Orders for the critical habitat of aquatic species listed under the Species at Risk Act

Enabling act(s): Species at Risk Act

Description of the objective

Critical habitat is the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a wildlife species listed under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and that is identified as the species' critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species. Critical Habitat Orders provide legalprotection to the critical habitats of listed endangered or threatened species or of a listed extirpated species if a recovery strategy has recommended its reintroduction into the wild in Canada, through the application of the prohibition in subsection 58(1) of SARA against the destruction of any part of the species’ critical habitat.

SARA requires that the critical habitat be legally protected by provisions in, or measures under, SARA or any other Act of Parliament or by the application of subsection 58(1) of SARA within 180 days after the posting, on the Species at Risk Public Registry, of the final recovery strategy or action plan that identified the critical habitat.

The following is a list of species for which critical habitat has been identified and a Critical Habitat Order  is being proposed by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans:

  • Channel Darter
  • Copper Redhorse
  • Atlantic Salmon (Inner Bay of Fundy population)
  • Kidneyshell
  • Killer Whale (Northeast Pacific Transient)
  • Leatherback Sea Turtle (Atlantic)
  • Nooksack Dace (Order to be amended)
  • Northern Riffleshell
  • Northern Wolffish
  • Paxton Lake Threespine Sticklebacks (two Orders)
  • Pugnose Shiner
  • Rainbow Smelt (Lake Utopia small bodied population)
  • Rayed Bean
  • Round Hickorynut
  • Round Pigtoe
  • Salamander Mussel
  • Salish Sucker
  • Snuffbox
  • Spotted Wolffish
  • Striped bass (St. Lawrence River population)
  • Vananda Creek Threespine Sticklebacks (two Orders)
  • Vancouver Lamprey
  • Western Brook Lamprey (Morrison Creek)

Critical Habitat Orders for other aquatic species will be developed as recovery strategies or action plans, that identify critical habitat, are finalized.

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The “One-for-One” Rule and/or Small Business Lens may apply.

Regulatory cooperation efforts (domestic and international)

The implementation of these SARA Critical Habitat Orders will complement existing federal legislation, such as the Fisheries Act.

SARA is a key tool for the conservation and protection of Canada’s biological diversity and fulfills a commitment made under the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity. As such, the Orders will respect this international agreement in furthering the protection of significant habitats in Canada to conserve a Canadian species at risk.

There are no international trade agreements that will be impacted as a result of the Critical Habitat Orders.

Public consultation opportunities

For all species, consultation on the Critical Habitat Order begins during the preparation of the recovery strategy or action plan that identifies critical habitat. SARA mandates that the recovery strategy and action plan be prepared in cooperation and consultation with certain persons, organizations or wildlife management boards. Upon completion, the proposed recovery strategy or action plan is included on the Species at Risk Public Registry, at which time all Canadians are given a 60 day period to provide comments. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans then has 30 days to review the comments or make appropriate changes before posting a final version of the recovery strategy or action plan on the Public Registry.

During the 2019-2021 planning period, it is anticipated that for some species, the proposed Critical Habitat Order will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I to give Canadians a further 30 day notice period to provide comments. After the closure of the pre-publication period, the final version of the Critical Habitat Order is published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. All Critical Habitat Orders are published in Canada Gazette, Part II.

Further information

You can visit the Species at Risk Public Registry for more information on aquatic species at risk and critical habitat.

Departmental contact

André Poliquin
Manager, Recovery and Protection, Species at Risk Program
Telephone:  613-371-4864
E-mail:  andre.poliquin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Date the regulatory initiative was first included in the Forward Regulatory Plan: 2012

Date modified:

Arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel des espèces aquatiques inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les espèces en péril

Description de l’objectif

L’habitat essentiel est l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou dans un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce. Les arrêtés concernant les habitats essentiels assurent la protection légale des habitats essentiels d’espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées ou d’espèces disparues du pays si un programme de rétablissement a recommandé leur réintroduction dans la nature au Canada, par l’application de l’interdiction prévue au paragraphe 58(1) de la LEP de détruire toute partie de l’habitat essentiel de ces espèces.

La LEP exige que l’habitat essentiel soit légalement protégé par des dispositions ou des mesures prévues par la LEP ou toute autre loi fédérale ou par l’application du paragraphe 58(1) de la LEP dans les 180 jours suivant la publication, dans le Registre public des espèces en péril, du programme final de rétablissement ou du plan d’action qui a identifié l’habitat essentiel.

Voici une liste des espèces pour lesquelles un habitat essentiel a été désigné et un arrêté concernant l’habitat essentiel est proposé par Pêches et Océans Canada :

  • Fouille-roche gris
  • Chevalier cuivré
  • Saumon de l’Atlantique (population de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy)
  • Ptychobranche réniforme
  • Épaulard (population migratrice du Pacifique Nord-Est)
  • Tortue luth (Atlantique)
  • Naseux de Nooksack (arrêté à modifier)
  • Dysnomie ventrue jaune
  • Loup à tête large
  • Épinoche à trois épines du lac Paxton (deux arrêtés)
  • Méné camus
  • Éperlan arc-en-ciel (population d’individus de petite taille du lac Utopia)
  • Villeuse haricot
  • Obovarie ronde
  • Pleurobème ronde
  • Mulette du Necture
  • Meunier de Salish
  • Épioblasme tricorne
  • Loup tacheté
  • Bar rayé (population du fleuve Saint-Laurent)
  • Épinoche à trois épines du ruisseau Vananda (deux arrêtés)
  • Lamproie de Vancouver
  • Lamproie de rivière de l’Ouest (ruisseau Morrison)

Des arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel pour d’autres espèces aquatiques seront élaborés dès qu’un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action, qui identifie l’habitat essentiel, seront finalisés.

Indication des répercussions sur les entreprises

Il pourrait y avoir des répercussions sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Efforts de coopération en matière de réglementation (à l’échelle nationale et internationale)

La mise en œuvre de ces arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP viendra étayer la législation fédérale existante, comme la Loi sur les pêches.

La LEP est l’un des principaux outils de préservation et de protection de la diversité biologique au Canada et respecte un engagement pris dans le cadre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique. À ce titre, les arrêtés respecteront l’accord international et renforceront la protection d’habitats importants au Canada et la conservation d’espèces en péril au pays.

Les arrêts visant la protection de l’habitat essentiel n’auront aucune incidence sur les accords commerciaux internationaux.

Occasions de consultation publique

Pour toutes les espèces, la consultation sur les arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel commence durant l’élaboration du programme de rétablissement ou du plan d’action qui désigne l’habitat essentiel. La LEP exige que le programme de rétablissement et le plan d’action soient élaborés en collaboration et en consultation avec certaines personnes, des organisations ou des conseils de gestion de la faune. Une fois terminé, le programme de rétablissement ou le plan d’action proposé est publié dans le Registre public des espèces en péril, moment à partir duquel tous les Canadiens disposent de 60 jours pour formuler des commentaires. Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans a ensuite 30 jours pour examiner les commentaires avant d’afficher la version définitive du document dans le Registre public.

Au cours de la période de planification 2019-2021, il est prévu que pour certaines espèces, le décret sur l’habitat essentiel proposé soit publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, afin d’accorder à la population canadienne un autre délai de publication de 30 jours pour ainsi lui permettre de formuler des commentaires. Par la suite, la version définitive de l’arrêté sera publiée dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, où tous les arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel sont publiés. Tous les arrêtés concernant l’habitat essentiel sont publiés dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les espèces aquatiques en péril et l’habitat essentiel.

Personne-ressource au Ministère

André Poliquin
Gestionnaire, Rétablissement et protection, Programme des espèces en péril
Téléphone :   613-371-4864
Courriel :   andre.poliquin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Date à laquelle l’initiative réglementaire a été incluse pour la première fois dans le Plan de réglementation prospectif : 2012

Date de modification