas sur les processus de vérification des comptes; par conséquent, elle n’offre aucune garantie quant à la conformité liée au versement des fonds.

La Documentation d’approbation du programme (DAP) du PCRU prend fin le 31 mars 2010 et le programme devait faire l’objet d’une vérification interne avant d’être renouvelée. Récemment, les processus et les résultats du PCRU ont été analysés au cours d’un examen de la gestion parrainé par le secteur (avril 2008) et d’une évaluation du MPO (septembre 2009). La portée de la vérification vise à éviter le dédoublement de travaux précédents.

1.3 Énoncé d'assurance

À notre avis, les vérificateurs ont examiné suffisamment de preuves pertinentes et obtenu suffisamment d’information et d’explications nécessaires pour donner une assurance suffisante à l’avis ou aux conclusions du rapport. 

1.4 Sommaire des observations et des recommandations

Le PCRU dispose d’un cadre de contrôle de gestion adéquat pour la sélection et l’approbation des récipiendaires. La plupart des processus d’administration du programme sont en place et bénéficieront de la mise en œuvre de pratiques formelles de gestion du risque.

Le PCRU a bien répondu aux différentes recommandations issues de l’examen de la gestion et de l’évaluation du MPO. Des améliorations notables ont été apportées au cadre de contrôle de gestion du programme. Le PCRU est bien positionné pour le renouvellement en 2010-2011 et la mise en œuvre de la recommandation qui suit renforcera la gestion du programme :

  • La sous-ministre adjointe du Secteur des sciences devrait intégrer des pratiques officielles de gestion des risques dans sa gestion du Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire(importance moyenne).

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Contexte

Le PCRU appuie les priorités du Secteur des sciences du MPO grâce au financement de la recherche académique visant à accroître les connaissances sur les océans, les ressources aquatiques et la sécurité maritime. Des fonds sont offerts aux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens reconnus, aux réseaux de recherche et aux chercheurs associés à au moins un établissement postsecondaire canadien reconnu. Les objectifs du programme sont les suivants :

  • accroître la capacité du MPO à remplir son mandat par l’entremise de la recherche scientifique, de même que sa capacité à relever les défis scientifiques de l’avenir dans les domaines liés aux priorités et au programme des Sciences;
  • optimiser les moyens scientifiques du MPO grâce au partage des ressources et des connaissances universitaires;
  • appuyer des programmes de recherche et de développement visant à promouvoir l’innovation dans les secteurs des sciences de la mer, des eaux douces, des pêches et de l’industrie d’aquaculture;
  • travailler avec des universitaires pour que le Canada réalise son plein potentiel dans le domaine de la recherche sur les pêches marines, les pêches en eau douce et l’aquaculture en créant des liens venant appuyer et accroître les forces complémentaires du gouvernement et des universités dans le système d’innovation du Canada.

2.1.1 Financement du programme

La DAP prévoit un transfert annuel de 600 000 $ du crédit 1 (fonctionnement) au crédit 10 (subventions et contributions). Elle prévoit également un transfert annuel supplémentaire pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 000 000 $ du crédit 1, au besoin. Le PCRU n’a aucune répercussion financière additionnelle et les fonds proviennent des niveaux de référence existants. Le tableau suivant résume les dépenses réelles du PCRU de 2004-2005 à 2008-2009.

 

2004-2005 2005-2006 2006-2007 2007-2008 2008-2009 Total

 

($) ($) ($) ($) ($) ($)
Dépenses réelles

0

250 000

489 000

679 000

838 000

2 256 000

2.1.2 Gouvernance

Trois éléments principaux forment la structure de gouvernance du PCRU : le CNDS gère le PCRU, les directeurs régionaux des Sciences et les directeurs généraux mettent en œuvre chacune des ententes de contributions et en assurent le suivi, et la Direction des Stratégies et intégration des sciences (SIS) assure le soutien administratif. Le CNDS est formé par les plus hauts dirigeants du Secteur des sciences et est présidé par la sous-ministre adjointe, Sciences. Le CNDS approuve les demandes et traite les questions importantes en matière de gestion. Le PCRU est un point permanent aux ordres du jour des réunions du CNDS depuis le mois de juillet 2008.

Haut de la page

2.2 Objectives et portée

L’objectif de la mission de vérification consiste à donner l’assurance que le cadre de contrôle de gestion du PCRU est approprié pour la sélection des récipiendaires et l’administration du programme de contribution. La mission est axée sur des éléments clés du contrôle liés aux deux critères suivants :

  • Un processus officiel est en place pour la sélection et l’approbation des récipiendaires;
  • Des procédures administratives claires sont établies pour la gestion du programme.

L’examen de la gestion (avril 2008) et l’évaluation du MPO (septembre 2009) portaient sur les processus et les résultats du PCRU. Voici un résumé des principales observations :

  • L’examen de la gestion indique qu’il faut améliorer les processus d’approbation, de suivi et de paiement;
  • L’évaluation du MPO fait ressortir des questions quant à la sélection des récipiendaires et au suivi.
Le CNDS a répondu favorablement à ces deux études. Il ne s’est pas écoulé suffisamment de temps pour permettre la mise en œuvre complète des recommandations liées à l’attestation des paiements, c’est pourquoi ces dernières ont été exclues de la portée de la vérification.

2.3 Methodologie

L’équipe de vérification a accompli sa mission conformément aux normes de vérification interne en vigueur au sein du gouvernement du Canada, telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans la Politique sur la vérification interne du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. La documentation clé a été passée en revue afin de bien comprendre le programme (p. ex. DAP, Cadre de vérification fondé sur les risques, Cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation axé sur les résultats). L’examen de la gestion et l’évaluation du MPO, de même que les processus mis en place à la suite des recommandations du rapport ont aussi été analysés. Finalement, les employés affectés au programme ont été interviewés dans le but de comprendre les processus clés et de documenter leur mise en œuvre.

3.0 Observations et recommandations

Le PCRU est doté d’un cadre de contrôle de gestion qui convient à la sélection et à l’approbation des récipiendaires. Les processus d’administration du programme sont en place, pour la plupart. La mise en œuvre en bonne et due forme de pratiques de gestion du risque, renforcera la gestion du programme.

Pour aider les gestionnaires à préparer un plan d’action de la direction, les recommandations issues de la vérification ont été classifiées selon les trois catégories ci-dessous, qui correspondent à leur degré d’importance :

  • Importance élevée – faiblesse majeure du contrôle et/ou niveau de risque indésirablement élevé;
  • Importance moyenne – faiblesse du contrôle ayant un impact sur l’efficacité opérationnelle et/ou la crédibilité; et
  • Importance faible – faiblesse du contrôle ou du processus contribuant à l’inefficacité.

Comme la DAP prendra fin le 31 mars 2010 et que le programme devra être renouvelé, des observations, des recommandations et un plan d’action de la direction ont été élaborés dans le présent rapport afin d’améliorer le programme.

3.1 Sélection et approbation des récipiendaires de contributions

Des processus renforcés ont été mis en œuvre pour la sélection et l’approbation des récipiendaires.

Afin de maintenir la transparence et l’impartialité à l’égard de tous les candidats, un programme de contribution doit être doté de processus visant à sélectionner et à approuver les récipiendaires de contributions.

Avant l’évaluation du MPO, le PCRU utilisait un processus de sélection informel. De plus, un processus d’approbation informel était également en place avant l’examen de gestion.

Les vérificateurs ont constaté que le programme s’est doté de processus formels pour la sélection et l’approbation. En utilisant un modèle standard, les candidats présentent leur projet aux directeurs régionaux des Sciences ou aux directeurs généraux. Pendant l’élaboration de leur projet, les candidats peuvent consulter les directeurs régionaux des Sciences ou les directeurs généraux. Le cas échéant, la Direction des SIS pourrait avoir à donner son avis sur les projets. À l’aide d’un modèle d’examen des incidences, les directeurs régionaux des Sciences ou les directeurs généraux évaluent l’incidence des projets sur l’ensemble des priorités du Secteur des sciences du MPO. Les projets des candidats et les évaluations de leur incidence produite par les directeurs régionaux des Sciences ou les directeurs généraux du Secteur sont soumis au CNDS aux fins d’approbation. Les décisions du CNDS sont consignées dans ses comptes rendus de décisions.
Recommandation :

Étant donné qu’aucun problème majeur associé à un risque important pour le programme n’a été décelé, il n’y a pas lieu de faire une recommandation.

3.2 Gestion du programme

Le cadre de contrôle de gestion du programme est efficace et approprié. La mise en œuvre de pratiques de gestion du risque en bonne et due forme renforcera l’administration du programme.

Afin d’assurer la conformité aux modalités du programme, de même qu’aux politiques et aux procédures de contrôle des paiements de transfert, des procédures administratives doivent être en place aux fins du suivi des questions d’ordre financier ou non financier.

En réponse à l’examen de gestion, la Direction des SIS a élaboré un guide comprenant des modèles de documents et des lignes directrices administratives destinés à la gestion des ententes de contributions du PCRU. Ces documents ont été distribués par le CNDS en novembre 2008. Le guide comprend un modèle de document sur les exigences en matière de rapports et les demandes de paiements, et un modèle destiné aux gestionnaires du programme que ceux-ci utilisent afin de produire un rapport de résultats à l’intention du CNDS. Le guide est utilisé actuellement à titre de norme pour la production de rapports et permet de maintenir l’uniformité à l’échelle nationale.

La Politique sur les paiements de transfert 2008 du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor met davantage l’accent sur le renforcement de l’obligation de rendre des comptes relativement à l’utilisation des fonds publics ainsi que sur une gestion des programmes qui tient compte des risques.

Le CNDS a amélioré ses processus de manière à assurer la reddition de comptes relativement aux dépenses de fonds publics. Toutefois, le processus d’identification des risques, le développement de stratégies d’atténuation des risques et le contrôle de l’application des stratégies d’atténuation sont tous effectués de façon non régulière. Le programme pourrait bénéficier d’une approche plus structurée dans sa gestion des risques. 

Recommandation :

  • La sous-ministre adjointe du Secteur des sciences devrait intégrer des pratiques formelles de gestion des risques dans sa gestion du Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire, en documentant son évaluation de risques d’un point de vue de probabilités et de conséquences, en identifiant des stratégies atténuantes et par un suivi continu.(importance moyenne).

Haut de la page

4.0 Conclusion

Le PCRU est doté d’un cadre de contrôle de gestion approprié pour la sélection des récipiendaires et l’approbation des ententes de contribution. La plupart des processus d’administration du programme sont en place. L’application de pratiques de gestion du risque en bonne et due forme permettra de renforcer la gestion du programme.

Le PCRU a bien répondu aux différentes recommandations issues de l’examen de la gestion et de l’évaluation du MPO. Le programme a apporté des améliorations notables à son cadre de contrôle de la gestion. Le PCRU est bien positionné pour le renouvellement en 2010-2011.

5.0 Plan d'action de la gestion

Recommandation Plan d'action de la direction Mise à jour du rapport d'étape
Mesures de suivi terminées Mesures de suivi non terminées Date limite

La sous-ministre adjointe du Secteur des sciences devrait intégrer des pratiques formelles de gestion des risques dans sa gestion du Programme de contribution à la recherche universitaire, en documentant son évaluation de risques d’un point de vue de probabilités et de conséquences, en identifiant des stratégies atténuantes et par un suivi continu.(importance moyenne).

  • Examiner le profil de risque décrit dans le Cadre de vérification fondé sur les risques
  • Réviser le profil de risque si c’est nécessaire
  • Développer les mesures d’atténuation de risque appropriées en consultation avec le CNDS (Comité national des directeurs des Sciences)
  • Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des pratiques de gestion de risque

 

 

mars 2010