Our Minister: The Honourable Hunter Tootoo MP

Hunter TootooHunter Tootoo was born in Rankin Inlet and has spent his career serving the community he loves.

First elected as the member of the Legislative Assembly for Iqaluit Centre in 1999, Hunter served its residents for fourteen years and was the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly until 2013. Hunter has a deep understanding of the challenges facing Nunavut, having held numerous Cabinet positions, including Minister Responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation, Homelessness, the Qulliq Energy Corporation, and Minister of Education.

Hunter has extensive experience in public administration, having held positions such as Recreation Coordinator for the Hamlet of Arviat, Administration Officer for the Department of Economic Development and Transportation, and Assistant Director of the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation in Iqaluit. Prior to his work in the public sector, Hunter was a businessman and co-founder of the Iqaluit branch of Arctic Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Passionate about supporting local business and sport, Hunter previously served on the Northwest Territories Co-op Business Development Board and the Sport North Board of Directors. In his downtime, he enjoys watching hockey, hunting and is an avid competitive curler.

Notre ministre : L'honorable Hunter Tootoo, député

Hunter TootooHunter Tootoo est né à Rankin Inlet et a consacré sa carrière à servir la communauté à laquelle il est attaché.

Tout d’abord élu membre de l’Assemblée législative pour Iqaluit-Centre en 1999, Hunter s’est mis au service des résident(e)s pendant quatorze ans et fut le président de l’Assemblée législative jusqu’en 2013. Il comprend parfaitement les défis que doit relever le Nunavut, ayant occupé de nombreux postes ministériels, dont ceux de ministre responsable de la Société d’habitation du Nunavut, ministre responsable des sans-abri, ministre responsable de la Société d’énergie Qulliq et ministre de l’Éducation.

Hunter possède une vaste expérience de l’administration publique, ayant occupé des postes comme coordonnateur des loisirs du hameau d’Arviat, agent d’administration du ministère du Développement économique et des Transports et directeur adjoint du Northwest Territories Housing Corporation à Iqaluit. Avant d’occuper des postes dans le secteur public, Hunter s’est consacré aux affaires et a cofondé la succursale d’Iqaluit de la société de courtage en assurance Arctic Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Déterminé à soutenir les entreprises et les sports de sa localité, Hunter a siégé au conseil d’administration du Fonds de développement coopératif des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au conseil d’administration de Sport North. Pendant son temps libre, il est un adepte de matchs de hockey, de la chasse et du curling compétitif.